2008 Mazda 6 Details and Specifications

Mazda 6

The new second generation Mazda 6 was displayed at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show, and is now larger yet more aerodynamic than it’s predecessor that pioneered Mazda’s new Zoom-Zoom philosophy, with over 440,000 units registered in Europe so far.

The new Mazda 6 is 65mm longer, 15mm wider, 5mm taller and 50mm longer wheelbase than the first generation model. It debuts with a four engine line-up: a 120hp 1.8 litre petrol, a 147hp 2.0 litre petrol, a 170hp 2.5 litre petrol and finally a 2.0 litre turbodiesel making 140hp. The new 2.5 litre unit has been developed from the first generation’s 2.3 litre unit, with a bigger bore and longer stroke contributing to it’s increased displacement. Intake and exhaust ports have also been redesigned to be more free-flowing. Mazda engineers also focused on reducing vibration and noise levels via the use of a dual-mass damper and a flexible flywheel. Piston and conrod weight has also been reduced.

Despite being larger and slightly bulkier-looking than the previous generation, the new Mazda 6 is more aerodynamic than it’s predecessor with a drag coefficient of 0.27Cd compared to 0.30Cd for the sedan and liftback, and 0.28Cd down from 0.32Cd for the estate body variant. The steering rack uses an electric power steering with a brushless motor, improving fuel economy by approximately 2% compared to a conventional hydraulic power steering setup used by the first generation Mazda 6.

Other than the obvious new interior design, there are a few improvements in interior aesthetics. The steering wheel angle is now set at 21 degrees which is a more upright position compared to the previous model. Little things like this enhance a driver’s sense of unity with the vehicle. An advanced welcome mode turns on the panel lights in order of precedence, from lower to upper, giving the driver the impression that the car is waking up and getting ready to go. The front center armrest has an adjustable front-back mechanism to suit the driver’s elbow position.

There is also an 8-speaker BOSE premium sound system which is optional, something Cycle & Carriage could offer on the upmarket version of this new Mazda 6 in Malaysia, since Naza Kia has set a precedent of having a premium branded audio system in this market segment with the Kia Optima and it’s Infinity audio system.

The rear bench has incorporated Mazda’s Karakuri rear seat fold system wihch allows the rear bench to fold forward with a single movement. The Mazda6 also comes with n Adaptive Front Lighting System (AFS) feature which swivels the headlamps to shine into a corner as the car enters it.

Safety features include ABS, stability control, traction control, brake assist, 6 airbags, active headrests. and crushable brake and clutch pedals which are prevented from moving into the cabin during a frontal collision.

The press release for the new Mazda 6 also indicates this is the European model, and there also be a different North American model, designed and engineered specially for that region which will be unveiled later. Which one will Malaysia get, this European model or the upcoming yet to be revealed North American model?

More photos can be found in the previous post linked below:

2008 Mazda 6 – 2nd generation zoom-zoom: Photos
First generation Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.3 test drive report

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:43 pm

I always like how Mazdas look over their more conservative competition.

They seem to always find a niche that the larger players dont bother to do, and make itself a name. (ie. Rotary, 1st gen Miata, Miller cycle engine, etc)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Specs and features lookin’ good…

• DrA (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:10 pm

looks so much better than its mondeo siblings.

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:10 pm

It kinda looks shorter than the current mazda 6, and it reminds me of a lexus. Very nice design from mazda.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:46 pm

I think i saw cycle & carriage advertisement on tv, saying that they are going to bring the new Mazda 6 into Malaysia by this year to sell…

Zoom Zoom Zoom… Actually i felt Mazda perform more better in styling & design compare to Toyota & Honda…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm

Ford couldn’t make it M’sia, wonder if this one could. And it could be around RM 100 – 150K, I guess.

• òmnícp (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 6:34 pm

always i heard malaysian complains mazda does not hold a very good 2nd hand value. everyone wants a honda. but the power of dream just cannot beat the Zoom-Zoom philosophy. over here at down under, i see more mazda than honda (exclude mazda 2 vs jazz).

• szw (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 9:13 pm

the lights look too small 4 the car

• transformer (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Bose audiophile ICE!!!! WoW!!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 11:51 pm

#
    LittleFire85 said,

September 20, 2007 @ 5:46 pm

I think i saw cycle & carriage advertisement on tv, saying that they are going to bring the new Mazda 6 into Malaysia by this year to sell…

Zoom Zoom Zoom… Actually i felt Mazda perform more better in styling & design compare to Toyota & Honda…

i totally agree..mazda new models always make people eye didn’t blinking when they look mazda car…

• unlogic (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 1:14 am

Mazda designs are conservative but all things are balance and pretty. What I mean is the design flow (front, side and rear). For comparison, Honda cars always have weird proportion. Just look at Civic cab forward design with oversized rear lights. But people will buy more Honda because of the name, reliability, good drive train.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 1:28 am

#
    unlogic said,

September 21, 2007 @ 1:14 am

Mazda designs are conservative but all things are balance and pretty. What I mean is the design flow (front, side and rear). For comparison, Honda cars always have weird proportion. Just look at Civic cab forward design with oversized rear lights. But people will buy more Honda because of the name, reliability, good drive train.

don’t forget Toyota….

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:07 am

Specs that are almost on par as a BMW and Merc. This car also looks beautiful

• azrai (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 6:48 am

It’s a Honda unidentical twin.

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 7:46 am

Awesome looking car… now price it like the current Mazda 6 and watch me rush to the showroom to book one.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 8:38 am

Mazda’s are always nice, funny y Malaysians discriminate this brand.

• funbox (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 8:51 am

I always say Madza is the Japanese version of BMW. Superb handling and performance, as well as sportiness.

• e-by (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 8:59 am

Current Mazda 3 already RM100++, this Mazda 6 must be at least RM160K.

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:15 am

Compared to the current hideous 5 Series, this M6 is much much better looking. Very Good!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:54 am

If there’s one japanese sedan nicer than the Civic now, it’s this. Beautiful design from Mazda, as always!

• arcana (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:58 am

160k probably can buy u the 2.5 version if we get 1 here…..since the 2.3 was sold around that price i guess…..bread and butter 2.0 should go for 140k region.

its a very nice car indeed, time to check out the american version first….but i still think in the end the european models tend to look nicer….not the american taste.

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:11 am

If this were to be priced in the range where Accord and Camry is… it will be interesting. So much sexier than those uncle-rides.

• williaml (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:19 am

Currently CBU from Japan Mazda6 2.3L sell at RM166K, so not far from local assembled Accord 2.4L and Thai made Camry 2.4L

New Mazda6 should available in 2.0L and 2.5L and most probably not the Euro spec.

Zoom Zoom…

• longjaafar (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:44 am

Mazda has come a long way. I remember early 626 which boasted a cd of .42! Then they had the Capella and 808 and a few others. In Malaysia, the brand suffered because the local distributors did nothing to promote it. Those days it was Asia motors, but it had family and shareholder problems. Even now, under C&C, Mazda is not their main brand, and although it is said that the brand has seperate management, it still does not get as much management attention as the Mercedes brand in C&C’s stable.
    I have always admired the brand because of it’s persistence in using the rotary Wankel engine, and making cars like the MX5 and the RX7 and later on RX8.
    Their dynamism and good handling is not appreciated by the Malaysian public, because it is a fact that we have a herd mentality when buying cars.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 11:28 am

Tired with T-Makes, H-Makes & N-Makes Exec Sedan entries..

lets hope this Mazda6 able to make its way to bolehland…
    and hope will Mitsu bring any ?

• wong (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 12:26 pm

yes much better than the usual Honda,Toyota….

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 12:44 pm

Very nice shape!!! Good improvement over the previous 6. Well done, Mazda!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 2:16 pm

damn good looks..better than the camry..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:05 pm

nice design, great handling and awesome specs :-)

• observerV (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Among this 3 japanese company Mazda,Toyota and Honda, which is cheaper in terms of maintainance ? Mazda looks kinda expensive. Not sure. My instinct

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 11:24 pm

IMO, Mazda is the best among the three. My dream car is the RX-8, had the chance to drive it once, after that, I became a hardcore rotary engine fan.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 3:55 pm

not saying that its not good,not saying that pushing the limit of design or being radically dynamic is not good, but personally i would some what found that the non radical design ,for instance the new audi a4 is ‘pleasing’ – why ? ..probally its just a matter, who like pop art , techno, or neo classic, or classical revival,

just a personal point of view,

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 9:02 am

Wow! bring it here fast C&C! no need to wait for US design.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:29 am

mazda’s designs are CONSERVATIVE?.??..i dunno what u guys imply by sayin that but among the jap companies their designs (zoom zoom era) are the most daring and eye catching..believe me..when i say tat..in my mazda6 even a chic in a mercedes kompressor gave me a thumbs up ..not too mention the looks and smiles i get everywhere..it mite sound boastfull but i just wana stress the fact tat they so far from being CONSERVATIVE…the drivetrain may not be at potent and honda or toyota but im damn sure the chasis and driving dynamics are years ahead..and what matters is how the car puts the power it has down to the road rather than how much power it has on paper …..cheers

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 4:50 pm

mazda6 still b my fav among accord and camry…thumbs up to mazda…another great car frm them…btw…mazda…when u wanna bring d cx-7 to m’sia???eye catchy ma…im sure cx-7 will compete with murano and harrier here…

• rsrulz (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

how come the 2.0L petrol has so little horsepower? 120hp is less than campro cps. or is there an error in typing?

• rsrulz (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

sorry i mean the 1.8L not 2.0L