2007 Toyota Vios details and photos

Toyota Vios

UMW Toyota Motor had a press preview for the new Toyota Vios earlier today, so here is the latest full details on the variants of the Toyota Vios that will be available in Malaysia.

The new Toyota Vios is bigger than the previous version although it looks somewhat smaller because of it’s Toyota Yaris hatchback connections. Read more on the new Toyota Vios which is in its second generation here in Malaysia, after the jump.

UPDATE: Updated with more photos today, as my DVD drive was abit wonky yesterday.

UPDATE #2: The official launch prices for the 2007 Toyota Vios has been released by UMW Toyota Motor. The 1.5S costs RM88,100, the 1.5G costs RM84,800 and finally the baseline 1.5E costs RM78,700. Click here for more details.

Toyota Vios

The Toyota Vios is basically the sedan version of the Toyota Yaris, in fact in other countries the duo have been called the Yaris hatch and sedan or the Belta hatch and sedan. Over here in Malaysia it uses the Vios name, in line with Toyota’s marketing plans for the region.

The new Vios uses a completely new chassis which has a longer wheelbase compared to the previous Vios. Cabin length is 1965mm and cabin height is 1200mm. This translates to a 120mm increase in interior length and a 5mm increase in interior height (the car is 25mm taller). Total cabin internal volume is a total of 2,466 litres.

Toyota Vios

I am 182cm tall and I got into the rear seats and did not have any legroom problems. If I sit up straight and rest the back of my head against the headrest, my head will touch the roof of the car, but if I sit up straight and keep my neck up straight as well, only the tips of my hair touches the roof. Neither my head nor hair touches the roof of the car if I slouch a little in the rear seat. This should give you an idea about the car’s rear headroom. The rear has a flat floor like the Perodua Viva’s, which should help with the middle rear passenger’s comfort.

Toyota Vios
Toyota Vios 1.5E and 1.5G interior (the 1.5E does not have integrated audio)

Toyota Vios
Toyota Vios 1.5S interior

The interior once again uses a centrally mounted meter panel and the overall design is similiar to the Toyota Yaris. The 1.5S sporty model uses Optitron meters for the center meter panel with multi-info display, while the others use a conventionally backlit meter panel. I don’t see why this differentiation by downgrading of spec is necessary as even the Myvi gets Optitron meters. The multi-info display shows information from the trip computer such as distance traveled, trip A, trip B, real time fuel consumption, average fuel consumption, remaining range and average vehicle speed.

The 1.5G and 1.5S mid range and high end sporty models feature a clean center dash layout with an integrated CD tuner with MP3 and WMA support, speed-sensitive volume which adjusts volume according to how fast you are driving, and steering wheel audio controls. The Vios 1.5E base model uses a 1-DIN audio player with no steering wheel audio controls.

The climate control knobs are arranged in a triangular fashion – this allows the lower part of the center dash area to be made thinner, allowing for a little storage area to be built around it. A gate-shifter design has been used that allows gate shifts for all four gears – no need to use an OD button to get from 4th to 3rd at highway speeds.

In terms of safety, an SRS driver’s airbag is standard on all models while the 1.5G and the 1.5S gains an additional front passenger airbag. Each SRS airbag also comes with a corresponding pre-tensioner and force limited seatbelt. Antilock brakes, EBD and Brake Assist is also standard on all models. All models also have collapsible steering wheel columns, an automatic impact sensing fuel cut device, and whiplash injury lessening seats.

The 1NZ-FE engine has the same specs on paper (109PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,200rpm) as the previous Vios but Toyota says they have made changes to the intake, exhaust and ECU programming to improve the low to mid-end torque even though final peak torque and horsepower figures remain the same. An electric power steering system is now used instead of the previous generation car’s hydraulic power steering.

Instead of a Super-CVT gearbox option available in other countries, this engine is mated to a 4-speed automatic gearbox which uses the same ratios as it’s predecessor, but the transmission control unit programming has been improved. Toyota’s executive chief engineer Yoshihiro Sawa said that a 4-speed auto was picked for this region because of customer feedback – most do not like the rubberband and stepless shift character of a CVT.

Toyota Vios
475 litres of boot capacity for the new Toyota Vios

If you notice, there is no antenna protruding from anywhere on the Vios as this new model uses a glass imprinted antenna on the rear windscreen. Not only does this make the car more aerodynamic, but this way there is no protruding antenna for anyone to steal! The new car’s boot has a capacity of 475 litres – which is 75 litres more than the previous generation Vios. Of course, this boot space can be extended by folding down flat the 60:40 split rear bench. The boot opening is 680mm from the road surface, which is relatively low so that items load more easily into the boot – you do not have to lift it too high to get it in.

Many have expected the new Toyota Vios to have a baseline model priced at under RM70,000 like UMW Toyota has indicated earlier, but apparently according to UMW Toyota this could not be done even though they tried – apparently despite sourcing more parts locally than before (local content is now at 40%, or a total of 149 parts including body panels from Toyota Auto Body Malaysia), prices for the Toyota Vios 1.5E had to go up by 3.5% and the 1.5G by 1.7%.

Click chart to view chart source

UMW Toyota’s managing director Dato’ David Chen says this is because of the appreciating value of the Thai baht versus the Malaysian ringgit. It’s just too bad that they decided not to lower the price, but then again, if this is the case I suppose UMW Toyota should be happy at the same time that they can be making more from each Toyota Hiace exported to Thailand if the situation continues. Perhaps a lower end manual transmission model with a smaller engine can be introduced at a later date to achieve the under RM70k entry level model price target?

I would say that Toyota has attempted to smoothen out the strange rear roof to boot curve that most sedans built from hatches and the result is not too bad at all – the car does not look overly unbalanced, and the rear spoiler on the 1.5S helps to further smoothen out the rear curves. The car looks better in real life compared to how it looks in photos.

Other than the rear spoiler, the 1.5S model’s bodykit also includes a front lip, and side skirts. It will appear quite unconventional to almost everyone at first, but people will slowly get used to it’s looks I suppose. Despite the S intending to stand for Sporty, the differences between the 1.5S and the 1.5G/1.5E are mainly of equipment level – there is no sports suspension setup for the 1.5S straight from the factory.

Toyota Vios
Toyota Vios 1.5E and 1.5G interior

Toyota Vios
Toyota Vios 1.5S interior

The 1.5S interior looks alot more premium than the 1.5E and the 1.5G though, because of the darker colours used which psychologically is disassociated with the typical cheapish beige or light grey plastic that we’re used to seeing in A-segment and B-segment cars. The Optitron meter and the amber-backlit display for the integrated audio also look better in my opinion than the green-backlit version on the 1.5G.

For a full listing of what each of the 1.5E, 1.5G and 1.5S equipment levels offer, please read my previous post on the Toyota Vios specs. Prices remain at RM88,600 for the 1.5S, and RM85,300 for the 1.5G, but the 1.5E has had it’s estimated priced dropped from RM79,200 to RM78,900. These remain unconfirmed and the official prices will only be announced on the 19th of October 2007. Four colours are available and you will be able to see all four of them in the pictures in this post – silver, black, blue and gold.

I will try to get a test drive sometime next month and report to you my findings on how the Toyota Vios is like on the road. If you want to see the car for yourself in the metal, head on to the Mid Valley Exhibition Center today from 5pm to 10pm!

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

Toyota Vios

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:45 am

no offence to toyota lovers, but the boot somewhat now resembles the original proton waja. but the 1.5S interior is fabulous, looks more sporty as the badge says

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:47 am

MmmmMMmmm, luv the new facelift (T.Yaris look), but the rear looks ugly…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:54 am

Gosh,that rear look fugly!!!

• spidermutu (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:25 am

nice looking… I mean the girls…sorry..

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:36 am

Typical Toyota, dun expect any “wow!”, its all abt quality. Looks ugly actually for me. I am not sure if the pretty gal is really pretty or bcoz she stand bsite ugly and looks pretty.

• spidermutu (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:44 am

actually from the front the car looks like its smiling..

• ob8 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:23 am

the car looks mundane. sory x nak beli. but interior looks good. thumbs up.

• analyzer (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:13 am

lol.. rear looks like a proton waja.. dissapointing to note the car has increased in price, nevertheless at least toyota explained the reason..toyota vios seems to have adopted a rounder, curvier shape unlike the camry with more squarish porportions

• angelo2689 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:50 am

the previous VIOS look nicer ,this one…………………..XD

• feis (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 6:58 am

Nice front but the back design lacks passion. Overall, not bad at all compared to the earlier Vios. But the pricing………

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:00 am

the girl stand beside make viosgong more uglier.should old granma stand beside if they want to make this car more pretty..haha

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:02 am

Huh, it does look like it’s smiling..lolz!!

• muazzam730 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:39 am

I think it lacks creativity..d idea of simply stretching the yaris to become a sedan is simply lackluster to me..so in essence there is nothing new physically about the car since the yaris has been around for quite some time now..and yes the back really resembles the waja..thumbs down for me

• J (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:49 am

Change the rim to 17″ rim, this car will look damn nice :)

• ab (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:04 am

this car is for the younger generation buyer, it should be made more funky and cool. it now looks like someone in their 40s will look nice in it… it’s too big and i think as usual toyota has managed to neglect driver involvement in the handling, shame. i don’t understand why they never comeout a entry 1.3 auto manual version. that should sell well, maybe around RM70k, into the proton teritory. After all, there’s a big gap between the myvi and vios.

• kazai (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:15 am

copy and paste seems everywhere in this car.

• awie (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:27 am

better i naik dugong..

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:29 am

Nice report Paul…

• tommy73 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:29 am

Somehow I start to think of dugong whenever I see this car’ frontside. Its backside looks a bit ‘saggy’. Interior looks alright for the S model. Engine & transmission are a bit dated; for me, CVT is the future. Overall it feels nothing new and exciting, and a bit on the ‘feminine’ side. Sorry UMW Toyota, not for me; but those gals are gorgeous ;P

• duffayoi (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:34 am

my brother in law works for toyota ( i don know which section but something related to car equipment and accesories) he told me that there is 5 variants for vios…..but 2 lower end variant will only appear next year….and will sell below Rm 70K….believe it!!!!

• coolguru (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:35 am

My opinion! However, the review will be, people will still be flocking to the showroom and book one of those. WHY?? Because people still think Toyota is a solid car, easy to maintain and good resale value.

Reality? Maintenance is expensive when the service ctr chop you nicely during the 3-year warranty period, parts are cheap such as the full synthetic oil, finishing is just on par and etcetera…

Anyway, like I said, people will buy nonetheless…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:44 am

…..not much comment on the car….not somethign I would buy, but it looks better in person. This is the better looking of the “converted from a hatch” sedan bunch (latio, city…).

as for the price increase, Thai baht appreciating against us? Dispite its internal political termoil? Wow, Malaysia must be doing really well then.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:50 am

Previous poster in another topic claims that the new Vios is “just a facelift”.

This article says its a new platform. Someone is either getting thier data wrong, or getting wool pulled over thier eyes.

I’m more likely to believe the new Vios is a evolution of the past platform (instead of ALL NEW, and not a mere FACELIFT). Knowing Toyota, they rarely ever try to fix what aint’t broke. Look up the underside chassis layout of the past 4 generation of Corollas (save the last one) and you will see what I mean. They looks entirely similar.

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:53 am

Paul,

You mention there are no “electric power steering” and “Super-CVT gearbox”.

Is it true for E,G,S spec?

• farmcow (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:53 am

why not spend a little more on nissan latio…haha

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:07 am

no resale value for nissan car because *Malaysia* prefer Toyota

Toyota resale value number one!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:18 am

Looks like Admiral Akbar of Return of the Jedi. You know the fish admiral who oversees the final battle. Well, thank god its nor Jar-jar! So which design house did this one? Or at least give us a clue to the real reason why it HAS to look like that. Toyota owes it to the public to actually give us a peek into what it was thinking when they commissioned the design. Some non-understandable-to-primates kind of Zen thing??? Or what? Chris had his museum piece, Pininfarina was thinking about birds….etc

C’mon you know you want to…

• Allan (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:21 am

Its a pretty decent car, but such a pity the price is so expensive. Good that all models come with ABS, but i think its inexcusable not to have dual airbags across the range!

• xstan (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:22 am

Simply better look than the old outdated Vios. Actually the rear design remains the same as the older version only the plate number section curve up on the new unit. I dont see any similarity to the rear of Waja..at all as some claimed. Its vast different. I still think the design is eye catching when u see one life on road then.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:26 am

Nice, love the blue one. Clear third brake lamp in the rear spoiler is a bit rice but overall this is the best looking hatch-based sedan :)

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:26 am

nissan latio, flugy ugly!… yuck..
    in aus they had this car for nearly 2 years++. i am so used to the front design… At first i taught this is an ugly car. but then in the end, quality matters most.!

• Allan (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:30 am

The hatch was designed at toyota’s studio in Nice, but the sedan was designed in japan. And yes, the sedan’s face looks awkward.

• BigCar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:31 am

Emm.. Very cute… yam yam yam… Er… I mean the girls…
    car handsome like dugung…

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:36 am

The butt is really ugly…

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:38 am

Beauty (girls) and the Beast (vios)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:38 am

Dang! Those girls are GORGEOUS!!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:38 am

i think the interior dash doesn’t look nice ler…i don’t like the V-shape centre panel…

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:42 am

MaverickNeo said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 7:02 am

Huh, it does look like it’s smiling..lolz!!

its smiling bcos its so easy to cheat gullible m’sians into buying dis outdated stone age car n make a nice fat profit out of it.

• richnet_campro (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:42 am

haha…
    the minute this post came up.. i’m expecting someone that is so biased to Toyota coming in to say others not good.. well, not much but the one that I can remember is with initial VW..
    too bad.. I only heard about resale value here..

anyway… from my opinion, the outlook and interior looks nice.. it’s more for a normal driving style.. i don’t see anything talking about handling also.. and I don’t see anything talking about 0-100 things like that..
    it’s just pure scientific or lab specifications published, no testing? no roadtest before? just comments la.. no offences to anyone ya..

if you’ve got the cash, it’s a good buy to jemput ahmoi ahmoi.. hehe.. but going extreme, nah.. not my preferred car.. i’ll consider as a spare car if i got the money.. :)

cheers…

• nmh (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:43 am

Looks good from certain angel. But shame if it handle like old vios. Shame again wif the center meter position. Just bcoz of the meter position make me change mind to consider proton over this

• king (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:50 am

4G63T,

ppl from toyota claim alot of things, like 4 speed gearbox better than CVT, centre metre console is better,etc.. all for the purpose of a fatter profit margin. U r not so gullible to believe that are u?

• kinwawa (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:53 am

too xpensive….cheaper version coming next year…..if u can wait…..just be patient

• wise5002 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:05 am

hmmmmmmmmmmm…………
    no commmmment…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:22 am

Oh mine… Even Thailand currency are getting stronger against us… how we gonna survive to 2020?

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:24 am

laughing here.ur cute.
    if u notice above my comment,it is refering on nissan.so have to mention related with it.

;)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:36 am

they should change the rear lights in the next facelift, i hope they ckd the caldina

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:04 am

The overall design of the car is girlish….
    More suits for female…..

• J (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:17 am

Any other good choice at this price range ?

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:18 am

hey..julianlee2…so how’s the bashing? can get through? haha..lolz

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:20 am

‘Xoomie said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 11:04 am

More suits for female…..’

–> can’t agree more :)

p/s: paul.. why is so many girl pics?? hehe..

• megadisc (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:34 am

we consumers have nothing else to do

but look at the ugly vios rear end leh …

we will jsut have to use the front end to avoid lookin at the rear end liao

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:00 pm

the disappointing centre meter display is wat i dislike for vioses… would rather choose a SOHC City…

• theking (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:06 pm

The soon to be launcehd Waja CPS offer much better than this new VIOS.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:17 pm

#
    megadisc said,

October 5, 2007 @ 11:34 am

we consumers have nothing else to do

but look at the ugly vios rear end leh …

we will jsut have to use the front end to avoid lookin at the rear end liao

haha..u make me laughing non stop..how can avoid lookin at the rear of this fugly vios??

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:18 pm

#
    JULIANLEE2 said,

October 5, 2007 @ 10:36 am

they should change the rear lights in the next facelift, i hope they ckd the caldina

_____________________________________________________________________________
    boy,u dont go to school ??October 5, 2007 @ 10:36 am…

• szw (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:23 pm

next…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:28 pm

At least they addressed a major flaw of the previous version, leg space! 120mm extra interior length is quite amazing actually. Then again, Honda is adding 50mm to the already spacious Jazz so let’s see who will take the medal for leg space this time.

Overall design? Looks more like a new City instead of a Vios replacement. Hehe! But I expect Vios lovers to still say it looks better than the City.

• trustgtr (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 12:36 pm

they didn’t bring the price lower because most jap auto companies have concerns about 2nd values for their previous vios customers..that’s why they don’t offer big discounts in the media instead free tv’s and all that..once you start negotiating only that they will offer you a choice..honda does the same thing..

• blunt (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:18 pm

trustgtr said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 12:36 pm

they didn’t bring the price lower because most jap auto companies have concerns about 2nd values for their previous vios customers..that’s why they don’t offer big discounts in the media instead free tv’s and all that..once you start negotiating only that they will offer you a choice..honda does the same thing..

—————

like that ka..

why all this while people said that car price in Malaysia (esp Toyo..) is expensive because of Proton….

• firefox (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:42 pm

yes, this car is for lady, the size and spec actually not much different, design wise..ai~~~, for me toyota vios is the low cost car, previouly i own one 1.5G vios, and 1.8G Altis, the VVTI engine is good, but this technology alway give me a problem on the Timing (not stable), check at toyota service center more than 5 times, cannot solve this problem also. totally lose confident on the Toyota car.

• jules (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:09 pm

mm … Hey!! There’s a hidden Mickey in the centre console ??

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:11 pm

High price, old boring 1NZFE engine use, ugly design and dugong much better. The interior is ok..simple but nice..BUT the girlss wohoho..not bad. I like the black colour one.

• tanasi (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:33 pm

Paul, remember to do this when you get the chance to test drive the Vios.

1. Take a corner at relatively high speed and lift off the gas pedal.
    2. Try to do a lane change. Need not to be fast, 60kph would do. Ensure you do this on a quiet stretch.

Do report to us if the tail is a bit too eager to step out, like the current Vios. If this still happens, I don’t think it should be put on the road, for safety’s sake.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:34 pm

boy…maybe JULIANLEE2 is takin’ national exam ( same )

• rexis (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 2:39 pm

Happy: seem like its bigger, nice front.
    Unhappy: Should put super CVT as an option. Speedometer still in the middle. Plain butt.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:01 pm

fugly as expected..
    and.. the unpractical center meterpanel.. – while speeding need to look leftside.. oh.. you gotta be killed only by wathing speedometer :D

Toyota Dugong.. yup.. that’s suit it.
    I don’t know what happen to toyota now.. seems the already out of idea.
    (but their new AE86 is hot in my eye).

Ah!! is there no REAR DISK BRAKE? (shouting like basher)

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:05 pm

im prefer PERSONA dude…THATS THE REAL MY DESIGN MY PRIDE… MY PRIDE N JOY…

THIS DUGONG??? LOL…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:38 pm

even the s varian dont have rear disc brake??wtf..

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:43 pm

after having driving the Matrix and Kancil, i cant live with central ,feels like nonsense,

for the money ,next proton cps-ed is more exciting

• transformer (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 3:48 pm

Anyone remember Britney Spear in its 1st Gen Vios advert ?

1st Gen Vios are true Britney!
    2nd Gen Vios ain’t, its the recent mummy Britney!

Show us something better!
    Don’t just change skin and use back old parts for it!
    Its un-sincere at all!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:10 pm

toyota..dont think that you can cheat malaysian people anymore..go to hell

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:12 pm

eh..that funny
    i like it

• vincentwee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:13 pm

i refer to the transformer comment

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:13 pm

#
    akshen_kamen said,

October 5, 2007 @ 3:38 pm

even the s varian dont have rear disc brake??wtf..

Toyota Vios 1.5G

The middle-child is the Toyota Vios 1.5G. Brakes have been upgraded to include discs at the rear.

BRO…the G and S variant got rear disc break…BUT..Ill prefer my PERSONA…
    :):):):):):)

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Those saying ‘Vios dugong’ must be so proud of their faulty new Protons.

What Toyota can do now is offering cash discount/rebates for prospective car buyers to cancel their new car order for new Toyota car instead. With some tagline like this:

“Can’t wait for your new car? Cancel it now and we give you cash discounts for ordering your desirable new Toyota.”

Patriotism got nothing to do in buying cars.(debateble tagline)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:42 pm

#
    Max88 said,

October 5, 2007 @ 4:36 pm

Those saying ‘Vios dugong’ must be so proud of their faulty new Protons.

What Toyota can do now is offering cash discount/rebates for prospective car buyers to cancel their new car order for new Toyota car instead. With some tagline like this:

“Can’t wait for your new car? Cancel it now and we give you cash discounts for ordering your desirable new Toyota.”

Patriotism got nothing to do in buying cars.(debateble tagline)

this is the another oneblind basher..what is in your head?you must get angry because a lot of people bash at toyota.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 4:59 pm

bmpower said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 3:01 pm

fugly as expected..
    and.. the unpractical center meterpanel.. – while speeding need to look leftside.. oh.. you gotta be killed only by wathing speedometer

Toyota Dugong.. yup.. that’s suit it.
    I don’t know what happen to toyota now.. seems the already out of idea.
    (but their new AE86 is hot in my eye).

Ah!! is there no REAR DISK BRAKE? (shouting like basher)
    ——————
    As far as Paul Tan blog exist, as far as there are blind defenders Protonmaniac cocky parrot will shouting at anything and everything that ignorant of Toyota City and their R and D excellence achievement! Better go to TOyota world website to learn like kindergarden from A to Z before putting up crappy shit comments!

Just because of Proton car with Lotus DNA that come with “sporting” element that doesn’t mean every car have to look “sporty and sexy” in order to look good!

When BLM have rear drum brake, all Protonmaniac make no noise. But technically as explained by Paul Tan, small entry car with rear drum brake is sufficient! What the big fuse about drum brake?

It is sad to see so many blind defender out there “benchmarking” the world class player with local jaguh kampong! What a load of rubbish!

Vios car is sub-compact fuel efficient entry level “local best” sedan car to fullfil lower market segment demand (but in Bolehland, crappy NAP make it look like only affordable to middle class) that based on “simplicity” and “practical” aspect! Toyota know best what car for what market segment. They have full range of products to fulfill every segment of car buyers, be it car, SUV, MPV, Lorry, Truck, etc.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:07 pm

The ultimate Zen quide to Toyota buyer roadmap to heavenly success in life.

Vios => Altis => Camry => Lexus

The trick is to get as many people on the Vios trip. Once they are hooked on it, then we’ll do the branding flash thing. In the chance that they’ll do excellence in this world, more Lexus will be sold. Ultimate superiority achieved.

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:14 pm

“The ultimate Zen quide to Toyota buyer roadmap to heavenly success in life.
    Vios => Altis => Camry => Lexus”

• drebar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:15 pm

the dashboard… if you look closely… look like the hammerhead shark…

wakakaz….

going to the preview in mid valley later…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:29 pm

Big Fish dude

I cannot understand this obsession with some foreign owned most profitable company. You and many like you may find the new Vios rather appealing in a non-Sporty/non-Sexy kind of way. Which does sounds biased to the alternative lifestyle generation. Read ‘Gay’. But to others, it just doesn’t wet our balls.

A lot of manufacturers go to UK/Germany/Italy to get their design done. A lot of investment that shapes the image of the product and company. But not Toyota. Which says a lot. It doesn’t feel it needs to be creative to sell anything.

Therefore, it seems very much detached to the rest of humankind. It feels robotic. Very Borg like kind of existence. Therefore any buyer of a Toyota is also deemed as unappreciative of any fine things in life such as art. In my personal capacity, I can share that the perceived is true. My shallow office colleague in the office traded in a 1997 Camry for a 2005 Camry for 95K. How shallow? Very. Very Jinjang like.

• drebar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:42 pm

hi to all mr-know-it-all…

fyi, mitsubishi is the only japanese car maker that lose money in 2004. about US2 billion… but does mitsubishi make bad cars? No. mitsubishi is in fact very innovative car company. they pioneered the Lancaster balancer shafts that quells vibration in 4-cylinder engines. the honda accord 2.4 that you drives have to thank the mitsubishi for this. they also pioneered the direct injection petrol engine.

it is the branding. the main reason mistubishi lose money is becos their brand is too diverse. they have refrigerator. they have air cond. they are a bank. a car. a computer chips.

toyota focus is on reliability. toyota stands for reliability. that focus made the brand powerful.

as for nissan, they are starting to find a focus too. they are starting to make more distinctive-looking cars.

honda on the other hand have alway put their focus in the engine. they are widely acclaimed as one of the top 2 engine makers in the world. the other being BMW.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:42 pm

i think the rear is not that ugly.. the centre speedo is a bummer though, reminds me of the kancil.. same class heh? =p

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:56 pm

bobdbilder said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 5:29 pm

Big Fish dude

I cannot understand this obsession with some foreign owned most profitable company. You and many like you may find the new Vios rather appealing in a non-Sporty/non-Sexy kind of way. Which does sounds biased to the alternative lifestyle generation. Read ‘Gay’. But to others, it just doesn’t wet our balls.

A lot of manufacturers go to UK/Germany/Italy to get their design done. A lot of investment that shapes the image of the product and company. But not Toyota. Which says a lot. It doesn’t feel it needs to be creative to sell anything.
    ———————
    Another swallow typical Protonmaniac mind set katak hidup di bawah tempurung. Go to Toyota website and look for your-self: –

http://www.toyota.com/index.html

You want something to wet your balls or blow job pleasure. This Vios is not to meet your weird appetite!

Just because of our country auto market is make to be captive market by NAP to protect Proton, then it make, at least majority of blind defender mind set in such a way that all imported car is perceived as “luxury” and high quality due to high price uder NAP prohibitive tax. Further, non trade barrier like AP quota to control the nos of imported cars, thus stave off competition for Proton. This make it to be “truthfully” all imported car have to meet the expectation of “wet the balls and blow job pleasure”!

If you want to wet your balls, Vios is not the car! Go to Toyota Avalon, or Lexus that give you ultimate car comfort! But the question here is still afforability! For NAP-compliance auto sector like us, it is significantly make it become a dream for most of the buyers for bespoke reason of protection!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 5:59 pm

bIGfISH

proton BLM model is only 1.3..its enough to use drum..if not,how can this car can be on the road pass all the JPJ test.not like your very very very blind bash that said proton car didnt pass JPJ test..how long proton have been in the car industry ?toyota?how long toyota take time to reach their level today?think logic la..use your brain not your knee..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 6:03 pm

This Vios is suppose to compare with upcoming Proton BLM or at least Persona in term of same segment for technical and specs aspect! Price wise is not apple-to-apple comparison for they have different tax structure!

For practical, fuel economic, to get from point A to B and low budget, Vios is a good choice!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 6:12 pm

akshen_kamen said,

When I say Proton car didn’t pass JPJ test? And what test JPJ conducted to certify the car have high quality?

You start to make your own blind defender statement and accuse it is mine, later jump into conclusion that I don’t use my brain and use the knee? How pathetic and below the belt low class argument put forward by you. Please be more civilize and not indulge in to many personal attack as just like what you do toward Julian Lee.

To proof you are smart then you have to come out with intelectual argument. Not bad mouth other and later accuse them “stupid”. This is not the “accuse and deny” tactic that should not polluted PT blog!

• Paul Tan on Oct 05, 2007 at 6:23 pm

Stop attacking each other. Thanks.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:20 pm

In my opinion, tis car is just not rite for the price, especially E spec -.- with all those basic stuff and still over 78k? and now they blame currency exchange while as mentioned 40% are locally made material…it is just unfair,is it UMW is trying the trick they used in perodua viva? just because previous gen can sell doesn’t mean they can set the price like tat. am i right or wrong?

off topic a bit :P i notice at the bottom of PT page have a smiley face! :)

• ctawyong (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:24 pm

thats why honda city stay the same :( and just facelift it

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 7:41 pm

Congratulation to UMW Toyota for the new launched VIOS.
    Kudos to Paultan for his good and complete review.
    And to Big Fish…bro, no need to waste your time on those kids and bigots.Save yourself from sinking down to their level.

This is one of Toyota baseline models so i do not anticipate so much ‘great’ things out of it. It serves the purpose reasonably except the price.
    Toyota has been offering full range of cars for you to choose according to your taste, budget and purpose. It’s models line up cover from a crappy schlock, mediocre till the superb. If you go buy a Corolla and argue why it doesn’t feel like a Crown, or ok…to be more decent like a Camry perhaps, then the only thing you deserve to get is a kick on the arse.
    But if you say this model looks ugly, yes i personally concord on that because from my eyes it does look damn ugly but…art, design and taste is subjective. I do respect other people’s thinking who say this car looks cute, handsome or whatsoever. If you are eager to compare Toyota and Proton, let’s see.. this car against the next coming Proton BLM !
    The price…don’t blame it on Toyota. It’s on their Malaysian counterpart. Toyota undeniably can offer you a nice decent car at the price where your old fragile granny will spring up from her bed and dance a Rock and Roll hellaluya after hearing about it. Obviously you can’t get that in Malaysia but in Japan, that’s what you will get for sure.

• The Unicons (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Wow! so many topics to discuss since I was not around caused out of country. I think Bigfish really hate me. Hahah…. Come on. I’m not blind defender and I didn’t say you are blind basher. I do call some blind basher because even the fact is there, they still twist it around.

Call others blind bashers at least I still respect them as human not like you call me “cocky parrot”. By the way, I’m not blind defender either caused I don’t own national car and I say based on facts.

Anyway, back to topic. Personally I do like the exterior looks of this Toyota Vios (aka Toyota Belta). Besides, it is based on new platform. However, personally I still don’t like the centrally mounted meter panel. From the above info, I also know that there will be a base line model for this Vios. It is known as J variant? In Singapore there is J variant if I’m not mistaken.

May I know when is the official launch date? I want to test drive this car even though still happy with my 2 years old car.

Paul, perhaps you can give a bit more detail about the rim size and the tyre for this new Vios. Maybe you missed out this one. Anyway, good review and hope to hear about your test drive next month. Thank you.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:46 pm

2000 units booked already…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:50 pm

wow..another war…

i dun lke d dsg…why dis kind of car look weird ar???like honda city..persona n latio…same…weird dsg…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:13 pm

no audio??????? why?????

• kevyeoh (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:25 pm

got audio la… who say no audio ???

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:51 pm

That cup holder strangely placed. You have hot coffee you want to drink it hot, not cold.Well, it does work if you want your drink to be cold. Not sure if closing the vent helps as you want AC as well

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:10 pm

To those blind defenders who know all and talk anything and everything about Toyota, just log in Toyota global site – then you will find out your comments are not about Toyota but “free talk syok-syok sendiri”: –

http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/index.html

Look at facts about Vios (Belta or Yaris Sedan): –

http://www.toyota.com/yaris/index.html?s_van=GM_TN_YARIS_INDEX

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:11 pm

just wonder why, like alfa stylist, bmw ,mercedes, dont even try this kind of toyota exterior design propotion,
    they rather infavour of more classic or basic interm of propotioning of a sedan car,

(i know the answer, ….its u—)

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:13 pm

Cup holder for any car is practically hold cup with cover or mineral water bottle! Open hot coffee cup! Ahem, splash all over if the car hit pothole or road hump or emergency brake!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:31 pm

The Unicons said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

Call others blind bashers at least I still respect them as human not like you call me “cocky parrot”. By the way, I’m not blind defender either caused I don’t own national car and I say based on facts.
    ——————-
    I never hate you but I call you a “cocky parrot” for a reason that you never agreed with me! Previously, on many occasion you mentioned that there is no perfect car in this world to use it as a bullet that conveniently “kick-ass” to those who make constructive criticisms about shorcoming in Proton car!

Ask you, is this is a fact? If you said it is a fact, then do you know ………you are proofing someone is greatest liar on earth ………. Let the word come out from the “cocky parrot” mouth with fact about no perfect car argument !!!!!!!!

• drebar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:51 pm

hey, i just came back from mid valley. saw the new vios, and have to say, personally, i felt it is rather dissapointing. rather dissapointed with the pricing, to be exact. but of course, the price is only estimation. let’s wait for the real price. i suspect it might be lower than expected.

this is a very basic car from a reputable car maker. in fact, i felt the previos model might be even better. that’s what i felt when i sit in the car, cos i drive vios often. i might be wrong, cos the new vios i was stationary.

overall, a little bit dissapointed lah… but if the price is lower than the estimation… then bagus lah~!

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:53 pm

Malaysian are getting impatience, when is it for sale….? the competitors are Nissan Latio at the moment & not to mention Proton Persona offers such a low price! Can the new Vios once again reach it’s sales target?

• drebar (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 10:58 pm

gotta agree with some of the comment above..the estimated price is kinda expensive for this new vios..

hope they lower the price… proton persona is no fight for vios…cos campro is petrol-holic… minum petrol like mad… lolz…

petrol consumption is the main concern of a lot of buyers nowadays… or is it just me? initially i tot persona is a good buy also… but after getting further feedback on campro… i kinda change my mind…furthermore, the interest rate is much higher…

so, might as well pay a “little” bit more and get other cars… lol..

just personal opinion

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:10 pm

The rear actually looks very good in real life / in person.

It’s the front that looks awkwardly proportioned. LIke someone mentioned. “dugong” like.

So yup, this is the Yaris Sedan or Belta in other parts of the world.

Go for a test drive. You will likely find the hollow drone of the engine quite annoying/unattractive. Although perhaps after awhile you’ll get used to it.
    Honda’s VTEC and Mitsu’s MIVEC sound much better than this particular VVTi engine… or maybe it’s the sound dampening they used… oh well, it’s subjective.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 11:35 pm

drebar, Mitsubishi being diversified has nothing to do with them losing money. Each group operate as a separate company and Mitsubishi Motors Corporation was the group that was losing big time. One of the main reason they didn’t do well was because of a number of manufacturing defects which required them to announce for recalls. If I remember correctly, it happened 3 times and that cost them Billions. Not only did they suffer financial loses to correct those defects but they also lost public confidence which affected their future sales. This is something that takes many years to correct and I am happy to say that they are making a turnaround.

Toyota is financially much stronger and they making bland but saleable cars is something they excel in. Those who don’t like it can just go buy something else. All these brainless bashing is only making an ass out of the basher. Toyota is not my type but I don’t bash just for the sake of bashing. Some of you really need to grow up.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:00 am

i wonder why when proton launched persona..a lot of basher said that proton dont have idea la..lazy la..because it just basically gen2 with butt + same engine with tcu tweaking..but this vios also same as yaris with just butt add on also have same engine but with tcu tweaking..but only little bash about that,not include the blind basher that bash persona because of this.are they afraid to accept that this is just yaris sedan?they afraid to say that toyota engineer is lazy?anybody one to comment.i dont attack personally.”sape makan cili,die rase pedas”

• cutester (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:20 am

duffayoi said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 8:34 am

my brother in law works for toyota ( i don know which section but something related to car equipment and accesories) he told me that there is 5 variants for vios…..but 2 lower end variant will only appear next year….and will sell below Rm 70K….believe it!!!!

I hope the last 2 lower variant is manual transmission.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:38 am

akshen_kamen, actually no one here really want to bash Toyota.. u want to know the simple answer? No.1 in the world… Why No.1? Quality, durability, good service are the main purpose of Toyota.. Even the design suxs, ppl know the car is safe to drive and easy to maintain… If u seen the Top Gear Toyota hilux destruction in You tube, then u know why Jeremy Clarkson respect Toyota’s car…

• Boink (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:48 am

EH. No one seems to think that the 4 speed auto is a real let down?
    Its terrible, IMHO, that malaysian manufacturers are using cost as an excuse to pedal primitive transmissions.

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:57 am

i really want to know what kind of car all paultan fan using…

i using Honda-EX5, as whole package, balik kg – bus

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 1:00 am

toyota should bring out aygo for k-car segment..this new vios already being driven in south america laa..saw it on amazing race last year

• king (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 1:28 am

osh_kosh said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 11:20 am

‘Xoomie said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 11:04 am

More suits for female…..’

–> can’t agree more

yeah, they made a mistake should have used male models for the launch since its targeted for ladies. then the bookings would have doubled. :)

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 3:45 am

#
    LittleFire85 said,

October 6, 2007 @ 12:38 am

akshen_kamen, actually no one here really want to bash Toyota.. u want to know the simple answer? No.1 in the world… Why No.1? Quality, durability, good service are the main purpose of Toyota.. Even the design suxs, ppl know the car is safe to drive and easy to maintain… If u seen the Top Gear Toyota hilux destruction in You tube, then u know why Jeremy Clarkson respect Toyota’s car…
    _____________________________________________________________________________
    I believe mr. akshen’s ride is a Honda City. That should explain his comments towards Vios and Toyota in general.
    Even Mercedes released a statement hoping they could achieve Toyota’s reliability status. So akshen_kamen, don’t try too hard.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 4:41 am

I have saw the car when toyota launched in US at 2006, the car looks roomy, I think the look is okay, but one thing I hate about is the center meter…
    Btw, I hope to see toyota ractis launch in malaysia, but I think it will have conflicted with MyVi or yaris….

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 6:55 am

This car is quite solid la.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 7:08 am

LittleFire85 said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 12:38 am

===========================
    Toyota no 1??? Quality? durable?good service??
    Yes, Toyota is no.1.. BUT its Toyota those designed n developed for developed countries market…
    NOT 2nd class toyota from UMW such UNSER,AVANZA,DUGONG, or INNOVA

most proton bashers r not TOYOTA estima,TOYOTA prius,TOYOTA Mark X or LEXUS owners.. they r just a avanza, dugong or myvi owners, and they think their car’s quality like Real TOYOTA

prrrfthhh

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 8:13 am

Why is it that the proton supporters get so overly sensitive? What do they have to prove? Almost every post with the word proton, will pull a bunch of them into attack mode. Besides when you say bashers, is it really? can’t take a bit of criticism on the product? Why make it personal?

If your product is as good as you claim, there is no need to defend it. Let the product speak for itself.

The mindless atacks makes reading a joke. Please remember this is an international blog. Not only Malaysians read this.

But facts are facts. You cannot compare any class sizes of any other manufacturer with proton or perodua (maybe Naza also) since thier price/tax struture is different. Sure you might be getting a better value from Proton, but thats just because any other make is made uncompetitive by the NAP.

Be realistic.

Be it toyota or honda or whatever, if the Foreign companies are willing to invest in the country, it means that the country will benefit. More jobs, cash inflows etc. But the protectionist NAP (NEP also in a way) has scared a lot of the investments away. Are we not better than the Thais and Indons where it comes to education, infrastructure and what not? why then we are not getting the big pie then? Whats wrong then, you tell me.

Very simple, its because our Government and mentality favours protectinism over an open fair market, ultimately the country looses out.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 8:34 am

i notice, nowadays proton supporters getting stronger and stronger..
    proton bashers become undangered species

prrrfthh

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 9:37 am

Even Toyota no.1 also got ppl bash, do u think like proton don’t have ppl bash? U make me laugh… Every car also got ppl critics to improve, if u see the making of new merc c-class.. inside the tester also critics the c-class about wind sound, interior problem for the merc company for them to improve before real production.. Without ppl bash & complain, would u think the companies can move forward faster? And if i not remember, Persona came out to fix the complain of Gen.2 users! So pls! This is about Toyota Vios, and it does sell in Japan not 2nd class cars! They call it belta in Japan. And they use only 1.0L + 1.3L VVT-i engine wif Super CVT-i, they have also VSC & TRC & 6 air bags for the G spec!

http://toyota.jp/belta/

• rugaxp (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:04 am

actually how do they class the trim package?
    which is the highest spec of all,S/G/E??

• marsaila (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:10 am

I was at mid valley yesterday just to see the preview of the car and i’m somewhat dissapointed with the interior quality of the car which is important to me when judging a car. My 2004 Hyundai Getz interior quality is much superior than this acclaimed all-new vios. it looks sooo cheap in the inside especially the volume control on the steering wheel, the door latch, the windows control panel.. and i can list goes on and on. How can UMW put such pricing on such crap. For me, the variance should range from RM65k to RM79k.

I was very enthusiastic at first to see the car but now Honda City is at a higher rank in my list now. I’m removing my “all-new” Vios wallpaper from my desktop.

• franson_yong (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:19 am

hmm~ description for this new toyota vios = SMILLING front, WAJA rear, T-BACK interior, STRETCHING Yaris exterior, OMG center meter AGAIN, OMG PLASTIC FEEL, OMG PRICE INCREASED. Ready to make your order, SIR?

Nah~ NEXT please.

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:46 am

I am pretty upset when people start defending for their favourite cars and attacking others just because of what you believe. Let’s be more professional in making comments.

First of all, I do agree with LIttlefire85as no car is perfect and criticism is always raised for any car manufacturers, but it does differ in the number of complaints and the aspect of their complaints.

How many of you understand how Toyota succeeds in maintaining its quality and reliability at the very low cost? It is all about Lean Manufacturing. You may search more on this philosophy from net by just typing “LEAN MANUFACTURING”, you will find what an engineer is trying to say. :}

I dun feel like giving a lecture here because it is a forum for car lovers (including me) and I hope proton will learn from Toyota, and i doubt they will)

And I will really hope Malaysian Government will improve the Tax structure for the benefit of Malaysians. Dun make me leave the country forever. I left Malaysia in 2005. Part of the reason is I am a car lover. I wanted to drive good cars which a malaysian can hardly have a chance to, due to current tax structure.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 11:27 am

Toyota no 1??? Quality? durable?good service??
    Yes, Toyota is no.1.. BUT its Toyota those designed n developed for developed countries market…
    NOT 2nd class toyota from UMW such UNSER,AVANZA,DUGONG, or INNOVA

most proton bashers r not TOYOTA estima,TOYOTA prius,TOYOTA Mark X or LEXUS owners.. they r just a avanza, dugong or myvi owners, and they think their car’s quality like Real TOYOTA

prrrfthhh

toyota already bring in their hybrid car in malaysia?are they sell their avanza in US or euro?they just lunch their base line model,dugong.but if you compare the to honda city,its ten times more better and worth.i bought honda city around the price but it still lower,but i get vtec engine(even its only sohc),cvt gearbox + steermatic,airbag,vey good fc.if toyota,what you get?old engine?4 automatic transmission?plus hot chick?haha..why toyota not bring in their 1.0 and 1.3 with super CVT?haha…anybody want to answer for toyota??

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 11:55 am

Akshen_kamen

Not to pick a fight with you, but its Simple. And, this is not a comment to defend toyota.

Not everyone likes a CVT. I dont for one. CVT is also a new technology and has proven to have some issues. Perhaps it needs maturing (Honda had its CVT in the 1997 Civic, Nissan had problems with their higher powered Muranos), perhaps Toyota being conservative as they are, feel CVT is not matured enough. About being cheap, CVTs are cheaper to produce.

Vtec = VVTI. or any variable valve timing system in an engine for that matter. So I wont consider VTEC any more ‘special’ or ‘superior’. As far as I remember the 1NZ-FE has VVTi. In fact the old Yaris/Echo has the VVTi engine as far back as late 90s.

As for cars sold in US, Honda dont sell the City there either. Simple reason, market forces. No demand for small cars. Why bring the Prius here when very few will buy it? Remember that Toyota (and Honda for that matter) is making a loss on hybrid vehicles. Honda’s IMA isn’t technically a full hybrid able to run on electric power only.

As far as I know, the Vios gets jsut as good fuel consumption?

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:26 pm

Good comment, 4G63T DSM. U r indeed professional enough to give comment.

one point to strengthen ur point. Will the government support green cars by imposing less taxes on imported green cars? How much could we afford to buy the hybrid car after taxed? This is the realistic question we have to consider when we do marketing and sales.

City and Vios were made for local region due to low buying power of the region and demand. Eventhough Singaporean has much higher buying power than us, certain high-end cars in US (including hybrid cars) do not get a good share in the market. Why not just make a choice on cheaper and low engine capacity cars which guarantee low fuel consumption?

After all, human tends to be realistic. Do you?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:28 pm

4G63T DSM

at least toyota should give us the variant of engine like what honda did.they give us to choose between i-dsi and vtec.honda can come out with manual transmission, automatic or cvt..

how you said ctv is cheaper to produce?you have any solid proof to support your statement?if it cheaper,why they didnt bring the 1.0 and 1.3 engine with super cvt?the car price also can get cheaper because the production of cvt is cheaper + only 1.0 and 1.3 engine.

vvt-i and vtec is not same even basically both are variable valve timing system.vtec system is for power and the use it at intake manifold.vvt-i is more for fuel economy and environment because they us it at exhaust manifold.if for fuel economy but was beaten by i-dsi engine which has much better fc.

• drebar (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 12:56 pm

marsaila said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 10:10 am

I was at mid valley yesterday just to see the preview of the car and i’m somewhat dissapointed with the interior quality of the car which is important to me when judging a car. My 2004 Hyundai Getz interior quality is much superior than this acclaimed all-new vios. it looks sooo cheap in the inside especially the volume control on the steering wheel, the door latch, the windows control panel.. and i can list goes on and on. How can UMW put such pricing on such crap. For me, the variance should range from RM65k to RM79k.

I was very enthusiastic at first to see the car but now Honda City is at a higher rank in my list now. I’m removing my “all-new” Vios wallpaper from my desktop.
    —————————-
    that’s exactly how i felt when i saw the real car… very dissapointing..and the price should be cheaper… hopefully… i believe a lot of ppl feel the same also…

• armandd (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 2:00 pm

proton.GL.. said,

October 5, 2007 @ 10:11 pm

just wonder why, like alfa stylist, bmw ,mercedes, dont even try this kind of toyota exterior design propotion,
    they rather infavour of more classic or basic interm of propotioning of a sedan car,
    (i know the answer, ….its u—)
    —————————————————————-

i think we asians, especially the japanese don’t have the natural talent in arts & design. all great artists and designers came from europe meh, leonardo da vinci, van der gogh, michaelangelo, etc.. err, chris bangle? heheh..

• klk (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 2:26 pm

Hi, did anyone go for the car preview on 5th of October in Mid Valley? Can someone share pictures taken from the preview in Mid Valley. Thanks.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 3:47 pm

akshen_kamen said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 12:28 pm

4G63T DSM

at least toyota should give us the variant of engine like what honda did.they give us to choose between i-dsi and vtec.honda can come out with manual transmission, automatic or cvt..

how you said ctv is cheaper to produce?you have any solid proof to support your statement?if it cheaper,why they didnt bring the 1.0 and 1.3 engine with super cvt?the car price also can get cheaper because the production of cvt is cheaper + only 1.0 and 1.3 engine.
    ————-
    Your comments ignorant of what NAP and Toyota is doing?

1. Toyota can bring in any models produce by them including Aygo. And to your question about 1.0 and 1.3 engine for Vios, it simply because the price (below 70K) will be very near to Proton car line-up. Thus, government “hidden” policy not to allowed or restricted the nos of any imported car in this range to protect our local metal junk! Even UAE market has Corrola Altis with 1.3L selling starting from RM 40 K ++.

http://www.drivearabia.com/toyota/toyotacorolla.html

2. Talk about Vios or City for regional market, it is sub-compact fuel economy car target at lower purchasing power in this part of the world. For Innova, Avanza, Vios (old model), go to Toyota Global website, they don’t claim it is the best in it class, but “local best” only for certain regional market. For those Vios (Belta or Yaris Sedan), Corrola, Camry, Avalon, Yaris, Tundra, etc), it is the “world best” products cater to the world market.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 4:01 pm

maybe u say is true armand,
    but there are asian sometimes work in their studio,

well its complicated,

but this specific new vios to comment ,the look, is not to my like,
    probally the huge blunt front is to give the impression of driving a big car as youre on the drivers seat, -simulated-id say,
    while the car is actually sits on relatively on small tyre an handling of typical not so big not so solid feel japanese car,

quality wise well ,,i happened strip one of a toyota ,i know they use many screw than which means thing holds,

for this proton should look into,
    i adrore proton cars, its pleasing with its look and driving dynamics,
    any further improvement and changes needed, assamblies, plastics fit and finishes, up to date engine,really really in the need,
    and diesel proton for export actually a plus point,

anyway but i can live with proton car, i always like proton car,
    2008 is a real test, proton themselve know what theyre up to,

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 4:24 pm

“…that there is 5 variants for vios…..but 2 lower end variant will only appear next year….and will sell below Rm 70K….believe it!!!!…”
    “…but if the price is lower than the estimation… then bagus lah~!…”

• McPadey (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 5:13 pm

si-tenang?

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 5:45 pm

BLM a strong conpetitor of VIOS :)

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 5:51 pm

White Jack said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 5:45 pm

BLM a strong conpetitor of VIOS

———————————

the pricing is so diffrent..cannot compare these two..

• scooterist (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 6:02 pm

hey paul tan.. did u go to the launching.. just wanna say.. the competition results.. 1st prize goes to Lim Kok Weng and 2nd prize goes to Malaysian Institute of Art ( my group )..

• leongylun (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 8:23 pm

i will wait for new hoda city and other fully-imported cars from japan rather than thai-made cars. although city also will build and design in thailand, Honda more prestige gua….hehe…fully imported suzuki vitara only ask for 109k…why vios can ask for 89k???

• moto_moto (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:00 pm

i like it.but expensive lah. better wait for BLM.

• franson_yong (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:06 pm

well, seems like here got fire-crackers altho raya hasnt reached huh~ haha =P Ok~stop crapping~ hmmmm~ guys~ perhaps u all should take a look on this new toyota vios first then only give ur precious comments here~ i am sure u all will be having the same feeling like me when u hv the first touch with it~ “HAIHZZZZZZ” “DISAPPOINTING” etc~~~

80k++ for this? before launching, i read any news about it everyday~ waiting eagerly for it~ i am telling everyone, i gonna hv a new toyota vios very soon!!
    til the day i hv seen it, looking at the brochure, i change my mind~ i would consider again =(

• stevieG (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:51 pm

The new Vios’s pricing are rather disappointing , anyway, when will the new Honda City come out?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 10:58 pm

franson_yong , u very good person and think very good..u can think the value of your money compare to this crap..thumbs up!!

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 06, 2007 at 11:38 pm

“this gud” , “this no good” , some even say “this local metal junk”
    talk/write like hero…but all in internet…hehe….paul…ask all of them to go teh tarik laa…. should start now, then can go test drive with everybody car, then i can tell you about MLM….some can start promote insurance, haha… aiyo,,dont fire me lah, just wanna happy2

• shamel (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:16 am

I guess some of the forummers “confused” with other people’s statement, its not about bashing TOYOTA but its about opinion regarding Toyota’s offering.

I never assume Innova et. al on par with with Toyota truly global cars, Corolla, Camry, Estima, LC etc. That’s why some countries Toyota never offered certain models. I love to have a Camry BUT not cheapo aVANza though positioned as Asian MPV (they deserved no MPV term for this type of vehicle).

BTW, if we don’t warmly accept whatever Toyota gave, they’ll reduced the official price. If response is so overwhelming definitely price will increase just matter of time.

I quite eagerly waiting Vios successor but after my visit to Borneo Motors Leng Kee Rd, l simply waste my precious time unless they sell the B-segment car for under-RM70k (some guys claim: purposely to give room for proton to stretch their persona booking tally).

Why Toyota offer Malaysian version of Vios lower than Indonesian specced? Simply because we love Toyota like crazy (World #1). Anyone who believe we can’t “correct” Toyota (‘coz their numero uno position) should buy GM (Chevy) instead as the former is #1 before Toyota and they hold that position much much earlier before Toyota overtaking them).

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:25 am

leongylun, if i not mistaken Honda City,Civic,CRV & Accord are all made in either Malaysia or Thailand… Only those like Jazz, odyssey & stream are imported from Japan… Do u know what ppl call Thailand now, automobile hub of Asean, not us anymore after Toyota city are built over there… The price i admit it is expensive, but if u dont like it just dont buy it.. wait until year end or near new model launch then buy the vios at cheaper price.. What they do now is to protect the secondhand value of previous vios owner…

I tot AP are abolish between ASEAN country, why still the price so high? Should be cheaper right?

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 6:06 am

I thought wanna buy new Vios. But….. the rear doesn’t match sporty front look. And center meter looks not at right place. Then I must decide PERSONA,
    yes yes yes.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 8:33 am

akshen_kamen said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 4:10 pm

—————-
    This is typical blind defender crap statement. It is tantamount to defamations.

Log on this section to find out the facts, rather than be confused by this crap posting: –

http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/vision/code_of_conduct/index.html

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:19 am

trustgtr said,
    October 5, 2007 @ 12:36 pm

—————
    Likely the G won’t allowed any imported sedan car to sell under RM 60K to protect the local metal junk!

Look at Langkawi, Toyota willing to sell Camry 2.0L at RM 85K (same price with Vios 1.5G) under free market. In any open market, mass production car normally have low second hand value!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:29 am

Log on below, Vios have 4 star (frontal impact) and 3 star (side impact) crash test.

http://www.automotive.com/2007/12/toyota/yaris/safety/index.html

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:42 am

franson_yong said,
    October 6, 2007 @ 10:06 pm

well, seems like here got fire-crackers altho raya hasnt reached huh~ haha =P Ok~stop crapping~ hmmmm~ guys~ perhaps u all should take a look on this new toyota vios first then only give ur precious comments here~ i am sure u all will be having the same feeling like me when u hv the first touch with it~ “HAIHZZZZZZ” “DISAPPOINTING” etc~~~
    —————-

Why not disappointing at this inflated price under NAP-compliance prohibitive tax structure?

If you ask Langkawian to buy Vios at RM 85K, they will “ptui, ptui …… x 1000 time as for that kind of money they can purchase Toyota Camry 2.0L. For RM 85K Toyota willing to give us the luxury and comfort of “global best” Camry 2.0L 5 star hotel main menu fine dining, but NAP deny us and let us just cuci mulut the peanut “local best” Vios 1.5 “dessert”!

Your comment reflect the general sentiment and frustration of car consumers under this giant NAP $$$ sucking machine that make use captive market and suck dry to last drop of blood.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:46 am

The Viva over price is an indication of they want to protect their secondhand value and to maximize their profit for “refurbished” new car based on old 2nd generation Daihatsu car.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:47 am

BigFish said,

October 7, 2007 @ 9:19 am

Likely the G won’t allowed any imported sedan car to sell under RM 60K to protect the local metal junk!

Look at Langkawi, Toyota willing to sell Camry 2.0L at RM 85K (same price with Vios 1.5G) under free market. In any open market, mass production car normally have low second hand value!

haha..this blind basher always said like that.how you know that G not allowed any imported sedan to sell under 60??you can me a clear official proof than i can believe u.if not u true blind basher..offtopic..anyway how your campro “renault” going?it already can run??

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:58 am

akshen_kamen,

I believe you have a problem with English.

“Likely the G won’t allowed any imported sedan car to sell under RM 60K to protect the local metal junk!”

WHat BIGFISH trying to say is “LIKELY”. Of course, we wont have any proof if G is not going to announce it in public. “Likely” is used because it is very obvious if we compare the price in Langkawi and other parts of West Malaysia.

If you are interested, go to check the oversea prices. Suprisingly, it can be lower than Langkawi Price.

Cheers and Have a good Sunday.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:39 pm

erichigc, if those price are cheaper than langkawi, does that indicate UMW malaysia is trying all their best on increasing profit even in free tax situation? is that for the interest of secondhand value while their profit gets better while not in terms of material? isn’t it seem like something u guys keep bashing other brand of car? but y toyota fanatics keep saying it is to protect buyer’s interest while other brand did it they say it is sux?

• king (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:49 pm

BigFish said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 9:46 am

The Viva over price is an indication of they want to protect their secondhand value and to maximize their profit for “refurbished” new car based on old 2nd generation Daihatsu car.

maintaining good 2nd hand value of their cars is not a good excuse to mark-up n sell at a fat profit margin.

• bronzesilverp (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:55 pm

Dun xpect a 86K – watever tax = 50k – 60k(actual real value) to be so great!
    Toyota cant give u a 50k to 60k with Altis(80k b4 tax)quality..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:55 pm

Paul, are you in abroad now, in Frankfurt maybe. This vios debate has gone too long, new post please…

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:56 pm

afterall, it is 40% local content now, unless they are also using “clonies” parts? haha just some conspiracy i start here like how bigfish started “likely” G prohibit company sell low rm70k car in d last few post.

this is vios, and the price is also set by UMW malaysia. yes it has to include nap tax, but still is it bcz of their “second hand value” gimmick, so fanatics keep defending?

bigfish, i duno how do u perceive how human thinks, but the fact is u cant force every1 to accept ur comment. y keep “damaging” each other? pls this is comment post for current topic, not battlefield of typing :) peace

• bronzesilverp (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 12:58 pm

If you can afford, buy it
    If you cant, nobody will force you to buy it anyway.
    Everyone has their own taste on their mind

• king (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 1:03 pm

fastcx said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 12:39 pm

erichigc, if those price are cheaper than langkawi, does that indicate UMW malaysia is trying all their best on increasing profit even in free tax situation? is that for the interest of secondhand value while their profit gets better while not in terms of material? isn’t it seem like something u guys keep bashing other brand of car? but y toyota fanatics keep saying it is to protect buyer’s interest while other brand did it they say it is sux?

thats the prob wif jap cars, esp toyota. they keep increasing the prices without any major improvement in any area eg.transmission/ engine with each model change….most of the time only cosmetics. While companies like Daimler Chrysler, BMW or Audi does major upgrade and spend so much cost on R&D. An increase in price is deemed reasonable. No wonder toyota makes the fattest margin out of each car in the world.

even dis viosgong improve by 1 hp or 1 Nm at least worth paying the extra money.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 1:03 pm

akshen_kamen said,

—————-
    So, you also proof how Toyota cheat Malaysian people, and of course in religion belief, holy book just said sinful people go to hell, Toyota is a company????????? This statement indicate you possess one or all of the following traits: –

1. Blind basher to Toyota and those who critic Proton.

2. Truthfully blind defender.

3. Ignorant and spread fictitious rumour – if you are live under dictator regime, due to your ineptitude, talk at whim and fancy, you shall put on firing line or stick your head out and put into gallow.

4. Macam katak hidup di bawah tempurung.

You need official proof for the sake of disproof me is blind basher? This is utterly ridiculous since there is no relationship between official proof and blind basher? This is because government policy is nothing to do with bashing car.

OK, now I don’t put official proof for the sake of disproof I am blind basher, but just to show you what I said is right that there is such policy, or at least what is practice: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/31/geely-investment-plans-on-hold-again/

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/09/30/geely-moves-assembly-plant-plans-to-indonesia/

So official policy by G are:

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/24/thoughts-on-the-national-automotive-policy/

The two main salient point of NAP are: –

1. Trade barrier by imposed prohibitive import, excise and sales tax – imposed up to 280% to create unfair hadicap (not protection to local product as officially claim) competition to foreign imported cars.

2. Non trade barrier – imposed AP design to restrict the nos of car that can be import, or set quota to in order to reduce competition (again official is to protect local product)

3. AP king, cronies vendor and selected few will benefits tremendously from this policy – consumer left dry with over price low quality products – be it local or import!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 1:17 pm

thats why i said “toyota..dont think that you can cheat malaysian people anymore..go to hell”..there are one basher will defend toyota like crazy..even there are no facts..and he cannot accept other people comment..he think he BIG enaough..haha

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 2:20 pm

sigh *** Let me give you a short lecture on this wonderful sunday lecture.

The Price of the Cars are determined due to few factors below:
    – Government Tax (Free zone does not mean free from ALL Taxes)
    – Marketing Strategy
    – Manufacturing Cost
    – Marketing Cost
    – Profit Margin
    – Quality Assurance (including warranty)
    – Management Cost
    – of course alot more.

You may ask either Toyota or Honda, and even BMW to satisfy whatever aspect you expect them to, and you have to pay for the COST at the end of the day.

What;s more irritating is some businessman just making profit out of low quality product or low quality services.

I do hope you pay for what you get. There is no point asking me why Langkawi price is still higher than oversea pricing. The similar question apply to Japanese Company and Singaporean Company when oil price getting higher and higher. We only hear complaints from local manufacturers as cost getting higher and higher. Smart and Good service providers will not use excuse of high cost to ask consumer to pay for high-priced product and services, instead they will be more process-driven or product-driven. These are how TOYOTA and BMW survive nowadays, and perhaps in future.

Quote from TOYOTA => Process-Driven
    Quote from BMW => Product-driven

You all have a choice to choose what kind of products you want, be it a stylish, quality or economic one. Make sure you pay for what you get. Never get less.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 3:18 pm

the vios optitron meter panel i saw in Toyota Thai website is much much more classy and cooler than the current one we get in S trim… all we got is a dull single color of amber…

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 5:25 pm

i agreed with what erichigc said…
    toyota is good at lowering cost and maximising profits while maintaining and expanding its brand image… that is what makes it very profitable and climb to No.1 in the world…

if you all dont like it or think its not value for money, then buy something else that you like… do remember that we (the consumers) can determine market forces… we can get a Mazda3 1.6 CBU at RM99k, Suzuki Vitara 2.0L CBU at RM109k, Nissan Latio 1.6 at RM80k, Nissan Latio 1.8 at RM98k… so why bother with the vios?

the car that we buy is like an election vote, as we can change the market forces for the future few years… stop thinking about resale values of less than 10% differences as the cars i listed above are all Japanese marques and will command good value for money… if you are gonna stick with car for more than 5 years, the downpayment and resale value are kind of neglilible because we are not talking about koreans now…

go and touch the Mazda 3 or Suzuki Swift interior… if you love sporty cars, u will love it… forget abt the Vios 1.5S, the Mazda3 is definitely the sporty car benchmark at RM99k…

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 7:33 pm

BigFish said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 8:33 am
    akshen_kamen said,
    —————-
    This is typical blind defender crap statement. It is tantamount to defamations.

+++++++++++++++++++++++
    TRUE. akshen’s words are tantamount to defamation…

…but…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++

BigFish said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 1:03 pm
    So, you also proof how Toyota cheat Malaysian people, and of course in religion belief, holy book just said sinful people go to hell, Toyota is a company????????? This statement indicate you possess one or all of the following traits: –
    1. Blind basher to Toyota and those who critic Proton.
    2. Truthfully blind defender.
    3. Ignorant and spread fictitious rumour – if you are live under dictator regime, due to your ineptitude, talk at whim and fancy, you shall put on firing line or stick your head out and put into gallow.
    4. Macam katak hidup di bawah tempurung.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You’re prob the last person in PT’s blog/forum who has the right to criticize him. Hehehe, you flame and use ad hominem arguments alot. Even more than him. Lolz.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 7:40 pm

dcwhz83 said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 5:25 pm
    Mazda3 is definitely the sporty car benchmark at RM99k…

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Orly… hmm… Did the govt reduce tax on jap cars or something?

A baseline mazda3 (2.0L variant*) costs about AUD25-27k (~RM80k) OTR with insurance in Australia.

*aus has low tax on big engines so mazda went with the 2.0L engine instead of the 1.6.

• shamel (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 7:46 pm

dcwhz83 said,

October 7, 2007 @ 5:25 pm

I totally agree with you. We shape any car brand’s value not the owner of the brand. Smarter buyers will outsmart the brand owner. Mere exercise ya power.

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:17 pm

Those who critics Toyota VIOS expensive and not good are actually very interested in getting this car ?

If not, why bother to critic ?

People critic so that the product improve and price lower. So that they can buy :)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:29 pm

people critic because they are consumer..we want something that worth for our spending..if consumer dont critic anything..the producer get besar kepale la..same goes to proton..they get more critic..but if they critic something,it didnt mean that they want to buy that product..anyway..can anybody state somebody state all the improvement that toyota do to this new car beside facelift compare to older model..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:33 pm

sory..typing error..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:38 am

ezralimm said,
    October 7, 2007 @ 7:33 pm

You’re prob the last person in PT’s blog/forum who has the right to criticize him. Hehehe, you flame and use ad hominem arguments alot. Even more than him. Lolz.
    You are the only Chimerical Don Quixote species I ever found in Paul Tan Blog!

• nyawere (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:07 am

hi all…

This is to all the proton bashers who are reading this blog…
    When Proton came out with the persona, everydoy sayy, stoopid laa, not creative laa, just a Gen-2 with a boot (sedan), lagi mau tukar nama…

Well, this is exactly the same thing..
    A toyota Yaris with a boot, and now they call it Vios..

Bottom line is, there is nothing wrong in doing variations of a design. Totally acceptable, even to the biggest manufacturer in the world.

On the new Vios, yes i think it looks good from the front, but they shuld had made a better rear. But interior rocks…especially the black one.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:29 am

having first class facilities such as bolehland doesn’t gaurantee Rakyat getting what they should… at least “Fairness”

the same goes to Toyota, having first class technologies, world class management system, proven qualities system and etc. does not gaurantee this Belta hit its marks!!

ALL BACK TO DOLLARS AND CENTS! PROFIT MARGIN MATTER MOST!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:57 am

nyawere said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 9:07 am

——————————-
    Just because it looks like a Yaris doesn’t mean it’s one. Don’t forget that the wheelbase is stretched by 120mm and this is not done like another manufacturer’s Executive style.

• limsk (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:14 pm

I’ hope the final price should be lower despite spokesperson of Toyota claims currency was issue to increase price was not realistic enough to believe that it true. Based on the above currency movement chart for (6mths) to conclude your findings that new VIOS (aka Yaris sedan) car price should be increase is much to arguable and increase local contents materials. Unless your production based on “build-to-order” (aka BTO) concept, I don’t know.?

IMHO, Perhaps, there are other ways to recover your lost of profit margin from car sales though other means.. don’t you have such plan … kept under your sieves :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:32 pm

#
    KL-ATR said,

October 8, 2007 @ 10:57 am

nyawere said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 9:07 am

——————————-
    Just because it looks like a Yaris doesn’t mean it’s one. Don’t forget that the wheelbase is stretched by 120mm and this is not done like another manufacturer’s Executive style.
    —————————————–
    >>>I tink he’s aware of that, n I tink the point he’s trying to make to bashers is “adding a boot to a hatchback” is not a despicable, uncreative thing to make money since even Toyota do this. It makes a lot of economic-of-scale sense actually as most of the parts can be shared, thus, bringing the cost/unit for each parts down.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:02 pm

Toyota is no 1 car maker…true,but that won’t change my mind about this model,it’s not goodlooking and abit weird,…but I do like the Camry,…again 2.0 and above, I’d rather go for continentals,can get much cheaper secondhand,..as for this vios, I never never liked the previous model(my younger bro had one)and so does this new one…just my opinion…

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:09 pm

#BigFish said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 3:38 am
    You are the only Chimerical Don Quixote species I ever found in Paul Tan Blog!
    ===================================
    As a service to other readers, here is the definition of chimerical:
    Chimerical: (1) Merely imaginary; produced by or as if by a wildly fanciful imagination; fantastic; improbable or unrealistic; (2) Given to or indulging in unrealistic fantasies or fantastic schemes.

Call me whatever you want. I will not label/defame you or anyone else. I dont see the need for ad hominem rhetoric. Should i disagree with your _content_, I will comment. Personal attacks will be ignored.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:29 pm

no car is perfect..so..akshen kamen…u said bigfish had to accept other comment…so…u too..accept other comment…bigfish…jz accept others…proton or toyota is not perfect…jz accept it and my opinion…with our comments…it helps a bit to improve the car…comment and bashing will nvr end…even top manuf like beemer n merc… also gt comment or bashing…peace..

• vincent_kkw (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 4:38 am

noneed to fight about which is the best car..
    asked me.. im a proton waja customer for almost the past 4 years. i bought this waja on 2003 december. today it is 2007 october. mean it’s almost a 4 years old car.

on 6th this month, mean october 2007, i already sold out my car. worth? rm30k. i still have to pay extra rm1k+ even i paid rm10k+ as deposit and pay rm600 for the past 4 years.

now, if anyone wanna asked me to give my comment on proton.. all i wanna say is.. go to hell you motherfck proton company!! i always told my friends the same old story when they asked about my car=proton waja. i said, “when people puting a piece of gold in the table, the next day, they only see a piece of shit. why? because those xx stealing the gold in their pocket and shit a piece of shit in the same table..”

1 week after i bought waja, it ady spoil until today. 4 years ago, i bought this waja prepare for new year. but i stil can’t drive it in the highway on chinese years.wtf.. the weel’s ballbearing spoil for the 1st week. make a sound of turbo engine when i fetch my friends on new years.it make me ashamed of my this brand new rm63k proton waja.

if wanna ask me to give any comment on he design and quality of proton, i’m so so so lazy to type. i just wana say 1 words.. go to hell you motherfck proton!!! i even happier now that i lose so much money for selling out my waja.is a piece of shit design and especially no quality at all. i still remember i heard from newspaper. when ppl stated that gen2 is the proton failure, D.mahathir speak with his superb high IQ = “just because it has so much problem doesn’t mean it cannot be sitted”. haha. what a high IQ creature in this planet. i wonder why he didn’t bought a “kereta lembu” to ride in KL since “kereta lembu” can be sitted also??? what a joke he gave.

now, i still survey which imported car to buy.. my choice is honda and toyota. but my first choice is TOYOYA. it’s my first choice cos of = fuel consumption,nicer design,number one quality,compare to my fck proton waja. now still considering.

the reason imported car don’t lower the price for new car because they still considering and care about 2nd hand car user. for the proton, because they sell the new car that cheaper almost rm10k, makes me lose rm40k+

when i bough waja on 2003, it’s rm63k. vios that time is rm70k+ to rm80K+.until today, waja worth rm30k, but vios still maintain rm50K+. this is why toyota and other foreign company didn’t sell cheaper price for the same new design car. why? because they have brain and care about their dear customer.but the motherfck proton ppl have brain, but they don’t know how to use it. and still want the world to know that they are best. fck off you motherfck!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:53 am

ezralimm, You missed the most important part – Don Quixote, or perhaps you can’t find in your dictionary. Here is the definition: –

n. An impractical idealist bent on righting incorrigible wrongs.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/Don%20Quixote

The above statements is especially refer to your writing in PT Persona thread and comments about car prices posted in LowYat Forum, nothing is personal attack just like you view my argument as “ad hominem rhetoric”. There are too many examples that your comments were “qualified” under Chimerical Don Quixote.

General characteristics of your posting is that you are merely make personal opinion most of the time out of your imagination without proper referencing and lack of good reasoning. You indicated that you still studying in Australia, if you ask your Professor, proper reference (preferably from published sources) is required in assignment, case study or doing project dissertation. The proper referencing methods employed can be footnote, numbering or Harvard system, etc. You always can disagree with me, but if you print out hardcopy from your lowyat posting and my replied in PT and ask your professor, whose argument is more “convincing”????

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:55 am

I hope the actual price shall be lower by RM 5K to 10K from the current indicative price. The indicative price is way too high for this basic sub-compact entry level sedan car.

• kington (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 12:12 pm

Wow.. this car has really made an impact here…..

You can of course voice your opinions and frustrations but at the end of the day, it still biols down to the sales figures and the feedback from owners and public interviews that matters most to these companies.

True, the Vios has been preety successful, outselling its main rival the City but the Ccity has its own merits too. And for those who aren’t in the market for budget cars like these, the Koreans and the national cars are certainly putting more bang for buck in their similarly priced cars…

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 1:52 pm

BigFish said,
    October 9, 2007 @ 5:53 am
    ezralimm, You missed the most important part – Don Quixote, or perhaps you can’t find in your dictionary.
    The above statements is especially refer to your writing in PT Persona thread and comments about car prices posted in LowYat Forum, nothing is personal attack just like you view my argument as “ad hominem rhetoric”. There are too many examples that your comments were “qualified” under Chimerical Don Quixote.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    The story of Don Quixote is quite well known. I learnt it in kindergarten. It’s a kids story and i assumed most people had some idea about it. But thanks for clarifying anyway.

For the record:

1) I had never tried to “correct a wrong”. I attempted to dispel common misconceptions based on my experience.
    2) The thread in Lowyat Forums Bigfish refers to is: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510116
    It is titled NAP myths. As far as i know, BigFish/JoeOoi has yet to respond there. I posted there to avoid cluttering up the PT blog thread.
    3) I disagree with NAP.
    4) I make it a point not to label people. But you do so very freely.

I leave it to the readers of the PaulTan blog to discern for themselves the validity BigFish/JoeOoi’s comment about me.

BigFish aka Joe Ooi’s posts:
    http://paultan.org/stats/?stats_author=BigFish
    http://paultan.org/stats/?stats_author=Joe+Ooi (i heard this account was disabled)

My posts:
    http://paultan.org/stats/?stats_author=ezralimm

A note on language and grammar:
    I found the use of the word ‘chimerical’ somewhat odd. I must say it was used in a relatively uncommon way. Hence, i looked it up.

Search for BigFish/JoeOoi’s posts by clicking on the links provided. On numerous occasions he attempts to use big words to argue from authority. In my opinion, his grasp of basic grammar and style of expression run contrary to that of a person who uses such words.

• ian (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:00 pm

HHmmmmm….

If original Vios = Britney Spears

then

new Vios = fat Britney Spears..

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:10 pm

vincent_kkw said,
    October 9, 2007 @ 4:38 am
    1 week after i bought waja, it ady spoil until today. 4 years ago, i bought this waja prepare for new year. but i stil can’t drive it in the highway on chinese years.wtf.. the weel’s ballbearing spoil for the 1st week. make a sound of turbo engine when i fetch my friends on new years.it make me ashamed of my this brand new rm63k proton waja.
    ===================================

Wow, you surely were unlucky. Did you get it fixed? It’s new so it should be under warranty. I doubt it was “spoilt” for 4 years…

People whom i know who own waja’s seem quite satisfied other than the old power windows problem (that proton has now permanently resolved).

Personally, i dont like the waja cuz of the front pillars that block diagonal view of the road, but it was proton’s first real try at making a car so i’d cut them some slack…but QC problems like the ones you experienced are unforgivable.

What was the response from their servicing dept?

Anyway, the price drop seems about right for a common car. In australia, a AUD45k OTR (excl insurance) Ford Falcon is selling for only AUD18k now… it’s a late 2004 model.

——————————————————
    Finally, back to topic:

Hey, has anyone test driven the car? How does it compare to other cars of it’s class? I wonder if the tweaked the suspension for malaysian roads… The one i test drove in melbourne felt like it’s suspension was too soft. Like riding on cushions. Perhaps the ladies would prefer it…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:56 pm

But all in all, Toyota seem to have come up with a good package again. Technically, on paper, there is nothing really much that you can fault the new vios as a car(except for no new engine or gearbox). Their excuse for no-CVT option is a poor one though, as everyone knows a CVT gearbox costs more, and can help improve fuel consumption. The use of the old engine is probably another method to help them keep costs down.

This is where I am totally for honda and their obsession with technology. They try very hard to get the latest technology into their cars, with rather impressive engines in their cars.

“body panels from Toyota Auto Body Malaysia” aha paul, those must be the panels stamped from the pre-cut steel sheets from Proton. So this new Vios shares the same “milo-tin” from Proton. Not that Proton’s are made out of milo-tins of course.

• wong (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:27 pm

If the price is above rm70k,I still wont consider it expensive,because of the ‘brand’ and lowering the price will hurt the resale value,and this ‘new’ model…well it’s new….nothing much to say actually..

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:13 pm

vincent kkw, wah..it must have been the worst experience, I must be lucky,and so does a lot of my friends,relatives,family members…we’re just lucky maybe…lets see ..the selling price..waja u loose 33k,vios u loose 30k…wah….u haven’t seen the price of used continental cars yet…..goood luck!!!

• spidermutu (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:34 pm

vincent_kkw said,
    October 9, 2007 @ 4:38 am
    go to hell you motherfck proton company!!a piece of gold in the table, the next day, they only see a piece of shit. why,… . go to hell you motherfck proton!!! fck off you motherfck!————————————–

hehe..scary…

• king (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 10:55 pm

yeah spiderman….brutal

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Why do everyone like to compare Toyota with Proton? can we just compare it with other cars like Nissan, Mitsubishi, Suzuki etc.

It might happen one fine day…. the entire Proton esembly line will be located in China, no more in Malaysia. Although Proton is proud to announce it’s a Malaysian car but Malaysian will suffer in paying a hefty price to own one because….. it’s made in China! Think about it guys… Stop complaning & apreciate it.

Because it’s happening in Japan long…. ago! Japananese pay a hefty price to buy their own Japanese cars! Open your eyes & you’ll realise where does Toyota comes from? Thailand…

Proton made in China? Wawasan 2020…. it could happen you know….

• ian (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:43 pm

Japan manufacture their own cars which are never exported out.

• bpkid (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:12 pm

no manual version ke?

• harry potter (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 5:00 pm

is this the safest car in the category?

• poikek (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 4:03 pm

Sorry to say the new vios’ rear end looks like a female senior citizen’s backside. But very impressive looking upfront.

• nike boy (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 8:37 pm

tooo bad..the new vios looks ugly..the previos version is better than the new wan…very dissapointted to the new vios….but the cabin is slightly better than old vios…ohmmmmmmm…..city looks good than vios..morever city is low fuel consumption

• sleepycat (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 12:54 am

seriously, the new vios is not prettier than the previous vios, but finally, toyota has throw away the “uncle” design, it looks great, up-to-date n eyes catching in real (in photo might looks odd)

i test drive the G spec vios d, quite dissapointing… not as powerful as previous vios (due to the increase in dimension n weight) and the handling is a bit camry feel (bad, due to the increase in height)… happily however… the driving position is higher, less blind spot than previos vios, audio button on the steering, auto side mirror and the interior is really bigger…

for me, the white interior is a bit wierd, a bit “too many colors”… black, white n silver(dashboard n door panel) green, white and blue(meters, audio buttons n screen)… it has lost the luxurious touch of toyota… the black interior is better for me, only black and amber, sporty n classy…

conclusion, the S spec is a bit too expensive and not worth buying, better go for G spec… somemore the rim doesn’t match with the bodykit, and the spoiler looks odd… (for me, but i like the interior)…

• rayz (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:23 am

I think Toyota Vios is much more better than the Honda city…..it s more stylish and awesome .4 those who Honda City’s fan ,dont regret after buy this stupid car….Anyhow if buy Vios with 1.5E,1.5G or 1.5S spec the engine is still the same-VVTI

• MrDDR (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:54 pm

hi, i’m new guy here. my english not so good..i stay in langkawi…..i have a delemma.
    new vios S and mazda 3 sedan have a same price here..which one should i choose.

• MrDDR (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:00 pm

sorry not S but G.. mazda 3 1.6

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 12:40 pm

hi everyone.. i noticed that my neigbour juz bought a toyota vios for da wife.. its the 1.5S with those skirtings n spoilers.. honestly, da front look is ok n kinda good too.. kinda sporty with da front bodykit.. i can say, i like da front.. but when it comes to da rear part.. its not so nice although its fitted with the spoilers n bodykit.. the rear part seems to go lower from da front.. i dunno how to say but id prefer da previous model’s rear.. i think da bumper n taillights r da spoilers here.. da curving-down shaped taillights makes the car looks like common n reminds me of peugeot 405.. da interior is good.. overall good except da rear.. but maybe some ppl like it.. so, it depends on each person’s perception.. haha.. juz giving my opinions.. cheers!! =)

• One92 (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 4:00 am

cheap feeling interior, i’d preffered the 2006 model

• jaih (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:46 am

i love my new vios…:) and enjoy to drive it

• mypassionmypride (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 12:23 am

guys..new vios is spreading fast..u can c it everywhere now..& one of them is ME lol.

• tehcho1 (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:45 am

Re: COMPLAINT ON BAD SERVICES, WARRANTY, BAD QUALITY ON ABSORBER

I am writing to express my disappointment and dissatisfaction towards the quality of my Toyota Vios and the service attitude of Subang Jaya service centre, I have really bad and most unpleasant experiences of my life.

1. On 29 Sept 2008, I went to Subang Jaya Services Centre address Lot 61716, Jalan SS16/1, Bandar Subang Jaya, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Tel: 03-5621 5566 to log a complaint regarding my car Vios which I had acknowledge that my car is not very comfort and feel very bumpy when moving. So, at that time, here come the technical people names Mr. Ang served me and bring me together to test the car. Before testing the car, he brings the car inside the plant and did asks other technician to check the tire air pressure which is normal. At the same time, he take a look at the below of the car to have a glance of the absorbers and found out that rear right side of the car absorber has leakage full of oil without even testing the car. So, I am glad that he allows changing the absorber since it is still under warranty. I request him to check another side of the absorber, but he refused to do that but instead of take a look from outside only and he confirms it is still in good condition without open it to verify clearly.
    And he show me the procedure that there are varies type of criteria of the leakage only consider reject or can claim for warranty. I though that when an absorber has a sign of leakage, no matter minor or major is consider defect?

After changed the one absorber, the problems still happen. I still feel the car very bumpy, not comfort and seem like the suspension of the car not working and does not response well. This can be really differentiated with my other Vios car. So, I went the same service centre 2nd day to log the same complaint. Now Mr. Ang refers me to other technical people name Mr. Sham after he explained to him my condition. Then, Mr. Sham brings me together to test the car. After testing, he explains to me that the car tires have alignment problems and the tire is old since it use from year 2006. After that, I request for repair or anyhow need to solve the problem. But Mr. Sham said that the machine for checking the alignment got some problem which today cannot be use. So it seem like I need to come another day or 3rd time come to this services center to solve the problem. It seem like this services center is using the strategy of dragging all customer complaints until the customer eventually feels tired and fed up till the warranty expired?

I wonder and suspecting how bad the quality of the TOYOTA ABSORBER since my car mileage has reach about 35K only? And I doubt that TOYOTA has been categorizing one of the most comfort and reliable cars? This has changed my perception although I have own another 2 Toyota cars in my family and I am very regretful and disappointed to own it. This may also change my perception not to recommend my relatives, friends, all the people that I know not to consider buy TOYOTA car.

Other than the above issues, I got another complaint regarding the number plate and viper. The color of the number has change from white to yellow after 1 year only. I have doubt what type material that has been used? Secondly, the viper that has change from the Subang Jaya Service Center has been worn off after 6 month of use only. This is the most horrible experience and one of the lowest and bad qualities that I had never encounter before.

Lastly, I do hope and really appreciate that the service of the mention above service center needs to improve and appropriate action need to be taken to satisfy customer needs. I think this is also one of your company vision and mission to fully satisfy customer requirement and to have lowest quality defect or lowest DPPM in order to continue become a successful automotive in this industry.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 6:39 pm

hey i feel you man. post it in forum and share your story. vios be careful, city is coming! hehehe

• tehcho1 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 5:40 pm

thanks man…see first, maybe will trade in this vios 4 new city…..what to do?

• shahril on Apr 11, 2009 at 5:24 pm

good car

• i want buy the car!

• dont talk too much.just go and get the car.u will satisfy it.believe it

• Miyuru on May 14, 2009 at 2:49 am

Very good car it's marvalas

• Hmm… my friend get regret after 1 year buying Vios the problem start occur. The quality of this car is drop campare to last model.

Please QC every car seriously before sell to us…

• crazy on May 23, 2009 at 8:12 am

i dont think is the qc but it is the nature of the product of the car which build by really cheap plastic quality especially interior. but the design is still ok for me and with latest and updated. my vios also got problem initially which the SC cannot solve it so many time complaint. i buy this car because of high old trade in value and great discount. if not i wont buy. now a bit regret also. anyway, just drive it first. maybe will sell after a while. i would feel the car a bit bummpy than the old model vios maybe it higher or other reason? and also lack of power when with 4-5 ppl with the car. maybe it is just 1.5? engine also quite noisy since the location engine has been move a bit front. other than that no other major issue n complaint.

what i like most is spacious, handling ok loh, good fuel comsuption, sond system good, that's all.

• civic on Jun 07, 2009 at 6:04 am

i thinking to buy civic or accord 2.0.

any opinion ?

• Pelancap Legend on Jun 21, 2009 at 2:39 pm

Definitely to tackle some girl go clubbing…

• keep on comlpaining on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:27 pm

a am also very dispointed with 1.5s vios! almost 2 years using it,but the cracky sound during loading an uploading, noisy engine, make me reallly frustatated. it is not compatible with the price. i found that using my old kelisa is better in all aspect. just imagine i had alignment problem the first day i use vios. make me really sick. n the noisy sound never solve until today! from the first day i drive the car. so to those out there. let be me the one who feels dispointed no u guys. just dont buy toyota product!

• crazy on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:13 am

agreed with "keep on complaining", but what to do?

i think u can sell out after 2 yrs used. my one still new, maybe after 2 yrs can sell.

• Khidhir on Aug 29, 2009 at 10:37 pm

i think city is better than vios

• Better buy vios J version than e version

• J version damn hell bro……. nothing!!! just brand T only…. manual gear, manual side mirror adjust, no airbag, cant fold seat for 40:60… nothing…. WASTE OF MONEY!!!!! RM70K=zero….

• this is better than jazz n city..better resale value, handling, interior, impression, value for money, low cost of ownership etc etc…to anyone who critics center console I believe they only seen vios on the paper, never actually test drive this beautiful car.
    btw..I hate Jazz n city because it’s hard to read the speedometer which is obstructed by steering wheel. Center console is more ergonomic and safer.

• isuru(sri lanka) on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:11 pm

verry nice look & wonderful comfertable car.

• jack sepang on Jul 27, 2010 at 10:54 am

hi kawan2… i just bought vios last 2 weeks.. WUC 58XX

.. macam ni la.. everyone say about forte lah,, honda city lah,, persona lah.. ape2 lah.. tapi aku beli vios manual J sbb aku nk rasa japanase car yg aku mmpu..

minyak sangatlah jimat.. 1000km aku dapat 11 sen.. so.. minyak dalam full tank 42 liter (70 ringgit) ,, aku dapat g sampai 700 kilometer.. nak apa lagi.. aku happy skrg.. fuel cunsumption is the best .. macam nk viva dah.. kualiti dan pickup. mmg puas hati.. sa sapa nk kutuk vios ke.. ape ke.. aku xkisah.. janji aku dan vios owner yg lain happy.. hhehehh.. hahahha

• The Girls are fucking hot

• ladyman191 on Feb 21, 2011 at 9:11 pm

why my vios light stop not working when i start and running.
    fuse for light box of stop where ?

• romzzzz... on Jul 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

gi antar kat toyota service centre insyaallah dpt baik…..

• lokman hakim on May 24, 2011 at 10:51 pm

ok la tu.,
    ak pkai vios old mmg jmat myk..,

• good vios

• Tharanga on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Dear Sir,

I am from Sri Lanka and I have Toyota VIOS 2007 – S-Limited car. I am very pleased with the car and I absolutely love this car.

However my VIOS has a developed a problem of it’s left HID Lamp. The car is absolutely not safe to drive because I never know when the left side HID Lamp will turn off itself and the car has no signal to show this defection.

could you please help and advise me on this issue as I am very scared to send my car to a local garage.

I highly appreciate your feedback.

Many thanks

Tharanga

• romzzzz... on Jul 30, 2012 at 5:57 pm

last 2 day i just bought toyota vios trd sportivo QAA1234C memang giler best smua steady hehehe….byr sbulan baru jer rm900 cun downpaymet rm 10000 jer…

• dilum on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:25 pm

I want to buy toyota vios 2007 full dash board set ASAP