Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT in Malaysia

The Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT was launched yesterday, and I managed to attend the public launch thanks to an invite from EON Automart Sdn Bhd – thank you Ellis!

This latest entrant into the coveted C-segment market is a fully imported CBU unit from Japan. Now you might expect it to be abit pricey because of this – just look at the price of the other C-segment CBU Japan car – the Mazda 3.

Rumours of a sub-120K ringgit price seemed to indicate a CBU from another ASEAN country. But Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia truly surprised us all with an aggressively lower price of RM 115,980 OTR with insurance for a CBU Japan car!

Anyway, let’s get down to what the Lancer offers other than a competitive price. The new Lancer is bigger than the previous model, which might give us a clue on why Mitsubishi decided to call it the Galant Fortis in Japan instead of the Lancer – Japan normally classifies cars according to dimensions. The 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer is only available in one trim level for Malaysia – the Lancer 2.0 GT.

The Lancer 2.0 GT packs 155PS at 6,000rpm and 199Nm of torque at 4,250rpm under it’s hood. I will not go into further details on the engine here, please read my previous detailed post on the 4B11 engine for more details. It’s a must read for those who are slightly more geek-inclined. The Lancer 2.0 GT is only available with the INVECS-III CVT transmission in Malaysia, so stick shift fans will be slightly disappointed. However, it makes up for it somewhat with 6 virtual gears that you can cycle through with the steering-mounted magnesium paddle shifters. Suspension consists of a MacPherson strut setup at the front and a multi-link setup at the rear.

The feature list is impressive. You have a full sporty bodykit complete with a rear wing that’s not too large in my opinion, and you’ve got huge 18 inch alloy wheels. One thing I noticed is that despite 18 inch wheels, fender gap is still very noticeable, so for the best aesthetics most will be looking to lowering the car.

On the interior, you have a 6-disc in-dash CD changer with a 6-speaker audio system, steering wheel audio controls, and fully automatic single zone air conditioning. No cruise control though. The interior is done up in a nice dark grey colour with geometric check trim panels – I suspect some enterprising people will be developing carbon fiber replacement panels for these soon – could possibly look really nice.

Unlike the LCD and push-button interface for automatic air conditioning that most cars have, the Lancer’s dash design looks like your conventional three-knob manual air conditioning control at first glance – but it is in fact automatic. Operation of the auto air conditioning looked intuitive to me, simply push one of the knobs to activate automatic climate control for the set temperature.

The meter panel consists of two large meters (speedo and RPM) flanking a small multi-information display LCD that lights up with red lettering. The multi-information display can show a few screens with information such as average speed and fuel consumption, engine coolant temperature and odometer, distance until empty and odometer, as well as a maintenance schedule record.

The Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT comes with sporty leather seats – the leather used is Nappa leather which is a premium leather, none of that PVC fake leather stuff. According to Wikipedia, Nappa leather is a full-grain leather, typically dyed, made from unsplit kid-, lamb- or sheep-skin, and noted for softness and durability. It is often used in high-quality leather products such as high-end furniture and accessories such as wallets and luggage. The front seat is height adjustable, while the rear bench has an arm rest with two cupholders built into it, and the whole bench can be folded down in a 60:40 split in case you require more storage capacity.

The Lancer 2.0 GT’s front seats have sensors built into them – these work hand in hand with the SRS airbag system, feeding the airbag deployment logic data on the driver’s seat position and the front passenger’s weight. Other than the two front SRS airbags, the Lancer 2.0 GT also has anti-lock brakes and electronic brakeforce distribution, however there is no form of electronic stability control.

The rear boot has 400 litres of storage capacity, and while I could not find any handle to open the boot from the rear, there is a boot lid release button on the remote control that you can press if you need access to the boot without having to pull the boot release lever from inside the car.

The Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT is only available in four colours – Cool Silver Metallic, Medium Purplish Gray Mica, Red Metallic, and Black Mira. The Lancer comes with a 5-year or 100,000km warranty, with free maintenance for the first 3 years or 50,000km.

Have a look at two videos after the jump, as well as more photos of the Lancer.

2007 Mitsubishi Lancer – The New 4B11 Engine

Video: Lancer Intro Promo Clip

Video: Lancer Unveiling

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:49 am

heheh neat, i will look at this car hands on, in a couple of more hours, so anxious, cant sleep, lol

did u get to test drive the car, paul

• Aril (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:38 am

Good pic provided here paul….U manage to test drive it?

• J (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:45 am

I can hear people say “Whoa…super nice !” :)

I think it’s the best buy in the market for a 2.0

• azrai (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:08 am

Truly the Alor Gajah’s Civic serious contenter. I wonder if Proton still have the partnership with Mitsubishi. We gonna get a new Waja look like this. :-)

• Proton will replace waja with Mitshubishi lancer fortis base model in july…look alike lancer GT …the only difference is the front grill and headlamp….but still eye catching

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:33 am

5 years/100k warranty….3 yrs/50k free maintenance….RM115k for a cbu from japan……best buy of the year….would seriously affect all those overprice latios,civic,altis…..hahahhaha gud for us consumer….lets the price war begin!!!!!

• Javanese (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:58 am

Wow, look at the price, with insurance on a CBU car roughly the size of a Perdana?!!! Thats pretty bloody cheap. (Not that I can afford to buy one tho). More horsepower and better looking (exterior and interior) than the new Civic IMO. Suddenly you have to ask, why buy other imports?
    This with the new Swift are defenitely Malaysia best buys right now. Now watch it flood the roads with Evolution X bodykits.

• coolguru (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:09 am

Fantastic looking car! Price is right too in my opinion and before checking it out in metal on the finishing and built quality.

Anyhow, for a CBU 2.0 and lower price than the Civic 2.0, it’s almost a steel on paper specs. Now there is definitely a sudden feel how come the Civic 2.0 is so expensive :P

• tommy73 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:35 am

Paul,
    Please do a road test ASAP. I want to hear your impartial view before deciding to sign my life away for this babe ;) I’m kind of biased now just like a novice falling in love…

• arcana (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:39 am

now this is what we call a real deal….making our local manufacturers look like some conman in the market.
    best performer on 2.0 segment, also probably best fuel consumption in its cc wise due to CVT gears….anyhow thats on paper at least. plus a 5 year warranty with complete bodykit & huge rims….thats ownage.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:42 am

Before Honda fanboys start to brag here, please note that this 2.0 GT is the rival to the Civic 2.0. Civic Type R will have to face Evo X.

BTW Paul, from the video I think the stage looks really cheap. And please test drive it, and let us enjoy your blog and perhaps use it as reference material.

Regards

• ab (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:49 am

2.0 CBU: how can this be so cheap? does it means toyota and honda overcharged us all this time?

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:53 am

Hi ab,

We are all overcharged for non-Proton/Perodua vehicles. You should travel overseas (UK, US, Thailand, Japan etc.) to see the prices of cars there

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:55 am

superb pricing… wht a coup… it costs just 2k more than a 1.8 thai-made civic!

the equipment level is really impressive too, and with the 5 years warranty u just cant go wrong there….

just 1 complain, those 18inchers… are they really necessary? i read the specs for singapore.. the car is slower by 0.3secs when compared to a similar spec lancer shod with 16inch wheels… plus most would want to change it anyway so Mitsu prolly shld have shod it with 17″s instead…

and the tyre size is kinda weird no? 215/45/18… im sure it’ll be hard to come by, and cost alot… guess if u want more comfort u’ll hv to go down to 215/50/17, which is also kind of a weird size as its usually 215/45/17 (even the bigger Mazda6 is shod with this, if im not wrong?)

but then again, its relatively affordable for those looking at the C-segment…. and im sure all the fanboys out there will love the 18″s eh? so guess u cant complain :-P

• fastd (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:56 am

Whalow weih! Superb car! Anyway, the ‘bra’ type meter panel remind me somewhat car laa. Can anybody tell me which car???

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:00 am

Gen2!!!

fastd you are smart!!!

• rexis (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:10 am

Holy great cow! 2.0 with a CVT!!!! GREAT PRICING.

Haha, nice “cinema version” clip u got there paul.

• sxe10r (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:13 am

the 1st malaysia cheepers imported CBU ??? 120k can get a brand new lancer ?? oh my god ~ … fully japan materials …. not like honda & Toyota still mix with some of thailands hand make ~ …. if my salary 3k … i affort to buy it ~ lol ~ maybe is EOn mart sell it ~ i think the G Tax no tat high ~ by the way it is fair for other brand ??

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:15 am

Pretty cool, for a CBU from Japan. And they introduced this car here first before Singapore and Japan. This is a real ‘dude’ car. Not as girlie/unisex like the Civic. Downside, 155 is a little weak innit? Can tweak to get another ten – fifteen or not?

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:16 am

Waa…less than 120k can obtain this car and even more powerful than the competitor…this will be one of the great choice….

• raverus (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:19 am

BYE BYE CIVIC…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:19 am

Put your hand over the front end I think it’ll look like the back of Gen.2 sedan. If Proton puts in the kink, it’ll look exactly the same. My two cents.

• irvingctl (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:30 am

was going to book a honda civic 1.8 yesterday..until i saw this baby..what a car at a superb price..going to have a look at it later =p
    but the back seats look abit cramped tho..paul please prove me otherwise

• funbox (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:35 am

wow… superb car yet affordable! drooling for one…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:36 am

raverus said,
    August 8, 2007 @ 9:19 am

BYE BYE CIVIC…

u can say that again… :)

wah2… very2 cheap for a 2 litre CBU… of coz based on our market lah… nice2, now there’s more “headache” for potential buyers to choose between civic & lancer.. civic.. lancer.. civic… lancer… hmmm ;)

• zarieq (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:39 am

i’m lovin it :)

• abe (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:45 am

#
    ab said,

2.0 CBU: how can this be so cheap? does it means toyota and honda overcharged us all this time?

———————————
    for me..yup. UMW overcharged since they sell toyota unser.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:45 am

Meaning are we going to get a discount on the CKD civics? lolz

• zarieq (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:47 am

paul did they mention as to how long the delivery date will be.;).

• izaman (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:54 am

even though i’m a honda lover, i’ll go for this car for 2.0 segment. hehehe. free maintenance for 3 years and cheaper price if compared to civic. yeah…lets the price war begins.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:02 am

The Novulari style grille should be painted matte grey on the registration plate bar for the Evo X look. Notice two more button space beside the hazard light button. Where can you install the multifunction LCD screen on the entrtainment console? Somehow, maybe it’s just me being paranoid, they’re taking some very subtle design cues from Proton … yeah it’s just me being paranoid.

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:03 am

RM116 OTR for a 2.0 CBU from Japan. Mits shame the others khaw khaw. Honda and Toyota should take note of this. Honda have reap some profit out of Civic. Now Toyota will be pressured.

Personnally i dun reali agree with the nose job but heck… i luv the price. see what competition can do…!!! I pray hard this Lancer sells well so that the other will follow suit.

again RM116 OTR CBU with CVT, paddle (magnesium that is…) and leather. Suddenly i luv Mits.

• Xcars (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:11 am

value buy compared to locally or thailand assembled japenese cars…

• ganz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:26 am

just straightly put my comment..without reading trough all comments
    wow… 2.0 CBU, it mitsubishi and it cost just around civiv 1.8

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:26 am

yes…very very IPRESSIVE…as a Mitsubishi die hard fan…i recognise this is the Civic killer….perfect interior and exterior…high technology…MIVEC vs VTEC

• izaman (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:29 am

i hope the interest rate is same as or lower than civic. it will be back to square one if the interest rate for this car is normal 4.5% or so.

• AmSouth (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:33 am

Civic, you may kiss Lancer’s a*^ now! Your domination doesnt mean you are the best. Now back off!

• ys (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:37 am

this car going to kick some butts.
    i foresee not only civic will be affected. maybe all 2.0 car will affected too…
    honda, nissan and toyota better watch out.
    haha… i just wonder who else in malaysia will still buy perdana??

• Coogee (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:47 am

Don’t forget exchange rates. They can price a CBU from Japan “cheap” because the Yen rate is at very low levels now, but this situation will not last for long. Whereas the Thai baht has appreciated, making Thai made cars and parts more expensive. Now imagine if there are no “proton protection” taxes in Malaysia………….

• ob8 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:53 am

fantastic sport machine
    mesin sport yg hebat. definitely an ahbeng owner’s head turner. n the gals 2

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:02 am

Wow…this truly is proper ownage from Mitsubishi Malaysia. Honda Civic suddenly kena fork kao kao up the ass. Makes the Civic look overpriced like mad.

Best Buy of the century in Bolehland.

• 4B11Baby (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:02 am

Test drived the Triton and it was superb! I bet the new lancer 2.0GT won’t let me down. Wonder if I can test drive this today-Wah can’t wait wei!

• Coogee (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:08 am

Car looks good, very macho. Aggressive nose design and angular body. It kinda reminds me of the previous Gallant with the “shark” nose and also angular body design. Deja Vu. The Gallant was wildly popular for the first couple of years and then dropped off the scene coz such a design gets outdated very fast. Hope this Lancer does not meet the same fate as its big brother. The civic’s flowing design is more pleasing to the eye and should be more enduring. Anyway, let the battle begin, good for us long suffering consumers.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:11 am

points for lancer:
    CBU japan
    about rm12000 cheaper than civic 2.0
    better acceleration?
    super garang looks
    small turning radius- 5.0m(civic5.8m)

points for civic 2.0:
    its a honda- better 2nd hand value
    better fuel consumption?
    HID lamps
    better power to weight ratio
    lighter- kerb weight-1315kg, lancer 1385kg

not very sure about lancer’s acceleration. torque 176Nm at 2500rpm, about same as civic 2.0 torque id you look at temple of vtec asia’s article on 8th gen civic’s engine but civic has better torque to weight ratio.
    Any comments?
    So which car would you choose?

• wei_tsung (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:14 am

rm12000 difference big influence in decision making process. hehe
    heard waiting period about 3-4 months from SA.
    he also said got space reserved for installing turbo haha!

• whodz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:22 am

sxe10r said,

. if my salary 3k … i affort to buy it ~ lol ~

—-

Is it 3K Pound Sterling or 3K Dinar? You must be joking, with RM3K salary you are only eligible to afford mybi or sabby in Bolehland. Nonetheless, you are still hooked with various type of loans. Grrr.

Btw, I love the nose job except the grill around the nostril..hehe. Well, it certainly have that ‘bra’ type speedometer, I say, well done proton, you have fan from Japan and not from Malaysia! huhu.For the price, RM115K car is for RM5K and above earner in Bolehland and it’s cheaper from proton chancellor 2.0 which is RM138K with only multiple Injection.

Anyhoo, Paul, Why we only get 2.0 Petrol? How about 1.5 Petrol or 1.8 Diesel? Is Proton too afraid to bring those other 2007 Mits. Lanc. family?

• blazerSST (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:24 am

All the civic owners all bang b*lls, hahhha, this is so going to flood the street at every imaginable corner

• sxe10r (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:40 am

whodz said,
    August 8, 2007 @ 11:22 am

Is it 3K Pound Sterling or 3K Dinar? You must be joking, with RM3K salary you are only eligible to afford mybi or sabby in Bolehland. Nonetheless, you are still hooked with various type of loans. Grrr.

keke .. i think only can affort in sabah ~ …. rm 115k … down payment 15k …. 100k loan bank 4% interest …. x 9 yrs = 136k monthly payment rm1259.26 …. i think affort gua if Rm 3K salary ~ …. if in KL i think only Sabi & MyBi ….

By the way BolehLand Car really damn expensive after the Tax ~ ….. P1 car should all below 50k … the crap waja V6 need Rm 13x ++ K ?? u don’t think this is too much ?? compare with this Lancer ??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:45 am

Well, this car sure win the car of the year if civic 2.0s dont reduce it’s price.. His interior also made with high quality leather, like BMW n Merc.. Wow, if i am a rich guy now. sure i will choose this lancer compare to Civic 2.0S.. Got Mivec + CVT leh! with less then RM200k + 5 years warranty! Wah i want!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:45 am

really nice looking car… like it & love if coz of the price… the front looks like Volvo SUV… :)

• bertchen (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:46 am

Any knows which show room has the car to view in Klang valley ?

• mild7 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:53 am

yes, is a great car which i saw on the road at brunei!!! this car been lauched last friday!!!

• blunt (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 12:05 pm

116 otr…cbu from Japan..

most of the car distributor blame their super high price because of high tax imposed by gov…well that’s partly true..BUT moral from this Lancer case…the HIGH PRICE is actually due to their GREEDY..Honda, Toyota, Perodua can lower down their price but they choose not..why??? they want more profits and at the same time saying that the high price is solely due to gov tax..

• accordmania (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 12:28 pm

GOOD IN EVERY ASPECTS…SPEECHLESS. HOW ON EARTH THEY CAN OFFER A CBU WITH THIS LOW PRICE.? IT IS REALLY KILL ALL THE OTHER BRAND ESPECIALLY NISSAN,TOYOTA, HONDA AND PROTON(PERDANA)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:01 pm

Later sure got ppl sure say this new lancer is under real value when taxing.. Waja cansellor + perdana, altis n civic will hit badly.. i think latio is under rm100k..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:02 pm

But good for us, we have a cheap, new, better quality 2.0L mivec lancer!

• jackson91 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:50 pm

was told that the price only for this batch. next batch price go up to RM120K++. dont know whether this is just typical salesman gimmick to make u book now.

they say that if book now, when price go up, they will honour the price you booked.

• xatomic (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:54 pm

Do anyone knows when the manual version going to come out?

CVT transmission are only meant for fuel economy and NOT for power right?

• szw (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:55 pm

its a worth it car n im falling in love with it.

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 1:56 pm

Wow! I can’t wait for the test-drive report!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 2:24 pm

some machine…….

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 2:35 pm

yeahh… the weight and height is at a disadvantage to the 2.0GT, 1490mm vs. 1435mm for the civic…. width tracks are similar though, 1530mm front and rear for GT and 1499mm F and 1528mm R for civic.

but GT tak ade side airbags la, a good safety feature that even an expensive CRV doesnt have, so i guess decided to omit that for bean counting reasons.

let see… torque for the GT is up at 199Nm@4250 compared to 192@4500rpm for the civic. apart from that, wheelbase, again GT is disadvantaged but quite a margin, 2635mm vs 2700mm, could translate to cramped footspace for guys at the rear? that might explain the good turning circle the GT can achieve…

both have keyless entry… 6cd integrated unit.. but no cruise control for GT isnt it? dang… even the name 2.0GT sounds good.

• JoePrince (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 2:53 pm

There is actually a light pressure turbo variant of the new Lancer and it develop 200bhp.

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:15 pm

The only thing disappointing here is the audio.
    The 2.0GT model gets a nice Rockford Fosgate 9 Speaker audio (inclusive of a subwoofer) while we just get 6?!

I wonder if Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia would allow that as an option…

Any ideas if that’s available Paul?

• offroader manix (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:38 pm

LOL

Since the launch, kakis at the kopitiam discussing

” Toyota ( with old car and added acce..)…and Honda 2.0 almost the same spec………..are actually ripping the M’sian ”

How can the CBU Japan spec is on about RM$ 115K ?

MADE IN JAPAN not assemble in M’sia

• sexmachine (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:47 pm

i foreseen lancer wave is coming….

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:23 pm

if i m free i’ll juz walk in to Honda showroom and look see look see then drop the bomb shell…. how in the work an import fr Japan can be cheaper den your car…???

still a little early to say that Lancer will set a price precedent in the C-segment. The previous Lancer wasn’t doing too well but i pray hard this Lancer will show the rest how to sell cars.

• J (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Lancer name disappeared after Proton Wira (which was actually a Lancer) came in Malaysia 14 years ago.

• Apathy (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:28 pm

drool all over it………soo bodilicious

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:48 pm

demio121

previous gen. lancer was a top selling model in singapore for its class for 2006, beating even current gen civic and corolla…. ok its priced much much cheaper, but it also shows that ppl trust the mitsu brand…

in malaysia its presence is weaker do to its previous merger with proton… well, now its back for good!

• Axl (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:50 pm

http://cars.about.com/od/mitsubishi/fr/08_lancer.htm

There s good review for new lancer here. i think in Malaysia we r getting the GTS with entry level interior equipments. the price for GTS in US is around 70K RM.

anybody knows how the Mitsubishi service centers are? i have never seen any! there is 3 years free service but if u have to stay in line for long time to get your car serviced and service center sucks, then it s useless! just wanted to know if anyone had any experience with them!

as Honda guy i really like what is offered and it just makes me doubt in my decision for my next car! more power, more torque in lower rpm than civic 2.0 and it looks better … It s a CBU too!

• fastd (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Mr Chaku, help me to make up new proton sedan like this ‘leng chai’….

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:13 pm

any idea wht’s the standard tyres? not the size, the make

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:19 pm

RM115K is acceptable….

• e-by (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Yokohama Advan

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:38 pm

cool… AD07?

• J (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:43 pm

Should we worry that after Proton sees Mitsubishi sales become good and think of joint-venture with Mitsubishi again ? (forget about VW)

Then this Lancer will be the next new Wira made in Shah Alam price at RM60K.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:51 pm

wow the lancer really stuns! btw, is this model design as standard??? including the spoiler as well??? and the f1 gear shift oso standard feature too??? if so, with this price, wow… malaysians, time to change taste lor… it really does look very sporty indeed…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:17 pm

The face resembles a jaws…

Proton’s ex-girlfriend is coming back to Malaysia but this time…for real.It’s such a good effort for Mitsubishi to rebuild their brand in Malaysia.Hopefully the sales of this Lancer in Malaysia which equipped with a reasonable package, might sends a signal to other companies as well.

Good. Congratulations Mitsubishi Motors for having guts to join the party. Well actually you suppose coming to Malaysia since long time ago and bring along your best machine with good packages for the people.At least Malaysians deserve to taste and ride a good reasonable car…no more mediocre stuffs.Well Toyota,Honda and Nissan should’ve felt the heat by now..hopefully.

A bit curious though, how the heck Mitsubishi can offer this ‘bloody good’ package much better than others? Hmmm..what the heck, as long as Malaysians can get good car…

• wong (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:20 pm

much better looking than honda,toyota and nissan..very affordable for those who can afford!

• kenfresh (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:30 pm

OH
    MY
    GOD..

I am feeling so impulsive now.
    This has got to be the best deal in the Malaysian Car Industry!

K

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:54 pm

how come it is so cheap? juz 120K for an import car?

• Din (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:03 pm

Oh man oh man…I only owned my new Latio for about 2 weeks. If this Lancer came sooner…..

Oh man oh man…the price for a CBU from Japan is superb! And the best tings about it are its CVT and super macho ‘dude’s car’ looks!

But then again, maintenance for CVT may be an issue. Just ask a Honda City owner.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:15 pm

Latio different category, u still ok laa.. ppl ask u, say u from 1.6/1.8L category.. Latio less then RM100k car.. So u still good for ur latio, anywayz latio is for comfort. If u want sportier car get lancer loo… But i doubt that lancer will be more comfortable.. 18′ rims wif low profile tyre…

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:28 pm

yeah man… yokohama advan 01 tyres i think…
    but i think these are the places they cut cost on that car. the 4 door panels and the build quality is the main culprit.
    if u feel the grip handle on the doors, u can feel the mould mark and the horrible plastic quality they used. reminds of a the year2001 waja!!! its that horrible. enough said.

next in line in the cut-cost plan is the build quality. the front armrest shakes like its just hinged by the worst tolerance-d plastics and about to be ripped off anytime. the aircon rotary dials are even more dreadful than a satria neo (no joke as we went over to check out the satria next door) it has so much free play in the rotating motion. a more rubberized feel to the dials like on the civic will be probably impossible to the accountants.
    final cost cutting plan, save some paint, even if its visible. when u see the engine bay, notice the firewall portion near the exhaust manifold, u will think its some kinda cool white-ish heat treatment paint…. until u realize, dang, even the radiator front bulkhead portion is not spared from the lets-forget-about-the-body-paint cost cutting plan. it barely has any paint on it!!! just primer!!!

paddle shifters feel more solid than the civic though… and.. uummm… interior wise similar, seating position is rather high. noticeable lack of legroom compared to civic again. yup… oh didnt test drive as i lost interest touching the dang door panels.

• tommy73 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:49 pm

Paul, I have tested it this morning, cannot wait any longer. Styling exterior and interior – top notch, nothing else to say. Back seat a bit cramped though. Pickup a bit sluggish at low speed, maybe due to CVT and also maybe engine not fully run in yet, and maybe due t the 18″ wheel. But it was increasing more powerful at higher speed. Played with the paddle shifters, fuyoh, lots of fun. Engine is quite noisy though, but gives a better ‘rally’ feel. Steering is a bit heavier. Suspension a bit on the harder side, but car sticks well to the ground and when taking corners. Didn’t test the audio sound. The salesman told me their test sgive 15 sen/km, which works out 8 litres/100km for normal driving.

All in all, a fun to drive, value for money car for drivers, I mean macho drivers; For those who prefer more quiter, comfortable, softer ride probably should go for Civic. For me, when it’s even cheaper than Hyundai Sonata 2.0…what the heck, I’m going to jump!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:52 pm

I told you before, I had booked it!

Wow! Nice looking machine! Watch out my 222 on KL soon.

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:04 pm

previous gen. lancer was a top selling model in singapore for its class for 2006, beating even current gen civic and corolla…

—————-
    ? The prev gen “cockroach head” lancer was a top seller in Sg? lol.

I think this new gen one looks waaaaaaay better than the previous lancer…

I wonder how this car was taxed… cant be 300%…

• irvingctl (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:27 pm

happymeal i think youre the first person that says the lancer is of bad built quality..i on the other hand thought it was excellent..the thud of all four doors was just pretty damn impressive..
    yeah, the firewall thing wasnt painted..but the welding techniques used by our japanese counterparts were just sublime..neat and tidy unlike the civic which comes from the problematic malacca plant

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:37 pm

may be tempted from the upcoming accord for this car

• wong (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:57 pm

Happymeal, are u sure? Thats weird..cos above 100k is not cheap..Maybe i,ll take a look myself..happy motoring..

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:19 pm

Maybe this is an effect of that Japan Free Trade Agreement.

• techtoon82 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Paul,do we have other car will be come out soon for 1.6/1.8L category & less then RM100k car?
    BTW, very nice car, just come back from mitsubishi show room…

• prangin (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:29 pm

this has got to be one of the meanest and coolest machine around… n with a fantastic price to boot!.. d look is just menacing… paul, pls get a test unit soon. can’t wait to hear your review ;-)

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:40 pm

I must say I’m very impressed with the pricing and spec list. When the Concept Evo X was unveiled, I was thinking “Oh no, imagine how the Lance would look like”

The high suspension stance kinda threw me off at first but then it grew on me initially.

Kudos to Mitsu for bringing a change into the marketplace in terms of quality and pricing. There will definitely be waves in the car industry thats for sure.

• J (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Paul, are you kidding us ? :)

This JFT already signed ?

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Man, RM116 CBU from Japan almost same price as Civic 1.8, this new lancer spec is really impreessive, now I feel that honda 2.0 from thai looks very expensive now… this is the best buy of the year, in iterm of price, quality from Japan, new and lighter engine, new revised MIVEC technology….

• funbox (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:19 pm

Test driven today! Noisy engine, probably for rally feel. Sluggish pick-up.. Tight legroom. But, this kind of price is too attractive to own one.

• kenfresh (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:32 pm

Just tested.

Power delivery at high RPM is fantastic. Initial acceleration from standstill a bit sluggish and the engine sound is like crap at low RPM. Like empty milo can.

Other than that, I am the car is so truly well built and the entire package is a fabulous deal.

18 incher, seriously huge and I suspect is the culprit of the initial acceleration.

If the engine sound improves after run in, I can tell you this car is the REAL DEAL!

• leongylun (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:02 am

suprisingly low price!!! well done Mit motors Malaysia…
    looking forward greater car models with lower price..UMW toyota and Honda Malaysia, can u do something for us? and Ford pls dun let me down!!!

• nmh (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:09 am

civic shud worry….future corolla too. This is the best deal ive ever heard

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:14 am

on the well built quality, i think its personal preference because my fren n i immediately went to see a civic after the lancer and compared the feel of the switchgears and plastics. we both agreed the interior is a letdown. a loud thud on a door doesnt give me the impression that the build quality is superb . :)

went to see the lar-tee-oh after that… honestly the interior plastics are a notch higher compared to the CBU lancer. it just felt so much nicer to be in. accept for the lame arse seat adjustment levers.

• familyman (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:24 am

hehehe i’m wondering if happymeal works for either honda or nissan? definitely not toyota though..

hehehe

• avanza (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:45 am

The previous Lancer didn’t really make a comeback. But this one really does. Welcome back Lancer!

• Ban planet (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:57 am

wah…at last civic and corolla have some challenger. ; )

• acbc (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 1:03 am

This is good news for me since I’m in the market for a brand new car to retire my current daily driven – an older Mitsubishi Galant VR-4. Since it already has 265 hp on wheel, I just need something of lesser power and at RM 115k+, this new Lancer is a steal! Will check it out tmw at EON.

• anon (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 7:11 am

Woh, wait a moment! Isn’t anyone waiting for the Proton-badged Passat?

• transformer (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:02 am

love that shark front! 2007 mini-Gallant i should say…

wouid put on a good fight against Civic…. Altis and Sentra are too old to compete and just forget about the tiny Latio which were born to meet with City and Vios…

• J (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:05 am

Forget about VW partnership la :)

BTW, did Mitsubishi get some “Special Import Car Tax exemption” since EON has some share in MMM ?

Why CBU Jazz 1.5 RM102K ? CBU Swift 1.6 sport RM98K ? CBU Yatis 1.5 RM96K ?

• Paul Tan on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:08 am

J: no lah, I said maybe only. Doesn’t seem to be news anywhere about it since the last time it was in the papers.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:31 am

Went to check out the Lancer yesterday.

Looks better in person than in pictures although the proportions could be a little better stretched . The trunk as a small and odd sized opening.

Not fancy the leather (its nice but I prefer cloth) and the big wing at the back just blocks the already poor visibility. Tyres are going to be expensive.

I might just wait for the GS version without all these add ons and if any indication of what the sales person at EON is correct, the GS will come lower than 110k. Which oddly enough, makes the GT look like a bargain.

If the GS comes in closer to the 100 mark, I might just bite. If not, I might just shop for a Sonata, which is a bigger car for the same price.

• J (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:47 am

Paul, this GT in Spore is priced at S$78K, direct conversion will be RM179K.
    And just for your reference, the Civic Type R is S$106K (U.K), direct conversion is RM243K (our Type R is RM198K which is not far gap)

Good that our GT is priced at RM116K eventhough slighly lower spec than Spore’s version (example HID light)

Real worth the money I would say. I foresee a long Q for testing out this car in the weekends, me included :)

• anon (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:51 am

Here’s a rather lukewarm review:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCUOCnCyhlI

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 11:50 am

Wow, Mitsu is pricing this car really aggresively!!! 116k CBU, 5yrs warranty and 3 yrs free maintenance! A page out of Honda but extra 2 yrs warranty!!! I’m amazed!!! If I’m shopping for a saloon car in this range, this is a sure buy.

Now… looks like there is hope yet for the Evo X to priced low as well!!! Please please please!!! Then I have a viable replacement for my beloved 4G63T. :D

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:13 pm

Even though I am a Subaru supporter, I am pretty impressed with the new Lancer. To me, interior built quality is reasonable. Performance is more than I expected. Road gripping is superb. It’s a real macho performance car.

Best of all, price is super attractive. Let the price war begins and we as a consumer will be the one that benefits the most.

To Happymeal (Typical Pessimistic C),
    From the beginning of this forum, you have been trying to condemn the new Lancer. If I am not mistaken, you are working for one of Mitsubishi’s Competitor Company. Well if you are trying to discourage people NOT to buy the new Lancer, forget about it. All of us have our own common sense to judge the vehicle. Therefore, thank you very much for your pessimistic comments. And if you are so into your sissy La-SHE-oo and Civic, you might want to consider joining the Nissan and Honda forum.

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:21 pm

Din said,

But then again, maintenance for CVT may be an issue. Just ask a Honda City owner.
    —————————————————————-

Yep, i owned a Honda City Idsi….what maintenance for CVT??…just change yr CVTF oil as per manual….CVT is good for FC, mine average 16-17km/liter, plus the scooter like seamless gear change(u can’t even feel any gear changes …the car just accelerates) and the 7 speed manual F1 like gear on steering.

btw, most new car are heading towards CVT transmission……

• piston (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:25 pm

To be honest, exterior 1st impression….WOW, but no doubt it incoporates some the look of volvo, skyline, and rear is like alfa 156 (still cool though). Test drove it at bangsar dealer last nite..heavy steering i like, low rev sound a bit question mark ???..was informed by dealer its the muffler sound but some says its due to the timing chain. Did not have ample route to test the sport mode (knowing bangsar area …traffic and afraid to crash it into something and obligate to purchase).
    Engine compartment look packed with grunt but with firewall finish suspect. Oh as i never had any mitsu on the real scale before hope somebody can highlight on the durability of the engine since this one is based on from “ALUMINIUM”…due respect on the technology to make the engine lighter but will this mother sustainable the presure in the long run.
    Overall, with such affordable pricing in its class (still high for many though) and styling / warranties this latest imports can be considered a good run for the money.
    By the way I’ve been told that the service centre is up and coming situation somewhere in Kampung Melayu Subang or if you get the car now you can still visit EON glenmarie…he..he (if you catch my drift).
    Finally as an Honda owner (not new just an old / museum peace / TUKUN EG) I may switched if able to despose the 2 yr G spec VIOS belongs to wify…go luck and enjoy the new toy guys.

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 1:41 pm

nnaahh… dont work for any automotive manufacturer/vendor/supplier.

just a personal opinion on the materials used. its quite a great car and package apart from the ‘touch points’ (steering, controls, pedals, doors). it could seriously be designed to be more solid and feel better. everything has to compromise and nothing fits to everyone’s taste and order-of-importance.

went to the pj showroom btw… all i hear is “Evo 10 engine” … and “this leather seat is the most expensive… like in ferrari and porsche” …

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 2:11 pm

Even though I am a Subaru supporter, I am pretty impressed with the new Lancer. To me, interior built quality is reasonable. Performance is more than I expected. Road gripping is superb. It’s a real macho performance car.
    Best of all, price is super attractive. Let the price war begins and we as a consumer will be the one that benefits the most.

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 2:12 pm

To Happymeal (Typical Pessimistic C),
    From the beginning of this forum, you have been trying to condemn the new Lancer. If I am not mistaken, you are working for one of Mitsubishi’s Competitor Company. Well if you are trying to discourage people NOT to buy the new Lancer, forget about it. All of us have our own common sense to judge the vehicle. Therefore, thank you very much for your pessimistic comments. And if you are so into your sissy La-SHE-oo and Civic, you might want to consider joining the Nissan and Honda forum.

• shiftSpank (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 2:20 pm

Just saw the car just now. Long queue for a test drive.

Key points are:
    Leather seats really comfortable.
    Aircon controls have a el cheapo sounding click.
    If you look hard enough, you’ll find signs why the car can be priced so competitively.
    Door handle plastics are not body colored. They come sprayed. If you pull on the handle you can still see the unsprayed plastic.
    In the boot, below the carpets, its not sprayed properly.
    Interior fit and finish is good.
    Bonnet and front bumper gaps abit uneven. (For the showroom model that I saw).
    Interior kinda bland.
    Mileage reset button placed in a odd location. Feels as though it was an after thought.

IMHO: Civic still tops the class with better build quality and ambience. I heard the test drive vehicle drive by. I agree that at low revs, exhaust sounds weedy.

Bottomline: Don’t speculate. See the car in the flesh.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 4:55 pm

If only i can afford this car, or the recently launched Civic Type R. In our country, I’ve always wonder why 2.0 litre cars within the RM 110K – RM 120K price range does not come with a manual transmission. Not everybody prefers auto.

• kenshinx (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 4:59 pm

OMG
    Gonna trade in my Civic for this Hot Car ASAP.
    The price is really gonna kill other competitors. Shows how much Toyota, Honda, etc are making in terms of profit. Just blame the high tax rate, how convenient for them.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 5:24 pm

just tested the car.

fantastic leather seats and nice, sporty all black interior. compartment spaces slightly lacking but that is ok. drive was comfortable and insulation from external noise was good. however the noise from the engine tends to intrude into the cabin when revved even only until 3000rpm. good service package being offered here. all free including oil change for 3 years( unlike toyota which charges for that).
    serious contender for civic.

• geejun2 (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:23 pm

the exterior of this car is darn slick…. it has tht “SHARK”-like shape and i guess the large engine on this car will enable it to perform well….

however, I HONESTLY do not like the interior…. It looks so PLASTICKY and the picture which showed the dashboard compartment opening shows how similar it is to the PROTON WIRA…..

The rest of it is to be praised especially the price… RM115k is such a nice price tag for a 2.0GT car. Together with the leather seats n 3yr-maintenance-free package… i think it will be a GREAT BUY!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:54 pm

RM115k for CBU??? 2.0??? my jaw dropped!!! CAN U GUYS IMAGINE IT’S PRICE BEFORE OUR SUCKING CBU TAXES?? MITSU MEMANG DARING!

• acbc (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 9:37 pm

I test drove the black one this evening at EON Glenmarie together with 2 potential customers.

In terms of pick-up, it is slightly slower than a Galant E33A Super Saloon (2.0L DOHC 16V A/T) where it takes time to lurch forward. Forget about wheel spin, CVT won’t let u do it.

For handling, there are some noticeable body roll but very minor – probably due to lack of rear strut bar (simply problem, just make one or buy one from Ralliart).

Stock 18″ rims and 45 series tires aren’t very comfortable and generated a lot of road noise into the cabin. Perhaps a 50 series tires can solve this problem but I don’t think u can find 50 series in 18″ size.

Engine is tad noisy at higher RPMs – don’t bother putting loud Wei Yip exhaust – very irritating.

Leather seats are nice and comfy but as always where a seat belt if u don’t want your ass to slide forward or sideways when tackling corners.

I hate the stock HU and want to replace with Sony CDX-GT660US or higher spec with USB slot. Too bad, it can’t be done without a new face plate – this one must ask Kedai Abang to bring in from China or Taiwan.

Paddle-shift is nice but will require some time getting used to especially if u have been driving a normal stick shift or automatic without paddle controls. Need to master some games on PS2 or PSP first.

Signal lights difficult to see. Best of they have side mirror ones.

No HIDs? Darn it! No worries, can custom-fit easily – wiring so simple.

WTF? CVT ECU in the engine bay? This is a NO-NO as water or dust may enter and short it out. Remember the Waja 1.8X?

Wow, MAP sensor for intake – better since less problem than MAF and u can use aftermarket fuel controller for extra power – SAFC Neo for example.

Nothing much more to bitch but at RM 115k for CBU, it is WORTH IT! Now, we all know Honda and Toyota marques are overpriced here. Plus, it is not even CBU but CKD!

• J (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 11:16 pm

Dear all, to those you have tested this car, can you tell me how you start the engine ?

The salesman showed me that to start it, you still need to puk the key can twist it like normaly car. So the “KEYLESS” entry is not really keyless ?? :)

Anyone pls clarify ?

Thanks !

• e_tothe_izzo (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 11:55 pm

J, it’s keyless ENTRY, not keyless ignition
    :P

• merzed (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 1:22 am

Dudes, I am thought to buy civic 1.8 but found out engine quite noisy after test drive, salesman said civic 2.0 more quiet but drink oil, honda civic is not CVT transmission compare lancer, beside that I am quite amazed on the price for this lancer 2.0 GT, want to test drive to see but I am lack of confidence on EON service centre. Thought of BMW 318 2nd hand but heard lots of problem too. Cant wait to test drive new lancert although no VSA.

• irvingctl (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 3:10 am

the disc brakes on this is 16”..can it fit a 17” rim? due to the damn cost of cos of 18 inch tires

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 11:39 am

Looks very very nice… I’m currently driving a year 2000 putra, and would really like to upgrade to this lancer.. $$$$ but would still like a manual coupe version of the lancer still.. just like my good ole putra..

The talk about the poor quality plastics and bad paint job worries me that mitsubishi would be bold enough to allow such a dip in quality control considering it is built by their plant in Japan.. Maybe the next few batches will improve in quality.

• whodz (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 1:12 pm

Evo X will be out soon and the major difference (exterior) between lancer GT and EVO X is the nose job. The Evo X will get more sportier nose job and splitter (I think it’s CF). Interior is the same but color scheme is more garang and more CF. Recaro Seat, signal on side mirror. more sportier body kit, smoked headlamp (maybe HID), bigger rims, bigger spoiler, sportier gear knob, classic timer on the center dashboard and many more.

p/s: this is only exterior. :) Cheers.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Wonder why people are complaining about the plastics and interior build quality.

Its an “economy” car. Just dont let our inflated car prices and poor purchasing power fool you. If if wanted to nitpick, I could find the same fault on our 2005 Accord. Sure corners are cut. Even the Lexus IS300 has hard plastic interior. I find it perfectly acceptable though.

If you want nice interiors, go get a VW. But then again, thats a different price league all together.

The GT is probably the trim only. My guess would be that the GS will have the same running gear (brakes, engine, CVT) minus the garnishes for a few grand less.

• Carfan (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Can’t really wait till the weekend so 3 of us when to the Bangsar showroom with LRT! Just to disguise a bit of the cars that we’re driving. First impression, the Lancer GT look was stunning! I can say that it’s the most muscle car in its class unlike the nearest competitor which is more feminine. For sure some road hoggers will get out of your way when you’re coming right behind them or else… Waited for 5 mins, its our turn to test out the car. The interior looks cool with clean lines, nice to hold steering, and… sport mode shift (favourite part). Can’t really get my fingers off the shifter. But it feels more like a racer boy when you shift using the stick. I sat there comfortable despite my height my nearly 6th footer height. Even sat comfortable at the rear seat. We did the sprint test at one the of traffic light. The pick up was a bit lacking in the RPM range of 1 to 2K, but the MIVEC power surged when the RPM hit 3500, but still feel lack of power. I must blame my mindset of driving and an Evo. Nonetheless, it still ok for a saloon I guess.

On the cornering, it has 10 out of 10 grips. At one point of time, we were lapping at a corner near Maybank Bangsar, and I though damm!, we’re gonna go over the divider, and phew, the car went through that corner perfectly with great grip.

Overall, it’s a bloody damm good looking saloon car, with reasonably good engine performance, nice looking interior but feels cheap and ‘empty sound’ inside (can’t really blame it on them due to the cost cutting measures). If you’re a person that its up for a performance car, nice look, feels good driving, but don’t mind the sound, it’s the right car for you but if you’re up to comfort, silence, and soft ride, better get the other one.

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 6:15 pm

“went to see the lar-tee-oh after that… honestly the interior plastics are a notch higher compared to the CBU lancer. it just felt so much nicer to be in. accept for the lame arse seat adjustment levers.”,happymeal said, August 9, 2007 @ 12:14 am
    ———————————————————
    well…i do agreed what happymeal said, the interior designed of Lan GT are not really superior level especially the leather seat compared with CIVIC 2.0s. the feeling of paddle shifters are really more solid than the civic. in fact, It can be more perfect for interior designed. honesty to say.

however, i like the meter clusters, which red color light in background. although it is more simple than Civic, it still very cool!!

take a front look, the front grill like a nose of wildboar, haha… but it is stylish which match with meaning of “Lancer”, dare to fight while facing to enemies.

the taillights design similar to Alfa Romeo and add on the rear spoiler, it is a sport car style. (well, it is a sport car..hahaII)

i have also tested drive in this afternoon. fantastic… 0-100km/h complete ard 9 seconds, but it is hard to count the time while i m driving in highway. i can enjoy with 3 ways of transmission control. when the engine output in ard 5100rpm, i feel that the power suddenly get pump in like supercharger feeling and push up the output to 6000rpm. i think that is a feature of MIVEC tech.

as a LanEvo fanz, i do accept this car to be my dreams car. but i hope that these few critical design will be improved into in coming model- Evo X.

in conclusion, i support Mitsubishi.

• kingglim (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 6:32 pm

i tested it also…very much agree with the others.

Pick-up at low RPM is a bit sluggish (dun feel having 155hp and 199 torque), likely because of CVT and MIVEC not kick in yet and engine not runned in yet. Rev the engine 3k RPM and higher, the engine starts to sound noisy. Well, for drivetrain, I think Honda still has a strong upperhand over Mitsu, i-VTEC kicks in much earlier and smoother and Civic engine is much more refined.

Lancer’s 18-inch tire definitely has compromised the driving comfort significantly. Although the chasis feels very rigid and things feel very tight together (still new car, of course lah), i can feel a lot the shakes when go over road bumps and cracks. I dun mind 16-inch tires for comfort, since Malaysian roads are bad. Also, 18-inch tires will mean the shock absorbers will have to burden much of the load, wearing out faster also.

Interior, Civic is rich and a clear winner. Lancer’s dash is simpler and the door panels are very plastic. Lancer also dun have cruise control, side airbags and powered-folding side mirrors.

Anyhow, RM116k OTR for a CBU frm Japan is a superb deal. Plus, 5yrs/100k km warranty and 3yrs/50k km free maintenance, Honda dun give you that. On top of all, i jus love the exterior look. Shark nose…he he…like jaws coming up in your rear-view mirror.

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 6:49 pm

hey kingglim, where u tested the car today?? i tested in ampang jaya which near STAR LRT station. the front view can be is shark nose, but i think it is like wild bour nose rather than shark nose….haha!!!

but i agree with u oso, RM116k for CBU frm japan is superd deal.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 11:23 pm

man, RM115k lancer CBU from Japan just make us feel the civic price is too expensive and honda just raised civic 2.0 price RM4k month ago…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 10:04 pm

TD the car today. Simply put it as the best RM115K you can buy. Don’t you think, Osh Kosh? :)

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 11:54 am

HMM..2.0 LITRE POWEREHOOD..FOR ONLY RM115OOO..THATS A VERY

COMPETITIVE PRICE TO ALL CARS IN THIS RANGE ESPECIALLY THE HONDA

CIVIC..MAZDA 6 AND PERDANA V6?? MAYBE..WE MAKE SOME COMPARE

HERE..BETWEEN OUR OWN LOCAL PERDANA V6 AND THIS FANTASTIC SPORT

MACHINE..STARTING WITH PRICE..CLEARLY THAT THIS FANTASTIC SPORT

MACHINE (FSM) IS RATHER EXPENSIVE COMPARE WTH PERDANA..BUT IS THIS

PRICE U CAN GET THE SPECIFICATION BETTER THAN THE ODD PERDANA

V6..DUAL AIRBAGS..TRACTION CONTROL..VEHICLE STABILIZER.AND

ETC…HOW CAN PROTON SELL THE PERDANA V6 OVER THAN 100K BUT

ONLY HAVE A VERY BASIC SPEC LIKE ABS??? SOUNDS STUPID ISN’T IT??? IM

SURE IF THE FSM ONLY PUT THE ABS AS STANDARD…THE FSM WILL LAKU LIKE

PISANG GORENG PANAS..SAYONARA TO PERDANA V6…IS DOES’T MAKE

SENSE TO LIST THE PERDANA V6 PRICE OVER 100K…HOPEFULLY PROTON

WILL DO SOMETHING 4 THIS…

HOWEVER THERE SOMETHING LACK IN THIS FSM…LIKE GEEJUN2 SAID THE

INTERIOR IS VERY PLASTIKY LOOKING..ALTHOUGH THERE USING THE SAME

PLATFORM WITH TRITON..BUT THE PLASTIC MATERIAL IS CLEARLY

LOOKING..MITSU..PLEASE BE ALERT OF THIS..ANYWAY..IS A DARING STARTING

BY MITSU IN MALAYSIA….

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 1:34 pm

zack_keyme988,

Malaysian Lancer have no Traction Control and all related stuff. Its only come with ABS+EBD.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 1:39 pm

zack_keyme988,

Lancer is the same platform as Triton? You must be joking :)

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 8:06 pm

I know that this Lancer has no TCS and has less Airbags than the new Civic, but i wouldn’t mind. Hehe. It’s a Lancer….. has rally DNA.

However, I read in NST’s CBT today that MMM will consider bringing in the standard version (without bodykit, and 18″ rims) which is RM10,000 cheaper, if there is a demand for this car. Hope it will come in a Manual version as well. :D

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 8:10 pm

Anyway, i only can talk, drool, and admire this car and STILL is a long way to go from being able to afford it…. Sigh..

If put downpaymen RM20,000 for this car, monthly payment still RM1K++ for 7 years installments….. I can dream on…

• DEVILMAN (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 10:19 pm

really very very very nice ,best car !!!! best buy !!!when i saw this car ,feel cant breath!!! so so so….good !!

price cheap !! fully imported car from JAPAN and full leather too!!original body kit from japan,18 inches rims……really worth !!!

so,i will say TATA to HONDA CIVIC!!!~~ price high,and more aunty,uncle drive this car !! BYE BYE !!

I LOVE U SO MUCH !! M.LANCER 20. GT!!

• ScoobyPower (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 9:48 am

zack_keyme988 said,
    ….ALTHOUGH THERE USING THE SAME PLATFORM WITH TRITON….

Just wondering on what basis you said that ? Please support your arguments.

• levin (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 1:03 pm

The front keeps reminding me of SKYLINE…Now, Everyone can race…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 2:19 pm

MyBoy said,
    August 11, 2007 @ 10:04 pm

TD the car today. Simply put it as the best RM115K you can buy. Don’t you think, Osh Kosh?

————————————————————-

yup bro… still can’t wipe the smile on my face after last saturday TD… really worth it…. there’s no regret what so ever for waiting 3 hours just for that TD… hahahaha…

still remember the face of that fella that was inside the car with us bro??? hahahaha.. now, that’s how u TD… if we were on H/way, I might tried to hit the 220km/h mark just to prove what the salesman said… el perfecto.. the grip at corners & that round about just superb… hehehe.. i think u just pull out that fella stomach inside out when testing the emergency brake… hahahaha :)

i don’t understand why some of the blogger said the engine are noisy at higher rev… as far as I know the noise mostly come from the tyre… 215/45R18 what u expect? ;) I can live with that…

still can’t believe i was actually doing 140km/h but it feels like 100km/h… hahaha… the only regret on my mind is that i only manage to hit 170km/h just because of the traffic… what the heck… i’m thinking of another TD.. wanna join???

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Yeah bro, thats how a test drive should be. Push to the max, flat out!

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 9:50 pm

osh kosh… what did the salesman say? he got angry ah u kau kau push the car? If me I think i shy la. to push the car..

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Must go and TD also la.. showroom is nearby only..

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 10:57 pm

prometheus,

osh kosh… what did the salesman say? he got angry ah u kau kau push the car? If me I think i shy la. to push the car..

When me hitting 180kmh while filtering traffic in a not so empty road (osh kosh was on my left), everyone including the sales guy at the back was like stop talking and start praying (i guess :)). All i can hear is tires noise and some engine roar up until i reached a ‘blockade’ of cars that prompt me to run a brake-test drill :)

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 11:00 pm

HA HA HA HA .. got check his pants wet or not? Did he ask if you want to buy ah? LOL I really like the look of the car.. if i try real real real hard.. might be able to buy la.. but don’t think its worth to try that hard to buy a car.. Maybe in a few years time la. In the meantime.. just my Putra will do.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 11:28 pm

prometheus said,

HA HA HA HA .. got check his pants wet or not? Did he ask if you want to buy ah? LOL I really like the look of the car.. if i try real real real hard.. might be able to buy la.. but don’t think its worth to try that hard to buy a car.. Maybe in a few years time la. In the meantime.. just my Putra will do.

Sure got wet, hehehehe.

Of course the sales guy asked me the magic question. And me, i almost agree to book on that day. Sure i can get the Lancer if i really, really want it. But it will be hard on me to maintain 3 cars. Will figure out way to get myself the Lancer, maybe next year who knows.

I still believe on waiting for year 2008 :) before make any decision.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 11:35 pm

prometheus said,

If me I think i shy la. to push the car..

Ohh, dont be shy. The test car is meant to be push kaw, kaw……..To my understanding, at least :)

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 10:30 am

MyBoy where did u have the TD?? i don’t think u could rev the car to 220km/h since i had try it in KESAS..i think they had lock it the max i could go are exactly 200km/h n the car still can go higher -_- i do agree with u, the engine is not that noisy but the noise is coming out frm the tyre..the steering is a little heavy than the civic but it’s more fun..i love the car w/o traction control it really boil my blood..haha

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 10:31 am

btw did u try the paddle shifting n oso the sport shift mode??

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 11:42 am

stevenkk said,

btw did u try the paddle shifting n oso the sport shift mode??

Yes, tried it all but prefer paddle shifter most. TD it @ EON Auto Mart Glenmarie.

Me too don’t think this car can go beyond 200kmh as claimed by the sales guy. This guy don’t even have a proper knowledge on CVT (he talking nonsence) and intercooler. He also refer aluminum-color radiator as an intercooler and told me that i do not need to buy an intercooler if i were to fit in an after market turbo, since the car already have one. WTF !!!!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 11:46 am

prometheus said,
    August 13, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

—————————————————————
    no lah… aper mau marah??? we are potential buyers mah… hehehe…

actually the salesman also “belanja” us lunch before the TD (nice fella:))… coz of the waiting… so darn long… so many people with one car to TD… funny lah why they all take so long when TD… bawak 50km/h ka?? even uncle in his late 50’s came to TD..with his wife.. but they have the right mah.. hahaha :)nevertheless we had great time waiting & TD :)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 11:50 am

MyBoy said,
    August 14, 2007 @ 11:42 am

Yes, tried it all but prefer paddle shifter most. TD it @ EON Auto Mart Glenmarie.

Me too don’t think this car can go beyond 200kmh as claimed by the sales guy. This guy don’t even have a proper knowledge on CVT (he talking nonsence) and intercooler. He also refer aluminum-color radiator as an intercooler and told me that i do not need to buy an intercooler if i were to fit in an after market turbo, since the car already have one. WTF !!!!

———————————————————–
    hey…that fella did buy us lunch…;) forgive him of the lack of knowledge lah… hahaha…

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 12:14 pm

osh_kosh said,

hey…that fella did buy us lunch…;) forgive him of the lack of knowledge lah… hahaha…

Ok, bagi muka lah. :)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 12:24 pm

stevenkk said,
    August 14, 2007 @ 10:30 am

MyBoy where did u have the TD?? i don’t think u could rev the car to 220km/h since i had try it in KESAS..i think they had lock it the max i could go are exactly 200km/h n the car still can go higher -_- i do agree with u, the engine is not that noisy but the noise is coming out frm the tyre..the steering is a little heavy than the civic but it’s more fun..i love the car w/o traction control it really boil my blood..haha

—————————————————————-
    bro.. funny coz that salesman said they’ve not limit the max speed.. that why i’m trying to reach the 220km/h just to prove it… but i can’t coz of the traffic… but the car hit 170km/h without much effort even with 4 of us for in it (me, MyBoy, the saleman & a guy who join us for TD)… that’s why i believe the Lancer can… just imagine if there’s only a driver in it, how much fun it will turn out to be haha… for RM116k, this is the best buy…

i don’t believe that the car is sluggish, it coz of the CVT, technically it feels like an AT car when u accelerate & a bit sluggish but if u engage the paddle shift/sport mode and using the “virtual” gear changing then it’s feels different.. also when the INVECS-III “kick in”, u will know what i mean… what a pleasure…

I was considering the Bangsar showroom but went to the Glenmarie instead after thinking of our possible TD route… we tried it from Glenmarie to the Subang airport.. it just a good combination route… u got this long left, right & then left corners after exiting Glenmarie to the airport road where u can take the corner “flat out”… then there is quite a long stright (i think probably 500m) before we came to the round about…. the straight mostly fill with plenty of road users so u can do a combination of speed test with some high speed passing maneuver… at the round about we just circle it round & round to see how much it will understeer before it will actually reach its limit… after that it’s almost the same normal boring road.. owh.. there’s a bump & also “cat eye” that u can test… maybe next time we can go into “NKVE” for a max speed test… ;)

you should see the face of that guy that was with us for the TD… LOL…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 12:40 pm

MyBoy said,
    August 13, 2007 @ 11:28 pm

Sure got wet, hehehehe.

Of course the sales guy asked me the magic question. And me, i almost agree to book on that day. Sure i can get the Lancer if i really, really want it. But it will be hard on me to maintain 3 cars. Will figure out way to get myself the Lancer, maybe next year who knows.

I still believe on waiting for year 2008 before make any decision.

no lah, I was just enjoying the moment… but don’t know about that fella haha ;)

yeah… MyBoy so very eager to booked that Lancer haha… as for me, there’s always an easy answear… “have to discuss it 1st with my wife” ;) LOL… I’ve promise my wife “no more cars” haha… but she did give me a “green light” on mpv… argh… “rasa macam uncle2 lah” keskes… so i’ll just wait for Lavina to see how it goes… if it’s no satisfying, I’ll have to break my promise :)

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:41 pm

osh_kosh said,

you should see the face of that guy that was with us for the TD… LOL…

Muakakaka!!!! He sure serik already :)

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:50 pm

when u guys when for TD again i could join..eventhough w/o traction control i dun feel this car had too much understeer..maybe the 18′ tyre make lot of different to it..they definitely limit the car to 200..if we plug in the external turbo i afraid lost the 5 years warranty..next time go ask the salesman treat us lunch again la..hahaha~

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:16 pm

stevenkk said,
    August 14, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

when u guys when for TD again i could join..eventhough w/o traction control i dun feel this car had too much understeer..maybe the 18′ tyre make lot of different to it..they definitely limit the car to 200..if we plug in the external turbo i afraid lost the 5 years warranty..next time go ask the salesman treat us lunch again la..hahaha~

yeah bro.. u r most welcome to join… welcome to the club…. where most of our activity is TD only & not buying… hahaha.. ;)

at least we don’t do “imiginary TD” like some people does.. haha.. am I right MyBoy? :)

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:21 pm

osh_kosh said,

yeah bro.. u r most welcome to join… welcome to the club…. where most of our activity is TD only & not buying… hahaha.. ;)

at least we don’t do “imiginary TD” like some people does.. haha.. am I right MyBoy? :)

You are RIGHT about the “imaginary TD” part. but WRONG about “TD only” part. We are going to get one aren’t we?

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 3:22 pm

MyBoy, u seems to be very intested in this Lancer..wat color u wana get in?? I oso would like to cash in my $$ for this car but the lower spec will come in soon..i juz couldn’t make up my mind yet..

• whodz (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 4:45 pm

stevenkk wrote,

I oso would like to cash in my $$ for this car but the lower spec will come in soon..i juz couldn’t make up my mind yet..

———————————————-

what kind of lower spec do you refer? Is it the-non-body-kit-and-18-rims’s or else? I was hoping they will bring in the 1.5 cc Lancer 2007. I’m not very much into perfomance car but I will certainly fell in love with this 2007 Lancer. Or, I can wait a little longer see if mitsubishi will bring along their brother, Lancer Sportback with variant 1.5,1.8,2.0. With Sportier looks.

p/s: 1.5 will not using 4B engine, instead 4A.

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 7:14 pm

stevenkk said,

MyBoy, u seems to be very intested in this Lancer..wat color u wana get in?? I oso would like to cash in my $$ for this car but the lower spec will come in soon..i juz couldn’t make up my mind yet..

Bro, for me i like the Red one. But on second thought, Black would better suit for daily usage. How bout u, bro?

• alcool31 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 12:28 am

OK….all talks about the looks, how fast it is 0-100km (0-62). Tried to look all over the internet, but can’t find it. Can anyone help?

• minyak_hitam (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 12:51 pm

i’ve read somewhere…probably US review sites cos its release there before us. 0-100 about 8.7secs, around that figure..or was it 8.9secs??

shame the head unit couldn’t be exchange for your choice of ice..love if i can have my alpine HU in there.. looks like have to wait for “abang” shop to come up with solution..hehehhh..in US have options, sunroof, 650W audio with rockford ( i think) speakers, bluetooth etc..well gotta sacrifice to keep the cost down eh..

for u guys have TD the car, does changing to sports mode (pedal shifter) from AT have button or something??

shame the headlights not like prototype evo x..that would be cooool…
    wheel arches would be nice too..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 3:53 pm

minyak_hitam said,
    August 15, 2007 @ 12:51 pm

…for u guys have TD the car, does changing to sports mode (pedal shifter) from AT have button or something??……..

from “AT” u just use the pedal shifter.. it will automaticly shift to “manual”… no extra button…

but if u are on the “manual” & want to shift to “AT” u can just press the pedal on your right (+) & hold it for 2 second… then it will turn back to “Auto”

• Zamhar (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 3:57 pm

ada sesiapa tahu tentang prestasi pecutan kereta ini? 0-100kmj dalam berapa saat?

biasanya Lancer Evo boleh memecut 0-100kmj dalam 5 saat. bagaimana dengan Lancer GT?

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 4:25 pm

our beloved blogger here just gave his insights on the GT.
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Features/20070814181551/Article/indexpull_html

summary.
    1. engine is noisy, insulation needs improvement
    2. CVT ‘box overheats at high speed runs (no more track days? :P)
    3. handling is good.

• minyak_hitam (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 4:55 pm

will the 5-speed manual ever gonna be released here?
    please2 say it will…

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 5:18 pm

MyBoy said,
    August 14, 2007 @ 7:14 pm

Bro, for me i like the Red one. But on second thought, Black would better suit for daily usage. How bout u, bro?

I would cash in my $$ on the red coz the black doesn’t look ranggi to me..i would hope the armrest to be slightly longer coz it is so uncomfortable..i might spray it white if i dun really like the red..haha^^ when will u buy the car?? i might need 2 wait till Feb / Mac ’08 coz wana save more $$ 1st..

• whodz (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 5:37 pm

stevenkk said,

Would cash in my $$ on the red coz the black doesn’t look ranggi to me..i would hope the armrest to be slightly longer coz it is so uncomfortable..i might spray it white if i dun really like the red..haha^^ when will u buy the car?? i might need 2 wait till Feb / Mac ‘08 coz wana save more $$ 1st..

——————————

In Singapore, it has white color. Also, after some readings, I think 1.5cc variant will not be on our shore due to NEP. I felt sad and thinking that If that so, I’ll never own this car.sigh.Pity Malaysian.

• kk (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:34 pm

Paul wrote in yesterday’s NST: “It is also not advisable for you to keep the CVT at high revs at very high speeds for a long time as it can overheat.”

How fast is “high speed”, and after how long, did the warning indicator came up?

• Rolling8 (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 10:54 am

Nice looking, big, worth the money. But I still can’t afford it :(.

• merzed (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 2:21 pm

I got test drive yesterday with my friends at bangsar showroom. What I found out on lancer 2.0GT after TD

a) Cornering is good as the car is heavy with 18 inch rims
    b) Noisy from behind probably muffler during driving on the road
    c) Powerful and steady
    d) Transmission, breaks and steering are very responsive

Bad new is need to wait till next year chinese new year only can get the car which is around 6 months. I heard lancer 2.0GS probably might coming out soon which lower spec compare to 2.0GT.

• stevenkk (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 5:03 pm

merzed said,
    August 16, 2007 @ 2:21 pm

I got test drive yesterday with my friends at bangsar showroom. What I found out on lancer 2.0GT after TD

a) Cornering is good as the car is heavy with 18 inch rims
    b) Noisy from behind probably muffler during driving on the road
    c) Powerful and steady
    d) Transmission, breaks and steering are very responsive

Bad new is need to wait till next year chinese new year only can get the car which is around 6 months. I heard lancer 2.0GS probably might coming out soon which lower spec compare to 2.0GT.

If any of U wana had the car earlier go to Shah Alam Branch..they offer me 2mths with red color..if u wana hav black color i m not sure how long it gonna wait..

• kingglim (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 11:18 pm

Paul,

Your review on NST states that “It is also not advisable for you to keep the CVT at high revs at very high speeds for a long time as it can overheat”…

Hmmm, i guess the transmission cooler for Japan is not strong enough for Msia’s hot tropical climate. Did Mitsu technician say what will be the risks of it? Will Mitsu remedy the problem? Will it be problematic drving up hills, eg. Genting, Cameron, or jungle mountain?

• whchua (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Test drive the car today at Melaka, excellent car with powerful engine.
    Unknowingly reached 140km/h while test drive. Acceleration is fast with a very sporty engine sound. Feels like driving a Evo. Especially nice to drive playing with the paddle shift and drag the rpm to more than 6000rpm and you can feel the car ‘flying’.

Interior is of top quality and with nice leather seats and steering wheel. Very spacious compare to Civic.

Definitely a good buy but have to wait for at least 3 months.

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 2:49 pm

Nice car, good offerings, very keen to get one to replace 3 years old PV6, but to me, the biggest worries is still with regards to Service Centre.

I tried to convince myself and give another chance by sending in PV6 to E-‘Yon’ Servis ( Kepong ) last Monday. Guess what? Only one counter is opened out of perhaps 5 of them. And, there is a dedicated counter for Mitsubishi cars but no one is at the counter at all. I was there waiting and observing for more than an hour. Cannot imagine if I am bringing in the beloved Lancer into the service centre for service.

Really hope that MMM will looking into this area seriously that would benefit Mitsubishi fans

• MyBoy (Member) on Aug 19, 2007 at 12:06 am

#
    syong888 said,

Nice car, good offerings, very keen to get one to replace 3 years old PV6, but to me, the biggest worries is still with regards to Service Centre.

I tried to convince myself and give another chance by sending in PV6 to E-‘Yon’ Servis ( Kepong ) last Monday. Guess what? Only one counter is opened out of perhaps 5 of them. And, there is a dedicated counter for Mitsubishi cars but no one is at the counter at all. I was there waiting and observing for more than an hour. Cannot imagine if I am bringing in the beloved Lancer into the service centre for service.

Really hope that MMM will looking into this area seriously that would benefit Mitsubishi fans

Scary scenario. Thats why i decided to wait for at least 6 month to see how things goes.

• anand79 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 11:36 am

well , i just booked one yesterday and now the waiting period has increased to 4-5 month min and varies on diff showroom . They said extra production is being carried out , well hope not the QC will be jeopardised by the rush !! anyway its CBU that gives a little feel good.. though .

• charles27 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 3:01 pm

5 years warranty + 115k + 7.7sec pickup speed… civic 2.0 cant fight already. Dont wnt civic already loo :)

• Raymond Lim (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 4:48 pm

it’s a cool car and i’m thinking of getting one but I’m worried about the fuel economy of the car.

any idea Paul?

• madsurgeon (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 7:44 pm

Hey guys. Took delivery of my GT (silver) on Friday. Got it from the Shah Alam showroom (very nice people there). FANTASTIC SPORT MACHINE! It is what they say it is. Aside from all the looks I get, the car is just amazing. It rides well, it goes well and it stops very well. The only prob is the humming noise , its like drivind an EV. very easy to hit illegal speeds without knowing it. It seriously feels like I’m doing 80, when I’m doing 120. Guys its the best value for money out there. Honda , sorry but you’ve been beaten fair and square. Toyota never had a chance. Feels like a true offspring of a Jap-german marriage! I’m Lovin it!

• 4B11Baby (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 9:10 am

Test drived the car in bangsar. Woahh. It really lived up to it’s tagline – fantastic sports machine! Superb handling, cool set of rims and the paddle shifters are good shit. Loved the nappa leather seats too. Good buy wei.

• 4B11Baby (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 9:18 am

Oh yea..did you guys check out their website i.e. www.mitsubishilancer.com.my? It’s pretty cool. There is a contest, lancer time trial challenge – fun and addictive. The ralliart gifts are cool wei. I am so aiming for that ralliart gear knob man! ha ha

• eantautjk (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 3:28 pm

A Penang salesman told me that the RM115k is only for 400 unit, investment by Mitsu to create a present in Malaysia.

After the 400 units has been sold out, the price might be readjusted higher back to normal, ie nearer to Civic pricing.

Anybody can confirm that?

• Tennissportstar (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Hi Paul. Any news on the fuel consumption of the car?

• anand79 (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 11:28 pm

well i think the price increase after 400 units , is sales gimmick.. so that u would book..earlier..they get their sales commision earlier.. :)

• EweChai (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:13 pm

Thinking of buying 1. Went test drive just now and played with the LCD Information Screen and found its’ average feul consumption calculated by the computer… OMG, it was showing 15.5 litres / 100km when I was driving slowly in housing estate area. When played with its paddle shift for aggresive driving, it shows 15.8 litres / 100 km! This is around 30 cents per every km driven… This is too much for me… Salesman somemore telling me around 12-13 cents per km… bullshit… So, better buy Civic…

• dcspeed (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:26 pm

IMHO, the new Mitsubishi Lancer GT 2.0 is definitely a good buy! Although I am a die-hard Honda fans and also one of the co-founder of the 7th Gen Honda Civic Owners Club in Malaysia. The price, features and maintenance packages MMC offering on the new Lancer 2.0 GT had leaved behind other competitors in its class. RM116k for a fully imported CBU vehicle. Its time for other competitors to revise their selling price.

Test drive the car twice in PJ Showroom. The handling of the new Lancer is much more better than my current Civic. Less body roll and the suspension is more on the sporty-tuned sides. The 18’rims with the Yokohama Advan rubbers do pay some contribution on the stability of the new Lancer 2.0 GT. The acceleration of the car is very responsive although you can feel a little bit of lag during the 1000-2500 RPM. The power from the newly invented Mitsubishi 4B11 aluminium-made MIVEC 2.0 DOHC engine comes very smoothly on the mid and high RPM. The INVEC-III CVT transmission really makes the new Lancer even more fun to drive. The steering-mounted magnesium paddle shifters make the daily boring drive more alive as you can imagine you are driving a F1 vehicle. In terms of the interior design, the Multi Info Display on the dashboard is quite a useful gadget as multiple information can be obtained by pressing a button on the dashboard. The Nappa leather is smooth and comfort to be seated. The back support on the driver seat also will make you feel less drained even after long hours drives. The engine bay looks nice and neat with all the “Made in Japan” parts inside. The cover for the engine which carry a sign “MIVEC” make the engine bay even more glory. The engine bay still had lot of space for those car enthusiasts to mod or bolt on an after-market turbo if you have bored enough with the 155bhps power from the 4B11 engine.

The only things that I might think need some improvement on the new Lancer 2.0 GT will be the sound proof of the vehicle. During the 15 minutes test drive, I really can hear the road noise and the engine sound. It will be kinda annoying if you are driving on the highway and long hours. However, I guess this issue can be resolved by using some of the after market sound shield such as Dynamat or Autofoam. The quality of the plastic material made on the door panel and the dashboard shall improve as well. It really looks like those locally made dashboard. Other than that, the new Lancer 2.0 GT is still a good buy compared to others in its class.

Well, I’ve already booked mine 2 weeks ago in MMC PJ Showroom. Hopefully my new Lancer able to arrive by year end.

• kingglim (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 2:10 pm

Booked my lancer at MMC PJ early Aug, car supposed to come in Oct. Now, my salesman says there will be no lancer stock all for Sep, not sure now if car can come in Oct. The salesman does not know the reason. Anyone has any info. about this?

• evetstteggel (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 2:35 pm

Nice looking, finishing needs attention, if show cars anything to go by, quality will only get worse. Good price

• firefox (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:08 pm

just tested this car, not sure is am too sensitive or not, when push to 2k-3k RPM, little bit of lag and felt like tak jalan pun (maybe coz the tyre is big). but after push to over 4k RPM, than can felt the power,handling is good, comfortable ….tak ada la…18″ Rims plus malaysia road condition, ..ai~~what can expected, …this car is noisy, maintenance wise..need to go back EON service center, boring la..
    by the way, price and design wise, it still the best choice for 2000 CC range, this really my dream car, no $ purchase evo X than buy this GT. as chinese said no fish prawn also can.
    This car is really hot, paid the booking 1k at bangsar and need to wait 6 month, mean will get the 2008’s car maybe before CNY

• malaya tiger on Nov 13, 2011 at 2:06 am

DON’T BUY MITSHUBISHI MOTOR

Liar sales man & company Evatrend S/B @ Setapak….

I just bought a mitsubishi triton car at setapak, the only one mitshubishi dealer at Setapak, Evatrend S/B. During make booking they pursuing i buy with them with good service, free gifts and after sales service….bla..bla….

After getting my car, only found that it’s a [COLOR=red]big LIAR[/COLOR] salesman and company who only give JANJI KoSONG… said that i must make the payment/ loan approval within that few days….what the F***… is possible Malaysia bank could able deliver the loan within few days?

After calling to Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia, the customer sales service said that it’s the dealer/ salesman fault to give wrong information to customer. Nothing relevant to them….piss off…

Then go to Mitsubishi Motor service center, i believe it’s worst than the outside workshop who always telling customer

SIR, YOU CAR NEED NEED 2 HOURS TO SERVICE.

Ask, Why? It’s just 1000km service just change oil/ filter simple job.
      Sir, BECAUSE WE HAVE LOT OF CAR WAITING TO SERVICE.

Ask, then why should i make the appointment?
      Sir, THIS IS THE TIME WE NEED TO SERVICE YOUR CAR, LONG QUEUE OF CAR AWAITING FOR SERVICE.

Ask, How long do you need to go to workshop service your car?
      Sir, YOU CAN’T COMPARE OUR SERVICE TO OUTSIDER WORKSHOP, WE HAVE LONG QUEUE OF CAR TO SERVICE.

w*****, F**8,zxcsdafsad****
      Piss off with Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia….is this a Japanese Brand of Company ! Lousy than outside workshop ….

• divacute (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 3:26 pm

how much is the price now?how long to wait..

• materazi on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:43 pm

the best car and most valueable car 2009

• CIVIC SUCKS…GO GO LANCER….I LUVE U LANCER…I OWEYZ DA NUMBER 1 IN MA HEART… (^^,)

• aqeef on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:25 pm

i'm going to view the car now….go lancer go….

• jeorjiaa (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:53 am

guys! which is better lancer gt or civic 2.0? and why?

• Black Genie on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:13 am

why they don't put sunroof on it anyway? i would like to see they bring it in, 2010. What would you all say?

• hshah5301 on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:56 am

the best car and most valueable car 2010….

Thinking of buying 1……but why dont put sunroof?

please……….

• Just for your info, a slightly different spec lancer Activ in Australia is selling for AUD22k with 12 months registration and insurance (roughly RM66k). The going price of GT is RM123k (with insurance). To put things in perspective, a typical 4 bedroom 2 toilet linked house in Cheras, KL cost about RM380k. Therefore the Lancer GT is about 1/3 of a typical house! That is not cheap. So, be informed dear Malaysians. BTW, a typical house in Australia (a bungalow going by KL definition) is about AUD450k. Cheers, mate!

• jpang on Jun 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Pls advise, considering altis or lancer? worry that lancer may change model soon…

• kenny on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

adoh…. paguh la keta t….

• I just bought it. Finally a Lancer is mine. Next I must have a EVO. This car is worth every single penny i paid for it.

• champion on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:11 am

4 months later…..I wonder how you feel now ? Plan to change your Mitsu logo to Proton Tundercat ?

• malaya tiger on Nov 13, 2011 at 2:04 am

DON’T BUY MITSHUBISHI !!!

Liar sales man & company Evatrend S/B @ Setapak….

I just bought a mitsubishi triton car at setapak, the only one mitshubishi dealer at Setapak, Evatrend S/B. During make booking they pursuing i buy with them with good service, free gifts and after sales service….bla..bla….

After getting my car, only found that it’s a [COLOR=red]big LIAR[/COLOR] salesman and company who only give JANJI KoSONG… said that i must make the payment/ loan approval within that few days….what the F***… is possible Malaysia bank could able deliver the loan within few days?

After calling to Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia, the customer sales service said that it’s the dealer/ salesman fault to give wrong information to customer. Nothing relevant to them….piss off…

Then go to Mitsubishi Motor service center, i believe it’s worst than the outside workshop who always telling customer

SIR, YOU CAR NEED NEED 2 HOURS TO SERVICE.

Ask, Why? It’s just 1000km service just change oil/ filter simple job.
    Sir, BECAUSE WE HAVE LOT OF CAR WAITING TO SERVICE.

Ask, then why should i make the appointment?
    Sir, THIS IS THE TIME WE NEED TO SERVICE YOUR CAR, LONG QUEUE OF CAR AWAITING FOR SERVICE.

Ask, How long do you need to go to workshop service your car?
    Sir, YOU CAN’T COMPARE OUR SERVICE TO OUTSIDER WORKSHOP, WE HAVE LONG QUEUE OF CAR TO SERVICE.

w*****, F**8,zxcsdafsad****
    Piss off with Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia….is this a Japanese Brand of Company ! Lousy than outside workshop ….

• hello..i from malaysia…kedah..although i m still young,no money to buy it..Lancer is always in my heart…lancer is the perfect car..i really love it..i hope i can get it..amin…heheheh