TOKYO 2007 LIVE: second generation Mazda Atenza

When the new second generation Mazda 6 was launched, the press release specifically stated that particular car was the European model, and a separate North American model will be coming soon. Mazda unveiled the Mazda Atenza at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show today, which is essentially the JDM market name for the European second generation Mazda 6.

Unlike the European Mazda 6 which only seems to have one bumper and grille design, the Japanese market Mazda Atenza seems to have two different styles, perhaps representing a low spec and high spec model with different engines. The differences are small though, for example the rear lamp design one is red and the other is clear. There are also two different bumper and grille designs.

With these minor differences, is this considered a separate model and will be the one destined for North America? Or will the North American Mazda 6 be significantly different from the Japanese Atenza and the European Mazda 6? Well still have to wait to see what the North American one looks like, and then later wonder which model were going to get in our own market. Perhaps at the Los Angeles show next year or something.

The 2.0 litre baseline model makes 150 PS at 6,500rpm and 182Nm of torque at 4,500rpm and is mated to a 5-speed automatic gearbox. The new 2.5 litre MZR engine puts out 170 PS at 6,000rpm and 226Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. This particular engine is mated to a 5-speed auto for the front wheel drive versions, but the all wheel drive version is mated to a new 6-speed auto. Both 2.5 litre model gearboxes come with active adaptive shift control, a technology that first made its debut in the Mazda RX-8. The active adaptive shift control system has a slope control function and is able to evaluate both the gradient and winding of the road as well as driver intentions such as the acceleration and brake operation, enabling the selection of an optimum gear.

Mazda designed the Atenza’s paddle shifters to work the same way BMW designed their non-M car paddle shifters to work, the paddles on both sides of the steering wheel do the same thing, but you push either paddle away from you to downshift and pull the paddle towards you to upshift. I’ve already blogged about the car, so please check out the car’s details in this previous post to find out more information about available engine options and equipment.

The Mazda Atenza or the Mazda 6 as we know it looks pretty gigantuan in product shots but in reality when I saw it in person I felt that is not really that big, though it matches its D-segment peers like the new Accord and the new Camry in size, unlike the previous generation where the Mazda 6 looked more like a big C-segment instead. The interior looks like an evolution of the first generation Mazda 6. In fact, I suspect the trip computer multi-info display is a carry over component.

More photos after the jump, including new product shots.

2008 Mazda 6 – 2nd generation zoom-zoom: Photos
2008 Mazda 6 details and specifications

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:20 am

Veeery nice…like the interior..

• BMW fan (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:23 am

I like the car as a whole….just don’t like its smiley face front design…that applies to all mazda cars. I also think the interior can be improved…but apart from that…Nice car!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:44 am

To me its already a beautiful car. Looks like a modification from the previous lancer, but this one is more beautiful

• neoracing87 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 1:02 am

at first it was just buttons on steering wheels, now you can even scroll with a joystick on both sides… innovative yes, distracting maybe… but what the heck who cares its a mazda that looks like a lexus… good enuff for me.

• neoracing87 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 1:02 am

at first it was just buttons on steering wheels, now you can even scroll with a joystick on both sides… innovative yes, distracting maybe… but what the heck who cares its a mazda that looks like a lexus… good enuff for me.

• Paul Tan on Oct 25, 2007 at 1:08 am

audi has been using a scroller for quite sometime

• jhuan (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:04 am

The ‘WOW’ factor is very very high :). Esp the red M-6, it looks like smiling at others but also indicating ‘Hey, I am aggressive!’. Lovely lovely :)

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:17 am

Good looking exterior and nice design!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:23 am

As usual, some blind bashers and defenders would like to post comment this car design look-like-this-and-that as to compare to our local car that have limited innovation and technological advancement.

Hey Tokyo 2007 is world class motor show. I still remembered it is not like our KLIMS that it become more as a place to show off big boy toy for sport cars, “car show room” or become a place for some of the distributors to sell their models as the car come with selling price!

• ak03 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:48 am

with this kind of styling, mazda should have their own luxury brand like lexus and acura… new mazda6 is sure a lovely car..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:35 am

Paul Tan said

The Mazda Atenza or the Mazda 6 as we know it looks pretty gigantuan in product shots but in reality when I saw it in person…

Wow, did you really saw it in person? Where and when?
    expected that you’re in Tokyo 2007 Live? Lucky you!

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:14 am

ak03 said,

October 25, 2007 @ 8:48 am

with this kind of styling, mazda should have their own luxury brand like lexus and acura… new mazda6 is sure a lovely car..

mazda did have luxury brand in the 90s but i guess not very sucess. i guess big financial burden terminated it. if not wrong they used 2 call Eunos.
    btw cant wait 4 the mps version of m6.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:20 am

Hmm, the JDM bumper design looks kinda neat too… Man, it’s such a gorgeous looking car… Mazda Forever!

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 11:48 am

brilliant design… i cant spot any flaw design on this mazda… should be a rival against the current civic in terms of lines and design… btw, it should look best if a much fiercer wheels are fitted in… such as using the BMW M5 wheels?

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:19 pm

very nice. i like it

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:32 pm

We should see this car here in year 2007+3=2010.

• xyz (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 12:52 pm

Nice. Been drooling over it since its sneak peak picture. However, i wonder where the passenger air bag is going to come out from. The dashboard there seems plain.

• williaml (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 1:43 pm

Malaysia should launch new Mazda6 after the launching in Singapore, most probably 2nd quarter 2008 or earlier.

Zoom Zoom…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 2:29 pm

yeah i like thta man! so much zen esign..wow

• petulance (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 2:51 pm

albagmane,

The Mazda 6 is not competing with the Honda Civic. They belong in different categories. Its rival from Honda is the Accord, not the Civic.

The Mazda 3 competes against the Civic.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 3:21 pm

which is the high spec, this car is nice, nicer than the new accord and camry

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 4:17 pm

Aiyoh!!! what a bad design Atenza..
    “I am 6.5 feet tall”.. sure not enough headroom on the backside lah!”.. (where do i heard this phrase? )

The blue wagon good to be as coffin car, i don’t know.. in malaysia, wagon is hard to see on the road. I saw a mercz wagon.. feel weird!..

Erm.. think that’s too many button on the sterring. Which is bad if accidental touch / press. Also hard to place hand.. Not so practical to me.. They must reduce the button.

Just so so… (hei?!!! where’s the new rotary engine?)

• williaml (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 4:44 pm

First, how many 6.5 feet tall driver in Malaysia?

Do you see Estima used as coffin car before? Mazda6 Wagon is not available in Malaysia, why you worry?

I don’t think there are too many buttons on steering wheel cos it is very straight forward usage, left for audio control and right for cruise control, paddle shift gear engaged when you drive in manual mode…

New generation rotary engine is on Mazda Taiki. You fly to Tokyo to view it?

Zoom Zoom…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm

When too many cars company are owned and controlled by a giant parent, this is what you could expect, pretty much similar and dull in every aspect due to overused sharing of platform and significant commonality.

• KY (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 5:37 pm

oi u ada kat jepun sekarang ka?

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 7:14 pm

williaml said,
    October 25, 2007 @ 4:44 pm
    ——–
    you dont know ah? they were so many.. many many many..
    Believe it! , look into past proton topic.. many of them over 6 feet height :D
    Ripleys said, “You don’t believe it? BELIEVE IT!”.. :D

anyway, not had lot of money like paul.. can go to japan when he want :p ..
    Japan currency also high.. Food also not cheap there.. Renting a cube box hotel for sleep space also expesive.. (YEAH! BUT THEIR CAR H3LL CHEAP! ) . :p

….
    boring with normal engine, just adding vvvvvv and ttttt only..
    should be great if there’s many rotary kind of engine. :D

• kington (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 7:25 pm

I’m still salivating over the current Mazda 6 2.3.. and now with this? I really got to save money now….

The rear quarter view resembles the GS300 but overall this design is gonna sell them more cars.. just look at it and i wanna buy liao… though it may not be more tech advanced than Hondas and Toyotas, this is possibly the first time i wanna buy a car purely because of its looks.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 7:48 pm

william, mazda3 launched 3 years later than SG. Unless C&C got alot of APs , dun bargain with Jepun and grab whatever allocated else no mazda6s for C&C. Tunggu sampai org tak mau baru dapat.

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 8:38 pm

urgh, so nice it hurts.

the family car for the driver’s daddy!!

if this car sells for around the same price as Accord and Camry, i could see it take a large chunk out of toyota and honda’s sales.
    IMO this car can sell on looks alone!

plus its chassis is based on the newest generation Ford Mondeo of UK, and the mondeo itself is currently the benchmark for the ride and handling of this segment, i bet this 6 is not only a poser but can also really drive.

• Paul Tan on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:23 pm

er, i cant go japan whenever i want, im part of a journalist trip to japan by honda malaysia

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 9:44 pm

Very funny this Big Mouth Puke …….. got so many 6′ footer in Malaysia. Maybe he use the 1 feet measurement but equal to 8″ only, or he don’t know how to measure human height, or he go into Hutan Rompin and encounter Bigfoot ……..Whining and ranting like those who stay in Tg. Rambutan.

• szw (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 10:35 pm

learning it from toyota and honda .

• wong (Member) on Oct 25, 2007 at 11:15 pm

first Mit. Lancer and now this good looking Mazda 6,the interior is really pleasing to the eyes,not too ‘busy’,the steering controls once use to it, it really helps..nice car…

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:26 am

Good looking and practical car, well prepare for future competition!

• transformer (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 10:37 am

guess money will start flowing into Mazda pocket once it start launching the 6!

• williaml (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 10:54 am

I know Mazda3 launched in Malaysia was late but also due to Japan wanted to supply us with the facelift version which they released in July 2006, that’s why we got it in Nov 2006. Just look at Mazda5, less than one year after Japan launched, it came to Malaysia…

Zoom Zoom…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 1:43 pm

better sv ur money for this car than owning the accord or camry…this car really good inside n outside

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:34 pm

#
    bmpower said,

October 25, 2007 @ 4:17 pm

Aiyoh!!! what a bad design Atenza..
    “I am 6.5 feet tall”.. sure not enough headroom on the backside lah!”.. (where do i heard this phrase? )

The blue wagon good to be as coffin car, i don’t know.. in malaysia, wagon is hard to see on the road. I saw a mercz wagon.. feel weird!..

Erm.. think that’s too many button on the sterring. Which is bad if accidental touch / press. Also hard to place hand.. Not so practical to me.. They must reduce the button.

Just so so… (hei?!!! where’s the new rotary engine?)

#
    bmpower said,

October 25, 2007 @ 7:14 pm

williaml said,
    October 25, 2007 @ 4:44 pm
    ——–
    you dont know ah? they were so many.. many many many..
    Believe it! , look into past proton topic.. many of them over 6 feet height :D
    Ripleys said, “You don’t believe it? BELIEVE IT!”.. :D

anyway, not had lot of money like paul.. can go to japan when he want :p ..
    Japan currency also high.. Food also not cheap there.. Renting a cube box hotel for sleep space also expesive.. (YEAH! BUT THEIR CAR H3LL CHEAP! ) . :p

….
    boring with normal engine, just adding vvvvvv and ttttt only..
    should be great if there’s many rotary kind of engine. :D

A good example of limitations of blogs versus forums. Nitwits and idiots can’t be banned. Sigh…

• neoracing87 (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 8:00 am

BigFish said,
    October 25, 2007 @ 8:23 am

As usual, some blind bashers and defenders would like to post comment this car design look-like-this-and-that as to compare to our local car that have limited innovation and technological advancement.

Hey Tokyo 2007 is world class motor show. I still remembered it is not like our KLIMS that it become more as a place to show off big boy toy for sport cars, “car show room” or become a place for some of the distributors to sell their models as the car come with selling price!
    —————————————————————————————————————
    sorry just wondering who on earth are you ranting about? no one bashed about the local manufacturers did they?…and what’s wrong with commenting on how the design inspiration could have came from? last time i read a comment means a remark expressing an opinion my fren… think before writing my fren… the world isn’t against you

• williaml (Member) on Oct 27, 2007 at 11:20 am

Nitwits and idiots would not post comment here…

Zoom Zoom…

• myviRS (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 4:51 pm

At last.. Caldina’s rival is here!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:08 pm

looking good for mazda again. sell out with the 3….this one most likely will increase thier market share again. just too bad thier engines will remain the same till 2010 revamp.

good to see the usual mondeo matchup. maybe accord euro as well.

• mel5582 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 9:51 am

Now that’s one helluva sexay car!