Official Toyota Vios pricelist!

Toyota Vios

UMW Toyota Motor has prices for the new second generation Toyota Vios up on its website. There has been a small drop in prices from the estimated values announced earlier at the media preview.

The top of the line Toyota Vios 1.5S is going for RM88,100 – down from the estimated RM88,600 announced earlier. The mid range Toyota Vios 1.5G goes for RM84,800, down from RM85,300 and finally the baseline Toyota Vios 1.5E now retails at RM78,700 – a RM200 drop to the previous RM78,900 price.

These prices are for Peninsular Malaysia and are on the road inclusive of insurance.

2007 Toyota Vios details and photos
New Toyota Vios line-up teaser with prices

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 7:36 pm

Too expensive under compare with the bigger Latio…

• drebar (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 8:08 pm

smart. they release the car first… let ppl see it..then only come out with the price..

i believe a lot of ppl are dissapointed when they saw the car…especially the interior.. i myself felt the same.. not sure about what the other thinks…

my sis drives a vios…then we went to test drive a swift… and i was surprised when my sis say swift back seat is more comfortable and felt more spacious than vios… surprise surprise~!.. i dun quite believe her until i do more research on swift on the internet… i found few other ppl who say the same thing..

well..actually i felt in love with swift right away after i saw vios in midvalley… lol…

• ICER (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 8:13 pm

Too ulgy also..like UBI

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:04 pm

Sorry Vios owners, its just a car not worth buying. Too expensive (for a car with so..so specs), ugly and uncomfortable. Go for Persona, believe me you won’t be dissapointed. The specs surpass everything in a Vios.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:13 pm

When I first saw this car in the showroom few days back, I’ve been keeping to myself, “This is a Toyota??” But i can’t stand it anymore so to be crude, 3 words:not impressive enough. Even the Electronic Power Steering feature wouldn’t entice me to consider it. I have to say, this is quite a dissapointing result from the Japanese. Maybe I need some time to get use to the front end of the car but the rear?Its so un-Toyota.Sorry Toyota or Vios’ fans.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:15 pm

oh ya, this is a Yaris with a tail.

• justice (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:20 pm

MY EYES!!!!!Somebody dig ’em out and burn ’em. I just saw an ugly Vios!! A Vios I tell ya! A Vios!! Why!!!??? What happened to Vios??? Somebody mixed mutation liquid into the concoction!

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:31 pm

im sure still got some other ppl crazy bout this car… sure they buy it… i oredi see one here but with a brunei number plate…

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:32 pm

ahhh, Like myvi no one liked it at 1st, but then after a while u will… gotten used to this design while back in aus.. :) its a good car…

• arcana (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:51 pm

dont worry…..for it being a toyota badge and in a price range where a lot of ppl can afford buying cars like these….its gonna sell and sell….and customers wait and wait….
    unless honda city comes out with a superb design and with a cheaper price tag….or else…its still the king of non-national makes in terms of sales.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:52 pm

i know toyota a good car,

but….(my design my pride)???http://www.marketatnation.com/Cars/5018010000106_1.jpg

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:54 pm

http://www.marketatnation.com/Cars/5018010000106_1.jpg

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Seems a little pricey to me. Design takes a little while to get use to but it’s not as ugly as I first saw it. A huge difference from the old Vios tho.

BTW, Toyota is no longer Number 1 in terms of reliability in the US. I know they can’t remain at No. 1 every year but didn’t expect them to drop to No. 5. http://www.leftlanenews.com/reliability-report-honda-bumps-toyota-from-top-spot-domestics-still-lag-behind-imports.html

• ys (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:14 pm

just wonder why Nissan never interested in 1.5 segment? Malaysian are more interested in 1.5 compare with 1.6. Wira, Vios, City, to name a few.. all are best seller
    Sentra design already outdate and Latio is too funny for me..

• armandd (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:17 pm

better add a few more k and get a civic instead. u won’t regret it.

• arcana (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:56 pm

civic is like 30-45k more compared to the vios high end model…..how does that equate to few k?

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:57 pm

I also agree the new vios is lacking the wow factor, I going to wait for the new city, at least, I know it may have the new i-vtec engine with improved power from new honda jazz…

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:58 pm

Compare to th vios in thailand, their vios has better feature, and ours… :(

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:17 pm

too expensivela this vios…not worth buying…i think better go 4 d other car…

drebar…

swift is a lot better than this vios…swift is one of the best car in its class…so…for sure swift alot better than dis vios…

• farmcow (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:44 pm

prefer latio den

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 11:53 pm

go for the persona then. Hi-line version cheaper and better

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:09 am

Compare technology on both safety + engine, Persona still left out… Toyota is using VVT-i engine… Persona will only match it if they have CPS+VIM engine and fall in 1.5L category. If i not remember.. Persona is still using the old Campro right? Even Toyota is using back the old VVT-i, but at least they have VVT, 4 independent coil, chain drive… better technology compare to us… The only drawback of toyota now is the design + value… Dont think Toyota new vios dugong design look weird, actually the front high hood are made for pedestrian safety when collision, a lot of feature are added on this car…

Anyways if u want a safe car, Nissan latio still score the best on it’s class.. 6 star award in Japan..

• ferox (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:39 am

Front looks great to me. Reminds me a little of the celica and camry mix. Rear pretty much the same except for the lights, which imho in the older models are better. Still, overall looks 8 million times better than the City. Then again, I never cared much about the City’s look. =P

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:45 am

Toyota recalls 470,000 cars

October 18 2007

TOKYO: Toyota Motor Corp said yesterday it was recalling more than 470,000 cars in Japan due to problems with the fuel and steering systems in the latest dent to the carmaker’s reputation for quality. The Japanese car giant will recall 277,074 passenger cars of eight models, including the Crown luxury sedan, produced in Japan between September 1999 and October 2004. Toyota said the recall was aimed at exchanging parts used in the fuel control system and pipes, which may cause fuel leaks.Toyota will recall 120,406 cars of various models due to malfunction of fuel pumps, and 74,347 cars to change defective parts in steering system. – AFP

• leongylun (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:47 am

too expensive..if toyota can price its car below 80k for the high spec version then it would be great..and 73k for the basic model..
    But price is not the main concern for most malaysian since they believe toyota cars have better resale value and easy maintainence…
    wake up malaysian..with this money u can buy a better car instead of toyota..i will go for nissan latio1.6 with better quality..hehe…sorry for vios owners..

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:38 am

Toyota is beginning to feel and look arrogant, especially UMW Toyota Motor here. With the poorly equipped and low quality Toyota cars they assemble here locally or import them from Thailand (examples are the latest Camry which does not have a reverse camera/front parking sensors unlike their Thai counterparts and the same old engine/transmission as well as the too plastic-like dashboard in the latest Vios), I wonder how they could put in prices so exorbitant. As quoted by 90125, the article sourced from AFP seems to be true. Toyota is getting carried away by its Number 1 status as the leading car manufacturer in the world. Other Japanese companies (Honda, Nissan and Mazda) are coming up with newer and more technologically advanced models like the Civic/Coming-soon City, Qashqai/Rogue/Latio and Mazda 6/5, you can’t help wondering whether Toyota are resting on their laurels. By the way, as quoted by LittleFire85, the term “4 independent coil springs” in the Vios does not mean it handles as well as the Persona, as the Vios has a torsion beam setup at the rear. This does not mean I’m praising Proton quite yet, as their cars need to buck up in technology as well as in quality without relying solely on the NAP.

• BMW fan (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:05 am

HAHAHA! 88k for a high spec toyota vios that looks like that???
    Sorry to say but I think it looks retarded!
    You know what…I can get an all new metallic colour Nissan Sentra 1.6SG-L(auto & high spec) with Nismo Kit for that price!
    No doubt it is an old model, but how many people would disagree with me if i say that the sentra(with the nismo body kit) looks much better that the Vios, and its much much more spacious too! What else? Its awarded 5 star for safety rating in Japan.
    Ignoring the resale value(if u are planning to get a car for the long term), I think its stupid to get the Vios at that price…even for the low spec, i’d rather get a persona or wait for the new City however long it takes. Sorry Toyota fans!

• McPadey (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 5:09 am

This is what happen when a big company that use to make great car trying to make a joke with their loyal fan….Hey!! what happen to the designer that make the old vios? is he died? or he got a few lose wire in his head? what is he thinking?…to beat the old vios sales record… i don’t think so,anyway thats front high hood are made for pedestrian safety when collision? how many time in your life…that you run over a pedestrian?…..lol…but it still a TOYOTA!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 6:14 am

Well … I guess when you’re selling 2000 units a month, DOUBLE that of Honda City, and Malaysians are just big fans of a Japanese brand, why bother lower prices, even though you’re getting exemptions via Industrial Adjustment Fund, 0-5% import duty under CEPT and 0% Import Duty under the JMEPA FTA since July 2006.

• Cire (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 7:55 am

Its expensive ! And the looks isn’t that great. Still quite cramp and plasticky inside. Talking abt Toyota standards. Unable to detect the defect during production, or too afraid to cover up like in the case of mitsubishi?

But somehow, there are still some die-hard toyota fans outthere who would still say its a good buy. sigh.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:08 am

I wont buy one….but many will. Market forces dictate that as long as there is a demand, sellers wont be pressured to lower prices.

I would go for a Latio instead. Even with the bigger engine.

a 1.5L is a sweet spot because us malaysian consumers have been “trained” to see a big(er) cc car as heavy fuel consumers. When I tell people my Satria has a 1.8, first thing that comes to mind to people is , man, petrol bills are high. However, on the contrary, it does pretty good for itself.

At the post of the Toyota recall, thats normal for a lot of global manufacturers. They are forthright and decide to fix the problem, instead of sweeping the problem under the carpet like some marques….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:21 am

The way I look at it, this is quite interesting. In the past 20 or so years, our standard of cars have moved down…

20 years ago, Toyota’s Corolla is the best selling car, now its the Vios, which is in fact a step down (think the equivalent Starlet 20 yers ago). Same goes for Honda, with their Civic going upmarket and the Accord now classed as a Luxury executive car (??!!!). Best seller…..City. Even then, a big portion of car driving public cant afford a Vios or City, unlike before where they are only a few grand more expensive than the then new Saga.

My dad being a lowly paid goverment servant could afford a Corolla/Civic, me, easiily earning 3 times more, would probably not afford a City (not like I would buy that anyway)

Malaysia moving forward? riiiigh…..

• levin (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:41 am

Bloated like britney spears. Hey, wait a minute….Britney was the model in the release ad for the current vios model. Look at her then and now…Hmmmm….

• kington (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 8:55 am

Well, these prices are expensive but when so many Vios and City are being sold in the ASEAN region, you can’t blame Toyota and Honda for not lowering their prices despite teir aim of producing a cheap ASEAN car for the region. Only Nissan’s AD Resort project hit the right spot those days with its RM 60K+/- pricing. Lime someone pointed out earlier, they will not be pressured to reduce their prices since demand is strong for Toyota and Honda cars. The glam is there but Japanese cars will always fall short against the Europeans.

The new Civic for instance has also been and instant hit but take a good look on what’s inside and they story seems pretty familiar. In fact many have been complaining about the plastic panels in the Civic coming out from all angles, consistent brake fade and etc. Perhaps if we want to weight the Japs gainst the Europeans, you’ll have to look at Lexus and some higher end models from the respective line ups. Recalls and such will always happen but the quality lies not in how many recalls a manufacturer suffers from but also the feedback from its customers. Toyotas are bland, except for a few models but the key here is that, their customers are happy with the way the cars are performing. You can have less gadgets in your car but if does the job without any fuss, isn’t that better than having a car that’s too sophisticated that it breaks down easily and is also a challenge for mechanics to fix? Objectively, many would avoid the latter route.

The Vios and the City, were not meant to give you the latest specs for the best prices. What Toyota and Honda did was the derive a budget model from parts sourced in their store to give you a junior Corolla and Civic. the first ASEAN City had almost 70% of its part taken from the 4th generation Civic and like wise the previous Soluna.

Nissan on the other hand are trying to woo back its lost customers and in doing so will have to contend with lower prices and higher specs to win this tussle. Spec wise the Latio is not just better than the Vios and the City but it’s also way ahead of the Corolla and Civic as well as the Camry and the Accord in some aspects.

On a more specific note, i was invited to view this car and it does look somewhat out of the ordinary but like the Savvy, it has got looks that will grow on you. Personally, some cars are much better viewed in the flesh and this Vios does look better in real. At the end of the day, it’s the customers’ choice.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 9:02 am

To potential vios buyers. Hold and wait for your free 42″ LCD TV.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 9:32 am

Quality is no longer top priority for Japanese makers. They’ve proven their products earlier, tech, specs, etc. Now their 3S network is up and running nationwide and the brand is well known. They can price as they like and people will still buy as long as they don’t keep models on too long.

• joeysis (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:51 am

Yes, Latio better, although the look is abit weird weird, but after i check out the car in showroom, i’ve to admit it’s a good car with all the nice spec and fine quality. But if u lookin for more luxury and spacious car, then u could even consider Kia Optima (but make sure u don mind it’s a Korean made). So, y u wanna choose Vios?

• duffayoi (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 11:16 am

yo!!!!……which one much better…hydraulic power steering or electric power steering and between multiple fuel injection & electronic fuel injection????..which give more benefit? plz comment

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 11:29 am

electric?-reduce component,
    feel? hydraulic batter feel,

gotta question,
    torsion beam vs multilink,?
    which one is superior,,,,

• vin (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 11:54 am

It is too expensive. Better look for Nissan Latio or wait for new Honda City.

• duffayoi (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:12 pm

WHY VIOS AND CITY USED ELECTRIC STEERING not hydraulic? it is something related to maintenance cost?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 12:25 pm

Hydraulic system is more expensive but provides better road “feel”.

Electric system is easier to engineer, has less parts, and more fuel efficient (does not sap as much power from the engine – since its only ON when you need it) but does not have good “feel”. Getting better though.

For suspension, SUPERIOR is relative. It depends on what you are looking for.

Torsion bar is more space saving = bigger interior space/boot. It is also cheaper to engineer and has less parts (or bushings to wear out, or things to get bent out of shape). Its good for an economy compact car to get you from point to point in no hurry.

Its not a perticular sporty handling rear syspension. Although, unless you whack it at Sepang or go Autocross, you probably wont notice….the biggest difference still goes to your damper/spring setting. It maybe prone to get a little loose at the rear end if you hit a bump going at high speed corners …..but like I said, this is not a sports car, you’d probably run out of front end tyre grip way before that happens.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:48 pm

Being make captive market by NAP, now Proton look like more resonable in pricing their Persona. But this Vios “look like” the pricing is to maximize their profits!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:49 pm

Let waite and see down the road within few month, as some one said, they may offer 42″ LCD. Or petrol voucher if the sales is below their target!

• xstan (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:49 pm

Darn..!! Still not able to test drive yet. Long list of wait. Been waiting for the launch since early this year. I truly like the sporty exterior & the LCD type CD player on G specs. Space is certainly improved especially the leg room but head room still poor. Hit my head while sitting up straight.

OK now to assist on my decision…anyone can help me to pick the right car…City or Vios. Both 2.3% rate, that fine with me. But then I do get Rm2,500 discount from City, none from New Vios. City still on old generation compared to Vios on 3rd generation. New look of Vios but got worst remark from many compared to City. Decision, decision…help please. BTW, which rear is much spacious..City or Vios?? Vios plastic is so downright CHEAP makes Proton ‘s much superior.really..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:51 pm

Better waite until 2010, when our auto market is more level playing field with the advance of FTAs and phasing out of NAP, the car prices will be “free fall” to the Langkawi level.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 1:56 pm

xstan, to buy entry level sub-compact car like City or City, beauty wise is in the eye of beholder.

For basic sedan car, perhaps your criterion are fuel efficiency, low maintainance cost (including spare parts), high resale value, reliability, etc.

In term of quality and intended perforamnce, for me I will go for Vios since this new model is Yaris with butt extension (global best model), instead of old Vios that is for regional model (“local best”). Same to City, it is for regional market as well.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 2:04 pm

Personally, I disappointed withthe selling price, if Proton already done their part with Persona price at RM 45K to RM 55K, Vios shall not price more than RM 80K for top range. But anyway, this Toyo.. & G know the best the reason(s) about their current pricing for Vios.

Someone also mentioned in previous thread that Vios eventually come with 5 variants, perhaps the other two variants are 1.3L price from RM 65K to RM 75K. Hope this is a reality. For small sub compact lightweight car like Vious, 1.3L is enough to move from Point A to B. Even certain oversea market, Corrola Altis come with 1.3L engine!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 2:10 pm

Look like car pricing under NAP compliant environment, consumers are make to be scapegoat to pay for high price unnecessary and consumers are perceived as get “karned” (Hokkien for “fxxx”) by NAP and car manufacturers! Now Toyota also joint in the bandwagon. Look like consumers power will eventually dictate the market demand and the pricing shall adjust to the market forces.

• xstan (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 2:15 pm

Thanks everyone. Appreciate ur view BigFish. Just eager to know 2 things:-
    1. Been hearing of new Facelifted City ..when will it launch of the new facelift?? Saw the new facelifted Jazz.
    2. Is it true that normally January month is the best month of the year to buy car in consideration of the best promotion offered by dealers with gifts & such?? I know having registered the vehicle in Jan got an advantage on pricing value.

• iguanax (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 2:46 pm

Like it :)

• punisher (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:24 pm

y so xpensive..

• arcana (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:34 pm

no there’s no advantage of registering your vehicle in Jan if your stock is made the year before…..unless it is in fact the current year then yes.
    but then usually these manufacturers create gimmicks by putting lots of discounts in Jan becoz its clearing old stock models which is produced a year before, in the end its like buying a car lets say in Jan 2008 but when u sell the year of make which is 2007 takes into consideration, so therefore your car value is 1 year old before u even start driving it.
    it is cheap but its not a value buy if u ask me….unless the discounts are so huge like 10-20k….then maybe.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 3:47 pm

for me independant multilink suspension is the best,
    for a standard car traveling on quite undulation or irregular tar mac, with quite a speed,

the sway arm feels like cannot compansate side to side movement,
    therefore multilink i prefer,

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 4:22 pm

swing arm just only deal with vertical movement,
    while multilink id say they deal with x y z movement, and provide batter isolation,

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 4:35 pm

January buying car shall come with same year of manufacturing! Some buy for higher second hand value reason and most of them buy before festive season.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 4:39 pm

Given booking of 2,000 units beofre official launch. Likely it is another hot selling model for Toyota.

• klk (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Hi…sorry being off topic. I was wondering why Langkawi’s pircelist for Toyota Vios car is cheaper than Peninsular Malaysia? Langkawi’s pricelist is around RM59K, and for Peninsular Malaysia is RM80K and above. If like that, it is possible for us to buy New Toyota Vios in Langkawi and drive back to Peninsular to use it? Correct me if I am wrong. Thanks

• wilbrightj (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Well Cool it there all malaysians car lovers…Well dont start a japanese car n malaysian car world war..hehehe..all cars have pro n cons..N to ALL TOYOTA FANS remember that TOYOTA is the no 1 car maker in the world and have been making cars for MANY years..So please dont critizise PROTON who is still new in the Car Biz..well VIOS are used as TAXI’s in INDonesia…and WAJA is used as taxi’s in Malaysia…:) think about it!!..hehehe..and some who are driving vios think that they are driving a luxury car..Well Toyota has done a good job in introducing a reliable n affordable n good resale value japanese car to malaysians..well 60% japanese n 40% malaysian..hehehe..Wish it was Cheaper!! Im sure the Goverment doesnt wants the Vios pricing to be close to the WAJA!!

• peYno-1 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 6:59 pm

toyota is not no.1 anymore..i heard oredi dropped no.5 in US

this is what we called lean manufacturing,TPS,Toyota QC bl bla bla

prrrfthhh

Toyota to recall 470,000 cars due to defective parts

TOKYO (AFP) — Toyota Motor Corp. said Wednesday it was recalling more than 470,000 cars in Japan due to problems with the fuel and steering systems in the latest dent to the automaker’s reputation for quality.
    The Japanese auto giant will recall 277,074 passenger cars of eight models, including the Crown luxury sedan, produced in Japan between September 1999 and October 2004, the automaker said.
    Toyota said the recall was aimed at exchanging parts used in the fuel control system and pipes, which may cause fuel leaks.
    The company will also recall 120,406 cars of various models due to malfunction of fuel pumps, and 74,347 cars to change defective parts in the steering system.
    Toyota said it had exported some 680 other cars with similar troubles to more than five countries, including Australia, South America and China.
    The automaker is ready to exchange defective parts free of charge within the scope of regulations in each of those countries, a company spokesman said.
    Toyota, which is on course to overtake US giant General Motors this year as the world’s top selling automaker, announced several large recalls last year, prompting a renewed push by executives to resolve quality issues.
    The Japanese automaker also recalled more than half a million pickup and sport utility vehicles in the United States in January of this year.
    Toyota was last year instructed by Japan’s transport ministry to improve its operations after local police alleged that the company knowingly failed to respond to a defect in a sports utility vehicle.
    The automaker later submitted to the government a plan to improve its system for recalling defective vehicles following the rare official rebuke. -AFP

• eifs (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 9:51 pm

just an info : Vios price here is B$23,000 (RM$46,000).. so sarawakians.. get them now hehe

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 11:39 pm

klk, Toyota sold in Langkawi is sold without the gov excise duty tax, so it is the final price that includes the profit of toyota earn just without the gov excise duty tax. If you bought the car in Langkawi, you cannot drive this car outside the Langkawi, to do so, you have to pay back all the excise duty tax first. So, if you minus the the price in Peninsular Malaysia with Langkawi, it should be excise tax we have to pay in Peninsular Malaysia, like camry is RM167k in Peninsular Malaysia, and RM96k in Langkawi…

Can anyone give more explaination or clasification for the car price in Langkawi ???

• king (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 4:32 am

toyota….moving forward. more like moving backwards to me. the only thing forward is a fatter profit margin.

guys come on lar….last time when 1st launched the vios in 2003, UMW wanted to price it at just below 100k lar. so this is considered “dirt cheap” bargain already.

shame on toyota….even the koreans have better interior than this dugong.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 5:35 am

klk and mits27, to add on, what I know is if you drive out of Langkawi, the period allowed is one month. If you want to take to mainland without paying any tax, it can be done after 5 years.

Last time it was 3 years, but after some filthy rich chap see the loophole by bought BMW or Mercs, engaged local people to “maintained” it by start engine everyday for 3 years, then after 3 years shift to main land.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 5:36 am

klk, better by secondhand Camry over there and take it to mainland!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 6:36 am

eifs said,
    October 19, 2007 @ 9:51 pm

just an info : Vios price here is B$23,000 (RM$46,000).. so sarawakians.. get them now hehe
    ————–
    Means Langkawi price of RM 59K, Toyota already make a handsome profits per unit! Sad to see NAP-compliant prices that is almost 2 x time the price in Brunei. WTF

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 9:20 am

eifs said,
    October 19, 2007 @ 9:51 pm

————–
    Means Langkawi price of RM 59K, Toyota already make a handsome profits per unit! Sad to see NAP-compliant prices that is almost 2 x time the price in Brunei. WTF

Haha, now I can guess whether G purposely make it more expensive than PR*TON in Langkawi, not to mention in Penisular after NAP? or it was just the UMW’s toy project?

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 1:43 pm

Proton Waja Auto selling at RM 38K and Manual RM 38K, so the rpicing of RM 46K will pose a serious competition to Waja. Any, selling at RM 59K is Toyota pricing to maximize profit or G policy to protect Proton is still remain best known to them.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 1:43 pm

The above Waja pricing is refer to Langkawi price.

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 3:18 pm

Buy 206 Bestari then..
    at 68,888 (full price w/ insurance) before discount (the discount can go up to 5,000.. nego lah)… puas hati car to own and drive. Setback? Second-hand value that is unfair. but standard for all euro car here.
    Whatever, test drive it yourself… then compare with any other car that you r interested… May the best car win.

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 20, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Went to Puchong Jaya showroom, the car is very basic and simple. As usual, price wise no value for money.

• wong (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:37 am

Its like, if you want branded stuff, you have to pay for it,good resale value..qualitywise? I don’t think so..and people can still afford, so the price won,t reduce that much..

• abtm (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:44 am

too expensive you bloodsuckers

• diana (Member) on Nov 20, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Oh dear… all the bashing.. I’m still getting it anyway.. just got my car valued this evening =) ……. Weeeeeeeeeee!!!!! *Throws my old proton down the garbage bin. *Evil laughters*

I’m getting a VIOS!

*Repeats chant*

Heh heh

• macdonald on Mar 26, 2009 at 11:49 pm

bought one first generation vios its verry comfortably and good lookin very stable in the road than many could know idont regreat and am very cormfortable,the only big problem is that there are only 30 units in my country andspare parts are not availble here in kenya

• it is very adorable and sporty

i luv the new version of vios

hopefully it still in the market after i finish my studies

yeeehaaaaa!

• Ishrat hussain on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

dear how can find the VIN/ production date and years of the japan made cars,
    i can find online. or is there any CD in the market, i am custom house agent , only three years old car allowed to import in Pakistan. there is Russian side we can get online manufacture date and year of all japan made cars.
    if required i can give you