New Jaguar XF Details and Photos

Jaguar XF

Jaguar has unveiled full details and photos of the first car that will carry Jaguar’s new design language – the Jaguar XF. The Jaguar XF is a 4-door sedan with a sexy roofline (drag coefficient is 0.29cD), and I think it proves Jaguar still has it – the ability to create beautiful and fast cars that has been part of the Jaguar philosophy.

On the inside, the Jaguar XF features the new JaguarDrive Selector, the first rotary dial-based shift-by-wire shifter which Jaguar thinks is more precise and intuitive while saving space at the same time, allowing better utilization of interior space.

There is also plenty of geekery on the interior for those who are into that kind of stuff. For one, the XF’s air-conditioning vents present a flush dashboard surface until the ignition is switched on, at which point they elegantly rotate to the open position. JaguarSense uses touch and proximity control to manage the overhead console lights and glovebox release. The parking brake uses Jaguar’s Electric Paring Brake which you can operate from a small chromed release in the center console. This parking brake automatically disengages when the shifter is put into Drive.

There are 4 engines available, all mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission with steering wheel-mounted paddle shifting. The base petrol unit is an all-aluminium 3.0 litre DOHC V6 engine with Continuously Variable Cam Phasing and variable geometry air intakes. It makes 240 horsepower and 293Nm of torque with 80% of that available below 1,500rpm and up to a maximum speed of 6,800rpm.

There is also a larger normally aspirated 4.2 litre V8 that makes 300 horsepower and 411Nm of torque. A supercharged version of this engine in the SV8 model uses a rotor-type supercharger making 420 horsepower and 560Nm of torque.

Of course, there is also an oil-burning Jaguar XF powered by a 2.7 litre V6 turbodiesel with twin variable geometry turbochargers making 207 PS and 435Nm of torque. Jaguar says this is the lightest diesel engine of it’s type and size, thanks to it’s Compacted Graphite Iron cylinder block and aluminium cylinder heads.

To bring the car to a stop, all XF models use large 326mmx20mm vented front discs and 326mmx20mm rear discs, except for the SV8 Supercharged model which uses larger 355mmx32mm vented front discs.

Jaguar has taken much effort to ensure NVH levels in this car is excellent. At 50km/h, interior noise level is only 65.6dB.

More photos available after the jump.

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cutester (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Wow… cool!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:19 pm

perfect square, clyindrical knob, mettalic, ,,,dials, its the old 70s television design,

so the interior evokes the 70s, well.. it holds to is concept

• szw (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:20 pm

nice nice

• Fireball (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:23 pm

STUNNING! What more can I say? Lol.. sure brings competition to the big guys and I’m sure it’ll do well among it’s class rivals. Very interesting technology as well, made to impress certainly! The moment a person enters your car he’ll/she’ll go WHOA… impressive! Shape’s slick and attractive.. what’s the price gonna be like?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Looks like another typical Ian Callum design

I still think Jaguar has more or less lost its way in its design language. Looking at the back, it just looks like another Aston Martin (not exactly a bad thing, but this is quite far from an economy bread and butter sedan to deserve the generic looks)

The side and back profiles are good, but looses it when they got to the front end, looking like its trying too hard to differenciate itself from a Mondeo.

Cheap(er) man’s Aston Martin Rapide I suppose.

Incidentally, Holden also uses the moniker SV8. Wonder if GM wil make plenty of noise….

• tommy73 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Lovely, lovely, especially the interior and look at that blue colour meter cluster…lovely.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:16 pm

I was thinking of Lexus GS as my next car but it may be this Jag instead.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:23 pm

The front of the car is abit retarded compared the the rest. The gear shift is cool, interior looks very classy. Only complaint on the looks is the front doesn’t match the rest of the car..

• khimfoh (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:30 pm

Sad to say the Jaguar XF which is supposed to replace the S-type seem to have lost its ‘Jaguar-ness’.

I doubt its the work of Ian Callum because he could have definitely designed a much sexier car than this XF

• farmcow (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 10:37 pm

cool and nice interior…love the meter!! brilliant machine

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:01 pm

Needs to get used to that gear.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:05 pm

Very good, but i cant understand why they did not use the C-XF concept’s front end treatment and instead, this retarded design (looks like normal american cars) …

Here’s a link to the original concept’s front design.

http://www.carpw.com/pictures/jaguar/C-XF_Concept_2007_1.jpg

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

It is the work of Ian Callum. He heads Jaguar’s design team.

Anyway, Jaguar insiders have said that this is a “Marmite” car. What that basically means is that some people will love it and some people will hate it.

I’m with the former group. I think it looks fantastic inside and out. Classy, stylish, modern. Very clutter free, a fine example of less is more. In fact the interior looks better than most people’s houses. And I think they’ve done a good job to shed the old school design cues to bring this 5 series competitor bang up to date. It has got to, if it is to woo people from its German rivals.

And having seen and read what Car had to say, the ride and handling will be spot on Jaguar as well.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

With the stupid bulge on the front headlamps, it looked like this:

http://darwin-online.org.uk/converted/published/1872_Expression_F1142/1872_Expression_F1142_fig20.jpg

• drebar (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:14 pm

look suspicious like proton persona from certain angle…

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 11:49 pm

Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…………….
    Pengsan………. Tooooooo beautiful!!!!!!!!! Pengsan lagi….

• bolo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 12:04 am

A maserati quattro porte look-a-like. But the Maserati still looks better

• wong (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:14 am

the older ones are called classics,vintage.collectors item,and this is another mouthwatering model,beauty,elegant,ah what else, its a Jaguar

• F430CS (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 1:14 am

Agree, maserati looks better. The interior gives british feels and it’s nice. But the exterior, just something wrong with it. They copy design too obvious.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:52 am

Overall looks good but the front light looks like korean quality

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 3:02 am

this car is very sexy :p

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 3:16 am

waaaah, kereta idaman

• azrai (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 7:05 am

Somehow it has some Aston Martin Vanquish DNA in it. It is also their sibling right under Ford.

• NiceCar (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 7:38 am

wow.. this car seem so perfect!!!
    design integrate modern and classic..

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:05 am

i think the body based on aston martin…
    interior so beautiful and classic but the XF concept more beauty compare the real one…now waiting for Porsche Panamera

• msmar_453 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:23 am

Not so cool.. Not a truely Jag!
    Missing something..

• waimak (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:26 am

This is the most beautiful cat for me.

• zanggief (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:29 am

The design is really fantastic…but i still like the ‘Jaguar’ icon jumping out compare to this design model

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 8:41 am

i slimmer front light would’ve looked much much cooler… but i guess the concept design is not practical, as it’d probably limit the spead of the light..

i luv how d “transmission” pops-out… looks very very nifty indeed! i’d buy it over the 5-series, but only if im 40 yrs old…. :-)

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 9:18 am

Ahhhh!!!….
    Fresh design.. No copy cat….

wey, mana gear nob????? button only ker????

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 9:20 am

Ahhh!!!..
    Fresh design.. no copy cat…

Wey… Mana gear nob??? Button only..

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:29 am

wow this car is awesome giler camner nak tukar gear main tekan ke main pusing benda tu nampak cam fm/am tuning kat radio jer… perdana should look like this

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:22 am

The front looks like some fusion of Korean and Japanese cars. I don’t like it. It lost the design cues of previous Jaguar car, that’s was quite good, and they should think, most of their buyers are older people with some orthodox thinking..

• gonggok (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 11:58 am

Somewhat disapointed. With all the buzz about this being the car that would save Jaguat I guess expectations were too high. Nice detailing but nothing really new and distinctive.

• mattyboy (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:13 pm

I for one am hugely disappointed with how this car looks – the interior is wonderful and looks like a modern take on the Jaguar way, but the outside, what went wrong.

I see no Jaguar design language whatsoever! I know Jaguar are in desperate need to be dragged kicking and screaming into this millenium but I just cant see it in this car and that saddens me.

Please don’t get me wrong, this is a very attractive car and one which I would be proud to own – it just doesnt look like it needs a Jaguar badge :(

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:17 pm

Really a nice car… nice design.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 2:34 pm

Damn! nice nice…..coolioz! *thumbs up* ;)

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:10 pm

mattyboy said,

August 30, 2007 @ 2:13 pm

I for one am hugely disappointed with how this car looks – the interior is wonderful and looks like a modern take on the Jaguar way, but the outside, what went wrong.

I see no Jaguar design language whatsoever! I
    Cheers mate..I am totally agree with your view. The opulent interior is remarkable and representing another panache of Jaguar but from outside…seems like the great soul of Jaguar has dissipated. I prefer the old looks because they are classic !

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:16 pm

This car looks cool! The gear shift looks so strange…

• transformer (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 6:22 pm

drive use quite a lot of “variable” tech…

design looks quite plain… a little bit less of taste…

but i kinda like the “puma” logo….

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 9:44 pm

This car does feel cat like….. *thumbs up some more* :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:58 pm

nice, very nice looking car, but the traditional S-Type, X-Type and XJ better, this just don’t feel like a true Jaguar……….

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 3:54 am

watch out, S class…

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 11:45 am

Cool….

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 4:40 pm

agree with mitlanevo,
    doesnt feel the ‘cat’-ness,

worst is the rear light

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 9:48 pm

A Jaguar needs to have smooth lines….huhu..

• 430 (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 3:52 pm

The magic in XF-concept is gone, sadly. Now, this is just another BMW 5-series.

• eagle707 (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 8:14 am

so strange la… why no one kutuk jaguar about the rear part. If gen 2 they said the roof will touch the head.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:57 pm

love this car, beautiful exterior , mesmerising interior, how much is it ?

• Miss Ee (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 2:15 pm

I would said “Nnniiiicccceeeee”

• wookie00 (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Jaguar has done everything right this time… not bad for an ailing car company.

• demarco.perry on Nov 24, 2009 at 10:04 am

nice car love 2 have a coulpe

• rajeev varindani on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:22 am

I WANT THIS CAR …. PAPA PLEASE BUY ME ,,,,

• This is a very good looking car. The Aston is very different, not as comfortable and seriously more expensive. Well done to Jaguar for a really good, high quality, comfortable car. Even a supermodel looks ugly from certain angles, but Jaguar have got this car to look nice from most angles.

• Taoufik ER-RAMY on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:04 pm

20/20

• mehak preet singh on Jan 12, 2011 at 2:11 am

Yeah that,s choice i like it