Ford Focus 2.0S First Impression Test Drive

There are a few cars that one would look forward to getting into in order to experience something because it has a certain reputation surrounding it. You have the BMW 3-Series with the expectations of its fantastic 50:50 weight balance, or the Mercedes Benz S-Class because it is seen as the pinnacle of comfort at under a million ringgit. The Ford Focus is one of those cars that you approach with anticipation.

Read the rest of the write-up after the jump.

The original Ford Focus had fantastic handling thanks to its Control Blade rear suspension. Its independent rear suspension offers a rare mix of passenger comfort and a lively drivers experience, something most cars could not do at that time.

Naturally you would expect the Mk2 Focus introduced in 2004 to carry on its predecessors values. The new Ford Focus is based on Fords Global C1 platform which is also used by the Volvo S40/V50/C30/C70, the Mazda3, and Focus C-MAX. The legendary suspension design has been carried over pretty much unchanged from the first generation Focus, and the body shell is stiffer by 10%.

The end result is a fantastic drive, though I do not really have the Focus Mk1 to compare to not having driven it before. The mixture of both comfort and sportiness that Ford achieved is really something to talk about. It feels very different from a Mazda3 as although that is a capable car it just does not inspire you with enough confidence to attack the corners like the Focus as the Mazda3 steering is rather dead. It makes a world of difference when it comes to the driving experience.

Like most modern inline-4 engines with variable valve timing, the 2.0 litre Duratec DOHC 16 valve engine offers some decent punch at low RPMs for you to inch your way through slow traffic. It produces 107kW of power at 6000rpm and 185Nm of torque at 4500rpm. Its no scorching straight line performer, but the 4-speed gearbox is one of them smart ones that keeps the revs up when you are driving aggressively – there is no irritating upshift on the slightest throttle lift-off that causes you to have to downshift again to keep up the pace later.

While its competitors have moved on to funkier interiors with self-illuminating meter faces, the Focus retains a utilitarian dash design with rather traditional green backlit meter faces and oval-shaped air conditioning vents which seem to mimic the outline of the Ford badge. Nevertheless, interior plastic quality was best in class, similar to the really soft plastics that flexed when you pushed into them. This was the stuff you got in cars 10 years ago. It was really quite surprising really, as I had thought no modern car save for the luxury sedans would use this type of soft touch material anymore.

The Focus has decent specs. It is the only car in the C-Segment with rear air conditioning vents, and all four power window buttons have auto up and auto down functions. As you would expect with the way the rear of the car slopes, the car has a rather big boot, something we are not really used to seeing in a hatchback. The side window flip feature is rather interesting, rather than the mirrors being fully open or fully closed, you can actually control how much they turn in and out gradually. So you can actually hold down the button until the mirror is flipped in half way and leave it in that position. I think this would be useful in situations where you need the variable view for parking.

If you dont need the larger interior space that its competitors offer, the Ford Focus is a rather decent buy for those who value driving dynamics in their daily ride. Other than the fact that it’s competitors have grown in size, it’s really hard to find much to complain about in the Ford Focus. Plus Ford is now offering a 5-year free service promotion for the Focus and Escape as part of a Merdeka promotion, so no worries for the next 5 years. But the promotion ends on the 31st of August 2007, so it’s kind of a last minute thing now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:02 pm

Nice car but no thanks.
    Malaysian prefer big size car eg Honda civic

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:07 pm

It’s moderate size actually.. not too far compared to the honda civic. So you cant say it’s small. Small = kancil, myvi, savvy… It’s a pretty decent buy, checked it up for a friend who was looking for a car around this price. Only thing is the service and resale value, not BAD, but could be tricky.

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:12 pm

felt the seats weren’t as comfy as other cars in the same price bracket….seems flat and not supportive at all.

looks so freaking good in that white paint. mmmmmmmmm.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:21 pm

The Focus is quite spacious and definitely competitive for its class. To turn it down because of interior space is to be an idiot.

Face it, the reasons why people don’t like the Focus is because a) it isn’t Japanese and b) its designed with the European market in mind.

Its a properly good car the Focus.

• Paul Tan on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:38 pm

Never once did I use the word small in the post, I just said it’s competitors have taken the interior space bar higher, but if you don’t find that necessary the Focus is not a bad choice.

• szw (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 1:52 pm

i wan focus st

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 2:15 pm

“Nevertheless, interior plastic quality was best in class, similar to the really soft plastics that flexed when you pushed into them”

I couldn’t agree with you more on this Paul. Top class interior plastics.

I had a chance to be a rear passenger of my friend’s Focus Mk II and though it has ample legroom space, I find the rear seat a bit too upright for my liking. Otherwise it’s a decent European car I must say.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 2:15 pm

@silverfish
    Another thing, it’s re-sale value. Well, I guess this point explains further what it means by ppl avoidin this car bcuz its nt Japanese. Sad indeed.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 2:20 pm

nt a comon sight,means bad trade in value…spare parts prices and so on…best is to buy n use for long time…..

• owaief (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:11 pm

this is the car that once u drive, u wont let go…at least according to my dad, who once hated ford, and kept on wondering what is all the fuss about me pushing him to test drive the focus… once he test drove it, he kept on praising how good the car is…he is now officially a “convert”…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:15 pm

but yet you dont see too many Focuses on the road… im guessing its because of the resale value? or possible the parts are expensive?

It is a nice car for those looking at alternative apart from the usual Civic/Corolla/Sentra… but of couse there’s also the new Lancer…

kinda funny when u think the Focus sells well in the UK and other Euro markets….

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:44 pm

I have rode this car before and the rear space is quite dissapointed

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 3:50 pm

Dear Paul, I wasn’t referring to your article saying the car was small, and I believe same goes to silverfish. We were actually commenting about what msmar_453 said in the first comment. Cheers! :)

msmar_453 said,
    August 29, 2007 @ 1:02 pm
    Nice car but no thanks.
    Malaysian prefer big size car eg Honda civic

• NEUSS64 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:09 pm

FOR ME THIS IS A NICE CONTINENTAL CAR. HOW NICE IS THE PRICE, PAUL?

• accordmania (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:20 pm

for me , i never admire continental cars except for higher-end like volvo, bmw and merc.
    for me, middle-end cars, japanese cars still number one…

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:25 pm

dis is really 1 really really underated car in malaysia.
    dis car is really value for $$ if u consider its price and its quality, features.. comfort+handling is really a + point. if only we judge a car wit its quality, not resale value.. dis is a hell of a car!!!

continental car wit japs price tag!!

• accordmania (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:26 pm

fireball… you are a big bully and a kiasu person… only dare to hantam msmar_453 and dare not admit own mistake and nonsense comment..furthermore always try to talk sweet things with paul… shame on you

• azolkipl (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Paul,

How come after only so long you started your review on this car? What I’d like to see is (but not necessarily from you of course) a match-up between the focus 2.0, civic 2.0, lancer GT 2.0 and Mazda 3 2.0. Now that would be something. I’m sure a lot of trolls will happen as well.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 5:41 pm

very nice car. just wish they didnt use too much oval shapes on the car and in the badge.

its a good shift when u know entry level cars like the ford, mazda 3 and VW golf get the suspension correct. hope honda revises thier platform suspension even though they wouldnt need to.

door panel side guards are also a welcome to reduce dings. all new mazda 3 models and ford focus and golfs will debut next year. so that may hurt your resale.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 6:30 pm

i’ve always loved the ford focus. spent quite a bit of time in the previous gen. focus.

unfortunately, I wouldn’t get one in malaysia coz it will take a beating in the 2nd hand market. If one is logical and worries about his/her pocket, the civic is the current best buy in that class of cars. 2nd hand value of civics are also very very good historically.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:33 pm

There’s a reason why its called a Duratec and Not a Cosworth. Coz its limp. Coz its bludgeoned from a recalcitrant car called a Volvo.

What do you mean 4 speed auto and decent punch at 4500rpms? Bloody thing shifts at 3k odd.

• freeze (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:01 pm

I don’t get it. What is the difference between this focus 2.0 and the focus2.0 that was launched last year (or the year before)?

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:50 pm

guys listern to paultan.
    he is the master in this catogories about car so if you dont trust him is fine jus go out there and test drive yourself. oh yes bring your ear plug along so u dont get brain wash by other.
    this is the german tech car and better equip then the japaness car, yeah go and test drive one u will be amaze. take a sharp turn on the left and on the right. and now test the jap now u know what i mean by tht dont trust me, go and feel it

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 8:52 pm

Ford has been churning out great cars as of late. Sadly, they are not very popular. Had the privilege of getting behind the wheels of a Ford Focus ST couple months back and was very impressed.

The chassis rigidity is incredible and handles like a go-kart thanks to turbocharging. Definitely the new cars are a great buy and I hope to see more from Ford especially special cars like the C-Max.

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:26 pm

I wish US can get this focus, the US focus looks small and not better looking compare to the malaysia focus…

• h2k (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:48 pm

This one is updated? The bottom air vent in white is so ugly…somemore wats with so many unnecessary ‘boxes’ vent in the front bumper…looks better if its in black

Not much focus probably the ford dealer here does not market it well

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Interior abit old…?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

civic and mazda 3 design is much better. service seems to be better. resale even better. therefore it sells more.

ford focus designs age quickly. problem with them is that they do make a splash when the car debuts. best handling in class etc. but one year down the track (or even a few months), car journalists are reporting on the mazda 3 more (extended reviews, repeat reviews) and recommend it over others in the same class. the focus just drops of the radar or out of focus completely until a superseding model is released.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:19 pm

Good dynamics, badly badly badly packaged and designed. It is soooo damn UN-HIP, UN-CHIC, UNCOOL.

Splashing 100+k on a car, is not done entirely by driving dynamics and build quality alone, 80k out of that 100k is spent to LOOK COOL or MAKE PEOPLE ENVY UPON. This car lacks one thing – The ability to thrive people’s emotions while looking at it.

Good Ford Engineers + Bad Designers + Bad Packaging + Bad Marketing + Bad Branding + Bad Parent (Ford US) = Car that drives and rides well but NO SALES.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:51 pm

This car is boring!!! Yes it is good to drive but quality is so-so. I plead to Proton not to design a car like this Focus because in 2 minutes time this car will be forgotten.

• arcana (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:52 pm

the car doesnt sell due to its brand….imagine if a jap logo was on this car…..everyone will go….omg i want 1……..
    the focus maintains a very normal approach of design unlike japs with gives more oomph and whoa factor everytime a new model comes, especially civic and now lancer…..mazda 3, errmm too expensive i guess so the whoa factor is gone thanks to the price.
    but i do agree on the drive and handling part, it sure looks like it can go.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 9:31 am

Comparing with a continental car?
    Wrong idea mates…

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 9:58 am

dis is german engineered lar..
    dis car is meant 4 european market.. tatz y its done my ford europe division.. tatz y dis car isnt even in d american market..

solid car.. good driving dynamics, 5 EURONCAP starts, good interior quality, good comfort, good price.. if oni it has got good marketing.. wonder y.. coz ranger is doing well locally..

• ab (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:16 am

i think you see more singapore plate focus in msia than msia plates

• fretsurfer (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:11 pm

“Good Ford Engineers + Bad Designers + Bad Packaging + Bad Marketing + Bad Branding + Bad Parent (Ford US) = Car that drives and rides well but NO SALES.”

No sales in Malaysia. Sales good elsewhere. And looks are subjective. ALWAYS subjective. I like Jessica Alba while my friend, Thomas doesn’t. Go figure. Have you heard of Ford Transit? Or Ford Ranger? Or Ford F150? That’s branding. To Ford, Malaysia is an insignificant market, as opposed to what Honda or more recently, Mitsubishi, perceive us – an important SEDAN market in Asia. And whenever I set my eyes on a focus, I remembered that it is a good handling car and that I had so much fun test driving it. Pity, because my wife did not like it.

“Looks good and sporty.Proton should learn from FORD.But sadly they cant.Because PROTON has local designers who are back dateted 50 years.None of any proton models every impressed.Only the Malays go for it.Malaysia Boleh!!!!”
    Funny, because ive got chinese friends who drive wajas. And indian friends driving gen2s and saying that these are ‘not bad’ cars. Most of my close malay friends either drive a honda or a nissan or a bimmer. Happy merdeka day. It’s amazing that our country have survived for 50 years even with people like you around.

• fretsurfer (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:16 pm

“anj97 said,

Looks good and sporty.Proton should learn from FORD.But sadly they cant.Because PROTON has local designers who are back dateted 50 years.None of any proton models every impressed.Only the Malays go for it.Malaysia Boleh!!!!”
    I’ve got chinese friends driving wajas. I’ve got Indian friends driving gen2 and saying that it’s a ‘not bad’ car. Most of my Malay friends drive Hondas or Nissans or Toyotas or Bimmers.
    Happy 50th Merdeka Day. It’s amazing that our country have lasted for 50 years or more, even with people like you around.

• mmcwei (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:45 pm

ya…quite impress with its rear blade independent suspension…may i know how actually the rear blade works?

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:55 pm

The exterior looks very nice, but the brand name is not good…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:02 pm

ford focus st, included in my favourite list……

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

August 29, 2007 @ 6:30 pm

i’ve always loved the ford focus. spent quite a bit of time in the previous gen. focus.

unfortunately, I wouldn’t get one in malaysia coz it will take a beating in the 2nd hand market. If one is logical and worries about his/her pocket, the civic is the current best buy in that class of cars. 2nd hand value of civics are also very very good historically.
    ——————————————–
    >>>I hate everytime I see ppl over-worried abt re-sale value, especially for a good car.

I’ll tell you somethin, Jeremy Clarkson owns a Ford Focus mk1, and he once mentioned that for 7 years, no matter how hard he beats it, it never ever goes down. Simply the most reliable car he had ever owned. Also, it is fun to drive thanks to its (then) class-leading ride and handling (now Golf GTi).

I know that re-sale value matters a lot for buying a car, more so especially here cuz well, Msia boleh. Bt Focus to me, is sooooo good, it is a car I would buy and never sell it back, thus, screw re-sale value. It will perhaps, be driven by my children when they get their licence. Emotionally, this car beats all others in its class. And the Japs obviously.

Mk1 was quoted by a fomec forummer to be able to go up to 250,000km easily and trouble-free most of the time. Considerin it is 2001 n 2002’s best-selling car ever in the world, this calls for an amazing feat. I’m nt sure for mk2, bt it is, in many ways is much improved over its predecessor.

Abt the looks, while at first I thought it was designed by Toyota, I later realised it’s quite elegant. Must’ve been influenced by its sister, the Swedish Volvo’s design.

And oh yes, the Ford Focus is sooooo gonna be my first car (with my own money, cuz now oni drive dad’s Saga, hehehe). Sadly though, I’ve reached a stage I feel soooo tired of sharing my love for this beauty to Msians. They oni worship Japanese car for the sake of financial and quality security, parking a proud face that they’ve made a safe and smart choice that can never ever go wrong (o rly?). Which then naturally leads to re-sale value. Sheesh……..

• crixar (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 8:19 pm

Been driving Ford Focus since early this year. Love every minutes of it. I agree look is pretty subjective, and personally I like the design better than civic. The civic is bit too futuristic if you ask me, and slightly overated here in Malaysia, or East Asia for that matter (was in Japan few months back, and you could hardly see any civic on the road, at least in Tokyo at least). And as far the handling is concerned, Focus is much better (test drived both car before bought). In term of second hand value, I suppose civic will always have lesser depreciation value than Focus, but hey, when you drive one, you will not be thinking of selling them any time soon :)

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 8:45 pm

hehehe..

yeah.. to most Malaysians (i guess between 85 ~ 90%), re-sale value rules. That’s why most dream of and actually buy Honda-Toyota stuff.

Never drove a Focus but from what i’ve heard and read, i believe this is one good car.

Again pity we Malaysian (whether we like it or not, most don’t like it I believe) had to face the reality of life and play safe (by buying the so-called and sadly believe ‘maintenance-free’ Honda-Toyota stuff when you finally got the money or had to stick to Perodua – the newly added marque in the ‘maintenance-free’ marque list).

To make it clear, to me there are no maintenance-free or fault-free car, Malaysian just trick themselves and refuse to admit it now coz it’s too big an impact to change this mentality.

The force of this belief is so strong now that only Honda-Toyota stuff have acceptable and reasonable resale value in the secondary market, Benz too but that is a different ballgame). Until this force / belief / trend / conceptual / cocoon is broken, all other marques have very little chance to grow in sales or image; therefore we as a whole would have very little chance to ‘taste’ good car beside the ‘normal & sedate’ Honda-Toyota offering.

Finally, Focus boleh!

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 9:53 pm

Great to see there are Focus fans. Despite that, walk down the street, I bet hardly anyone would hv any idea what in the blue hell is Focus. Bt mention Civic, strings of praises come out. Sigh…..

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 4:06 am

honda and toyota have built a reputation for quality. i do beleive it when they say it based on my personal experience. honda is pretty close though slighty less coz engine has been abused more. the toyota is solid right through to the battery and lights. the battery has not been replaced since new. 8 years and running. lights too unless they replaced it FOC while servicing which i doubt they would.

for other makes you will notice the car brake lights going off in one or 2 years near new cars. so i beleive it comes down to where/who the car is made and using components sourced from where…..rather than the brand itself.

im not sure where focus is made but im guessing south africa or some euro country. i know the corolla sportivo with the celica vvtiL engine is made there and reports of quality from isnt as good.

doesnt mean the focus is a bad car. just means more choice to choose from is better.

• wei_tsung (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 9:18 am

compared the engine specs of focus 2.0 and civic 2.0 and civic turns out to be slightly better in terms of torque and hp and also 50kg lighter. donno how that translates into differences in FC. anyone care to comment on FC between these 2 cars?

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 4:29 pm

Our Focus is assembled in Phillippines. The oni complain I’ve read before are some rust somewhere I can’t remember and minor transmission problem. I’ve heard more problems abt the Civic than this Focus. Bt then again, in bolehland, ppl would still buy Civic cuz Japanese mah…..ultra reliable, cheap spare parts, gud after-sale service and best of all, HIGH RE-SALE VALUE. Yawn…….

@wei-tsung
    If fc is ur main concern, then go n get urself a beca. No need to complain when fuel price increase again.

On a serious note, I’d rather sacrifice a bit more of fc to enjoy true driving experience Focus can offer that the “safe buy” Civic couldn’t. It’s a case of “I’d rather watch F1 live at Sepang n pay expensive ticket to truly enjoy the sonorous music notes of F1 cars than just watching it on tv which is cheaper, cooler, and safe”. So go ahead, buy the Civic if u want to tell the world you hate driving and doin it for the sake of gettin A to B, nt out of pleasure and enjoyment. Oh, and of course, to be able to re-sell the car wit a higher price tag than the former.

• sham_mpm (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:02 am

I’m a proud owner of Ford Focus sedan 1.8 yr 2006. This car is really value for money just have a test drive and you’ll see it.

Of course the resale value is quite bad, but I do not buy with “selling back” in my mind, which many malaysians should correct.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 10:39 pm

sham_mpm, I like your attitude!! Glad to know that you can see that Msians shud stop over-zealously worship Japs for the sake of gud re-sale value :D .

• MegaMoe (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 5:16 pm

Paul, sham_mph…. Do you know if it is possible for me to retrofit another mrket instrument to my focus 2.0S. Current instrument not so chun bcoz gear position too msall to view. I am visiting Philippines soon ans would like to get a Phil version if the gear position is bigger. In UK version the blanked out area on the instrument has gear indicaton.

• dellantre (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:49 am

henry ford dont know how to built engine.
    my father car has a bad engine ford car.
    but the karl heinz benz can made a good engine.
    still maintain till now.

• Azureluen (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:33 am

nice car… good looking in white.. so, which 1 to choice… civic or focus??

• wakwai (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 6:13 am

I used to drive the Ford Focus MK1. It is one of the best car I’ve ever driven. It really change my perspective of owning a car. When you drive it you really feel safe and it has great stability and road holding was fantastic. You can take corners with no worries. No more japs or kimchi car for me. When you drive a Focus you don’t talk abt fc or resale value… you drive for the experience.. And driving a Focus in Malaysia is really worry free… Nobody will try to steal it as its quite rare and who will buy it from you …?
    Anyway, I’m now driving a Fiat Grande Punto… now this is a car with a soul …

• zetec R on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Agreed with wakwai..
    Im using this mk1, and really love it.. even E46 cant beat this car in hard corner..
    But 1thing should consider.. the spares price.. Its like hell, imagine u juz can hv 1 r/h driveshaft for RM3k..R/H engine mount will cost u RM600. The rest, this % door hatch still worth it to own

• zetec R, is that so? the maintenance for ford focus is really expensive? i’m thinking of taking 2nd hand ford focus as my first car. really love the reviews on its power and handling, but now that i know bout the maintenance, it freaks me out. any advice?

• sureshot on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:20 am

mmm guys…

all theses cars are differentiated by their market segments…is it fair to compare a european hatch with a japanese sedan? it is like comparing a volvo s 40 with a toyota camry, yes size-wise and engine-wise it is similar, but are they in the same segment? No!

if you guys wants to give your own “review” on the cars, better make sure that you have the facts correct. from what i see in Malaysia, cars are segmented based on their selling price, which is not fair to non-Asian brands especially the CBU units.

When you are giving your “reviews”, try to be as neutral as possible. People are not stupid and can always read between the lines of what you say and what you wanted to say actually…and please leave out racist remarks and cut out the stereotyping…

Back to the car, i personally feel that if someone already have his/her eyes on this car, it is because of the understated looks, unassuming interior and of course the above average handling and to be honest i like it a lot…this is one of the value-for-money car available in our country…if people are concerned about re-sale value, then the only web site they need to check is only their online banking website…there are a lot of forums catering to people who wants to debate about resale value, since for most Malaysians this is their biggest concern.

One last reminder to all including myself, cars that are good to drive normally do not have strong resale value…and driving dynamics is also a very subjective topic…thats why you have 2 types of car buyers, the one looking for good driving experience and the one looking for good ownership experience…which category do u fall into? I am definitely the former…if a car makes me smile every time i press the throttle, then spending more on cash and time is just something that i would easily accomodate…