Ford Kuga to be unveiled at Frankfurt 2007

The production spawn of the Ford Iosis X concept car from Paris 2006 will make it’s debut at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show, but for those who are not able to see it in the metal – like me, here are details and photos.

The Ford Kuga will be on sale in Europe in the first half of 2008. It is available in either front wheel drive or intelligent four wheel drive modes, and the variant to be shown at Frankfurt will be the 136 PS, 320Nm (340Nm overboost) 2.0 litre Duratorq TDCi common rail turbodiesel with Garett variable geometry turbocharger mated to a Durashift 6-speed manual. More details on engine variants will be available closer to the launch date.

The Ford Kuga is not exactly the same as the iosis X concept and we’re not talking about matters of exterior styling and interior. The roof itself has been adjusted to have a slightly higher silhouette to help with passenger headroom.

Since the Kuga is essentially a Focus SUV, expect the new Focus facelift to carry some of the Kuga’s ‘kinetic design’ styling cues.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 06, 2007 at 11:03 pm

Obviously the angel of front hood is demn high like a big suv..toyota fortuner.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 12:41 am

Love it
    Hopefully the price won’t burn my pocket

• drgn86 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 1:15 am

has a little similarity with the Murano, i guess the Murano started it all, the design for crossover SUVs…..

• acwa238 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:11 am

I like it, especially the interior. If ford can keep this low on the price, i’ll definitely buy it.

• acwa238 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:13 am

Anyone can answer this?

1. Is right hand drive available, so we can see it in malaysia?

2. Any idea on the price range? RM130k perhaps?

• Paul Tan on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:14 am

its an euro ford, so most probably they will have a right hand drive version. not sure about price range, probably competitive with crv if it ever comes here.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:21 am

i guess this KUGA is a size smaller than Escape

which is targetted to compete with Nissan Qashqai(or Rouge/Dualis)… that is one size smaller than X-Trail..

Escape vs X-Trail, CRV, Rav4
    KUGA vs Qashqai & etc.

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:16 am

nice but the design of this suv no surprise at all other suv also also looks like this couga. where is the designer they didn’t do their job???? always copy modified/change little bit then produce ayoooooooo no more idea????

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:28 am

the back looks like nissan qashqai….

• zanggief (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 9:04 am

The size looks big..Paul is tat like the Lexus Harrier range or small size suv like toyota RAV.?

• drM (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:15 am

fantastic.

ford these days are fast moving foward. look at the design. the ground clearance level is just right for that kind of vehicle.

if they price this one at 100-150K, surely this fit into my list of consideration.

ps- someone can highlight me about the design cues? i mean, the back looks like a pimped up Golf MK 5, and the whole body ‘uplifting’ reminds me of the others SUVs – Murano, CX 5, etc.etc. dont they have this ‘pattern’ thing going on in vehicle making industry? i am not so sure about that, but surely u cannot copy the others, can you? reverse engineering?

• joeysis (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:35 am

好酷。。。好!

• timber8115 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:37 am

to me, this car have the volvo+bmw dna…..

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 12:15 pm

wonder if it will make it here and if it does, would it replace the escape? considering also that the escape already has a new model overseas.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 2:20 pm

Who is in awe?…..I am..

yeah the back really looks like a bit of qashqai’s styling…

good is great…..whatever that means… ;)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:05 pm

bland exterior, nice interior

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:52 pm

This one coming 2 Bolehland kaa?…Aiisehh….If the RM is just nice (100-130K),Ford Consessionaries,count me in….

• szw (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:43 pm

offroad focus .

• Addict (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:36 pm

I think it follow the design taken from Mazda CX7….very identical.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Addict,

you’re probably right as ford and mazda do share platforms.

• profsaiful (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:08 pm

I used to have a citreon 16V CBU. it rides like on rail. It got knock known by a drunken driver and it never feel the same again. My current car c200 kompressor CBU can’t match the citreon ride and handling. are these SUV worth talking about? malaysian engineers should learn from the french to tweak proton cars.nothing much they got from lotus.