More about the Suzuki Concept Kizashi

Suzuki Concept Kizashi

Suzuki’s Concept Kizashi is a preview of it’s upcoming large D-segment sedan, and it marks the third phase of Suzuki’s new world strategy that began with the Suzuki Swift. The Suzuki Swift started the whole revival of Suzuki and reflected the first phase’s theme of sportiness. The second phase began with the Grand Vitara and the SX4, and the theme was families.

This third phase is status. Up until now, Suzuki owners who have moved up the brand from A segment to B, then up to C segment have had nothing to move up to when they decide it’s time for a D-segment car. The production version of the Suzuki Concept Kizashi is supposed to be an answer to that desire.

In their studies, Suzuki realised that there are two types of D-segment cars: family-oriented cars that are relatively large and reflect an emphasis on cabin roominess (USDM and Asian Honda Accord, for example), and the other which are “entry luxury” cars that reflect an emphasis on performance, are relatively compact, and offer relatively high levels of quality and prestige (the Accord Euro, for example).

Suzuki boldly says it’s new D-segment car will not belong to either group. Suzuki is targeting emotional appeal as a way to deliver a level of customer satisfaction higher than what might be expected from what you pay for the car.

The new D-segment Suzuki will definitely be a sporty drive, and will have all-wheel drive technology, but Suzuki did not say whether this would be standard or an option. The concept photos here rather reminds me of the Toyota Caldina.

While the final powertrain line-up of the production sedan is not revealed at this point, the Suzuki Concept Kizashi is powered by a newly developed 2.0 litre 16-valve turbodiesel engine mated to a 6-speed gearbox. It is 4,650mm long, 1,950mm wide, 1,400mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,850mm.

A few more photos are available after the jump.

Suzuki Concept Kizashi

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 2:06 am

bloody nice japanese auto…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 7:12 am

Look weird from all angle

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 7:19 am

Future production car! Don’t know whether the Perdana V6 may still in the market when this car is on sale!

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 8:01 am

bloody! It will bloody cut my eyes wti those sharp eyes!!

• tommy73 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 9:12 am

What a beauty, but a bit too big for me.

• szw (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 9:40 am

funny

• punisher (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 10:47 am

naza got open AP..kaka

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 10:49 am

have you notice that all japanese car makers start using their own japanese name, same goes to mazda.

Nice butt suziku!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:01 am

feel like audi overly make up

• transformer (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:20 am

COOL!

Other than Caldina, Forrester and Outlander would be in the same league!

a 2.0L turbo/super charged would be a must!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Whoa… GANAS!!! Great job Suzuki! Darth Vader will order 5… all in black. :D

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 8:19 pm

They all look pretty similar, unless it come with some new innovative concepts. For this, its just aesthetics.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 10:22 pm

It is not only aesthetic, but futuristic techi products.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:15 pm

off the course a bit,
    http://bp1.blogger.com/_FoXyvaPSnVk/Rw0bUCFKe7I/AAAAAAAAWxg/1RLBKmnZhMs/s1600-h/tr.jpg

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:19 pm

hi joe ooi, we alway antagonist la,
    happy holiday, tak balik kampong ka?

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Batmobile!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 2:09 am

I like this car. Sure will cause accidents when people all look at it and not on the road :P

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 4:44 am

very fierce looking car,great..but the rims looks quite familiar..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 1:16 pm

Selamat Hari Raya to all and enjoy your holiday. Balik kampong, berhati-hati semasa memandu. Jangan jadi sebahagian statistic!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 1:17 pm

proton.GL.. said,
    October 11, 2007 @ 11:19 pm

hi joe ooi, we alway antagonist la,
    ————
    Antagonist is part of healthy debate, but become blind basher or defender is very tak OK!

• transformer (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 5:33 pm

BigFish said,
    October 12, 2007 @ 1:16 pm
    Jangan jadi sebahagian statistic!

=========================

FUN! :D

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 14, 2007 at 7:51 pm

The more I look at this Suzuki, the more I think it looks like Batmobile or Judge Dread’s (hope i spelled it right) mobile with the resemblence in front of this car. Hahahaha….Nice car though.

• mel5582 (Member) on Oct 15, 2007 at 10:23 am

Being a Suzuki fan myself, I must say that Suzuki is living up to its name.. I like the first concept version (white) whereas the red one is rather too radical. Still looking forward to see this car on road.. very futuristic and comfy looking.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:47 am

Frigging cool car… nice to get people out of your lane… hehe

The top car’s face reminds me of Suzumiya Haruhi~ :D

• KonstantinMiller on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:20 am

I have been looking looking around for this kind of information. Will you post some more in future? I'll be grateful if you will.

• DEBI BURLESON on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:25 pm

I am definitely liking the red Kazashi. This is one ride that has a traditional feel of classic but yet sport a contemporary feel that's grabbing to the eye with a mad looking front grill bringing out a car of the future. Hope it comes to fruition.

• Butt of Toyota FT-HS + Rear lamp of Lexus LFA