2008 Honda Fit / Honda Jazz production spyshots

These are supposed to be a collection of scans from both officials brochures and magazines with spyshots of the upcoming 2008 Honda Jazz, which will most likely see the light of day as the JDM Honda Fit at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show in October this year.

Some will be relieved that the new Fit doesn’t have the CR-V’s double grille like the previous artist impressions of the car, though the double grille has kind of grown on most people I know even though they too thought it was a little awkward-looking at first.

Looking through the scans, it seems that the engine for the new Honda Jazz/Honda Fit is now called an i-VTEC engine. It comes in both 1.3 litre and 1.5 litre forms, with the 1.3 litre for the G and L trim levels, and the 1.5 litre motor reserved for the Fit RS. Power output is respectable and leads me to believe this might be derivatives of the new R-series 1.8 and 2.0 litre engine family. The 1.3 litre i-VTEC engine puts out a nice 100 PS at 6,000rpm and 127Nm of torque at 4,800rpm, while the 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine makes 120 PS at 6,600rpm and 145Nm of torque at 4,800rpm.

At the moment it’s not very clear whether the new Jazz/Fit will have i-DSI technology or not, as i-DSI may have been integrated into this new small displacement i-VTEC family, or perhaps the i-DSI family still exists but to be used in non-JDM markets.

More scans after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eezarm (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:42 pm

hmmm…interesting.
    wonder what’s the price here…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:46 pm

Hmmm, sama je with the current Jazz. Whats the diff???

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:46 pm

Well, in boleh land. this kind of car will at least tax 50% to protect proton.. so i don’t think it will be cheaper then the current jazz… Dream on, if current G is still in umno hands…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:49 pm

The engine is different laa.. last time only SOHC VTEC & I-DSI. Now don’t know laa.. some say the RS fit is 1.5L DOHC i-VTEC, some say SOHC i-VTEC. But i think the engine is same with 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC found in civic…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:49 pm

boring….noting new at all..interior same like the city facelift…..

• king (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 2:57 pm

i think these photos don’t do justice to the car. i’ll wait to the real car at the tokyo motor show before criticising.

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:04 pm

OMG thts one ugly SOB……….

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Hmmm… what my eyes can see.. the front style similiar to 2006 Euro Civic esp. front bonnet, front grille, front bumper diff. design… no doubt this is from the same designer for the 2006 Euro Civic..

The A-pillar really2 nice…sharp and long..and hope that the FIT RS with moon roof (the yellow FIT) would be here…

Dem..RS generation now goes to FIT… noy Civic any more..

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:33 pm

Year of ugly car….

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:45 pm

Doesn’t look any different than the current Jazz/Fit. I guess Honda has chosen the route “If it ain’t broke, don’t bother fixing it” :-P

• waimak (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 4:38 pm

I look forward to FIT/ JAZZ replacement. This new design looks stylish but the current model is still fresh, and I think has the best look. Hopefully the model coming here is not so much tamed down from JDM.

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 4:45 pm

powerful engines. honda never fails to impress us with horsepower numbers.
    dashboard design immediately reminds me of the 2004 Rav4….

wonder if its still using the same platform as the outgoing model…

• szw (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 5:02 pm

small and expensive

• timber8115 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:18 pm

boring………

• L (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 6:47 pm

what the heck with honda lately? Beside civic (imo), the rest of new honda just.. Well its just that, plain. Its not ugly, just plain boring. C’mon honda, mitsu and mazda is going forward in design department (though not very much, again imo). I know design is subjective matter, but not till to the point that its ‘boringly’ plain!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:15 pm

OMG, the current Jazz is way better, the replacement is fugly.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:46 pm

IMHO, many would be dissapointed with its looks!
    ( especially female driver will keep thier existing ones or go for Swift )

• wong (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Dashboard looks too busy,too many things there,too jazzy…..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:15 pm

i dont mind about the design much…lately all cars are boring somehow…mazda 2 win hands down in the design department..but honda always have good/great engine..and their engine evolution/inovation is one of the best in car industry…so its worth buying for that sake…i think besides BMW,honda is one of the only car makers with great passion for powerful and economical engine designs..

• AMG (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:36 pm

2nd pic looks like the MERC A Class
    -_-

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:07 pm

Exterior is getting better (or maybe more aggressive looking-suit to man than the current model suit to lady).

But what to impress me a lot is the abilties of those engines!

1.3 will get 100ps… plus good fuel consumption. what else we want? cheaper price..hehehe.. buyer always like that.

• jamsbong (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Donno about you guys but I find this car looks really Lame. I can just imagine the owner of this car must be lame. hehe..

The engine is very weak. just look the torque curve (not the power), you have to give it 3000rpm to get some decent muscle and a stratospheric high 4800rpm for max torque. How much fuel does one have to pour in to get some strength?

I’ll prefer a Subaru’s 3500rpm max torque or even 1800rpm of a diesel.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:54 pm

Finally, we got 1.3L and 1.5L i-vtec engine, the power is good, 1.3L produces 100ps and 1.5L produces 120ps, plus it is i-vetc technology, which has improved low rpm power, I hope we can get both 1.3L and 1.5L, even the 1.3L is enought to power up the jazz and city…

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:57 pm

But the FIT RS front doesn’t look good, I still prefer the regular FIT with longer front…

• farmcow (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:32 pm

a disaster…looks like a mice to me…the current one is much more better

• DrJackal (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:40 pm

jamsbong said,
    August 28, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

Donno about you guys but I find this car looks really Lame. I can just imagine the owner of this car must be lame. hehe..

The engine is very weak. just look the torque curve (not the power), you have to give it 3000rpm to get some decent muscle and a stratospheric high 4800rpm for max torque. How much fuel does one have to pour in to get some strength?

I’ll prefer a Subaru’s 3500rpm max torque or even 1800rpm of a diesel.

————————————————————

I think u dun understand what sort of tradition does Vtec bring….
    It’s not a VTEC ENGINE , if it is not rev-happy ( look at idsi’s low end )
    The beauty of the modern vtec ranges is , being rev happy while not losing too much in the low end.

It is also boring to have a LAME- revving engine each time u want to “flex” the engine just abit longer.
    Unless u go for some modern turbo or “super-turbo” like volkswagen’s ones, lah

• DrJackal (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:44 pm

btw, I doubt the idsi tech. is integrated in this engine, unless they found a solution to make extra space to fit “an additional spark-plug” in the already very compact cylinder head. Plus, idsi shall make the torque come “earlier” and “broader”.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Looks bloody awkward.

But I’ll reserve final judgement till we get to see more of it.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:40 am

well the engine isnt too bad if u compare it with aveo’s 1.4 litre engine and it is better than proton’s campro at 120ps and 145nm of torque, except for the cps of course

after all, jazz/fit are meant to be economical point to point car, they arent nsx, so its kinda lame to compare it with a subaru

the interior is neat, looks like what a new honda should be, but i think even the ford verve looks better than this, whats with the underpants grille, as seen on the new honda accord too

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:24 am

It is equiped with i-Vtec engine, which has the improving torque on low to mid rpm…

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:40 am

It should have the similiar characteristic with the 1.8L i-vtec on current civic…

• azrai (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:52 am

It seem the current Jazz is in steroid. Nice design. Have more cues from Honda Edix. Nice man. Macho look compare to lady look for current Jazz. I wonder when they are gonna lowered the price for the current Jazz or maybe they DRB-HICOM can bring in the CKD pack from Japan for current Jazz and rebadge it (heard they want to rebadge Daewoo-GM model by 2012) like HICOM Gamelan? :)

• azrai (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:23 am

Check this out : http://world.honda.com/news/2005/photo/4050112/pages/04.html
    I thnik someone in Proton’s Design Department manage to get a place in Honda Design Department. (Alfa@Perdana@Waja Nose)

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:29 am

Front; P2Viva + Rear; Merc A Class = Honda Jazz/Fit (Tadaaa!!!)

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:22 am

i wont buy this car but if some one want to give me i will take it heheheheheh

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:29 am

Interior is so nice…
    Exterior ehmmm still don’t like the new Honda front just like CRV.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:47 am

Doesn’t look too different from the current one, in fact, I think it looks more like a face-lift. Too bad they didn’t put the CR-V grille in, I like that one a lot

• KL-ATR (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:55 am

Interesting!!! Looks like they’re playing safe with an evolution design rather than an outright change like the previous artist impression. Rear has some elements of the Edix and the side reminds me of Mitsu’s i. Still keeping to the original cutesy design.

Interior looks more like Civic now and I hope they will keep the flexible rear seat design. Fit RS sounds good too! Lets hope we’ll get this here real quick.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:12 pm

I think current jazz so beautiful, honda has no idea how to make it better

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:26 pm

xpensive cbu for me

• arcana (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:42 pm

dont fix whats not broken…….thats why Honda did not change much of the design or shape as many ppl like the current selling Jazz. trying to play it safe i guess.

from the pictures, it seems that they are comparing output graphs of old and new engines, the 1.3 i-VTEC seems to be able to match the torque the 1.3 DSi produces at around 2000-3000 rpm where the DSi max out, but this pushes beyond till 4000+ rpm and with a quote of 24km/l consumption, quite comparable as well, doesnt sound like they need the DSi versions anymore but lets see, the 1.3 is sold as 1.4 here previously if i’m not wrong.
    no comparison on the 1.5 DSi though despite many have bought the model here.

• drgn86 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:57 am

the interior looks like the previous civic 2 door (euro version) but the only difference is that the gear stick is located down instead of at the dash at the funny looking hole. i prefer gear sticks at the dash, more sporty and appropriate if driving a manual,
    empty hole in dash, looks kinda weird

• nuajon (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:04 am

most of the car now just change facelift….boring.

• ariev on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:12 pm

beatiful car coy