Carbon Motors E7 – purpose-built police car

Carbon Motors makes a logical point with their new Carbon E7 purpose-built police car: while other government services like fire trucks are purpose-built, police vehicles are usually stock civilian vehicles which are then modified to suit police purposes, with stuff like radios, sirens and other equipment added aftermarket-style.

The Carbon E7 is the world’s first purpose-built law enforcement vehicle. The result is a police sedan that runs on a 3.0 litre inline-6 twin-turbodiesel engine that is bio-diesel capable, putting out 300 horsepower and 570Nm of torque via a 6-speed automatic transmission through the rear wheels. That actually pretty much sounds similar to the BMW 335d or the 535d. While the engine is from an unnamed third party vendor, the aluminium spaceframe chassis has been entirely developed in-house. The car is designed to have a 400,000km lifespan.

0 to 100km/h takes 6.5 seconds and it will go up to a top speed of 250km/h, which makes it pretty suitable as highway chase cars.

The interior is chock full of integrated police equipment such as an automatic license plate recognition system, 360 degree exterior surveillance capability, controls for a 130hz to 350hz bass siren, Nightvision compliant interior illumination, integrated forward looking infrared system, integrated shotgun mounts, and video and audio surveillance of the rear passenger compartment.

The car also saves costs in certain areas that a production car converted into a police car cannot achieve, such as the lack of comfort equipment for the rear passenger compartment as it is usually used for tasks like ferry arrested people to the station.

More photos and full specs of the car available after the jump.

CARBON E7 – SELECTED FEATURES AND OPTIONS

All-new purpose-built vehicle platform exclusively for law enforcement

* Meets or exceeds all regulatory requirements
* Designed to 250,000 mile durability specification
* Turn-key built-to-direct-order – 24/7/365 call center support
* Turn-key end-of-vehicle-life process
* Comprehensive warranty
* Aluminum spaceframe body structure
* 75 mph rear impact crash capability
* Cockpit with fully-integrated factory fitted law enforcement equipment
* Integrated emergency lights, spot lights, take down lights, and directional stick
* Segment exclusive coach rear doors for safer suspect ingress and egress
* Vehicle dynamic control
* Anti-lock brakes
* Optimized approach / departure angles and ground clearance
* NIJ Level III-A (or better) ballistic protection (front doors and dash panel)
* Purpose-designed seat for use with on-body equipment – Heated and ventilated seats
* Heads up display
* Reverse backup camera
* Remote start capability
* Driver specific intelligent key
* 360 degree exterior surveillance capability
* Automatic license plate recognition system
* Video and audio surveillance of rear passenger compartment
* 130hz – 350hz bass siren
* Nightvision compliant interior illumination
* Integrated forward looking infrared system (FLIR)
* Integrated shotgun mounts
* Optimized storage capability (compartment and cargo)
* Integrated front and rear passenger compartment partition
* Hoseable rear passenger compartment
* Integrated push bumpers and PIT capability

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.com (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:12 am

look like savvy….

• xylencia (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:21 am

i agree somewhat. the lights look similar anyway.

they should sell a stripped down version of this for civilian use too. sure beats the hell out of the “regular” sports cars out there.

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:24 am

LOL!! the funniest comment i’ve seen ever.. it so does NOT look like the savvy!
    ROFL

sweet car, reminds me of the camaro in the transformers movie.
    it has integrated shotgun mounts? omg..0_o

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:33 am

Check out those bars at the front and rear. This machine is a battering ram.
    Not quite Savvy alright. But the side profile could resemble the BLM’s.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:34 am

this car is the only reason y i wana b a policeman !

• DrA (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 5:42 am

Tone it down slightly. It sooo can be a WAJA replacement!!!

• angelo2689 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:00 am

if the police department of Italy switch all its police car to THIS,
    then some of the policemen will be disappointed because then formally drove
    LAMBOGHINI as theirs police vehicles~~~~~~~~

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:55 am

What do they drive informally in Italy then?

• azrai (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:01 am

Somehow and somewhere it look like it evolved from Waja’s DNA. Notice the front facade and c pillar. The light have Savvy’s cues. This time it is Robocop.

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:30 am

whose say our national car not good see this transformer police car also have a little bit of our national car dna lol…..this car can chase mat rempit ah????

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:39 am

wOW! the best police car in the world! interesting design.
    If Savvy sedan (Proton BLM – expected on Jan2008) can be like this..
    OR hopefully proton can insert the rear lamp like this.
    Matching front light with rear light.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:01 am

yeah.. i agree.. looking exactly head on, it does look a bit like the savvy.

but once you get to the 3/4 angle, you can see its 3 dimensionally different.

i wonder how that front bumper is going to pass pedestrian safety regulations?

• darkwizard (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:12 am

Safety regulations? seems like if crash test this car surely failed badly as most police cruser like in USA, they are built to withstand impact (no more crumple zone).

On the bright side, this car surely give you the impression that it will gotcha if you try to run away and see ya at the back impression is you will never be able to overtake it.

Very agresive styling car and very purpose built. Good for the police dept.

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:32 am

Upgrade savvy. I like savvy design.

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:34 am

Our police can use savvy car instead of kancil (small vehicle type). Barulah garang..

• DtG (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:05 am

bloody cool and intimidating… like the number plates.. haha

• owaief (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:08 am

when i first saw the title without reading the title, i thought it was about a new waja based malaysian police cruiser!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:17 am

Dude

Hummer H2 would do nicely. Or an Escalade. Or the Mustang GT derived Shelby/Saleen in Transformers.

Not this.

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 12:17 pm

please put this car in Need For Speed series :)

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:24 pm

Interesting, but can someone (or Paul) PLEASE explain a little on what this sentence mean? “The car is designed to have a 400,000km lifespan” What happens then? Or more like what happens when you’re approaching 400,000km, say 350,000km? Will it give trouble, break-down, engine shut-down, etc…? Curious…

• chaku/maru (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:38 pm

???????ugliest police car…???????????????looks like it is built by LADA…geez

• szw (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:44 pm

weird…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 2:12 pm

camaro+savvy +waja = this……

• ab (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 3:00 pm

ugly, i’ll stick to the Ford Crown Victoria, thanks.

• devil_jr (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:55 pm

woo ho ho mmm let’s race begin

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:56 pm

looks like one of the Honda mini-mpv sold in the U.S… i cant recall the name

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:59 pm

ok maybe not…. so totally DONT look like the Honda mpv.. hehe…

btw its honda Element….

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 5:01 pm

aaahhh… the good ol’ days….. https://www.fleet.ford.com/showroom/2006fleetshowroom/2006-CrVicPoliceInt.asp

• megatronxx2 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:05 pm

wherever that car is, l am going to apply as policeman, some police are really taken care of.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:34 pm

for some reason, this design looks a bit like the proton waja, look at its side profiles, maybe thats why our malaysian police uses waja for police car now :D

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Will not sell. I am certain. Only Beverly Hills PD can afford to buy this. The riches Police county in the world. All other police have budget limit, and even though the Itallians can have a Lambo patrol car, the rest of their cars are not. If PDRM rich, they will all use Satria GTI as peronda cars, yet you see lots of kancil, waja on the road.
    Also Germans will want to stay with their own BMW’s, and so does UK traffic police. Why go support other people’s product right.

Correct me if I am wrong

• faizulamin (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:42 pm

at first, me too, thought that it is a waja! just look at the hood! looks like normal waja without nose, right?
    hm, impressed that xylencia told the head lamp is savvy-alike.1 hahaha.. proud to be savvy owner! my car will be 1 year old this september!
    by the way, what is the purpose to put ‘see ya’ at the rear plate? huhuhuhu..

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:23 pm

It will sell if the owner (or main shareholder) of the carmaker is someone close or related to the person who runs the police force or heads a certain ministry.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:21 am

It looked like CG graphics. Was the car even produced? Or merely drawn and talk about?

• xylencia (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:37 am

analyzer said,
    August 27, 2007 @ 2:24 am

LOL!! the funniest comment i’ve seen ever.. it so does NOT look like the savvy!
    ROFL

——————————————————-

Do you own a savvy? yes? no? didn’t think so. thanks

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:52 am

#
    narrowband said,

August 27, 2007 @ 11:23 pm

It will sell if the owner (or main shareholder) of the carmaker is someone close or related to the person who runs the police force or heads a certain ministry.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:58 am

Some carmaker (Maybe Proton?) should get the rights to produce it for the ASEAN market.

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:58 am

So what’s the economics for low volume production? But WOW!!

• vip (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 1:01 pm

looks like a photoshop from a 300C

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:06 pm

ooh aggressive.

i want one 2.

• VincentLiew (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:19 pm

It looks cool… imagine this “Dad, when i grow up i wanna be a police”
    Dad: “why son?”
    son:”because i get to drive the cool car around, woo hoo”

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:12 pm

I would probably crap in my pants if this thing was chasing me…

• mp (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:36 pm

this car looks ganas. but.. although it looks fasts, can it withstand any impacts as in NEED FOR SPEED MOST WANTED where cars knocks each other ??????

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:55 am

robocop!!

• merce (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:36 pm

front plate – gotcha
    rear plate – see ya
    … LOL this would be awesome on malaysia road.

so… where’s the six-barrel gatling gun and exhaust seeking missile pod located? xD

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:07 pm

funny looking car with high tech gadgets….

• casey on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:02 pm

i read that this car goes a 155 mph

• aczreey on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:38 pm

lol

• jimmy on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:16 am

FUCK….this police car would be made hear at my front doorstep in GA….. i guess i wnt b speeding n e more … :( boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo…… but look at the bright side it doesnt compare at all to the Corvete ZR1 Super Cop Car n im glad that shit aint here

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 22, 2010 at 5:35 pm

holy UGLY!!!

• Toh Yuen Chun on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:10 pm

I like this car. I hope the car’s price is not too expensive.