Public Preview for Toyota Vios on 5th October 2007

New Toyota Vios

[ LATEST UPDATE: Click here to find out more details on the Toyota Vios that will be available here in Malaysia, straight from the Malaysian press preview launch! ]

UMW Toyota Motor will be having an exclusive public preview of the new Toyota Vios this Friday (5th of October 2007, 5pm to 10pm) at Hall 3 of the Mid Valley Megamall Exhibition Center (MVEC) – that’s the exhibition halls on the third floor, the same level as Golden Screen Cinemas.

You will be able to see the new Toyota Vios live in person, something many of us have not been able to do except for a few who have traveled north to Thailand or other countries where the Vios has already been introduced. I am very curious as to how it looks like in real life in terms of size, interior space, quality, ergonomics and etcetera as these things are hard to judge by photographs.

There will also be special performances at 8pm by Reshmonu, Danny One, as well as Akademi Fantasia 5 winners Mila, Ebi and Aswad. I will be there and will post photographs from the event, so be sure to go to the preview as well so we will be able to talk about the car together in the comments section when I post about it.

From what I heard, there will be some art exhibits from a Toyota Vios-related art competition being held in local art colleges currently: there is a blog reader called scooterist who talked about being a participant in the previous post.

There will also be live graffiti performances being held at local shopping malls (schedule below) where professional graffiti artists will be employed to create artwork on the Vios-shaped fibreglass model we saw earlier – should be interesting to see the results of these sessions.

• The Curve, 6 -7 Oct, 11am – 1pm, 2pm – 6pm, 8pm – 10pm
  • 1 Utama, 13 – 14 Oct, 11am – 1pm, 2pm – 6pm, 8pm – 10pm
  • City Square, 13 – 14 Oct, 11am – 1pm, 2pm – 6pm, 8pm – 10pm
  • Garage, Penang, 13 – 14 Oct, 9pm – 11pm, 12am – 3am

Toyota Vios pre-launch campaign
New Toyota Vios line-up teaser with features and prices
Toyota Vios launch on 4/5 October 2007?
New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand
Toyota Belta on test in Thailand as Toyota Vios
UMW Toyota plans to price new baseline Toyota Vios at under RM70,000
2006 Toyota Belta (JDM name for Toyota Vios)
Toyota Human Touch advertisement featuring Toyota Belta/Vios

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:03 am

viosgong….

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:08 am

viosgong..

• ab (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:04 am

unless i’m buying one, i won’t bother turning up….

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:38 am

hmmm… the exhibtion only 1 day
    sure or not?

normally exhibition starting from friday to sunday (at least 3 day)

• jepakazoid (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:09 am

I saw a yaris sedan a couple of months ago while I was travelling to the US. It looks damm similar and I think it only cost around 11, 000 usd.

• kington (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 1:21 pm

I am being invited by Toyota to this event… will be there with a friend of mine..

In Australia, Sydney especially, the Toyota Belta equivalent is selling rather well, not as good as the Corolla, but enough for me to catch a few everytime i turn a corner.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:01 pm

crap………………………………..

:):):):):)::):):):):):)

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:01 pm

not good car..4 value…lookin….

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Not necessarily north, south will do too :) I saw quite a few in Indo, used as taxis, didn’t get to ride in one though. It’s a nice looking car.

• szw (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:53 pm

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 4:37 pm

crap on wheels…w00t!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:05 pm

this car look weird.. it has very big gap between the tarmac and undercarriage.i never saw a car that have big gap like that..weird.

• J (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Another big sellers and success by Toyota :)

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:48 pm

Sorry Vios, already in love with Persona…

• farmcow (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 11:10 pm

haha..just wait til you guys see the real car in “person” first lah…haha

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 12:29 am

wait and see how this looks like

• altimi (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 1:28 am

I’d rather buy a Latio….got M/T somemore..

• shamel (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 7:07 am

Yup..Latio MT seems more sensible unless fuel consumption is ya greatest concern.

• TomBoiNY (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 9:06 am

The Vios is pretty much the same as the Yaris saloon we get here in the US. It’s really nothing special. If it were my money, I’d spunk down for one of the Scion models instead. They’re better looking, just as well build, have the same motor in many of them, and so on and so forth. The Vios/Yaris, it’s just so boring. And if Malaysia, I’d spunk down for the Persona, but hey, I’ve a soft spot for the Protons. Maybe it’s the Mitisi blood in me…

• 8918 (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 10:12 pm

love it or not,it’s going to sell well.

• McPadey (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 11:27 pm

yeaa…..live preview of viosgong, did they put it in a tank?…lol

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:37 am

shamel said,
    October 4, 2007 @ 7:07 am

Yup..Latio MT seems more sensible unless fuel consumption is ya greatest concern.

——

since when vios is good for low consumption?

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:16 am

Hmm. Something for City owners to laugh at I guess.
    And yes, City and Vios are both well known for their low FC.

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:08 am

mzfnd said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 1:16 am

vios is known for good resale value la….no good fc.

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:09 am

mzfnd said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 1:16 am

vios is known for good resale value la….not good fc.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:14 am

compare vios to proton persona..which one have better fc??