More shots of Mitsubishi Concept-cX

Previously we got to see sketches of the Mitsubishi Concept-cX, but now Mitsubishi has released more images of the Concept-cX Compact SUV. While the front of the Concept-cX shares Mitsubishi’s new shark grille nose that first made it’s debut on the Mitsubishi Concept-X, the rear glass hatch design seems to have taken a leaf out of Volvo’s book with the Volvo C30’s large rear hatch design.

The Mitsubishi Concept-cX is powered by a 1.8 litre turbodiesel that uses a variable geometry turbocharger and is compliant with Euro 5 emission standards. It is mated to Mitsubishi’s new Twin Clutch SST dual clutch automated transmission. It drives power to all four wheels using an electronically-controlled 4WD system.

The 4100mm long compact SUV uses a special environmentally-friendly plant-based resin interior that it calls Green Plastic.

More photos including interior shots after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:51 pm

Now… this is one ugly car… :(

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:54 pm

rear
    http://www.condobuzznyc.com/uploaded_images/1970-Citroen-717200.jpg

interior kinda, retro ‘k’ car

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:01 am

hatchback version of lancer?

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:21 am

the shot from the front, looks like a halfcut mini cooper with a plaster on lancer front.
    perhaps its a ‘suv’ version of the lancer, i don’t think lancer hatchbacks are suppose to look like that.

• farmcow (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:34 am

well exterior looks weird and interior looks ugly, what more can i say…haha…fierce looking car…haha it really does look like a hatchback lancer

• mockviper (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:36 am

it looks ugly, specially the rear. interior is better with black leather.

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:17 am

Interior looks really cool

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:32 am

I’m getting tired of that front end design already. And the rear design gives an impression of a thin butt. Therefore doesn’t fit well on an SUV. An SUV should really have one nice big bouncy butt. OK, maybe not bouncy.

• whodz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:37 am

not suitable face for K-car or C segment car and especially on SUV..i want sportback concept x.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:42 am

OMG…fugly to the core. All wrong.

• haroldz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 7:47 am

confused identity car
    front part dun look suitable, depan look garang but then kontot/ katik body
    hahhahhaha
    nasib baik concept car only..

• Cire (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

Looks like a Citreon CV from the back..

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:43 am

cooollllll but ugly…. kalu dia bagi free nak jugak kot tapi kalu beli baik pulih yang lain

• joeysis (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:53 am

i think is nice…..

• KY (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:18 am

doesn’t look like a winner to me.

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:27 am

Macam Savvy pun ader gak…

• renyeo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:35 am

Recent Mitsubishi cars are great lookers.

I have driven both the New Lancer 2.0GT and 1.5EX at my local dealer. We came away hugely disappointed with both sets of engines. They are annoyingly scruffy and loud, particularly the 2.0GT. Pickup is at best described as lethargic for the GT. But handling and ride is above class average (ie. good) and body control is decent. But then the Civic still triumps over the Lancer in all these areas IMO.

I hope the future production cX will be in better form.

• caminos (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:05 pm

OMG! Why is there a dildo in place of the gear shifter?

• Skyline (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:41 pm

Mitsubishi tiru savvy agaknya. Exhaust pun sama..

• nmh (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:18 pm

……….chrysler pt cruiser

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:26 pm

The front look alike the newly launched Mitsubishi Lancer. It also look alike the Mitsubishi Galant Fortis that launched in Japan recently. Hopefully, Mitsubishi will not use it for all the upcoming new models. If not, it will look boring later date.

Please get new ideas.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:36 pm

Nice interior though…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 3:08 pm

I think it looks cute….like the MK1 Rav4 2 door. Plenty of girls flocked to that car.

I’d say its a good design theme. big SUVs (and its looks) are going out of favour with the greenies lobbying at every given chance. Good for mitsu to tone the SUV image down.

Functionality wont be much different from that of the Pajero Io anyway (whoever thinks the Io is a off roader is sorely mistaken).

The glass hatch is a good cost saving measure that somehow someone managed to convince people it looks good. You are looking at 1 single piece of glass, vs, glass, metal and plastic work.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 3:20 pm

Funny thing that i keep hearing people make reference to the glass hatch “of the C30”. Is not like the the C30’s design is that ground breaking. The C30 is only a modernized design of the 80’s Volvo 480 and the P1800ES before it.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:10 pm

This concept reminds me of a movie >>> http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/3066/carsec7.jpg

And…I am wondering how the driver wanted to adjust the seat? You see the seat like sticking with the gear stick and then sticking with the next passenger seat. Move both the seats and the gear stick in order to adjust the seats? Wow! Who was that genius thought of this idea? Full Point for “HIM” dumbass!

• szw (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 7:19 pm

concept-x would be the nicer car .

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:23 pm

Rear ok, fron KO.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 9:46 pm

Rear.= kontot……..forgot to say dat…