BMW X6 Concept revealed at Frankfurt 2007

BMW has the BMW Concept X6 on show at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show, but we all know that the concept bit in its name can be pretty much dropped as the car is very close to production, with nearly undisguised mules spotted on the roads just right before the motor show began.

BMW calls the Concept X6 a Sports Activity Coupe, or SAC if you like. The coupe-like roofline dropped immediately right after the position of the steering wheel inside the car. The four-door coupe form is combined with the commanding driving position of a 4X4 vehicle. All of the classic BMW design cues are there – double kidney grilles, double headlamps with corona rings, Hofmeister kink.

With this Concept X6 also debuts a new technology from BMW called Dynamic Performance Control. Dynamic Performance Control works hand in hand with the xDrive four-wheel drive system to spread drive torque as required in all situations. Think of it as DSC stability control without cutting off power or braking, instead purely achieving control in understeer or oversteer conditions by varying power between the two wheels at the rear. While DSC applies power to the inner wheels when the car is oversteering, DPC achieves this by shifting more power to the outer wheels.

If you think about it, Dynamic Performance Control is most likely BMW’s own branding slapped onto GKN Driveline’s Vector-Drive torque-vectoring rear axle that was announced sometime towards the end of July 2007.

Watch out for another post about another special X6 concept featuring ActiveHybrid technology. See more photos of the new BMW Concept X6 after the jump. There are no interior shots though.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:37 pm

looks odd but quite hot. definitely one hell of a drive. must try.

• waimak (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:39 pm

I hope the production will be much better looking than this concept

• jeanloo (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:41 pm

BMW follows Proton’s design cue. It’s a 4wd Gen2. Hell ya!!

• leechorwin (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 3:41 pm

Look odd, like a potato BMW.
    The corporate design look of the BMW not suitable for this car….

• infinity (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:08 pm

the side profile is a bit stange…but overall…it looks great!!

• wookie00 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:11 pm

People please stop putting Gen2 in the same league with this car.. it doesn’t even in the slightest bit resemble Proton. BMW engineering is leagues beyond anywhere Proton can even reach. Don’t give Gen2 designer’s too much excitement. hahaha….

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:11 pm

jeanloo said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 3:41 pm

u’re right man, it seems like a raised gen2 with big rims. especially when you looked at the side view.

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:17 pm

wookie00 said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 4:11 pm

People please stop putting Gen2 in the same league with this car.. it doesn’t even in the slightest bit resemble Proton. BMW engineering is leagues beyond anywhere Proton can even reach. Don’t give Gen2 designer’s too much excitement. hahaha….

but it shows that proton designers can and do design cars that have the international level. maybe they’re not in the same league 2day, but in the future they might be.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:18 pm

I don’t see how u can compare it with a Gen-2, it seems wrong using BMW and Gen-2 in the same sentence. But I like this SAC, seems like the perfect ride for me. I’m definitely a X6 fan right now.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:28 pm

It’s a CAR
    It’s a SUV
    It’s X6
    ……

• ojlee1 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:31 pm

Yesterday news on TV, BMW just fine the CHINA car manufacaturer tht copycat tis car design. What the CHINA company name their version is CEO………
    How come CHina can so fast came out with the similiar design……?!

• wheregotcar (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:41 pm

it seems like a raised gen2 with big rims. especially when you looked at the side view.
    —————————————————————

dude, u stole my mind! thats exactly how i felt.. this is weird

quality, branding, peformance wise.. of course lah cannot compare proton-bmw apple to apple. but then ppl say savvy has toiletbowl-like hood, myvi rear end look like squatting-toad to me. ppl have differing personal views on the car’s visual display, give us a break! can u accuse all car makers of plagiarism when they design the car with 4 wheels??

good design is a good design.. not a crime if repeated in other products

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 4:57 pm

agree tat it reminds us of gen2..
    booted x6 = x6 persona? haha.. jk..

dis car looks great! not tat natural kinda beauty.. but stil.. great..

• motherker (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:01 pm

while i was browsing thru this page, my female colleague came up to me and asked > “is that one of bangle’s innovations?”
    i lol-ed

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Help…any bmw people here? Seems its overshadowed by Gen2….

• transformer (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:07 pm

who would buy such an UGLY BMW ?

IF need 4WD get a X5, else go for the 5 or even M5 if you’re loaded!

Just forget about 6… Its not working! a waste of resources in developing such awfull mutants! Yuks!

• drebar (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:18 pm

the side look suspiciously like proton gen 2… lol

• shianghorng (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:23 pm

It’s at least 500k man!

• kenfresh (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:30 pm

I really do not see any resemblance of this with a GEN2. Not everything with four wheels and four doors are Proton innovations, please.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:32 pm

transformer said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 5:07 pm

who would buy such an UGLY BMW ?

IF need 4WD get a X5, else go for the 5 or even M5 if you’re loaded!

Just forget about 6… Its not working! a waste of resources in developing such awfull mutants! Yuks!

——————–

Its just a CONCEPT – it may not even reach the production line. OR it could be offer to Proton as the base for Proton 4×4 – I will surely buy one

• gogsard (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Haha .. funny ! Every time major car manufacturer release new car, someone will try to compare it with Proton.

• whodz (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:36 pm

like I said before, It’s in hatchback segment same like mitsubishi concept sportback. It’s more likely to be in europe market.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Looks like a 3 series on steroids.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:41 pm

i have a second looks at cayenne ….not bad actually, simply an honest shape with porsche expression,

x6, just a little over, which i dont partcularlly….

..only my personal view

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:43 pm

should have made the front abit more “smoother”… as it stands, it looks pretty much like the X5 from d front…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Paul, any pics of the interior?

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Look at the size of the rim and width of the tyre…. insane……..

• armandd (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:36 pm

i would say they r at least 21 inch!

• J (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 6:54 pm

I wish the headlamps to be larger to match the large body of this X.

Anyway, new trend now is to have a design with combi of SUV and Car.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:09 pm

c’mon, stop it with the gen-2.. the only area where these 2 are similar is towards the rear where the boot sorts of lift… other than that, THIS IS ONE BLOODY COOL BIMMER!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:13 pm

It’s made to look like a coupe.. thats y its shaped like this. Just because the back arches down… doesn’t make it any sibling of the gen 2. At least thats what Chris Bangle said.

• szw (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:47 pm

its gonna be a showdown between dis n GLK .

• kimmy (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 7:53 pm

Looks great!!

• ergo_etc (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Batmobile !!!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:29 pm

I wonder what powerplant it’s got…has to be a powerful one to pull of the “coupe” thing…

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:35 pm

what is the purpose of this car? tis is neither practical nor sporty…

• nmh (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:08 pm

the front design exactly like the new x5…change larr a little bit more. Cool anyway. And yeaa…BMW GENeration 2

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:15 pm

The BEST SUV/Coupe/Crossover (whatever this thing is supposed to be) ever! I am a huge Mercedes Benz fan, but I gotta admit, this is one hell of a vehicle. Usually BMW screw up on the rear lights, like with the 7 Series before the facelift, the new 3 series, the X5, and X3. But they made this perfect all the way! Fantastic piece of machinery.

• fandango (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:20 pm

side profile definitely looks like a Gen2. I personally think Proton’s designers are doing a decent job. but that doesn’t mean i’m buying one anytime soon..:-p anyway, like they say, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 10:59 pm

A mix between a coupe and a 4×4?. Hm. interesting indeed. I think it looks hella awesome!.

But i’d rather go for a pure coupe or pure 4×4. lol.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 12:10 am

they should put the headlights and rear lights to the facelifted E90..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 12:41 am

nobodyatuk said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 5:32 pm

Its just a CONCEPT – it may not even reach the production line. OR it could be offer to Proton as the base for Proton 4×4 – I will surely buy one

You must not know BMW much. Their “CONCEPTS” are lies. They finished a production model and dubbed them ‘Concepts’ in car shows, and later on, they’ll throw it into production.

On a side note, I can’t imagine how idiotic it is manufacturers these days are….. a sports suv with 4 doors called a coupe. Try harder.

Well…. anything will sell with a BMW logo on it these days.

This might be the ugliest car on earth.

• eifs (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 1:30 am

jeanloo said,
    September 13, 2007 @ 3:41 pm

===============

if BMW X6 designs are the same with Gen2 as you said, then Gen2 must be the ugliest 2wd car, right?

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 5:17 am

Pointless. Why do we need a giant coupe? I’d rather they build a proper SUV.
    And I’d love to see Bangle’s face when a Gen2 pass him by.
    “Whatta?!… Oh, s**te..”

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:22 am

Rear looks like an aston martin, side looks like a gen.2. Yup, the world is running out of designs!!!

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:34 am

——————————————————————-

This will definitely go into production… Seems VERY likely…

• stewpid (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:16 am

hwa ha ha…
    gen2 on 4wd….

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:42 am

i heard bmw want to take legal action to china car maker (ceo) for using thier design and i think proton should take the same action to bmw bcuz using gen 2 butt lol similar to gen 2 mmg nampak sama

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:48 am

Wows… it’s a BMW GEN.2! Nice :D

• cyborgx (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:33 am

http://static.paultan.org/white_gen2_s.jpg

It has similiarity to gen2 design but definitely BMW is not copying Gen2. Notice the curvature on top and compare to Gen2. Come on people.. stop looking the world with your “kampung” mentality.

• sugar_glider (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:47 am

cyborgx give a good link to compare..
    yea..the curve looks same.. hohohoo..
    BMW GenX6.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:39 am

Definitely the hottest 4×4 to come of the Bangle-era, if only they’ve done the same for the X3 and X5. I like the idea of the dynamic performance control, just varying power, no braking, sounds like stability can be regained without too much loss in speed.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:52 am

say what you want, but from the front 3/4 angle, its definitely looking like a gen2’s silhouette. if you look at the 1 series from the rear, it also shares quite a lot of similarities with the gen2, likewise the E90, has a similar rear roofline when compared to the persona.

its funny that when proton has something that looks similar to another car manufacture, everyone says in unison that proton copied them..

in all fairness, all designers are influenced by what they see, and the world around them.. sometimes directly, sometimes indirectly. Technically, there is no such thing as 100% original design anymore, unless of course you make a car in the shape of a pyramid, which is being of course just being silly for the sake of originality.

the design of the gen2 was done by proton in collaboration with lotus. the gen2 has been around in europe for quite a while now, and it has been displayed at some of the large motorshows in europe. Its perfectly fair to say that bmw designers have seen the car before at one time or another.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 12:31 pm

The external outlook of the Gen 2 i must say is in fact a good sporty look. Because of it shortcoming such as door handle, interior ugly design, bra shape dash meter, low plastic quality and many other issue make it unpopular.

i must say that if toyota copycat everything except the interior of a gen2, it will still sell at a good volumn.

bottom line, proton bust it!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 1:16 pm

A BMW that fills a niche that probably didn’t need filling in the first place.

I seriously cant see how this would fit in between the AWD E60 Touring and the X5. Both is better at what they do than what this can do. Seems to me this is “neither here nor there”.

And about cars looking like protons….enought already, dont you guys ever get bored? Either you have too much imagination, or the lack off, dont know which one is more appopriate.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Nice curve.

• digiman (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 2:24 pm

sweet!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 2:47 pm

looks better than the sketches!!!

Sports Activity Coupe, hmmm…… nice :-)

(can our Gen2 look like this?)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 2:57 pm

4G63T, the fact is a fact, there is no other reason for stating it(bored or lacking imagination). There are very clear similarities to the proton. dont know why people are denying it, the evidence is visual. We’re not saying things for the sake of saying things.

A good example is to look at the lotus APX: http://www.autoblog.com/2006/02/24/lotus-apx-concept-unveiled/
    which is designed out of the same design principles as the gen2.

note especially the wheel arches, exhaust positions, and silhouette. also remember, the APX was designed way back in 02-03, about the same time as when gen2 was designed.

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:01 pm

whoa..if someone compare the gen2 with this..gawd it is similar,,,,

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:53 pm

The lights look the same like aston dbs car

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:55 pm

LIKE GEN.2’S SUV TYPE…MAYBE WE CAN IMAGINE HOW GEN.2’S SUV LOOK LIKE..HAIYA…BMW’S DESIGNER DAH KERING ALREADY A??PROTON DONT SUE BMW KA??HOHOHO

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 3:56 pm

please bmw fire chris bangle..he is crap….

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 4:07 pm

Kah kah kah…………memang sah………Confirmmmmm……..sebijik tiru G2………..True lah……I think G2 is not accepted bcoz mentality still belum merdeka………..
    Average Msian will adore Jepun->Toyoti->Daihutsu->P2->MYVie->Faggot……….hehehe……….

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 4:22 pm

this should be the crossover ya… i like the design cues… pretty nice! at least better than other BMW models such as Z8 and 6 series le…

• contiang (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Malaysian attitude….. when BMW produce a car like that.. no matter how bad the design is…. it will be considered as “wow”… when our national car produce Gen2…. everybody “tembak” proton….. :P hahahahaha…..

• toxicboy (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Bravo!! I think it’s awesome!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:42 pm

to whoever who trying to deny that this car does not have similarities with Gen2, come onla..check the pic num3,4 and 5..touch ur heart and say..is it far from gen2’s design??

when people can say Proton waja copied alfa just because of the bonnet and front grill,why cant we say BMW followed GEN2,the roofline and front fenders plus C pillar and the convex surface/line rearline below the C pillar is exactly like proton Gen2!!when proton can be accused for copyin other manufacturers..i see no reason why we can accuse BMW for doing so…eyes dont lie and many people feel so…so if proton were accused of copying alfa romeo or renault megane or whatever,then this BMW is a copy of gen2…and its a beautiful car…so GEN2 roofline and idea design was great but sad,many still dont appreciate it…anyway good work BMW..but dont worry you wont have competitor soon since Merc is not even considering europe as its SUV market and AUDI is doubtful its future SUV will sell well or wat and RANGE ROVER its not strong financially..so you have the only crossover like tis..minus the korean maufacturer..hope i can own someday..

• jeanloo (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:12 pm

Though I hate Gen2 overall as a car, I must admit that the Gen2 is a beutiful and nice looking car. I also personally thinks that this is Bangle’s best design. Love it or hate it, most of us here can’t afford 1.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:58 pm

Look, someone is going to eventually say, hey it got 4 round wheels, it looks like a Gen2.

Ok, thats pushing it, but the Gen2 is not the first car to have that roof line. Quite a few fast backs have that sort of roof line.

I would be the first to say the Gen2 is a nice looking car. But I would stop at that.

Cars will eventually all resemble past model as there are just to many ways you can stitch a bunch of shapes and angles to resemble a car. Its a little short sighted to just say a car looks like that just because of certain features. to either promote or dismiss a car.

Only quite rarely does a unique design shows up, usually ends up being the butt of jokes.

• trustgtr (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm

sure looks better than the porsche cayenne..nice!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 5:49 am

nice rear, not so sure about the front

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 7:01 am

Hot, hot, hot…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 9:58 pm

Slap on a boot and it will be a persona, agree? 4×4 that is…

• Tanpanama (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:29 pm

This X6 is much-much better then X5 and X3..The design looks awesome..!but can it go offroad..?