Lexus IS250 launched in Malaysia today

Lexus IS250

2009 UPDATE: 2009 Lexus IS 250 facelift launched in Malaysia, now available in 2 variants!

UMW Toyota’s luxury division Lexus Malaysia will be launching it’s fourth model today, the Lexus IS250. The IS250 will go against the BMW 325i and the Mercedes Benz C230 (or whatever it’s equivalent is in Malaysia for the W204), and is expected to account for a third of Lexus Malaysia’s projected sales of 300 units in 2008.

In overseas markets, the Lexus IS250 uses the 4GR-FSE, something that some of you might already be familiar with as it is the same engine in the 2.5 litre version of Naza’s Toyota Mark X. The 2.5 litre V6 engine makes 205 horsepower at 6,400rpm and up to 265Nm of torque at 4,800rpm, rather impressive torque figures for a 2.5 litre engine as usually you only get 100Nm of torque per litre of displacement for a normally aspirated engine. This might not be the exact state of tune that we’ll get in our Malaysian market, so more details will be posted here once Lexus Malaysia’s website is updated.

Expected price is about RM300k, which puts it somewhere at a premium over the normal 325i, but slightly cheaper than the 325i M Sport. Exact price to be posted here later.

UPDATE: Here’s the official deal on the car: RM313,166.20 on the road inclusive of insurance gets you a Lexus IS250 with a 2.5 litre V6 4GR-FSE engine complete with D4 direct injection producing 205 horsepower at 6,400 rpm and 252Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. This is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission with sequential shifting and steering wheel-mounted paddle shifters. Equipment includes HID headlamps, vehicle stability control, adaptive front-lighting, rain-sensing wipers, anti-glare rear view and wing mirrors, and of course the Lexus trademark here in Malaysia – an awesome Mark Levinson sound system with 14 speakers.

More photos and four videos of the Lexus IS250 after the jump.

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

Lexus IS250

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 2:22 pm

but the Beemer3 is CKD no? and this Japan CBU?

the 3 looks mighty boring tbh, so its a matter of choosing a finely engineered jap car over a proven bavarian badge….

I’ll have the 325i Sports, thank you very much

• Paul Tan on Sep 20, 2007 at 2:43 pm

Yeah, but if you’re going to have to take in your other half’s opinion, you’re going to have trouble convincing her to get the 325i Sports over this one’s comfort and Mark Levinson sound system.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:18 pm

i bet the 3 has much better rear headroom. the glass area on this IS is tiny! the speedo is also a bit hard to read. style over practicality i guess..

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:19 pm

Heh, no problem at all. It’s very easy convincing the opposite sex to buy a beemer over a Lexus.

Anyway, anything above RM300k is horrendously overpriced for this kind of car. I’m expecting 250k and lower. If not, watch how Lexus m’sia tank in their first year… real hard.

• Paul Tan on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm

250k and lower should be possible for an IS200, but im not sure if there is a 2nd generation IS200 anywhere in the world.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:25 pm

Javanese said,
    “Anyway, anything above RM300k is horrendously overpriced for this kind of car. I’m expecting 250k and lower. If not, watch how Lexus m’sia tank in their first year… real hard.”

I second that.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:49 pm

freakin expesive….lexus shud fight all those germans with its lower price (just like what porsche did to Italian supercar) but this is too much…no more advantage. German has stronger brand…and now german are cheaper

• wong (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 3:57 pm

Great car but…300k i’ll go for 325i…

• shamel (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:05 pm

IS look good but BAD price tag, somewhat arrogant pricing by TOYOTA errr UMW Lexus.

• leongylun (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Lexus still has very long way to go in order to compete with the top 3 germany brands here…overpriced is one of the major factor. And the second hand value still consider low and limited service centre. but i really hope to see more Lexus cars in this country likeour neighbour country-lion city.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:26 pm

This 300k car is all about sporty and luxury….well i prefer to forget bout all those added weight luxury and go for Evo 10 instead…true sporty and performance…expected price 280k

• DrA (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:31 pm

I have to say 300K is a bit too expensive. Lexus is well established in the other part of the world but I don’t think Malaysia is that familiar with the brand. People would still think it’s a Toyota. However, the new IS, GS, LX is completely Lexus design not a rebadge Toyota.

In the UK/US Lexus is renowned for it’s customer care. I’m not sure whether they have enough branches in Malaysia to do their “customer caring”. Plus if they are using Toyota’s showroom/workshop to do this it defies the point of projecting Lexus as a luxury brand as people would still associate Lexus with Toyota (a not so luxury brand).

So in conclusion: 300k is too much. Lexus Malaysia needs to be sure that the brand is accepted as a luxury brand similar to BMW/Merc.

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:34 pm

First of all i think it’s still difficult for malaysian to stomach the fact that they are paying 300K for what is essentially a Toyota when the equivalent is not some tart up self proclaimed luxury car and is a german thoroughbred.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the car, but maybe it will be more acceptable as a brand itself in a few more years to come. Given that i have spare cash under the sofa, i still won’t pay 300k for IS. A E46 M3 is much more tastier option.

Another thing is the fuel level producing different output figures. If my memory serves me right, Japan fuels are high in octane and those figure might be extracted from Jap fuels. Paul, is there anything wrong with our fuel?

• Paul Tan on Sep 20, 2007 at 4:43 pm

I don’t think so, and other manufacturers have introduced direct injection engines here, but I guess Toyota has different ideas of reliability. Our GS300 too lacks direct injection offered in other markets. Even BMW is not introducing the new 170hp direct injection engine with the new 1-series facelift.

But… VW and Skoda do not seem to have a problem introducing the 2.0 normally aspirated FSI here.

• rhoma (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:25 pm

the presenters looks funny

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:32 pm

If this thing has got a better steering which is more direct, mechanical and precise than the new beemer’s heavy, sticky and dull steering, I’d take this over the 3-series any day. bar the price tag of course!

• F430CS (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:35 pm

325, i’ll say.

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Finally IS250 was launched in malaysia i hope i can test drive on it , Lexus nowaday is base for luxury sedan some more is a best selling in US market .
    Price 300k for the IS here is ridiculous and worthless it if less than 250k still can consider it ,because so far in malaysia first distributor Lexus brand is under UMW Toyota they can over up the price .

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 8:29 pm

Yeah hellaluya…eventually it lands in Malaysia. But when it comes to the price, yeah hell to ya…Better for me to grab this in Japan. The price is not even half of the one sold in Malaysia…well if i assumed the price tag put up by UMW is RM 300K.

• szw (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 9:47 pm

“the IS350 has better acceleration…”

duh…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 10:32 pm

Everytime see the car price posted in malaysia just want to make me vomit, my friend just got the same car around USD 35k includes all misc cost…
    Very sad and angry about this kind of policy…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 10:36 pm

For almost the same price can also get the G35 sedan with 306hp…hate the stupid policy…ridiculous expensive artificial price in malaysia…

• king (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 11:22 pm

szw said,
    September 20, 2007 @ 9:47 pm

“the IS350 has better acceleration…”

duh…

======

so what? its still a jap car……want acceleration ? an evoX / subaru wrx / or R34 Skyline will eat this up for supper. and all cars are cheaper too

• king (Member) on Sep 20, 2007 at 11:28 pm

300k for this car is really a cocky and arrogant price from UMW toyota.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 12:39 am

I agree. 300k price tag is rather ridiculous price for a Lexus (Toyota). Roughly about 80k cheaper than the GS, too close to each other. Apart from the design & reliability of a Toyota, I’m struggling to find other reason why should any buy this kind of price tag for a Lexus (Toyota). You’re better off buying a European alternatives.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 2:41 am

i read alot of the reviews online and all say that the interior is very cramped specially at the rear….bt it does hav alot of gadgets…anyway…i take 325i or even A4 anytime.jus no comparison..and wen u look at that hideous price tag…thy wil be lucky if thy can sell 10units a yr !

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:10 am

Shouldn’t they brought this car first then giong to the higher range models.

• eifs (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 5:14 am

here in brunei, IS300 only B$54,000.. I bought one already :)

• Javanese (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 7:26 am

@eifs… Now that’s a good price. I’ll buy one it’s priced like that. heck, I might seriously considered one if it’s sold at 250k.

I have NO idea how on earth did UMW came up with that kind of price. 300k for a 3 series class car. Did they think we are as gullible as American consumers? And it’s not even a sports version of the IS250 (if there’s ever such a thing).

The only reason “Lexus” based cars (ie harrier, cygnus) are selling so well in m’sia is because of their price. Find me a better equipped SUV thats better priced than the Harrier on sale in msia right now.

And now for an extra 70k you can get the RX which got a 3.5L engine… ridicoulous and shocking. IMO they purposely priced it like a Beemer and Merc to give an illusion that they built a car as good or better than their rivals. I’m sorry, but there’s one thing they can never beat, snub value of driving a car with a 3 point star. We m’sian have a much more european oriented mentality. Which is why Ball watches are never priced/sold as much as a Fortis even though they claim it’s a better watch and Ford m’sia dont sell american based cars here.

Sorry for the early morning rant…

• ab (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:02 am

may look sporty but its not a drivers car. i want my 3 series!!!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:49 am

Paul Tan, i got no other half… woohooo! d joy of being single…. in that case, maybe i should get an Impreza WRX STi…. hmmm hmmmmm………

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 9:53 am

to add to above comments… when Lexus launched the LS430, i tot it was overpriced considering you can get a 730i for about 100k less, but i still see a reasonable number of LS430s running around.

my point? Lexus’s main competitor is Mercedes, not BMW (at least in Malaysia/Asia)

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:23 am

Wow it is indeed very expensive. As a brand(and money)-conscious Malaysian, I think 3 series is a better buy. But I must commend that this baby lexus is very very good looking…

• longjaafar (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:54 am

I think UMW is nuts in pricing it above 300k. It will kill the brand even before it has a chance to prove itself.
    However, it may not be UMW, but the Japanese who calls the shots here. For example, they could have plonked in the GS300 engine into the LS body and sell it for, say, RM550k, like what Merc, BMW, and Audi have done, ie to have models below the 3litre capacity. But not Lexus. It is too smart for it’s own good. But then again, it is very successful in the US, right? So why are we smart ass malaysians griping about?

• king (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 11:01 am

Javanese said

And now for an extra 70k you can get the RX which got a 3.5L engine… ridicoulous and shocking. IMO they purposely priced it like a Beemer and Merc to give an illusion that they built a car as good or better than their rivals. I’m sorry, but there’s one thing they can never beat, snub value of driving a car with a 3 point star. We m’sian have a much more european oriented mentality.

_______

wrong…..300k is priced above both the Beemer n Merc already. seriously poor pricing for a car that looks like the upcoming altis replacement.

• electron (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 12:20 pm

bmw 325i (E90) lexus IS250
    power (bhp/torque Nm) 218/250 205/252
    price 288k(w/o insurance) 313k(with insurance)

the beemer adds an extra 13hp and is about 20k cheaper..
    I can live without the mark levinson stereo…

• king (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 1:17 pm

agrreed…its a no brainer…..unless u r a toyota fanatic

313k for this IS250 so near to 323Ci price range of 330k. Save 20k get the 325i or pay extra 20k get the 323Ci coupe. who needs mark levinson…

• szw (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 1:32 pm

king , i’m not criticizing the car , that’s what the presenter say .

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:08 pm

but previously can get this car at Naza World, right?

• arcana (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 3:26 pm

yup…very nice and very expensive…was expecting 250-280k range.
    wow the speedo and tacho needles can move before u even drive the car…..thats kinda 1st time seeing that lol….
    but at least the interior is much better than beemer’s standard-and-lookalike throughout-the-series-except-7 kinda dash.

the culprit,
    you are right on this, lexus redefines luxury….not sports…so its mercedes’ rival. probably its for people who wants to stand out from the norm, like how people buy mazda instead of the conventional honda, nissan and toyota?…thats my guess.

• s60t (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 6:19 pm

I was waiting for this car to come and perhaps consider as a replacemnt for my 6 year old S60. Was hoping for price to be RM 250K plus.#!# is waay too high even though the car does look very luxurious and elegant. If you look at Singapore prices of the 3 series and C class vs IS, you would not expect us to have to pay such a high price.

• king (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 1:52 am

szw said,
    September 21, 2007 @ 1:32 pm

king , i’m not criticizing the car , that’s what the presenter say .

sorry…misintepreted what you wrote….cheers

• TRIGS (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 3:01 am

Based on our CBU import duty structure, the IS250 can’t be priced much cheaper. Also bear in mind this model has luxury specs. For a few thousand ringgit more, you can get one with a sunroof. I own a Lexus and I find the service is excellent, whereas I hear from BMW owners that their service quality is abysmal !! A Lexus has a very specific appeal. It is suitable for those looking for a car that is very refined, smooth, quiet, and reliable. The IS250 has all these qualities, not to mention the GS300 or the LS460. In the end it depends on what you want. That will determine whether you prefer a BMW, Merz or a Lexus. As for me, I am sticking to Lexus, and my next car will be another lexus, as I rather avoid any “rough and bumpy rides” both in the car cabin itself and in the after sales service aspect.

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Yeah, but if you’re going to have to take in your other half’s opinion, you’re going to have trouble convincing her to get the 325i Sports over this one’s comfort and Mark Levinson sound system.
    ————————-
    >>>Paul, I think women are turned on by the German brand. BMW mah……need I say more abt this playboy’s fav brand? As for Lexus, they’d probably think it’s the biscuit, wakaka :D

• king (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 7:00 pm

paying 20 grand more just for better service quality is not my idea of a good investment. the 325i is CBU too at 20 grand lesser than this car so is the three pointed star.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:50 pm

due to brandname weightage are damn important, this IS250 its “not enough” value-for-money!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 3:56 am

The MSRP price in US for IS250 is USD31k and new Merc C class C300 is USD33k, so why malaysia lexus IS250 is so expensive, and not saying the new C class is more power than IS250, 228hp vs 204hp…

• skyblas (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 5:04 pm

sit inside the lexus is 250 in australia which is my friend car, its very quiet but the inside is rather blunt…but the seat is really comfortable and the sound system is really very impressive, you want classical music then its very fine and nice, u want techno… the speaker behind the rear seat produce the bass…damn impressive
    and fuel economy is gd, but haha…the engine is design by yamaha one, lol
    the car is also freaking powerful, when u step it over 4k rpm the V6 sound very nice
    the only down side and really bad is the rear leg room
    really suck
    maybe because of the shorter wheelbase as it is a sport and luxury car, nevertheless it is a very gd car
    but for me
    i think i will buy the car if it is around 250k
    lexus should lower the price of their car to remain competitive, they should sell more and earn less first
    btw, the is250 are sold in australia for 70k au
    thats around 200k msia include stamp duty all those shit registration cost
    and one mroe thing
    for those that say the speedo meter is hard to read, they are so wrong
    haha, when u rev up the car
    the speedo will kinda become red color like that one
    damn beautiful
    very quiet ride i will say, engine is more quiet then bmw 3 series for certain when idling

• skyblas (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 5:06 pm

very nice and quiet ride

• syi (Member) on Sep 10, 2008 at 3:08 am

300k for this lexus is250/300 is way too expensive. In Brunei you only can get it for 85K Brunei Dollars/Singapore Dollars which will be around 100K. I drive this car back in Brunei, its very very comfortble, very smooth, and there’s a power button on the side of the steering if you wanna go faster… =) very elegant and sporty. I shall say this car is nearly as same as BMW 3series as i drove the 3series as well, not much of difference but only the specs. Since i’m studying here in Malaysia, was thinking of getting the same car here, but then the price is wayyyyy high… This is bull****.

• ezal7065 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:31 am

In Brunei B$57k… is for Is300 3.0L engine…

• PauKaya on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:59 pm

accidentally stepped into this page. how things have changed for paultan since 2007