Renault Laguna Coupe Concept

Renault will be exhibiting this concept coupe variant of the third generation Renault Laguna at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show, which represents a near-production variant of the Laguna Coupe which will join it’s sedan and estate brothers in production in the second half of 2008.

The Laguna Coupe Concept will also be a technological exhibit for a new four-wheel steering system called Active Drive. More details on Active Drive should be available once the motor show begins.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 1:02 pm

The French can make nice cars when they are done building weird looking ones.

The 406 coupe still looks better after all these years (Italian of course)…

Side profile reminds me of the 2nd Gen Eclipse.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 1:25 pm

walau…. another pininfarina looks…
    nice…

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 2:06 pm

wll the front looks basically the same as the sedan version but the freakin’ back looks more awesome than the ol’ mundane back…

• szw (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 2:17 pm

cool looking . still can do better .

• transformer (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 3:09 pm

i though its a replacement of Fiat Coupe(first look)
    the rear looks similar to Aston’s

as usual, Renault never made any significant impact at bolehland auto industry… Scenic…? Espace….? Kangoo..?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 3:42 pm

where can I get a Renault Clio V6 in Malaysia??

• redragon (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:39 pm

there’s one available, new, 02 or 03 model, still not sold. mitlanevo, are you interested? think it’s abt 250k.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 4:41 pm

not much of busy lines, express more of its form rather than radical lines to express dynamism, hence its appear weighty solid,

interior id say, freedom of expression in search of new element of design,

-less likely of the quirk usual french exterior ,but its english,german,italian combination,

-i like to look at espace-

• amin1984 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 6:11 pm

b.e.a.u.t.i.f.u.l an astonishing car from renault but on side view not so many line should be more muscle like M3.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:27 pm

transformer said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 3:09 pm

i though its a replacement of Fiat Coupe(first look)
    the rear looks similar to Aston’s
    ————–

I use to owned one, was it design by Peninfarina as well? Aston Martin? DB8 or DB9? Doesn’t seems to come close.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:20 pm

Nice & Neat

• DtG (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:39 pm

beautiful…. cant believe its actually related to the sedan….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 9:59 pm

It sure is a BEAUTY.

BUT

They won’t have guts to produce it EXACTLY like how it looked. All these manufacturers are just lame arses showing off concepts and concepts and concepts, and those like BMW are actually cheating, using production models and add a ‘CONCEPT’ to ‘show’ people they’re producing concepts. BLEH~

The only such car that was really put into production following the initial Audi TT’S Concept back in 1995 Franfurt is the Audi TT which will be celebrating it’s 10th anniversary next year.

It only shows if you have the guts to truly produce a concept car, it will last DAMN long on the streets, provided when the concept was designed, manufacturing it wasn’t put into thoughts.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:09 pm

Beautiful…not too french-wierd design. But shame if FWD

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 4:29 am

nice, but I really thought it was a Fiat Coupe replacement

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 8:10 am

ingolstadt said,
    September 10, 2007 @ 9:59 pm

It sure is a BEAUTY.

BUT

They won’t have guts to produce it EXACTLY like how it looked.
    —-

Renault? Probably it will be exactly what they will build. Of course if you take the show car interior and big wheels.

Renault has been known to throw out production cars from weird concepts. (Avantime, the Big butt Megane, the odd luxury hatchback Vel Satis, the insane mid-engined Clio V6 …etc)

However, auto enthusiats (and journalists included) have been whining that concepts don’t get built, but then they do actually get built, never quite sell. Its just not quite so simple.

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 12:46 am

I agree with 4G63T. It just isn’t that easy to take a show car into production, where the car is based on the looks only. And I am sure that the Audi TT wasn’t the only show car that made it into production. There were many more, but many failures. A lot of whining until the cars go on sale and suddenly it becomes all quiet. Think that the New Bettle was a good example.

But maybe: a showcar would sell well in Malaysia… don’t care for practicality, as long as it looks good, it must be good!