Anything you can do I can do better F1 Ad

hamilton_alonso_left.jpgThis amusing advertisement has Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton in a little spot of rivalry, both being two of the youngest people in F1 at 26 and 22 respectively. Both drive for the Vodafone McLaren Mercedes F1 team. Of course, at the end they meet big brother. The song playing in the background is “I can do anything you can do better”, originally performed by Annie Oakley and Frank Butler.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 8:33 pm

hehe, nice one. Mika is still teh 1337 :D

• darkwizard (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 8:34 pm

Very funny commercial. It must be hard for them to do the comercial as they are great rival to each other in F1 and yet as team mates.

• ab (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 8:53 pm

best f1 ad

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 8:57 pm

A clever move from the team to emphasize the bright side of the rivalry. I sincerely hope Alonso and Hamilton both see things the same way the ad suggests. And may Ferrari forever eat their smokes muhahahaha.

• hakim (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:47 pm

dude, mclarens are just plain dirty. spy spy spy

• szw (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:50 pm

mika hakinen .
    lolz !

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:58 pm

#
    hakim said,

August 26, 2007 @ 9:47 pm

dude, mclarens are just plain dirty. spy spy spy

Nahh.. those were just love notes between Massa and Raikkonen heh heh heh.

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:06 pm

Mika.. LOL

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:20 pm

really nice ad, and the timing simply couldn’t be better.. mika roxors..

mclaren have been spying on ferrari dude, how else did they adapt so fast to bridgestones than the other teams that made the switch

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:40 pm

Hahahaha! That’s a good one!

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Hahahaha. JUst saw this over star sports. Its so funny :D. I suppose this add. is supposed to help both of them to ease off their tension that have been around for a while :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 11:33 pm

Best part Mika Hakinnen. This was done when?like early in the season:P? I also like the one where MH,and DC racing, go to barber shop have haircut and win race

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 11:43 pm

Nope got to be recent. Like dogster said, it’s to ease off the tension between the two. And yeah, the haircut ad was good too. That was the last time McLaren was leading the pack.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 12:20 am

Who’s laugh is that? I don’t think is original from the ads? Paul’s? LOL!

• whodz (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:02 am

LittleFire85, it’s Alonso laugh, because ‘someone’ is trying to increase the heat at the sauna room, and he laugh. LOL. anyway, nice Mercs they drove. What Mercs exactly eh?

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:21 am

hamilton was driving the CL 55AMG i suppose. Alonso was driving the newest and latest C-Class

• azrai (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:59 am

This is one good ad. Just like Petronas. Do you take the real meaning of the ad? Rivalry can be good. Competition to be the best is good. Something like Malaysia boleh right. They are in the same team. It is known at symbiosis.

• drebar (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:44 am

wah lau eh! mika is still there!!!!! awesome ad.. hope can see it on local tv…

• transformer (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:54 am

Fun! Hope this will not cooldown the tension, the competition between these two drivers… competition are good for audience!

hope Kimi can do something better! Go Kimi! Go!

• KelvC (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:00 am

At the end of the day, Big Bro ROX!

This season is definately one of the more interesting season, nothing is certain, the title is up for grabs.

May the best racer, car, set up and team wins.

Psstt! Big bro is watching….

• KelvC (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:01 am

Oh by the way, the real ICEMAN is way cooler and smoother. Ciao!

• òmnícp (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:09 am

another prost and senna rivalry going at mclaren won’t do good much for the team. somebody will get banged anyway just to win. LOL!

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:34 pm

Mika is still racin, in the DTM race or sumthin, can’t remember rite now. So I guess that’s why he can still be aroun in Merc’s ads like this.

• jamsbong (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 3:06 pm

Love this Ad! the marketing guys at Mercedes are fantastic! What a way to turn a positive note to the tense rivalry between these 2. The big surprise at the end with Mika.

Personally, I love the tough spirit of these 2 drivers, eventhough I’m a Ferrari fan and I still think Michael Schumacher is the best driver ever.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 3:10 pm

Mika is just like Prost, a great driver but not a legend……….Only Schumi has the potential to be a legend but he is still alive…………so the only true F1 legend is Senna……….

Hehehe………

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 5:33 pm

I love this ad lah… i really hope they get along… it’s sad to see 2 good drivers taking their rivalry to a personal extent

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Haha nice one.

Their Sedan Merc looks great. Mika the Flying Finn..Yeah i was one of his diehard fans those days – McLaren Mercedes.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:58 pm

Still remember the Flying Finn’s great maneuver to pass Schumi at the Spa back ’98 (if I’m not mistaken). They both flew past another car on either sides of it – Schumi on the left, Mika on the right. And from then on, it’s Mika all the way. Simply breathtaking.

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:44 am

Ha Ha Ha…….great piece of TV Commercial by Mercedes Benz. Hats off to the bugger who thought of the idea.

And putting former Double World F1 Champion Mika Hakkinen in the last minute of the commercial was pure genius. I think the message that Mika was trying to tell to Hamilton and Alonso is that both of them can’t stand the ‘heat’ as much as he can.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:02 pm

khimfoh said,

August 28, 2007 @ 11:44 am
    ….I think the message that Mika was trying to tell to Hamilton and Alonso is that both of them can’t stand the ‘heat’ as much as he can.

Haha good point khimfoh. Now i can see the implicit motive. Thanks.

• tariq (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:56 pm

good to watch this vid every morning..with my cup of coffee. Mika is 1337!

• It's me! (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:59 am

#
    analyzer said,

August 27, 2007 @ 2:21 am

hamilton was driving the CL 55AMG i suppose. Alonso was driving the newest and latest C-Class

Alonso is driving C63AMG….the latest C class AMG with engine taken from CL63AMG.