2007 Honda City i-DSI Facelift Launched

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has updated their Honda City on the outside and inside with various enhancements. This facelift was launched earlier in Thailand and Singapore, and many have been speculating when it will arrived in Malaysia.

On the exterior, the new Honda City facelift gets a new honeycomb grille, a glass antenna, side mirror turn signals, and body-coloured mud guards. On the interior, the Ultra Seats now feature a water repellent seat cover, and is now standard on both the i-DSI and VTEC versions. The Ultra Seat foldable rear seat feature was previously available on the i-DSI version only.

The new Honda City facelift is available in Sparkle Grey, Bluish Silver, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Nighthawk Black Pearl and Satellite Silver Metallic and costs RM85,800 for the VTEC and RM79,800 for the fuel economy class leader i-DSI. These prices are on the road inclusive of insurance and road tax.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:19 pm

tak panas ke kusyen dia? kalis air?
    hebat2!

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:34 pm

great improvement… for the seat… a bit tired of the city shape le, new chasis coming soon???

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:53 pm

Cool, glass antenna? Where? This is the second face lift already right? Face “lift lift”… when’s the NEW one coming out? Presume they must have been too busy with the new CRV, Civic and Accord. With 3 of them done, Honda should be working on their City now right? Btw, INCREDIBLE fuel economy! Thumbs up for this decent car!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:07 pm

Boring!

• Paul Tan on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:16 pm

fireball: glass antenna means the antenna is printed onto the rear windscreen, so there is no need for something sticking out of the car body.

• nmh (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:26 pm

better wait for new one

• whodz (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:06 pm

I think Honda is facelifting its honda city because they want to sell out all the reminder honda city. Because they are gonna go out a honda city with new chasis and new look. Just guessing. hihi.

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:14 pm

The most unchange facelifed. Haha like the Waja facelifted.
    Glass antenna…cool… so no need worry ppl curi ur antenna like Vios type.
    Now the interior like the Jazz.
    The new Color i think damn nice. Everytime i saw this color i also like it.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:45 pm

I thought Honda cars have no antennas? Like built into the body? Don’t see anything poking out of the accord model…

• szw (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:46 pm

i like dis version.
    da interior is way nicer den da previous wan .

• nescartel (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:56 pm

PLUS: fuel economy
    MINUS: looks like a “seterika”

my 2 cents… :-p

• ab (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:00 pm

facelift, what facelift? looks the same, i don’t buy it

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:23 pm

nescartel said,

August 27, 2007 @ 8:56 pm

MINUS: looks like a “seterika”
    ——————————————————————-

Hahahaha. City owners will hate you for that.

Water repellent seats? Must be one of those nano tech thingy.
    I always see antennas (or is it antennae?) as fashion statements. Without something poking out of the roof, the car simply looks, well, bald. Of course shiny bald heads are fashionable as well. But not for me though.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:26 pm

Apperantly, Glass antenna is cheap cost than Actual antenna.
    Honda City, LOOK weird and ULGY, no matters how its FACELIFT……Tak pun Sakit mata lah……Ta Pau lah City.

• altis_fan (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:31 pm

I don’t like it.
    Shape from certain angle looks ugly.
    Save petrol? How much per Km can be saved? How about the price. Comparing to Proton Persona, this one costs about RM25K more. How many years waiting from petrol saving that can recover RM25K – most probably the car already beccome ‘tukun’.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:32 pm

WoW! looks nice IF its would be discontinue soon!!

new Jazz is around the block, and may the new City come soon…

As what i know our City here are also known as Fit Aria in Japan, which are based on Fit(our Jazz)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:41 pm

paul, if i’m not mistaken, the interior shots you have shown here belong to the vtec. the i-dsi interior remains almost unchanged to the previous version.

they have also removed the “gear buttons” on the steering wheel of the i-dsi, and there is no built in cd player like in the photos shown.

can you clarify?

• wong (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:36 pm

never like honda city design,nothing like the accord

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:36 pm

The integrate audio looks nice, city of japan already has integrate audiio long ago, honeycomb grille looks better too, I wonder when the city going to launch? Probably end of 2008 or early 2009, I know new jazz will launch on next year…

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:40 pm

Another facelift for City again? I feel boring with this car already…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:56 pm

its a good car actuall,bt the seats are terrible,thy r rock hard…really uncomfortable…bt again,no 1.5cc car deserves to sell above rm80k

• azrai (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:35 am

Yup, the car look like a cloth iron. The Innova has been using the glass antenna. It is a printed circuit on the window just like the rear shield heater. I wonder why they are having too many facelift for this City. It looks Honda trying to copy Mitsubishi’s job on previous generation of Lancer. Or even Perodua pattern of facelifting? Still it is a Honda right. People bought it because of the name.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:00 am

Dear Paul, can you start a blog on new Proton’s Merdeka TV ad? I’m sure there will a lot of feedback then.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:24 am

azrai, no one is copying anybody. all car manufacturers do it, its normal.

every product has a life cycle. in between the life cycle, periodic facelifts and improvements to the car are done. It helps to give sales a boost and to keep the product fresh. Usually, after 1 or 1.5 years after launch, there is always enhancements or a facelift. Near the end of the product life cycle, there is also usually 1 last enhancement which will then mark the launch of an all new model.

in case you didn’t notice, BMW just gave the E60 5 series a facelift, the 2nd one so far if i’m not mistaken.. they have also enhanced it somewhat, with extra features..etc.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:35 am

Let’s see if this helps them increase sales. The price has gone up which is strange considering Vios outsells City 2:1 roughly.

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:38 am

Gen 2 front grille looks. The price still high. sigh.

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:51 am

nothing special about this honda ctreka only the water resistant seat boringggggg

• xstan (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:15 am

Actually I’m the potential buyer…I was anticipating for both Vios & City. I prefer City better in space, FC & interior & features. But I never like this Honeycomb grille which is why I never like Vios Exterior grille.

The featured model is actually Vtec. If I’m not mistaken Idsi hardly changes except they took away the steermatic button with & that the price remain.

I simply tot the price will be competitive in consideration of the new Vios launch. VTEC price inscrease by a RM1,000. Hardly a facelift basically slight enhancement. I still prefer the b4 the last facelift look back b4 2004.

Dissapointed….

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:36 am

xstan, then u should wait for Belta (aka Vios).. its bigger & better than current Vios

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:37 am

nescartel………..seterika………u make my day man…..!!!!!!

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:45 am

wildthingz said,
    August 28, 2007 @ 8:51 am

nothing special about this honda ctreka only the water resistant seat boringggggg
    ————————–

Dear wildthingz, nowaday seterika must water resistant lor, got steam seterika now. That y honda seterika must water resistant seat.. hehehe just kidding :p

i like this color. Cun wooo…
    Maybe because i-DSI model ‘kurang laku’, so they need facelift in order to ‘dapat jual banyak-banyak’.

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:08 am

Thx Paul and you guys for the info on “glass antenna”. I realised my car has it too, but the transmission frequency aint that good. Maybe it’s just my car’s problem. Thanks anyway!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:09 am

I am old enough to remember most of the City models released in Malaysia and have been disappointed with all of them. The design is not consistent. They fall flat at the marketplace. At least the old one looked like the Civic. I’d really hope to see some sense in buying an entry level Honda. They should have CBU’d the Fit and scrap the City. Stretch the model lines with engine options.

• familyman (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:15 am

is the build in head unit new?

• civ96110 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:28 am

STILL UGLY!!!!! Ugh…..

• hazri99 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:58 am

what boring day.. i think already launch 2 month ago..paul highligh the new kia spectra and optima.. that new.. no highlight in yours blog only spyshot on highway ..lol…

• jason bourne (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:31 am

i hope they bring this over here , european civic http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?lnk=201_1&model=32&description=Honda%20Civic

• jason bourne (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:31 am

http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?lnk=201_1&model=32&description=Honda%20Civic

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:37 am

Hmmm…..well I for one don’t care much about the exterior design of the car because majority of the time one will be sitting in the car driving it. Which is why for me interior space and an ergonomic dashboard design is of utmost importance to me.

At RM85600 for the Vtec version, I’d say it’s value for money compared to its direct competitor the Toyota Vios 1.5G.

• ahpek (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:42 am

macam ikan lumba2 jea hehehehhe

• KelvC (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 12:27 pm

khimfoh, well said. I think dollar for dollar, paun for paun, the City is a better bet. I have driven the Vios for couple months and my conclusion is the car is too light and it tend to sway very easily and floats on the ground when going above 100kph, therefore with this experience, i would prefer not do drive this car.

If I am looking for a family car today, which means space and active/passive safety are of main concern here, I would seriously look into City. Knowing myself better, i would consider the Vtec version for the dark interior color (due to having a toddler) plus the additional rear disc brakes option which the iDSI doesn’t have. The water resistant fabric with Ultraseat on Vtec is definately a plus point for a family fella like me…no need elaboration there. I have always like the honey comb grille however would not be willing to pay the additional 500bucks for the Modulo honeycomb grille.

Now, if I have another 1-1half years to wait for another car, i would think Persona could be another option for me…why? I could use the 30grand (+bank interest) for my kid’s education or even to pare down the housing loan, don’t need a rocket scientist to figured that out. The Persona H-Line pretty much the same essential features (minus CPS+VIM against VTEC); i.e. EBD, ABS, dual airbags, rear disc brakes, space…minus the Honda badge.

At the end of the day, we should choose something fits our objective. Anything else is just pure emotions.

“Men rise and fall because of emotions” ~ KelvC 2007

• vip (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 12:59 pm

man that old stuff you guys getting!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:22 pm

yeah… RM30k is a big difference…even though Honda City’s FC is definitely much better than Persona… :)

back to the original topic of this facelift…i don’t see anything special about this new facelift…just minor changes here and there…nothing to shout about…but heard that they remove the steermatic for the idsl? what the heck…should be adding stuff…but now honda removing? downgrade?
    but price mana ada downgrade?

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:30 pm

For those want to choose Honda City because of dislike of existing Vios, please consider the following: –

1. The expected upcoming Belta (Vios replacement) indicative price is start from RM 60K++. So, price wise it is good bargain under NAP-compliance environment.

2. Vios is Toyota’s “local best” regional budget sub-compact entry level passenger car. The Belta, unlike Vios but is like Persona, “butt job” by Toyota to extend Yaris butt-less to become sexy bab with sexy buttock. Belta is not “local best” by design Toyota for certain regional market, but is “world best” just like Camry or Altis for world market. So, expected better quality and specs for Belta!

Look like this City is not an attractive offer, but Belta aka “mini Camry” will give an edge over City.

“Women chemistry characteristic are explode for no apparent reasons, react sensitively to certain precious metal” – BigFish

• xstan (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:43 pm

Yup u bet…I’m sure is expecting the New Vios. It got positive review in foreign mags. I worry is space…I know it has improvised the room over the old unit, but how roomy?? By few mm is insignificant. BTW, the price expect to start at close RM69K+ so it still below RM70K for Manual spec.

Just felt cheated on the City IDSI ‘s pricing even after omited several plus features such as steermatic buttons etc.

• king (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:31 pm

ugly …but still looks better than upcoming belta.

• rizman (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:46 pm

wow! it looks great, even better than the recent new city.

• passingby (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:47 pm

altis_fan said,

“Save petrol? How much per Km can be saved? How about the price. Comparing to Proton Persona, this one costs about RM25K more. How many years waiting from petrol saving that can recover RM25K”
    —————————————————————-
    Your rational sound rite but it wrong , u hv to look into it depreciation rate as well.
    How much you will lose in 5 years with a Honda as compare to a similar category says Proton Wira or Persona ?

• transformer (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:52 pm

since so many people here talking about new Vios(to be), Belta.

Belta are derived from Vios, same platform our current ones with minor modifications. Initially Belta are JDM and targeted specifically to Female drivers. So i believe ones can’t expect too much about its chassis and handling. Interior space are improved!

Anyway wait till it launch soon… Happy motoring!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:50 pm

Why remove Steermatic from i-DSI? Price not down though.

• J (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:06 pm

For fuel saving OK la.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:45 pm

I think they want to push city vtec, that’s why we see most improvement on city vetc compare to city idsi like no improvement…
    Btw, the new yaris sedan is not bad too, has sat inside the car, the space is not bad, it is taller than current vios, and it has rear flat floor…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Its not a case of no improvement, its a case of downgrading specs. Steermatic = money.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:30 am

glass antenna means the antenna is printed onto the rear windscreen, so there is no need for something sticking out of the car body.

what if accident windscreen broken?

• aliBaPa (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:32 am

what if glass broken?

• kody (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 12:05 pm

ehmmm…
    at least Honda is fast at fast facelift their model to capture customer (business mind oriented), consider not bad for city to facelift again to fight persona…i guest..haha…

• xstan (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 12:42 pm

helooooo…Kody. The new enhanced unit is to counter the upcoming New Vios (Belta) unit. Anyway, IDSI unit is a dissapointment. Good for VTEC.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:00 pm

Well, a facelift is a facelift. It’s always a grill change, bumper change, add body kit, etc. It’s suppose to freshen up the car before it’s phased out. What do you expect from a facelift? At most, it’s done twice and they tell you it’s a facelift. Unlike another manufacturer that creates a facelift almost every year but dare to call it a New Car instead.

There’s always 2 sides to a coin. Some thinks the City is ugly and likewise, some thinks the Vios looks weird. A whole lot more for the City of course but when a spacious interior is required, the exterior usually will be compromised. Want to look good? Buy a sports car. Want maximum space? Buy a MPV. The thing is, do you buy a nice looking car for others to see? Or do you buy a car that is spacious and comfortable so you and your family enjoy riding in it?

You can puke all you want and say that it hurts your eye but my wife only spends RM50 of V-Power each week on the car and the interior is more spacious than the new Civic! Try transporting a 3 feet tall plant in any other car. The City can fit TWO potted plants after lifting the Ultra Seat.

The City have so many pluses over other cars. As they say, Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover. Of course, there are those who always prefer beauty over substance. My wife won’t change the City for a Civic, unless they increase the interior space and put in the Ultra Seat.

• Vegatron (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:01 am

sorry but Belta is ugly to me. hahah…. the shape may suit camry but shrinking it down to Vios size … it most definitely looks weird dugong looking. I call it the waterdog look, doggy looking dugong…. but nevermind the release of the Beldog Vios I mean Belta Vios… it’s going to make city look better in comparison. hehe

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:19 pm

Toyota Belta, good car

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/11/30/2006-toyota-belta/

• syanas (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 4:00 pm

haha..my fren said, that’s ikan puyu…and i think the coming vios like dugong also..haha…i prefer the current vios other than city

• nHj-2402 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 11:45 pm

thus dis new city was launching now? when ?
    the new vios already launch new design.

• nHj-2402 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 11:48 pm

when the new city will launching?
    i’ve saw the new vios ..hmm waiting for this new city and wil make the comparison
    still confiusing to buy vios or city