The Nissan GT-R: driven by Autoweek!

Nissan GT-R

We’re only a few days away from the official public unveiling of the 2009 Nissan GT-R, but a few motoring magazines have already had their go at Nissan’s at long last attempt at the successor to the venerable R34 Skyline GT-R.

Nissan aims the car at the likes of the the Porsche 911 Turbo – nearly every manufacturer of a new “supercar” seems to have the 911 Turbo as the holy grail of benchmarks, an example is the recent Audi R8. AutoWeek magazine has a test drive report online and even compares the new GT-R with a 911 Turbo in a mini shootout of sorts, as a 911 Turbo had been provided by Nissan on the track day.

According to AutoWeek, the new engine is called the VR38 and sits slightly behind the front axle, with two of its 6 cylinders before the front axle and the other four behind it. The VR38 engine sends power to a GR6 twin-clutch 6-speed gearbox at the rear transaxle through a carbon fiber propellor shaft. Another shaft runs from the gearbox at the transaxle to the front axle for the front wheels. We now officially have shift times for this gearbox – 200ms. In comparison, Volkswagen’s DSG does upshifts in 8ms but unanticipated shifts that have not been preselected by the DSG can take up to 400ms.

The car uses Nissan’s new PM platform, or Prime Midship platform, which uses a combination of polypropylene, carbon composite and the usual metals used in a car chassis for its construction.

To read their account of 3 laps with the new Nissan GT-R around the Nurburgring, click here.

Nissan GT-R Press Photos Leaked
Nissan GT-R to come with 3.8 litre turbo V6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ojlee1 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 11:19 am

Mighty 3.8 liter turbo V6……. Lots of new high tech goodies……
    Tan Chong overhere definitely need to bring in this babe into our country.
    Long live to mighty GTR.
    Keep on the good work Nissan.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 11:56 am

has anyone ever seen the image of this GTR in a SUPER GT version? i wonder if SUPER GT will change to this car once its launched, to replace the 350z for the nissan models…

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 12:23 pm

Good car, but Malaysian dream on ……….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:24 pm

from the brief report..it seems its not the all out supercar…it seems to be jus too safe ! wer the engine takes center stage….maybe it was a short drive anyway…and i agree,99% of msian,DREAM ON !

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:29 pm

Its in our dreams ;)

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 1:51 pm

“Nissan aims the car at the likes of the the Porsche 911 Turbo – nearly every manufacturer of a new “supercar” seems to have the 911 Turbo as the holy grail of benchmarks,..”

Haha..you damn right on this Paul. Porsche 911 Turbo is the undisputed legendary supercar and still prosperously alive until today. Somehow this new GTR will make its presence this time deserve a worldwide acclaim. The name GTR itself is synonymous to the legend of street car racing in Japan.

Even though there are a lot of junk cars been produced everyday, mankind still have chances and hope to relish those the delicious and adrenalin pumping ones. Gracias Nissan !!

• szw (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 5:15 pm

nice but not my type of car .

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 9:43 pm

malaysians nevermind….we still got lotus.

oh wait, you dont get that cheap as well.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:01 am

That why Lotus are still rugi for these years… Even own country mother company sell the car so expensive…

Damn.. I think when this car reach this shore, must be the Naza guys again… I bet is gonna more then RM500k… Thx to NAP + AP, those cronies will happy; while consumer like us will kept on dreaming…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:26 am

wait few years before start seeing this in malaysia

• transformer (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:38 am

before this many adorned other makes…
    after detail of this cames out, they started to roamed back…

Nissan had many others goodies too… its time to open up your eyes clearly!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:34 pm

These guys sure enjoyed the short test drive. They might have pitted it against the 911 Turbo but based on all the comparisons I’ve read, I would say the new king in this category is the Audi R8… and I’m sure a new comparo will be done with the GT-R.

Out of my league but it’s still nice to dream a little. ;-)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 5:32 pm

its still a GTR, or a 911 turbo, and even a lotus.. handbuilt in the UK, in limited numbers and still highly rated by the motoring press.. what do you guys expect to pay for these cars, RM80,000?

Even the average wage earner in the UK or Europe can’t afford these cars.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:06 pm

I have seen a special scoop of this GTR in Japanese TV programme last night.
    Haha it’s awesome. The car had been driven into the studio and roamed heavily and relentlessly. Guess who’s the driver ? He’s among the most respected President/CEO in the corporate/automotive world….Carlos Ghosn. This gentleman is really the best.
    There was also a footage showing Ghosn took the host lady on ride with this GTR on the speedway and running at above 210 km/h. This Ghosn is really cool i must tell. The lady on the other hand scared out of shite and fidgeted on the seat.

It has been reported that production of GTR had been stopped in 2002 because it didn’t comply with Japanese emission gas restriction but this time Nissan claims the new revived GTR is not only cleaner and safer but it’s also more powerful, sophisticated fast and furious.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:21 pm

And one more thing, it came clear to me last night that the price will be put at above ï¿¥7~8000000. Well of course this is the cost imposed if you were in Japan and that’s what the CEO of Nissan told me…hehe. I’ve seen some Malaysians in Japan whose among of them are students, driving Skyline GTR of which are R32,R33 & even R34…but i doubt they can afford this new one. Haha but who knows …

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:32 am

R8 is not in the league of porsche turbo or the GTR. its in the carrera S or carrera S 4ws category if im not wrong.

either way, this forces porsche to up thier ante on both these fronts. dont forget Ferrari is the top dog to catch now….even for porsche turbo

though perhaps the r8 will get the gallardo v10 soon. though it would eat into its own market…being gallardo’s market.

• hetfield85 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:28 pm

I wish i can drive this beauty

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 7:21 pm

my friend in japan buy r33 just for around RM 6000..but i heard that now the student that study oversea wouldnt get ap anymore(correct me if wrong)..if i cannot get this..r33 pon cukup la..

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 1:02 am

rm6000. very cheap. beats a kancil anytime.

even slap on 300% import tax also still worth it.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 1:43 am

In Japan, a car over 5 years consider as old car… Their sport car like RX-7, skyline are cheap.. but when repair or maintenance needed it is expensive, especially the fuel price overthere… The RM6000 should be the money which they sell it to scrap.. Coz what i know even BMW are cheap before went to scrap also… That why a lot of rich guy son went there not to study but buy sport car and come back driving it, coz i met 1 guy driving a Civic type R 97′. He bought the real car secondhand below RM20k (++import back) at year 2000′, it just a 3 years car!

MITI will allowed AP for student, but the condition is the car cannot be sell within 5-10 years above & will be tax if sells depend on what car model… I have seen student drive skyline, subaru WRX & evo’s in Australia, and for Japan is nothing since their car is so CHEAP!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:10 pm

its rare now. skylines, wrx and evos are driven now by not so rich students/workers. nowadays its more like 350z’s, audi A4s/s4’s, bmws, lexus and benz. the shift is towards comfortable sports cars and will remain so for the near future.

problably would see some 2008 GTR’s soon since nissan australia will bring them in legit.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 7:24 pm

topgunthang, you’re right. Comparo was with a Carrera 4S and R8 “humbled” it. A V10 version to compete with the 911 Turbo will be ready in 2009.

Guys, here’s something that Paul didn’t mention about the GT-R.
    Gran Turismo Creators Designed Nissan GT-R Multi Function Display!
    There’s no standard meters in this car but an LCD screen, something like the S-Class but this looks more like a monitor than a meter. Read it here:
    http://www.mobilemag.com/content/100/354/C13673/

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 7:26 pm

Opps, sorry! Meters are there but this is the Display on the center dash.

• by3n (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 9:20 pm

i =AM NOT SO MUCH A SKYLINE PERSON….MORE TO SUBARU