Next generation Mazda 6 to debut at Frankfurt 2007

Mazda will be showcasing it’s next generation Mazda 6 at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show next month. The Mazda 6 is known as the Mazda Atenza in Mazda’s home country of Japan. It is based on an updated CD3 platform called the CD3-2, and will share most of it’s underpinnings with other Ford cars like the Ford Fusion and the Lincoln MKZ.

The fact that the new Mazda 6 will have alot of things in common with the Lincoln MKZ could mean that a high performance Mazdaspeed version of the car could be powered by Ford’s new 3.5 litre Twin-Force Duratec twin turbocharged V6 engine producing over 400 horsepower.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:12 pm

wow… the current mazda6 actually still feels fresh!

honda better have their Accord ready on our shores before the new 6 arrives…

• szw (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:20 pm

looks pretty .

• azrai (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:34 pm

Somehow it has some Accord cues or should I say the new Sonata. :-)

• sexmachine (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:56 pm

another whip in the ass for those owning current gen Mazda 6…

• AmSouth (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Bye Bye Honda! Welcome Mazda

• williaml (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:11 pm

I don’t see anything wrong for those own current Mazda6.

Zoom Zoom…

• demio121 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:27 pm

everytime a new model is launch, its a whip to the outgoing model owner @$$. its a fact of life.

stunning looking (ok… i ma biased to Mazda).

then again, Mazda brand in MY is pretty messed up. Its a CBU (but recently CBU been making a lot of positive news…!!!), then the sole dist. is not the sole importer. Everyone wanna make some $$$ of out a brand that is trying to make a comeback.

Mazda have already set up regional HQ in Thailand, so hopefully in a couple of year more, we get their attention (much like how Suzuki and Mitsubishi is doing now).

• bam (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:27 pm

I’m sure this grill is Mazda’s original design, but looks like Proton’s ‘wau’ grill.. :)

• rhoma (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:39 pm

rx-8!

• ed0r (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:41 pm

from that front look, I see it has the curves of the 2007 civic. or probably the new Camry…

• proton.com (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 4:57 pm

=> Mazda grill : Proton wau
    => Mitsubishi Lancer body line : Gen2 Sedan body line
    => Mitsubishi Meter cluster (BRA type?) : Gen 2 meter
    => BMW X6 : Proton Gen 2

Any explanation of this?

• aliBaPa (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:16 pm

surprise! the front side curve.
    reminds me of myvi.

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:19 pm

To me it looks more like a Honda Jazz in front with the slope in front and the way the headlights look. The old Mazda 6 had pretty/prettier headlights too!

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 5:54 pm

gen2+civic? hehe..
    current 6 is a good car though..

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:05 pm

Dear proton.com,

Now supporters of those four brands will most likely give the exact rebuttals like what Proton supporters gave in every local forum about originality, design, Korean car manufacturers etc etc. Anyway Proton was the first to copy Mitsu, now Mitsu (this is what you’re hoping for, and I’m just helping you to say it) copy Proton.

• PrInCe D27 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 6:52 pm

Hmm… a definite Accord’s rival..! D same above headlights hood line…!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:17 pm

Can i say gen.2 copy renault megane hatchback?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:51 pm

or mazda lantis !!??
    bt this mazda 6 loks gorgous…it looks like one of those american cars made by ford or chrysler…cant reemebr which bt has a similar face….bt tp marks !

• 1178696 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:58 pm

the front does look like civic and a bit like city. i guess its unavoidable as car manufacturers nowadays especially japanese which are a bit saturated in their design. most likely because car designers are hoping between different manufacturers hence the likeliness between the car shapes.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 8:08 pm

I want to see more pictures of the car, side, back profile

• transformer (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 9:36 pm

very Honda-isyh!
    front end(shape) looks very Civic and the grill from Euro Accord!

the spotlight arrangement looks quite interesting!
    Zoom-Zoom!

• funbox (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:58 pm

Sporty yet elegant! Very much RX-8 styling too! Really top of the class.

If w/o AP issue in this bolehland, sales of this model can really fly!

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:00 pm

The front looks like RX8…

• SuperBaby (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 2:00 am

See more photos here:

http://www.mazdausa.com/MusaWeb/displayPage.action?pageParameter=modelsGallery&vehicleCode=MS6

• SuperBaby (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 2:02 am

Looks good. But I think I still very much prefer the look of Honda Civic. Getting one next month….

• NiceCar (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 7:42 am

it look nice and really have the zoom zoom spirit inside it..
    it must be a great rival for accord since this 2 car having same style which refer to sport sedan..

For mazda grill with pentagon shape is mazda tradisional design style leh..
    i not think so it copy from ‘wau’ what some1 mentioned..

For Gen2 body line, i would like to say is Gen2 more same to the benz c-class coupe. (hehe.. i not say copy in here)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 8:58 am

its good to see mazda doing well with its cars today.. they had a really hard time in the 90’s. their sports cars iconic.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:09 pm

NIce, the headlamps and foglamps are nearly vertical now!

• fandango (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:18 pm

wow gorgeous, i totally dig it. now if only they would price it better. i think the mazda3 gonna get whacked by the new lancer if they don’t bring the price down..

• funbox (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:29 pm

Come on… C&C Mazda… do something about it! You have these wonderful products! Do you have to get AP from Naza only, no other options? The price you pay for Naza’s APs probably benefit them to throw more discount.

Tested the current Mazda6 before, it’s powerful and with continental feel from this Jap’s tech. Fabulous!

• mr. proton (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 3:29 pm

wow……. so stunning….hope to get it once it launched here next 2 years becos every new car only penetrate into our market after several years…

• hotlink (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 4:31 pm

http://img.autohome.com.cn/2007/7/31/31-8-49-38-527756557.jpg
    http://img.autohome.com.cn/2007/7/31/31-8-49-39-116612750.jpg
    http://img.autohome.com.cn/2007/7/24/24-8-48-7-773589949.jpg

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Even Jeremy Clarkson love this car. I mean, the current generation Mazda6 MPS.

• jamsbong (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 2:00 pm

I love Mazda because they make great handling cars, high quality interior and engine with enough grunt!. Honda has got the handling but no power, subaru’s got the power but always understeers, Nissan’s interior is crap and Toyota is just plain old conservative.

I think Mazda are some of the most underrated cars around. I was so impressed with the Mazda3 on test drive that I found testing the mini cooperS on the next day a complete waste of time. Seriously! the Mazda3 was more stable, quieter and more spacious than the Mini!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Proton.com,

What exactly are you saying? LOL Everyone copies Proton?? LOL…

Mazda isn’t copying anyone but themselves.

Its just going to fit in the same design language as the Rx8, Mx5 and CX7/9. Even the small Mazda 2 uses the same design language.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 9:09 pm

mazda got its own DNA…….
    i like to call their design as ZEN Influence

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Mazda car designs are more appealing and aggressive looking. I’ve never driven the new breed of Mazdas. Some people say the new Mazdas have that ‘continental feel’. Is this true?