Official price and specifications for the Suzuki Swift Sport in Malaysia

The Suzuki Swift Sport has been officially priced – RM97,593.50 for a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 Manual and RM102,723.50 for a Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 Automatic. These prices are on the road with insurance.

Specs include 6 SRS airbags, antilock brakes with EBD and brake assist, a 6 speaker system with a CD tuner that supports MP3 and WMA which you can control via integrated audio controls on the Swift Sport’s leather steering wheel.

Wheels are 16 inch alloy wheels, and the interior is done up in black and red. The suspension system uses MacPherson struts and coil springs at the front and a torsion beam with coil spring setup at the rear.

The spec sheet for the car indicates the 1.6 litre engine puts out 125 horsepower at 6,800rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,800rpm – rather low for a modern 1.6 litre unit with variable valve timing actually – but requires RON98 fuel so be sure to only feed the best fuel you can get into it if you want maximum output – the closest to RON98 here is Shell V-Power Racing I suppose.

Kerb weight is 1,090kg for the manual and 1,100kg for the auto. The manual goes from 0 to 100km/h in 8.9 seconds, hardly enough to knock you back into your seats, while the auto is much slower at 11.4 seconds, probably because of the auto’s gearing.

Should be a car modification kaki’s dream though, just look at the long list of parts you can bling up your Swift Sport with!

More shots after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• outspoken (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:19 pm

At RM100k, it seems to be in the expensive range, especially for a 1.6 litre small car.
    Personally, i would cut more expenses and buy the mitsu lancer 2.0

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:27 pm

damn….. the auto adds 2.5secs to the manual… prolly a not-so-smart auto gear

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:44 pm

The new Gamma engine in the Spectra5 makes 121PS @ 6200rpm and 153Nm torque @ 4200rpm.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:56 pm

The manual version is a 5 or 6 speeder? Coz, if i’m not mistaken, the 2-door Swift Sport is a 6 speed manual.

• wsoonlye (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 4:59 pm

ooo………….its not worthh to buy a car like this at 100k…….nothing special…

• acbc (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:01 pm

Top another RM 14k for new Lancer which has 6-speed paddle-shift CVT. 10X better than slush-box.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Swift Sport in Malaysia & Japan – 5Dr only. 3Dr is for Europe I believe. Manufactured in Hungary.

• ctawyong (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:15 pm

the lancer will be a good buy compare to this suzuki!!! the price range should be around 80k-90k then it will be a hot cake!! add 14k we can have 2.0mivec, 18inch rims, 155bhp, paddle shift cvt, and a bigger car!!!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:43 pm

swift engine trashy after 4000rpm,
    torsion beam rear,(not saying its bad)
    cramped rear,

mmmm, if satria neo came with 1.6 cps, and the body solid with nearly 100 kg more of steel than swift,
    multi link rear,
    ill choose satria neo,

• transformer (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 5:43 pm

Sorry for this Swift Sport as its came too late… others had newer and better offer than yours though…. hope this would teach every other makes a lesson not to keep their products too long oversea and start introduce to Bolehland after 3 years from initial launch….

Few recent example:
    Nissan Teana
    Nissan Latio&Tiida
    Kia Sportage
    Kia Cerato(Spectra)

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 6:10 pm

Very cute car. Looks solid. Daihatsu has a history of making good cars.

But at RM100K, it’s better to acquire the Honda Civic 1.8.

• arcana (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:04 pm

what happens if you dont feed it with RON 98 fuel…..?
    in the case of town driving and not speeding till redline….

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:15 pm

No worries. Every kiosk in Singapore has RON98 fuel. Mari2…

• szw (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 8:19 pm

i thought the price are out long time ago ?

• I my (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 9:21 pm

waw… got red bucket seat leh.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 10:36 pm

The new Jazz 1.5 i-vtec can produce 120ps/118hp maybe will be the engine equipped on new city, but the price of RM103k, I will pay more to get Honda Civic, bigger interior, bigger power output too, or I can get the Latio sport 1.6 even thought it is only 109hp. It is just too expensive for a small swift, there will be only limited buyers…

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Agree that the Swift Sport is expensive. However, Jazz and Yaris are still being sold although their are similarly priced. Ofcourse the sales of Jazz is way better than that of the Yaris but the point is people will still buy cars like these. Probably not as their first car or perhaps the missus would like one of these pocket rocket.

• EddyHyip (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 11:40 pm

We just can’t compare suzuki swift sport with jazz, yaris, civic 1.8 or even a latio. Swift sport is tuned for fun driving. I’m sure jazz, civic or even latio can’t outdo swift sport in terms of handling and performance. Tell me, which of these car, in the same price range, has approximately same sport characteristic?…
    This swift is tuned out of the normal swift 1.5 and yet, they are considered a new model and being warrantied. Okay, some may compare it to a modded proton…. but modding viod your warranty.
    And as for the trashy engine sound concern, it is what it’s meant to sound like, but the power comes out at that particular rpm, 4K rpm….
    Some may also say, the gear ratio will not help in fuel consumption. Yes but then again, remember, this is a hot hatch, not a supermini like jazz or latio sport. Unless Honda Malaysia come out with a mugen jazz…. then I’ll reclaim my words back.
    I believe swift sport enthusiasts appreciate the ability of the car to outdo others in twisty roads but yet maintaining low fuel consumption compared to the likes, ie, mini cooper, golf gti…
    Again, if u are typical malaysian, just go for the norm la…. buy a common civic or the ordinary altis or the versatile jazz…. i’ll definately head for cars meant for twisty roads

• EddyHyip (Member) on Oct 17, 2007 at 11:49 pm

For those who like boring straight roads, don’t get a swift..
    For those who are kiam siap and count indian account, don’t get a swift…
    For those who scared this scared that, don’t get a swift…
    For those who buys just to travel from distances…. don’t get a swift…
    For those who need to fetch family around, don’t get a swift….
    For those who like to compare fuel consumption to myvi or kelisa, don’t get a swift….
    For those who don’t like redlines, don’t get a swift…..
    For those who dislikes changing gear often, don’t get a swift…
    Malaysians only love honda, toyota, merc and bmw nia….. sad la malaysian’s ideology….

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 12:45 am

Only question now is will anyone buy it…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:09 am

Swift vs. Jazz vs. Yaris vs. Smart Forfour vs. Myvi, lol……..

don’t hate a car just because u can’t afford to have one in your garage…..

the Swift got nice handling…..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 12:03 pm

The Suzuki showroom beside my office just brought in 2 Swift Sports last week, checked it out a few days ago. I am in love with the manual version, it has short-throw gearshift and the clutch is so easy to operate… This car will definitely be a lot of fun to punt around…

• kington (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 2:03 pm

This car, i have to admit is pretty fun to drive. I didn’t expect much from it but after a quick drive, this car is bags of fun. Hence, the premium charged by Suzuki is pretty much justifiable. In Europe, this car is slowly creeping its way up the ladder for bragging rights against the Civic Type R, Renault Clio and alike.

Pretty much a niche car but i’ve seen many Malaysians dressing up their standard Swifts to resemble the Junior WRC car. So i hope it gets a good following.

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 3:40 pm

the grilled? so rock man

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:48 pm

i dunnola y some of u compare it wit sportage…civic or lancer…this car is nt in d same class of some of u compare it to…

this car shud be compare wit d mini cooper s…peugeot 206/207 rc…satria gti…dat d car u shud to compare wit…so…4 me…dis car is still value 4 money…u get a fun car to drive wit only 103k…4 me still ok…and no wonder i saw a lot of swift sport nowaday in kl and shah alam…believe me…still gt ppl buy this car…today…i went to shah alam n kene cucuk wit this car…hahaha…

• cyborgx (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:28 pm

what? we cant compare cars with similar price range? that’s bullshit. Dont tell us bullshit. With RM100k for such puny sport hatch I would rather top up 10k to get the Honda Civic, which is

1) BIGGER (more legroom, comfort)
    2) MORE STYLISH, (obviously)
    3) MORE LUXURY (obviously)
    4) MORE POWERFUL (obviously)

Take out few k and mod your civic with black tinted glass, HID, bodykit. There you are a “night rider”. Please.. compare that civic with this puny hatch. lol the choice is obvious.

• arcana (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:44 pm

perhaps maybe some are expecting real cheap prices from CBU japs since mitsus and vitara made a huge impact in terms of pricing….with quite a good package it offers and 6 airbags inside…..quite decent price i would say…..the only drawback would probably be auto box….manual still can give some kick..

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 6:28 pm

it’s weird seeing people comparing the swift sport with a saloon or a supermini, the Sport is suppose to be a fun driving hot hatch, so please compare apples with apples i.e. golf GTI, satria GTI, mini cooper.

i think the swift is great value as u can get a full-on hot hatch for under 100k built by the same people who gave us the iconic original Swift GTI back in the old days.

plus, it’s great value cause it’s CBU. remember when the CBU “normal” swift used to cost 80k+? judging from the extras that the swift sport has to offer over the normal swift:

* 11.1:1 compression ratio
    * 4-2-1 exhaust manifold
    * High lift cams
    * Forged pistons
    * Strengthened valve springs

The Swift Sport features sportier bumpers and spoilers, a stiffer suspension, twin exhaust pipes, red sport seats (with Recaro seats optional) and 4-wheel disc brakes on 16 in rims.

hence the price of just around 10k more than a CBU swift and still under 100k is fully justified IMO.

given that u have an empty road up to genting or belting down the curves and corners from cameron highland to gua musang, which would u rather have as your ride, a bread and butter civic or this beauty?

i’ll have mine in white with the stick shift

• shooter (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 1:01 am

the price is right (for the MT at least in my book)! been looking at the available after-market parts lists, boy-o-boy,…it looks like a Leggo set for grownups!!! gotta start savin up now…..ALL HAIL THE RETURN OF THE GREAT SUZZY!!!!!!

• moonier (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 1:50 pm

this car is perfect blend of sporty, safety, compact, comfort, and performance in its class. like to own one..

• 3S (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 12:28 pm

i have tested the swift sport…is fast………..!!! ( MT )
    Faster then putera in cornering + the outstanding braking power.!!
    This car is built for excellent handling,braking and cornering.
    This car may not fast enough in straight line ( 0-100km/h in 8.9 sec ) but is damn fast in cornering.
    Remember , braking power is use to over take opponent in motosport .

i decided to but swift sport M/T to kick some Civic V-TEC 2.0.

• heeman (Member) on Jun 05, 2008 at 11:01 am

Suzuki in Australia and Singapore added ESP into the car’s specs end of last year. Anyone can confirm if the current SSS in M’sia also come with ESP?

• 3S (Member) on Jun 05, 2008 at 4:51 pm

That SSS i tested is manufacture in 2007.
    No ESP.

May need to check with nearest suzuki’s car dealer…!!

4 me, SSS doesn’t need ESP…!!

• heeman (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Thanks 3S
    I ll check with them soon. I hope they know.

• kaivtec on Nov 24, 2009 at 7:24 am

i agree to EddyHyip, YOU REALLY DO YOUR RESEARCH.!!! thumbs up bro…for those yet to try, check out the ride on twisty road and you be amazes..especially if you go for after market coil over….i consider this as practical car not really that ex and very fun with all the accessories on. Cheers bro eddy..cos im a sss owner as well.

• mr_3m on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm

u r 110% right, kaivtec & eddyHyip…. some comments here are totally irrelevant and not comparing apple to apple…

these guys would not understand what the Swift Sport is all about…. SSS is not cheap thanks to our local policies but then for what it is, it is appreciated by those in the know… even Jeremy Clarkson like the SSS compared to the Mini… and he’s British!!…

• heeman on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm

I have been driving one for 9 months now and everytime I emerged from a bend with a grin on my face :) No regrets ever!

• karipulai on May 05, 2010 at 4:19 pm

mine ones the radio will automatically ON during full turning streeing wheel for side parking, anybody face that kind of experience?