5th gear tests the Proton Savvy

Fifth Gear has an interesting take on how to compare the few economical superminis that they have in their market – how much can the little engines in them actually take? The superminis compared are the Hyundai Amica (known as the Atos here in Malaysia), the Proton Savvy, and some little unidentifiable car that seems more like a golf cart with a roof over it. Check out the video after the jump.

Video: 5th Gear Proton Savvy Test

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:05 am

wa.. paul.. so late no sleeping and got read my comment on the savvy from youtube kaaa. hahah…

dont to forget this video as well.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efX0BzbJn_U

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:20 am

found 2 more video here…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7JITRVRDPE&mode=related&search=

this is gen2
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkm03SFMeFA&mode=related&search=

and the freeze from MY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tf3Rw8VW3aE&mode=related&search=
    No wonder i sell of this car of mine after 11th months

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_d7k5NGMvTY&mode=related&search=
    ..”its made by someone going to work by an ox”… yaisk.
    … and the final final ‘nothing’ minutes.

what an entertainment.

• angelo2689 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 6:03 am

Yeah,proton win!!!!!!!!
    Good job ,Savvy!!!

• arcana (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 6:31 am

although not extremely fair comparison since the capacity of the engines are different…..but nontheless……savvy has good power for sure.
    thumbs up….

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 6:43 am

Savvy FTW!!!

• umarss (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 6:44 am

savvy got the longest time on air…kudos!

• mr.eims (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 7:46 am

Good job..Luv my savvy.. =)

hey paul, i cannot view the video from my office, (they blocked all flash movies) is there anyway I can download the video just like youtube videos can be downloaded.

• ab (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:01 am

can u imagine what they say: the hyundai amica has better handling than the proton…only less power….lotus handling lose to the korean kenari??? but of all the three cars there, it’s the proton i want to bring home

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:32 am

LoL… the 2 apek arrive before the last car…

Btw, hurray for the Savvy! :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:57 am

5th gear, now thats a “real” motoring show..
    well done savvy..

I think the comparison is quite fair, the cars are within the same price category. Also, the engine capacities might be different, but so are the weight of the cars.. the savvy is almost 70kg heavier than the hyundai. Thats like carrying 1 extra person up that hill.

• rexis (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:17 am

Well, seriously, Savvy is the best choice among all the cars stated above.

Atos.. ewww…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:26 am

http://www.hmetro.com.my/Current_News/myMetro/Tuesday/Vroom/20071002094342/Article/indexv_html

Yezza………

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:03 am

Savvy is always a good car. Bravo !

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:09 am

every car here sux

• ady (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:18 am

well done PROTON,
    Go proton go…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:24 am

“youre batter off with savvy”

• proton12vauto (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 12:07 pm

the savvy success to uphill because its engine. renault engine maa..sama bangsa…enjin mat saleh

• common-sensor (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 12:21 pm

My Savvy “was” the first Savvy to reach 70,000 KM in the whole state of Melaka. A good car and fun to drive. Sold it off though …

• wong (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 2:15 pm

nice to see them having fun..

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 2:50 pm

can u see the host face while driving the SAVVY?? During the driving always smiles n cheers..same as the other passengers… its a prove that SAVVY is a car that fun to drive… When the host drive the junk ATOS.. just see it by yourself

GOOD JOB PROTON!!!!! that what i mean…PROTON..MYPRIDE N JOY…

JULIAN…please.. u said all the cars r sux… including savvy…huh… can u buy savvy??? where r ur proud as malaysian?? u r not malaysian dude… maybe u will be proud 2 be indonesian… with their silly rubbish KIJANG!!!!:):):):):)

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 2:57 pm

To be honest, given the choices selected by the host. It is the savvy that looks the more exciting part and as the test itself shown proves the host’s point.

Nonetheless, on the bigger playing field, there is still plenty of catching up to do. Maybe they should ask lotus to really sort out the handling this time.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:01 pm

nice one!!!

shame on u ppl (typical malaysians) for saying PROTON IS BAD…..

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:13 pm

unfair comparison.

The last fibreglass car interests me alot.

350kg!!!!! My god. It’s like a motorcycle with a car’s body. and you dont even need a license to drive it in britain.

I want that. 0.5L engine. Sips fuel. Save the environment.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:17 pm

The category is ” Junk car contest ”

The competitors are junk……….

We won…………..hands down…………….nothing to cheer about

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:37 pm

The Hyundai handles better than the Savvy? Doesn’t say good things about Lotus huh? Good video, not a fair comparison by any means, but it does help us appreciate the difference between the cars, especially showing us what the Savvy an deliver. Last car is horrible, totally charmless :p

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:50 pm

the fact is, its cars that are selling within the same price bracket in the market. doesnt matter whether it has 2 engines, 3 headlights, or whatever else.. buyers with that budget will look at all of them as potential buys.

• szw (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:52 pm

proton rox !!!

• mr.eims (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:10 pm

charles27 now stop posting those top gear videos i hate seing that jeremy stupd bash..he’s a stupd guy bashing almost every car he saw. why many people still following him..aiyak..

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:20 pm

mr.eims, everyone has their own rights to do so….

anyway, hmm kudos to savvy..

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:24 pm

well…a few months ago, a lot of ppl we’re bashers, now it’s decreasing..

• afroiq (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:28 pm

will it show on discovery real time..paul..??

is it same between fifth gear and 5th gear..??..or is it another programme..

• bronzesilverp (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:42 pm

yea, savvy wins! ur wallet wins too! coz gearbox service is not cheap! no matter you are AMT or manual.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:59 pm

I think JULIANLEE2 said proton car suxx because he still the school boy who dont have any license and never drive anycar but want to show something to his girlfriend..hahaha…i fell pity for him..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:02 pm

i think they said atos have better handling because they driving atos at the lower speed which take longer time to reach peak..if savvy drive as the same speed,of course savvy will be better.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:03 pm

thanks charles27,but I’ve seen it all before,very funny,and this new one too, I like the last car..hehe,when they left the two guys behind,…I dont know much about Savvy but hey..not bad at all..

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Wow..Savvy..actually winning something…congratulations, I guess….

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:04 pm

#
    akshen_kamen said,

October 3, 2007 @ 4:59 pm

I think JULIANLEE2 said proton car suxx because he still the school boy who dont have any license and never drive anycar but want to show something to his girlfriend..hahaha…i fell pity for him..

yeah..u r rite… im wondering wat car did he driving rite now….a ferrari…ou…a porsche??…aa….a lamboghini??ee…

sorry..as malaysian im very sensitive about PROTON…not all PROTON’s model r sux…even merc have vibrating problem on dashboard???

• chap_de_x (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:17 pm

i have thought it. Never doubt about savvy capability before,now and future…hope proton will not dissapointed us again.

p/s what is wrong about JULIANLEE2 is he is really want we know him as an idiota

• nmh (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:18 pm

Yea…pity JULIANLEE2

• nmh (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:26 pm

JULIANLEE2=littlefire rite?…link to the same blog but no more message post at the top

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:38 pm

haha…JULIANLEE2 have driving experience in his wet dream..he has drive million price tag car.after he finished driving,he blow out his load..i think that both brat julianlee and litlefire is the same person who are school boy try to jump into the auto world without having any knowledge and at the end become blind basher and become the most hated person in this blog because of his blind comment.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:44 pm

hey you guys.. i found very interesting website from australia..

http://www.benjiscar.com.au/

he put turbo in his gen2 car + air suspension and many modification that we cannot find in malaysia…you all should go to that web.

• danoneism (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:58 pm

kesian bah dia…
    hahahahahaha…..
    see proton can win oso wat……
    Savvy rockx…….
    i think the amount of basher in dis blog decrease la….
    kan?????

• danoneism (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:59 pm

pity JULIANLEE……
    hahahahahaha…..
    see proton can win oso wat……
    Savvy rockx…….
    i think the amount of basher in dis blog decrease la….
    kan?????
    thanx akshen_kamen for da web…..

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 7:36 pm

ya yaa.. bashers just gone.. but they do make speculate and bad rumours spread around.. even worse.. some of them spamming UK, AUS blog that had proton review.. giving bad impression for proton .. I don’t know either they just plain childish or.. mental problem. :D

and another why bashers gone? because proton going better..

“Ehem! Even an Oii Oii Oii change the nickname to _______” ,,

so?

• nazuaf (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:11 pm

These kind of reviews… I’ll take 5th gear’s word over top gear anytime. Jeremy Clarkson just sux…

• nmh (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:50 pm

Proton suxx….JULIANLEE really know bout proton enve he is just a kid….maybe his dad…err

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:16 pm

benjiscar is a PR job by proton lar…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Actually Savvy could beat any other car in its league anytime….JC has driven the car just that his ego is too big he wouldn’t admit a marvellous car like Savvy is made in Malaysia. Save your words guys, just ignore JULIANLEE/littlefire…why do I bother to even right his name ??…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 10:09 pm

congratz to proton…bt actually savvy is nt d best car in term of overall rating bt d most highly rated proton car is neo and waja…according to many foreign journalist…btw…its quite gd savvy can beat both 2 junk..congratz again…

fifth gear n 5th gear is d same…which lead by tiff needle…former top gear member…i dun think top gear is suxx…dun jz hate or banned top gear bcoz of JC statement over proton…dats his opinion which me kinda good so dat proton can improve….jz think of a positive wayla ppl…4 me top gear still gt a lot of input we can get…i think nt jz a proton he bashed(JC)…porsche cayenne also been bashed…merc…bemer…etc also been bashed by him…so i think his fair…dats his opinion n we dun hv a rite to mad at him..

• khimfoh (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Hmmm…I wonder why they included a two stroke two seater mini-car in the test. They should have included the Picanto and/or the Panda as well in the test.

• mockviper (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:04 pm

“these are the three cheapest car to run available on sale today” that says it all.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:08 pm

proton seemed looks bland with the countrysite

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:26 pm

if proton is already good, then why the heck with all the protection policies in malaysia? overcharging the prices of other brands……. please explain to me……

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:10 am

#
    ezralimm said,

October 3, 2007 @ 9:16 pm

benjiscar is a PR job by proton lar…

o…how you know??

• adlanar (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:11 am

coz local proton are not built with quality in mind. local buyers then fled to other (korean) alternatives UK bound proton are all better built than m’sian market ones. this is not an assumption, my statement is from personal experiences of drivng various protons in UK and malaysia.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:28 am

haha, no idea, probably making some people rich somewhere.

• wanwnp (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:51 am

paul, i’ve already downloaded the video from your website,
    i hope u dont mind.

the savvy is worth to be proud of, that.s why i cant stop myself to download the video directly from ur website..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:54 am

seriously , go n hav a test drive for the savvy…its free…at most PE showrooms…i tink its protons most under rated car….its really good car to drive….and u hav to remember its only rm35k if im not mistaken….and my godness….its a millions times beter than the kia picanto…..same class…
    bt those who bash thn cant help it la…its in their blood!

• wong (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 1:58 am

I don,t really mind of what JC says or do because thats his job,..just like those reality shows where contestant getting bashed from the judges..and Savvy deserve some credit here,after all the bashing it received…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 3:26 am

yup…agree wit u wong…and maybe sum of u didnt c JC smashed kelisa with sledgehammer…its kinda pity to dat car bt dats his job of commenting and critic…i cant remember which series…but nt in top gear if im nt mistaken…so 4 me…its ok n dats d way of our car to improve n improve to challenge others..we hv to think positive here…if u cannot accept sum1 critic or bashing…how to improve our car??n now..proton hd a lot of improvement…so…its ok…bt still a long long way to go…in my opinion…in term of reliability…handling..mbe ok…bt in term of qc and design..still alot of to b improve…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 3:34 am

When i become Julian Lee? Actually i already knew savvy will win da day.. look at those car spec competing, savvy have the best engine, low n good in cornering. The other 2 are so tall and less power then savvy how to compete? If drive like Renault Clio wif same engine + same weight, maybe we will know which 1 better in a fair fight. Anyway i am quite surprise that the hyundai atos really good in cornering? I have 1 in those days.. really like a toy car for me… Just use it 2 years sold for RM25k, after that no more Korean cars for me…

• oversight (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 8:18 am

ok la savvy already won in this show. so what’s the big deal? if it’s sold more than 500,000, then you can call it the big news. other than that it’s a small thing to shout about.

• little_momo (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:13 am

hahaha!

SAVVY-1.2L VS ATOS-1.1L VS MC2-500cc
    savvy win 12 sec’ only
    best handling is Atos
    ppl … which is the best? savvy!? hahahah!!

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:19 am

relax guys :)

senang cte, korg g forum2 psl kete2 ni..
    nnt korg sdiri tau le baik buruk kete 2, from the owners themselves.
    but for d time being, i choose savvy…or perhaps waiting 4 d new BLM ;)

Menschen, kämpfe nicht über kleiner Sache…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 10:48 am

atos ? handling?……..
    its a bumpy car, small tyre, short travel suspension, –

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:24 am

to all the nay-sayers… the point here is not how many savvy’s proton sold. the facts here are, some people(independent, un-biased) all over the way in the UK, drove a malaysian car, and said its better than a car from korea, and france. to me, thats something to be proud off.

“savvy win 12 sec’ only”
    if someone is going up genting 12 secs quicker than you are, after the 1st corner, you probably wouldnt see him again for the next 80-90 corners till he comes to a dead stop.

• mockviper (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:53 pm

SAVVY-1.2L VS ATOS-1.1L VS MC2-500cc
    savvy win 12 sec’ only
    best handling is Atos
    ppl … which is the best? savvy!? hahahah!!

————————————

for cars with the SAME price tag, which one will you go for?
    5 seater savvy with 1.2L, Atos 1.1L or a 2 seater 0.5L bike on a car body shell? which one is more REASONABLE?

• maserati (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:22 pm

total crap.savvy compared against crap cars show how crappy savvy is.Only ppl owning savvies will say they are good.most prob from lowyat.net forumm too.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:51 am

point of this review is to never get any of the three of them.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:56 am

hehe. thats true. Compare cars that no one wants to buy.

avoid all three at all cost. prettiest bitch is still a bitch.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:40 am

maserati said,

October 4, 2007 @ 11:22 pm

total crap.savvy compared against crap cars show how crappy savvy is.Only ppl owning savvies will say they are good.most prob from lowyat.net forumm too

#
    topgunthang said,

October 5, 2007 @ 12:56 am

hehe. thats true. Compare cars that no one wants to buy.

avoid all three at all cost. prettiest bitch is still a bitch.

_____________________________________________________________________________

they say good because they have it and they have experience using it.not just blind blasher that talk crap even they have no experience at all using savvy but they want to talk big without any proof.this type of person is more stupid and crap from the car because they just keep talking something that they dont have proof but still defend.feel pity for this person..

• spidermutu (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:37 am

topgunthang,..compare car with a bitch?…hehehe..I like your bitchy comments..

• mr.eims (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:58 am

aggree with akshen_kamen.. becoz or those blind bashers, people are way blinded.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:38 pm

i feel pity for us malaysians that we have to put up with crap cars like this and still defend it.
    thats my reason. whats your’s? you bought one?

if u have noticed, majority of savvy buyers in these uk , austalia countries are pensioners. it says alot about who wants to buy this car and who these cars can be sold to only. these are also the same people that will fall for china cars once they arrive.

• spidermutu (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:16 pm

topgunthang said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 2:38 pm
    if u have noticed, majority of savvy buyers in these uk , austalia countries are pensioners. it says alot about who wants to buy this car and who these cars can be sold to only.————————————————

What’s wrong with being a pensioner?Don’t discrimnate them please….

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:03 pm

Fith Gear
    http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?lnk=201&make=Proton&mk=&model=1073&x=12&y=5

Proton Savvy review, Tested Mar 2006

Rating 1/5 star.
    Not recommended. Proton’s first-ever small car is a big step for the Malaysian carmaker – but we’re wondering whether it’s one in the right direction.

Proton is moving away from its origins as a manufacturer of cast-off Mitsubishi designs. The Savvy is a completely new supermini that has been designed and engineered entirely by the Malaysian company, with a little bit of help from subsidiary company, Lotus.

The headline-grabbing prices are certainly enough to win the Savvy attention – but the design isn’t completely displeasing, either. Certainly not at the front, where the bold grille and characterful headlamps give the Savvy plenty of character. Which makes the weak design of the back of the Savvy even more disappointing – the centre exhaust just looks ludicrous.

The interior features plenty of modern design cues, but quality falls woefully short of what European buyers expect from a modern supermini. The plastics feel cheap and insubstantial, exposed screwheads are everywhere, the steering wheel feels greasy to the touch and the heater controls are set far too low. Seats are reasonably supportive and there’s a decent range of driving position adjustment, but the rear seats lack headroom because of the pointless slope taken by the roof. The boot is small by modern supermini standards too.

The 1.1 litre petrol engine is a former Renault unit, but poor installation in the Savvy gives it truly dreadful refinement, the whiney, thrashy noise never abating and power poorly modulated through the jerky throttle and high-biting clutch. The heavy, inaccurate gearbox makes driving even more of a chore.

But worst of all is the chassis, which manages to do a decent impression of a small boat – rolling with sickening ease under the smallest steering inputs. Body control is dreadful, the Savvy wallowing over bumps and undulations – with far too much vertical motion building up to give any impression of comfort.

Against superior bargain rivals like the Kia Picanto, the Savvy feels almost embarassingly off the pace.

• volvolover (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:39 pm

proton is just a junk car, those who say proton is good is simply not true, it’s because tax is so expensive people have proton only they don’t really know what is good. Even toyota and honda are just budget cars is western countries. Proton has improved over the years in design but obviously not good enough.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:53 pm

I find it strange the 5th gear website doesn’t publish the name of the person who reviewed the Savvy. If u asked me, it seemed extremely biased n the review was done in a totally unprofessional way. To name one, it was complaining abt the exhaust in the middle, but I doubt they’d say the same abt Mini Cooper S’s exhaust location, in fact, they’d probably say “it’s a cool, funky truly English design” or something like that, despite the car is now more German than British.

Bt oh well, in UK, they’ve got lots of better choice at a similar price, so value-for-money wise, the Savvy lost. But things are different here, so dun dig in the UK reviews on our cars too much. They hv a different market n choices there, and that’s what affects their reviews on cars.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:13 pm

as i said b4…savvy is nt d best or wutever…bt give some credit to this savvy coz win the test among both 2 junk…mostly journalist gv savvy jz 1/5 star rating…bt it still ok when know some of d journalist give quite a good comment to neo….u guyz jz checkla various website n read wut d other comment abt proton cars…..www.autozine.org…www.whatcar.co.uk…www.topgear.co.uk..etc…jz let u know wut d other says abt proton cars…

• maserati (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:44 pm

they say good because they have it and they have experience using it.not just blind blasher that talk crap even they have no experience at all using savvy but they want to talk big without any proof.this type of person is more stupid and crap from the car because they just keep talking something that they dont have proof but still defend.feel pity for this person.
    ———————————————————

yea yea,you can go on forever defending ur savvy.Proof is written in so many reviews.Use ur brain to search them out.I bet you own a savvy.Its normal pyschology.Ppl wan to hear good things about something they own.I dont blame you.If i own a Myvi,definately i want to hear good things about it.I bet you are one of the dudes from lowyat.net fast and furious forum too.They have been brainwashed in “lotus handling”!!.rofl

Sorry ,but savvy still suck in design and power (comparing power with 2 underpower cars does not make savvy powderful!)in my opinion This has got nothing to do with my dislike with proton.It is just a lousy car! I also hate hyundaiz,and kiaz.Buying a car has got nothing to do with patriotism.If u wan to be patriotic,go join the force and protect the country u dimwit!

I would gladly support Proton if not for the corruption and and cheap quality cars.Sorry to say,Proton will be proton if their mindset dont change!

• kidd (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:26 am

I was driving along the route a couple of weeks ago, and I must admit, its not an easy road to drive. Glad that Savvy performed well.

• phas3r (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 1:09 am

julianlee is an as5h0l3. he’s only 16 but keep making smarta5s comments on youtube critic proton here and that, if u dun even own any car dont act like you own the most perfect car in the world

• peYno-1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 7:59 am

phas3r said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 1:09 am

julianlee is an as5h0l3. he’s only 16 but keep making smarta5s comments on youtube critic proton here and that, if u dun even own any car dont act like you own the most perfect car in the world
    ===============
    those guys just a crowded follower n kinda outdated..
    yes..5 years ago, i admit majority of malaysian were proton bashers
    nowadays, that kind of ppl is reducing.. now, become endangered species oredi

prrrfthhh

• peYno-1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 8:09 am

those guys just a crowd follower n outdated
    yes, 5 years ago, most malaysian were proton bashers
    nowadays, that kind of ppl r reducing and become undangered species

prrrfthhh

• Purple Butter D (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 5:02 pm

I’m a Savvy owner..

Yeah.. I hate the look of the rear Savvy.. but somehow, the body kit and spoiler managed to cover the ugly look..

I hate the middle exhaust.. first time I saw Savvy’s rear look.. I thought, “Oh my!!! Is Proton tried to copy human face on to the ass of Savvy???” With the lamps as the eyes, the emblem as the nose, and the exhaust as the mouth..

But then.. I blindly chose Savvy without thinking far enough.. And there it went.. I’m losing my money every month for my Savvy..

But when I drive my car.. the look of it never comes to my mind.. every day I got fascinated on what my car can do.. The only bad part of it.. I am the bad driver.. I always couldn’t control my feet on pressing the pedal.. I’m sure, my car would every day cursing me for not handling it well enough.. But it keeps giving the chances on improving my driving skills.. Well, I’m now a speed-lover because of it. I even feel safe inside (that’s the scariest part of having a car that guarantee your safety.. really really really dangerous cause it immediately changes the driver’s mind.. huhuhu)

Come to think about it.. I am lucky for making ‘stupid decision’ choosing Savvy over other model that was recommended by many people.. my car gives me more than what I want before..

Guys.. read what people said word by word.. don’t jump straight from the first letter until the last dot and make your own conclusion from your own assumption. You want people to respect your opinion, so please do respect people’s opinion first. I was reading from the beginning until the end of these comments, and its quite annoying reading all the “salah anggap” comments. I’ve no idea at all how can it be mistakenly understood. And the “best” part, the “salah anggap” comments were the one that ignited the fire in everyone. No wonder every post that Paul Tan submitted, has more than 100 comments each.

Oh well.. we are Malaysians.. and that’s what Malaysians are.. so.. we’re the one who should change ourselves to be better Malaysians…..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 5:31 pm

peYno-1,what you said is true..i think PT blog is not just for malaysian only,anybody from other country can read this blog as well.so we have to give comment in the good way even though it is negative.but what julianlee doing is the most stupid . he just want to compare all the car in this blog with proton car,even suv can be compared with proton car.

of course before this i get angry with proton.my first proton car give me a lot of problem.but since using waja,i dont have any problem at all.until now i never heard negative comment for neo and persona.this show that they already improve their quality and still can improve.so no need to open the old story back.if want to do that,we should be fair by open old stories of the car manufacturer too.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 9:14 pm

Savvy is value for money. Period.

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 1:27 am

you need to understand that proton bashers would not want to come to most proton posts anyway.

just look around your own friends and count how many like proton. while it doesnt represent the actual numbers in the country, it is a good estimate. first time buyers do not count as supporters.

spidermuthu…..i mean pensioners being people who can be easily influenced by salespeople or either dont care about what they drive(and continuing expenses) as long as the outright purchase price is the cheapest.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:50 pm

I think the only real people who can be trusted of their opinion on proton are people who have owned BOTH protons and non-protons before.

Other people are just following emotional coffeeshop rhetoric.

If you notice, many blind bashers/supporters (on both sides) have never even test driven cars from both sides.

Ultimately, i’d reccommend anyone who is interested in a small car to at least try the Savvy. Even if you think it is crap. Similarly, proton fanboys should testdrive the new Vios/tata (:-P)/getz/myvi/atos/whatevcer before buying a proton.

• aenz81 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:39 pm

ab said,
    October 3, 2007 @ 8:01 am

can u imagine what they say: the hyundai amica has better handling than the proton…only less power….lotus handling lose to the korean kenari???
    ——————————————————————–
    Hyundai Amica/atos handling is better than Savvy just for uphill test result…. try to take a corner with a speed over 110km/h… i’m very sure that Hyundai Amica/Atos will pull outside of the road easily…. and believe me Savvy will maintain on the road….. LOTUS handling is more preffer to high speed challenge…. try savyy… it’s was fun to drive that car… TEST DRIVE IS THE POWER OF GAME!!!!

• aenz81 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:43 pm

ezralimm said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

I think the only real people who can be trusted of their opinion on proton are people who have owned BOTH protons and non-protons before.

Other people are just following emotional coffeeshop rhetoric.

If you notice, many blind bashers/supporters (on both sides) have never even test driven cars from both sides.

Ultimately, i’d reccommend anyone who is interested in a small car to at least try the Savvy. Even if you think it is crap. Similarly, proton fanboys should testdrive the new Vios/tata (:-P)/getz/myvi/atos/whatevcer before buying a proton.
    ————————————————————————-

Yes…i agreed with u