Toyota Vios launch on 4/5 October 2007?

[ LATEST UPDATE: Click here to find out more details on the Toyota Vios that will be available here in Malaysia, straight from the Malaysian press preview launch! ]

I was surfing Maxis’ new PacMee service and I spotted this small posting (cropped screenshot above) by jLinkModels advertising for 4 models for a Toyota launch on the night of 4th October 2007, 5 to 7pm. A night event could mean the car will be officially launched the next day, so the official launch could either be on the 4th or 5th of October 2007, about two weeks away. The product will most likely be the new Toyota Vios. Read more in the links below. The teaser I blogged about recently has information on specification levels for the E, G and S models as well as estimated pricing.

New Toyota Vios line-up teaser with features and prices
New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand
Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota Vios
UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline Toyota Vios at under RM70,000
2006 Toyota Belta (JDM name for Toyota Vios)
Toyota Human Touch advertisement featuring Toyota Belta/Vios

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 6:07 pm

I just booked the new vios…according to the SA, official launch will be 19th Oct….pricing up on the toyota site and on hand with SA is still an estimation….

Event launch remained unknown to the SA, but there may be 1.

I am still deciding on the colour…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:05 pm

anybody want to buy new “viogong”??

• shamel (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Akshen_Kamen;

I don’t think so unless the entry level is RM69k. VioGong too cocky just because it sports T emblem and distributed bu UMWT.

Say no to expensive VioGong.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:50 pm

??
    http://www.marketatnation.com/Cars/5018010000106_1.jpg

• ab (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:16 pm

why so excited? its the same car with the same engine, just fatter!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:47 pm

#
    shamel said,

September 22, 2007 @ 9:39 pm

Akshen_Kamen;

I don’t think so unless the entry level is RM69k. VioGong too cocky just because it sports T emblem and distributed bu UMWT.

Say no to expensive VioGong.

i totally with u. i still wonder what type of person that will buy this viogong. but they will say “this car is toyata made, its worth with the price”.hahaha..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

n ppl stil ordering b4 even seeing or driving the car……geez

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 11:51 pm

#
    e-nabilll said,

September 22, 2007 @ 11:22 pm

n ppl stil ordering b4 even seeing or driving the car……geez
    _____________________________________________________________________________

of course la..its toyota..its okey as long it is toyota…(some malaysian people thinking)…sigh..

• farmcow (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 12:39 am

haha ….latio also expensive but ppl still buy…but prefer the current vios design…haha

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 12:46 am

#
    farmcow said,

September 23, 2007 @ 12:39 am

haha ….latio also expensive but ppl still buy…but prefer the current vios design…haha

_____________________________________________________________________________

u think which one is more worth with the price?latio or viogong

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:31 am

Latio engine is CVTC (CVVT) newer technology compare to VVT-i (VVT) and is 1.6L VS 1.5L. Gearbox almost the same, but safety and interior latio win the vios.. If u don’t believe, go to Singapore and check for latio sales..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 3:19 am

truly i dont know much about latio but i can sense that viogong is totally overprice.yaris but with longer butt but people say that is the total new car..purff..after that, they just change the facelift which become worse..with no upgrade at all.but still people will say that the total new car..if proton do that, many people will say proton lazy la.no idea..

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 5:41 am

yes..its an ugly car..yes people will still buy…

• ab (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 9:42 am

don’t understand why people like to buy toyota so much, i mean yes they have bulletproof reliability, but are also very unsporty. Don’t know about a vios, but i drove a new corolla 1.8 that day. Good engine, but the steering has no feel whatsoever. worse than my old corolla AE111 i nornally run in

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 10:19 am

Toyota used to make great cars…My Dad’s AE92 still works great, it’s a Japanese spec, fully imported model, so maybe that makes a difference. But my Dad was very disappointed with the current Altis, he expected more quality from Toyata, since then, he gave up on Toyota, they’re more about the money now.

This Vios is a great example of what has become of Toyata, an un-inspired, money-making, company, no more is it the car company that used to make car all about passion and quality, I’m very disappointed in Toyota.

• syong888 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 11:30 am

Very Intelligent Outstanding Sedan…….

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 11:46 am

ab said,
    September 23, 2007 @ 9:42 am

don’t understand why people like to buy toyota so much,….

Metaphorically, the same question can be like this “Don’t understand why people like to buy Proton/Perodua so much, ”
    The answer is simply as because they are people…mortal human beings.It’s their character.Well, i don’t see what’s a big deal about it since it’s their monies.And i believe, it brings no harm to others…So ?

• nmh (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:12 pm

Vios really boring and not fun to drive…ive driven one btw. It also feel cheap and 69k is way too expensive for a plastic interior car.

Im not bashing …i like toyota…but vios, ill rather buy satria neo or gen2

• szw (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 2:44 pm

boring…

• wong (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 5:21 pm

entry level and not made in Japan anymore,used to like Toyota,but now …

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 6:16 pm

torishimeyakuin said,

September 23, 2007 @ 11:46 am

ab said,
    September 23, 2007 @ 9:42 am

don’t understand why people like to buy toyota so much,….

Metaphorically, the same question can be like this “Don’t understand why people like to buy Proton/Perodua so much, ”
    The answer is simply as because they are people…mortal human beings.It’s their character.Well, i don’t see what’s a big deal about it since it’s their monies.And i believe, it brings no harm to others…So ?
    ————————————
    >>> Bcuz, Toyota got high resale value. Msians dun buy car cuz of “its seductive Italian curves”, or “legendary handling that swept both European n American car awards”, they buy cars thinking “how much can I sell back in 4 yrs time?”, or “reliable a? after-sales cheap a?”, got it?

Bcuz of that, Alfa Romeo n Ford salesperson are the best in the world. If they can sell their cars to Msians, they can even convince ppl to buy a Stabilo pencil for RM50,000. Hire them if u wan ur company’s sales to go skyrocket.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 8:58 pm

well.. not many people bought the yaris though.. i wonder why.. too expensive?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 10:08 pm

maybe becuase “yaris sedan” is cheaper..hehe

• king (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 1:43 am

ab said,
    September 22, 2007 @ 10:16 pm

why so excited? its the same car with the same engine, just fatter

_______

this is more appropriate:

its the same car with the same engine, just UGLIER!!

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 2:52 am

I will wait for the new city, all new design with all new i-Vtec engine with improved hp of 120ps, saw the leak photos of new Jazz, looks very nice, I think new city should be so bad too, at least will have the new engine…

http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Drives/FirstDrives/articleId=122688#3

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 2:54 am

I agree too, new vios only has the new look but the engine spec is kind of dissappointment, normally new model always has new improved engine spec…sorry have to exclude proton…

• mofo (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 8:31 am

If goes for comparison between Toyota vs Honda. My perception alwiz Toyota more towards Realibility and Honda is Technology. Both products have pros and cons. Ppl still buy it why ? Bcoz of alternative brand of Naza, Proton and Perodua and also “Status”.Anyway you might found it, the price may not acceptable. But not for those looking for alternative
    The only hope, i believe its on G, reduction on the price which many found its pricey.

Cheers

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 10:25 am

Guys, Toyota’s design matures with time. I can’t believe how Britney Spears promoted the Vios soooooooooo many years ago. I hated that car, and the looks. But now i think it looks cool :)
    My mum has this 07 Vios since 6 months ago, I drove it and it was fine.

• BigCar (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 11:18 am

proton.GL.. said,
    September 22, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

??
    http://www.marketatnation.com/Cars/5018010000106_1.jpg

Big smile for new Vios.. I’m comming….

• transformer (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 1:05 pm

doesn’t experience any wow factor from this new Vios though!
    given the fact that the Chassis are a modified from its predecessor… (Vios modif to Yaris modif back to Vios08)
    Engine same(might come after tweaked)

anyway sales volume will speaks for itself!

feel quite pathethic for bolehland Rakyat!

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 4:32 pm

Better wait for new ’08 City, imagine what City can offer regarding on spacious factor when the wheelbase is getting longer, and wider…plus it will have the new Fit DNA design, plus new i-vtec engine..R13 or R15.. Dem!! that is what we called Full Model Change…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 10:00 pm

anyway, what engine that toyota put in current vios and this new viosgong?

• xstan (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 11:06 pm

Hey who knows the price is just a test market response price. Sensing the price might dropped…its just a tease & is chekcing on the preorders or demand if its price start at RM79K.

Anyway..its just a dream. Will give comments later. I actually anticipate for the launch. If its not to my expectation I’ll stick to Honda City or Latio.

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 8:56 am

There is sth i would like to know…
    This new vios is locally ckd or import frm Thailand like camry n yaris?????

• andre128 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 11:15 am

WHY SO MANY PEOPLE TALK ABOUT OVERPRICED

IF YOU GOT MONEY $$$$$ OR YOU LIKE IT, YOU WONT CARE ABOUT THE PRICE, DESIGN…

JUST LIKE SO MANY PPL BUY THE FEW THOUSAND LV BAG

YOU LIKE IT, JUST BUY IT…

NO MONEY NO TALK

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 12:46 pm

#
    andre128 said,

September 25, 2007 @ 11:15 am

WHY SO MANY PEOPLE TALK ABOUT OVERPRICED

IF YOU GOT MONEY $$$$$ OR YOU LIKE IT, YOU WONT CARE ABOUT THE PRICE, DESIGN…

JUST LIKE SO MANY PPL BUY THE FEW THOUSAND LV BAG

YOU LIKE IT, JUST BUY IT…

NO MONEY NO TALK

we all talk overprice not about you lol..consumer have right..so why you want to get angry?are you work with toyota?

• vincentwee (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:14 pm

i agree with andre128
    just few k only..so many ppl say overprice… as if overprice 10k or 20k
    look at bright side…if more expensive few k…next time resale value also good…and previous vios should be no worry as vios price don drop so easily like Proton

last time wira cost 55k..now new wira (persona) cost 45k… if ur owner of Proton..u scare n worry..

last time vios cost 80k now new vios 85k …if ur owner of Toyota..u feel proud and safe..

but ho.. i really wan to SHOOT Toyota… u price so few k high..at least offer us better tech like keyless car key….better mp3 player…not those boxxy type and most important ..quality tyre…

• andre128 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 5:03 pm

we all talk overprice not about you lol..consumer have right..so why you want to get angry?are you work with toyota?

YES!

I’M CEO UMWT ; )

• andre128 (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 5:12 pm

JUST LIKE NOKIA 8800 GOLD ABOUT RM45XX.00 (ZITRON)

THE E90 RM38XX.00 (ZITRON)

DO YOU KNOW THIS OLD MODEL WHY STILL CAN SELLING AT THIS PRICE? ONLY S40 PHONE…

DO YOU GET IT?

YOU CAN SAY BETTER I BUY M-MOBILE/ I-MOBILE WHAT EVER… THAT’S YOUR MONEY

I JUST WANT TO SAID PEOPLE NO MONEY… SO THEY WILL THINK THAT “OVERPRICED”

• transformer (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 7:33 pm

WoW! UMWT CEO are here…

for those Nokia example, they are high-end model and not for mass consumer as compared to Toy Vios! Vios are the lowest end of Toy product range! So its designed to targeted to sell in high volume! So if we are talking about “Overprice Camry” then your example might be logical ( but does Camry really a high-end unit ? )… Even Corolla Altis are meant for mass consumer at mid-end.

and its a fact that most people who already bought a 8800 Gold really don’t know how to use it, fully utilised it! But rather to impress others! People who really know how to use will surely get a S60 based Nokia! There a few affordable S60 Nokia sold at reasonable price!

btw E90 are S60 platform(Please check)!

anyway, you can share with everyone here what’s your marketing strategy for the new Vios… (demographic, target market, promotion & etc…)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 8:11 pm

#
    andre128 said,

September 25, 2007 @ 5:12 pm

DO YOU GET IT?

aisey..you cannot compare phone with car.its very different thing la.how much the price difference between phone and car.think logic lol..next time give better comparison which can be accepted la.anywhere dont assume that people say viogong overprice dont have money. but they think value of their money. its realy worth or not to buy viogong for more 80 thousand?

• king (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 12:53 am

andre128 said,
    September 25, 2007 @ 5:12 pm

DO YOU GET IT?

a clear example of someone who does not know anything bout cars and only buy cars for resale value. right there at the centre of demograph.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 2:30 am

andre128

dont think when other people say that car overprice, they dont have money.they say that because they are not stupid like u.they know the value money.what are the difference between the new vios and the older model?do they have do improvement?adding latest technology?or they change the the facelift and label it as totally new car even it is “yaris sedan” and increase the price.but its oke because it is toyota brand and have high resale value..but if proton do that….

• 90125 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 3:00 am

No money no talk sounds like a discrimination,this Vios is too overrated,thats why some people say it’s overpriced…its just another car to me…

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:58 am

Abt the price, dunt blame anyone, just blame our gov!!!

• blunt (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:25 pm

If new Mitsu can price lancer at 112++K for CBU unit from japan,
    If Suzuki Grand Vitara is priced at about 110 K for cbu unit from japan..

so, i dont see any valid reason not competitively priced the so called “new vios’. Pls remember the classic case ‘vios vs city’ during the first introduction of the vios in malaysia market..

1NZFE said,,
    Abt the price, dunt blame anyone, just blame our gov!!!