2 new colours for the Perodua Viva

The Perodua Viva was originally launched with 5 colours – Pearl Jade, Tropical Green, Ivory White, Passion Red and Glittering Silver. From what I’ve seen on the roads lately, Pearl Jade seems to be the most popular one, though maybe it’s just by chance that I seem to see only Pearl Jade Perodua Vivas running around wherever I am.

There are two new colours now. One of them is a nice blue that we’ve seen before during the spyshots called Sapphire Blue, and the other is Ebony Black. Pictured above is the Sapphire Blue Perodua Viva, and after the jump you will be able to see the Ebony Black version as well as all the original colours available from the launch date.

Read more about the Perodua Viva:
Perodua Viva bodykit now available
Artist’s impression of a Perodua Viva bodykit
Perodua Viva and Perodua Myvi Loan Comparison
Perodua Myvi vs Perodua Viva – Equipment and Specs Comparison
New Perodua Viva Full Details, Photos and Price!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 2:20 am

The Viva is still fugly no matter what colours Perodua introduced.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 3:21 am

nice colours, but the myvi is still a better buy

• mofo (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:24 am

Indeed, with almost similar price. Myvi still better deal. If i didnt drop by, i won’t known that Viva didn’t come with Black color. :(

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 5:44 am

looks aweful no matter wat color,and its expensive…NOt a value for money at all

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 7:25 am

It is nice looking car, but the price is just too expensive for a small 1 liter car…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 7:59 am

Agreed.

Colours are the last problem Perodua should be worried about.

Its pricing strategy is a little off. Budget customers will still go for a Kancil, and a buyer with 45k will end up with a Myvi 1.0 or spend a little more for a Myvi 1.3.

Besides there are a host of small cars in that catagory (Atoz,Sutera, Savvy, Suria).

Lets face it, cars are expensive due to our weak purchasing power. Any manufacturer that fails to deliver based on value is toast.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 8:31 am

Dear 4G63T DSM,

“Lets face it, cars are expensive due to our weak purchasing power. Any manufacturer that fails to deliver based on value is toast.”

Yup, couldn’t agree more! But I still would love to have a Viva, just for those grocery shopping days……

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:40 am

Like the color,not the car

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:43 am

Like the blue!

• transformer (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 10:07 am

previously new bodykit will came out after a year after initial launch or more but this time round, its sooner than we thought… seen this ads about 2 weeks ago..

Guess the competition for local low-cost car are getting fiercer!

Anyway, competition are good for Rakyat!

both local are advertising quite rapidly, especially on their feat of units sold! quite interesting though!

• Alifz (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 10:50 am

Don’t worry….maybe in future they will give discount for smaller engine version…now the current price was fixed by G, they have no option…just like P1 now to make the car cheaper they also give plenty of discount…

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 12:24 pm

hey….put gold rims on the blue viva..then get the bodykits..and ur all done! a baby subaru! wakaka! rofl’d…

• szw (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 1:34 pm

rubbish

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 3:48 pm

introduce la 1000 colours pun..kalau hisap duit jgak..x de maknenye.. hate perodua..hate it..hate it… until they make 100 % own design…that time..i’ll love it…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:15 pm

when subaru want to copycat and produce this model??haha

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:17 pm

ok nowadays cars are modern look kancil viva kelisa ,,
    …..let say if produa is into retro style like the Trevis,

http://www.autoblog.com/2006/08/23/awww-how-cute-daihatsu-trevis-charms-europe/

how would people perceive, (of course, no doubt its a mini inspired) , but will malaysian accept and like it, what do you think?

• peYno (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 7:09 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    September 17, 2007 @ 6:15 pm

when subaru want to copycat and produce this model??haha

—————————
    subaru rebadge Toyota passo just a part of minor project…. More focus on thier own design,
    perodua rebadge toyota passo as this is their life.. otherwise, die lorr..

btw, viva is Daihatsu product.. nothing to do with toyota/subaru..
    so possiblity almost 0

• altis_fan (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Small body for such a big price. No matter what color they want to introduce,
    I still not gonna buy it. Waste of money. I’m waiting for new Altis.

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 9:18 pm

There’s a classic look about the Trevis. But believe me, if Perodua introduced it as Viva, some of us might have died laughing.
    It looks good on a euro street with a caucasian driving it. But on a Malaysian road, I would expect an ah soo behind the steering wheel.

• wong (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 1:30 am

The colours are nice but it won’t change the actual dull looks..the Trevis model is copied,borrowed or stolen from the mini…be nice to see it on Malaysian roads,and some guys would even put a Mini logo!!!

• heavymetal (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 1:46 am

boring, patut ada warna katak hijau,baru nampak macam species amfibia..haha

• aizat84 (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 5:50 am

Paul .. i heard that Myvi asso have new colour .. Pearl White .. plus rm400 than normal paint

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 10:48 am

That Trevis looked like the Kelisa lah. Buta ke apa?

• transformer (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 1:14 pm

Trevis are basically a Gino(JDM)!

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira_gino/index.htm

i believe its an extended(revised) version of the original what we know as Kelisa…. its just mix match here & there as what most car maker are doing…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 2:11 pm

#
    heavymetal said,

September 18, 2007 @ 1:46 am

boring, patut ada warna katak hijau,baru nampak macam species amfibia..haha

—————————————————————–

aiya.. tu susah sket..kene modified myvi jd cm amfibia..leh masuk air…

• gogo2 (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 3:15 pm

high end Viva, better buy Persona.

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 1:50 pm

erm..my mum has sold her kancil (which is 2nd hand, 1996 model, RM19k++) to a guy for about RM6k..then after subtract here and there, she paid about RM5k for viva deposit (1000cc premium)..from it original price, after subtract deposit and NCT (i don’t now its initial is right or wrong..but it has something to do with insurance) my mum only loaning RM34k..and have to pay RM424 a month for 9 years..for those who is hustler in this thing..is it worthed?

my mum got her viva on 12 sept (or 13 sept..i don’t remember) last week..then she, my younger brother and i, went to KL to accompany me for my job interview on recently sunday (16 sept)..the viva was just 4 days old..the interview was on 17 sept..on our way to KL..my mum pressed to 120-125 km/h..and so do i..and on our way back to kuantan..she pressed even deeeper..120-140 km/h..but what i wanna tell you is..it’s truely fast..when i pressed 120 km/h at snaky (snake) highway at karak..its handling was very good..it didn’t slip..it didn’t go off the lane..so smooth..its power steering was so smooth too..its seat like bucket seat..its comfort to me..

only..i disappointed with it cd player-FM radio..so cheap..it supposed to have like myvi’s one…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 3:13 pm

424 a month is nuts. 9 years even more ludricous. Not to mention that the 9 years you are STUCK with comprehensive insurance. NCB or no NCB, its expensive like hell.

Out of the 34K you get from the bank, you have to pay back about 11k just in interest alone. 1/3 the loan pay back is interest.

I would never go over 5 years for a loan.

I would rather drive a good used car (which I do) and spend 11K in a high yeild investment with compounding interest and make an extra 11K after 9 years….. basically thats zero work…letting the money work….why give to the bank, I would rather they give to me.

34k will buy me a perfectly good Civic EK.

But I suppose banks will have to make money off someone to pay us.

I’m telling you guys ….9 year auto loans are the biggest scam by the local banks. First, giving you the opportunity to buy something that you might not have afforded in the first place, then force you into paying more than you need to.

my 2 cents/

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 4:34 pm

all the banks in malaysian is SH*t. they just use the said doing the business in the islamic ways but we have to pay 1/3 of total loan for interest.what the hell.even for small car like VIVA.its really crazy

• wong (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

9 years loan,424rm a month, if you and your mum liked the car,then its worth it,no one should tell you what to buy, or how to spent, but keep the car well maintained,.. but If you like driving fast say 150km/hr and above, go for continental cars..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 6:01 pm

romeo_misteri said,
    September 19, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

she pressed even deeeper..120-140 km/h..but what i wanna tell you is..it’s truely fast..when i pressed 120 km/h at snaky (snake) highway at karak..its handling was very good..it didn’t slip..it didn’t go off the lane..so smooth..its power steering was so smooth too..its seat like bucket seat..its comfort to me..
    =====================
    viva fast??? yeah maybe u n ur mum compare it with her ex Kancil

no wonder la
    prrrfthhh

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Malaysia banking system is suck too, bad online banking system, bad banking network, a lot of people, very inconvinience, stupid banking rule,
    a lot of fee…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 12:03 am

how banking can use CTOS as their references?what happen to thier system?zaman jepon lg ka?

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Turned into a banking discussion? Bt oh well, it is true takin 9-yrs loan is mad.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:58 pm

“my mum pressed to 120-125 km/h..and so do i..and on our way back to kuantan..she pressed even deeeper..120-140 km/h..but what i wanna tell you is..it’s truely fast..when i pressed 120 km/h at snaky (snake) highway at karak..its handling was very good..it didn’t slip..it didn’t go off the lane..so smooth..its power steering was so smooth too..its seat like bucket seat..its comfort to me..”

Great that u enjoyed the car. 120 km/h to 140 km/h……… u should try Savvy. :D

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

romeo misteri,140km/h is not considered very fast nowadays,but to compare with your Kancil..thats fair enough..happy driving…

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:22 am

An overpriced car, people can get Saga 1.3 with similar price of Viva or even cheaper than viva… my Saga top speed was 185km/h…. my sibling myvi’s was 160km/h and maybe viva was slower than myvi… plus the terrible handling, who want this viva anyway?? it’s just a piece of crap….

• bella on Jul 15, 2009 at 2:25 pm

y…all of guy like hate so much with..viva??at this mnth maybe i want a buy new viva.after i read comment from all of i guy..i really feel something wrong with this viva..what the bad beside this viva?

• cust. on Sep 05, 2009 at 11:05 am

small and expensive…

• cust. on Sep 05, 2009 at 11:16 am

buy viva and u will get 9 years suffering payment ,small,slow,bad handling,high price and lots more see for your self hurry…theres bullshits awaits you…….