Karamjit leads the FAMRC Rally

karamjit singh rally

Karamjit Singh is back in action again, currently vying for the Overall Champion title of the FELDA-AAM Malaysian Rally Championship 2007 (FAMRC) at the oil palm plantations near Kuantan this Saturday and Sunday.

He is currently leading the championship but needs to score for the 4th round this weekend as he did not manage to score any during round 3, unlike the first two rounds where he managed to get first place. The checkered flag for Round 3 was snagged by lead drive Kan Chee Hong and co-driver Bernard Chin for the Perodua M5 Rally team.

Round 4 this weekend will include more than 20 cars including foreign participants, and will span 2 days – 3rd to 4th November 2007 in Kuantan, Pahang.

“Last year the drivers found the stages to be demanding with a lot of twists and turns, uphill and downhill roads. It will be even more challenging this year if it continues to rain, as the slippery roads will truly put to the test the skills of the drivers and their cars,” said Clerk of the Course for the Championship, Tengku Shaharin Abu Bakar Almarhum Tengku Suleiman.

The First Leg will see participants compete in 8 Special stages (SS) comprising SS1 Tepi Sungai (11.94km), SS2 Ada Tramac (26.54km), SS3 Treler Kuning (7.74km), SS4 Kilang (3.78km), SS5 Tepi Sungai (11.94km), SS6 Ada Tarmac (26.54km), SS7 Treler Kuning (7.74km) and SS8 Kilang (3.78km), covering a total SS distance of 100km. For Leg Two, participants will be covering a total SS distance of 50.54km. Leg Two comprises SS9 Jambatan Best (10.26km), SS10 Pondok (5.86km) and SS11 Sekolah (9.15km). After a twenty minute service break, participants will head to SS12 Jambatan Best (10.26km) then to SS13 at Pondok (5.86km) before finishing at SS14 Sekolah 9.15km). The total Rally covers 150.54km.

The flag off will be at Dataran Kuantan at 12 noon on the 3rd of November 2007.

karamjit singh rally

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:19 pm

this sabtu

• indigo (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

It’s a shame that G didn’t support him financial as he is one of the best driver in the world. Can send someone to space for nothing but not a national hero who has proven records.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:31 pm

Do u want to know why G no support him? Look at his name and skin colour… Do u know what is bp or non-bp. They rather sent a bp to space wif billions of money, rather then support a world class rally racer…

Anywayz if i am rich, i will sure sponser karamjit to go world rally championship WRC world wide! Karamjit GO!

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:31 pm

I wonder how they name the stages

• yeikloen (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Sir you are one determine driver… I wishes you all the best and show the people that without any assistance or support you can still excel.

I wish you all the best…..

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 10:54 pm

What is this rally? Any significant nos. of visitor?

• ojlee1 (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 11:01 pm

In this “BOLEH LAND”, G only concentrate on those that really “BOLEH” to show or better describe as present our G to the world. Ex. around the world in that so call yatch that rite now park at the Porto Malai at P Langkawi. For me at least built a museum to show that yatch to the world. LOL………..

What WRC is to our G if compare to F1. So our G more focus on F1. But heard that our “BOLEH LAND” Sepang F1 Circuit not proper maintain until the FIA might consider to withdraw form here. LOL…………

So in this “BOLEH LAND” we must think of something that really can show to the international world rather than some rally racing. Even that WRC is well known and recognise by FIA. Mayb we can consider to be the first to race in space with our national car. LOL

But for me, if i am rich too, i will do wat LittleFire85 said. But ‘who am i’ (Jacky Chan’s movie) in this “BOLEH LAND”. Anyway keep on the good work Karamjit. And again with the same old fashion closing—– WISH YOU ALL THE BEST.

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 30, 2007 at 11:43 pm

You guys are totally rite,the G here will not support non bp,no matter how good the athletes are. If popular sports like Squash & Badminton are not manage by private bodies,i think untill know we might still not yet having any players that stands on the number 1 ranking in the respective sports.

Still remember last 2 years,if i m not wrong,when Karamjit won the one of the stage in the Asia Pasific rally champioship,our beloved Sports Ministry said that they will do anything in their best to promote Karamjit to the top of Asia/World. But see where Karamjit end up now?He still struggling to look for sponsorship from private sector. I am xtualy very sad to see what a waste of a star & talent by the G. Here all the things is politics…politics…poli bla bla bla…Just take football for cry sake,when too many politicical people involved,we will not ever see any improvement from it.

If lets say one day Karamjit looks for other country sponsorship & might need to represent the respective country,u can imagine what our G will said bout it…& Patriotism issues will be the main topics in the beloved Parlimean AGAIN…

Send some one to space to promote our country,i wonder why dont the G do something more relistic that can bring more positive effect & image for our country?BOLEH Land?maybe in the point of view of Toll,Petrol,goods increasing with no ending,we really BOLEH!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:09 am

ya its an opprotunity missed,talents like him dont come everyday….if he was any othr nationality he wd have had the full backing…..really wasted….

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:16 am

Totally agree with u guys. Karamjit won both the APRC and WRC Group N championship back in 2001 while he was with PERT. However, EON stop sponsoring because no money. But what about Petronas??? WTF can’t afford to sponsor him alone meh. It is said to see talent people not being full supported by our G.

All the best to the Flying Singh!!!

• arcana (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:17 am

i agree with this…..sad to say that our world class talent is not appreciated
    a real pity to him and somewhat i feel disgusted by those potential sponsors who turn a blind eye on something that definitely can bring us national pride.

• chanel (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 12:49 am

indigo said,
    October 30, 2007 @ 10:20 pm

It’s a shame that G didn’t support him financial as he is one of the best driver in the world. Can send someone to space for nothing but not a national hero who has proven records.

=====================

yes totally agree with all the comments above…..just don’t talk about Karam.
    remember Alex Young?? our very first M’sian F1 driver…..he got to fork out all his resources to get the sponsors……

hey all the tax payers, we may have to pay another trip for “lucky bp” to ISS Space in 2009/2010.

that for all, not a right place to comment more at Paul’s site, I’m here for cars only…..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 1:14 am

Can’t they take some of the Angkasawan budget and spend on Karamjit? No need so many billboards and bus wraps around town and no need to send 2nd guy up into space.

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 2:26 am

Proud of this guy. I don’t think the gov are turning a blind eye on him. They shouldn’t be. He’s going to need corporate sponsors rather than the gov. though.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 6:33 am

What to do, BOLEHLAND mah.

The Flying Singh is of the wrong race.

The G is fine for spending billions for a Spaceflight participant..aka. Space Tourist.

• ed0r (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 7:59 am

http://members.forbes.com/global/2006/0605/035.html

Should we go there and them then since the G doesn’t care? LOL

Go Karamjit!

• windchaser (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 9:15 am

Tips for Mr. Karamjit to get sponsorship from G : Masuk agama Muslim…
    hehehe…

• Fox (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 9:27 am

LittleFire85 said,
    October 30, 2007 @ 10:31 pm

I can’t agree with this racist statement. Please look into the Motorsport sponsorhip. Wo sponsored Fairuz Fauzy? Government? Who sponsored Jazeman? Government? Cmon. Understand the situation instead of making bias statement. I’m very sure that U know that Petronas once sponsored Karamjit plus Shahrul Yuzi of TVK plus the British Touring cars plus the Superbike Team and all of the sudden they pull off most of the sponsorhip.
    Motorsport needs tons of money. I’m very sure KBS alone can’t afford to spend millions for only one team. Again, It depend on lots of factor for this spnsorship program and nothing to do with the skin color or religion or races.

• Mb_321 (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 9:41 am

I read somewhere KS dont want to take G sponsorship because he beleived that he should not spending rakyat money on his hobby or interest.

I guess there’s no issue of G not sponsoring cos indirectly Petronas, EON and Proton had sponsored PERT since Saga time until its disclosure.

And now it is Alex Yoong’s A1GP turn. Via Ministry of Tourism and Proton.

I beleive rather than sponsoring any particular person maybe G should invest on building racing track for rakyat which I guess will have more impact on us rather than on global level.

• gonggok (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 9:56 am

Non bumi thus no sponsor??

Come on give me a break. How many years did EON support him? What about Alex Yoong? How much did the Govt spend on his Minardi drive? Even after he boo boo that they still sponsored his AI drive… What about the badminton team – most of them are non-bumi…What about Nicole David – her biggest sponsor is CIMB – last time I checked was bumi owned.

Some people like to make general statements that just reveals their own prejudices.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 10:29 am

come on guy.this is car forum.not racist forum.paul, i think u need to do something for above comment.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 10:32 am

Aiyo. Please blacklist racist from this site! Always the same statement.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 10:40 am

plz dun talk about racist thing here…this is car forum…

• shaif (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 11:05 am

Actually its in sport that talent will be appreciated more rather than looking at his colour or skin. And motorsport that focus on one individual which need millions and govt can’t afford to support one person only. Its the people money and need to spend wisely like building a gymnasium, sports program, and focus its financial assistance to many people.Billions spend on sports program in RMK 9, so Govt has done its job.
    Sports like this need private sector assistance that making millions in our country. Some company has social responsibility that reflected on their donation or financial assistance to sports programmes. But many more don’t give a damn about sports especially non-elites sports like this. Thats the rational, not races.

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Agree wit shaif. Even if gahmen sponsor this guy, will Msians be ok wit it? Motorsports are very expensive, so if gahmen do sponsor him, expect ppl to rant abt “it shud be used to build hospitals, improve schools blabla”, “what for champion in rally? such unpopular sport unlike F1 blabla”. In other words, gahmen will be damned if they do, damned if they don’t. Angkasawan or rally, either way ppl will rant abt the money spent are wasted even if Karamjit turned out to be good.

Only ppl wit true passion for rally will sponsor him I guess. There are few of those in Msia, unlike in UK, where passion for motorsport is burning brightly……unless rempit-ism is considered motorsport, that’s the oni passion we have, wakakakaka

Msia boleh B)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 3:22 pm

indigo said,
    October 30, 2007 @ 10:20 pm

It’s a shame that G didn’t support him financial as he is one of the best driver in the world. Can send someone to space for nothing but not a national hero who has proven records

(that’s true…………….I support him)

• indigo (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 5:22 pm

Aiyo why like that, ppl have their own views. I don’t see Motorsport is an “expensive” sports as Petronas can sponsor foreign team. Think again, Karamjit is not the “only” person. Sad but true G gave him up. The angkasawan thing is a waste of money, if you guys can suggest to build more race tracks, hospitals which can benefit the rakyat, the why not?

Hey no racist statement here but it is the truth. If Kedah can be the hub of producing rice, why have to go to KL and buid new paddy fields?

See the point? We don’t need to force ourselves to let people know how good we can be but to rather show the world how good Malaysian is.

• szw (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 5:48 pm

a real evo .

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 6:11 pm

I don’t see if with government’s participation or not has anything to do with Paul’s report. But I can understand the frustration that we all felt. He is one damn good driver and it is sad that he couldn’t make it to the world stage in WRC group A and carrying our Jalur Gemilang with it.

But to participate in WRC, one needs a big financial support. It’s really BIG. How much would a group A/super Rally car would cost these days? Is it RM1-2 millions? And the cost to participate for the whole season? I don’t know. 200 millions? 2 billions? I’m sure people will damn the government if they spent that much on a single type of sports.

I won’t put the blame entirely on the government. Corporate sector should play a bigger role in motorsports industries. More sponsors are needed for any kind of sports, not just Rally. And for Karamjit Singh, he should’ve take up the offer that he has got from the international teams who can give him the path to the world stage. If he did, he’s probably on par with Gronholm, Solberg and Loeb, today.

Until then, keep watching.

P.s: Paul, do you have any infor/update on FAMRC going into WRC calendar in 2009?

• bestofamat (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 6:21 pm

if you all want to support him, just go to this url http://www.teamtempler.com/blog/

• transformer (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Doesn’t really makes sense when a 95Millions space ride can afford, but not a mere WRC… Don’t bolehshit! We had eye and ears, we know what shit they’re doing… They will know it in the next poll!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 31, 2007 at 11:13 pm

What so big deal about this rally in our palm oil estate? What is the fuse on government sponsorship! This is a big boy game, either the driver fork out his monies, or get sponsorship from private sector for their advertisement. Tax payers monies should be no-no to all non-community and no benefits to social welfare endeavor!

• wong (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 1:30 am

Don’t know much about this rally stuff,but I do know Karamjit is a great driver,..and all the above racist remarks are really uncalled-for,not helping his career at all, …the best to Karamjit Singh!!!

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 12:40 pm

transformer :
    dude..the rm95mills are for the sukhoi jets, u moron..(which included in contract to sent our angkasawan to space)..

bigfish :
    agreed wif u..that is so true..not all ppl will agree to pay their taxes for sumtin that doesnt benefit all of us..i repeat..US MALAYSIANS!!

and i am a bp..
    dun juz blame the G if u gave up wif the way u grew up..
    *sighs*

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 1:11 pm

#
    rufus-x said,

November 1, 2007 @ 12:40 pm

transformer :
    dude..the rm95mills are for the sukhoi jets, u moron..(which included in contract to sent our angkasawan to space)..

bigfish :
    agreed wif u..that is so true..not all ppl will agree to pay their taxes for sumtin that doesnt benefit all of us..i repeat..US MALAYSIANS!!

and i am a bp..
    dun juz blame the G if u gave up wif the way u grew up..
    *sighs*
    ————————————————————–

maybe a lot of malaysian didnt know that all the angkasawan thing included in the sukhoi contract.some malaysian people which didnt know that will say blindly.anyway,this is car forum and not political forum.so we should back to the topic.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 1:16 pm

one more thing,we rely to much on petronas to invest in motosport.what happen to other rich company?maxis?bankers?naza?all this get maybe get more that billion profit.so why not invest some in motosport.all they want is to eat all their profit by them self only.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 2:37 pm

true..
    i log into this web to see n talk cars n getting infos about motoring techs..
    comments n bashings are tolerable..but not racism..
    (which i think some of the racist didnt even know the diffs between religions n races..simply saying all irritating stuffs..wat for..? if u dun like ur country then pls find ur own elsewhere..there’s alot more wanna be in this country..be thankful ok?)

wat is it that u ppl are complaining that d G is more to BP n not non-BP..?
    to me all is the same..no matter who runs the country…
    bias will happen no matter wat race/religion u are..

if u’ve been ‘spoiled’ like the BPs from birth..
    do u think it wud make a difference in ur life now or ever is it..?
    i think not..humans are prone to laziness…thats the truth!!

at least u can be proud of wat u are now..
    without being ‘spoiled’ from the beginning that is..

sorry all for the comment..
    juz wanted those who commented without using their brains to learn where they are actually before making such statements that could lead to something unnecessary….
    *sighs*

ok,back to the topic~ :)

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 5:36 pm

He’s a good driver and a professional,just like doctors,musicians,artist,artiste,pilots,etc..so I agree with Bigfish,its all about sponsorship from private sectors…if not profitable than they are not interested..cheers..

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 11:09 pm

He should win it… if not ask him to gantung his racing gloves and helmet! By far he has the fastest, most updated car and experience. While the rest are driving wrecks and cars that has been used for rallying for more than 10 year.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 11:57 pm

gonggok said,

Non bumi thus no sponsor??

Come on give me a break. How many years did EON support him? What about Alex Yoong? How much did the Govt spend on his Minardi drive? Even after he boo boo that they still sponsored his AI drive… What about the badminton team – most of them are non-bumi…What about Nicole David – her biggest sponsor is CIMB – last time I checked was bumi owned.

Some people like to make general statements that just reveals their own prejudices.

—————————————————————

Perhaps Gonggok does know who Hanifah Yoong Abdullah a.k.a Hanifah Yoong Yin Fah is! Not only he is Alex Yoong’s father but is also is his backbone to this racing career. Its no secret that he converted to Islam so as ensure Alex attains sufficient sponsorship to race. Despite being the biggest joke in F1 to date, he still gets enough money to race in A1 (which again is turing into a joke – if you do follow A1GP, you should know what I mean).

Yes, its true most of our nation badminton players are Chinese. But do you know who is the patron to BAM? It was our former “first lady” (and I wasn’t talking about the late Endon)! Now Proton is the main (perhaps only sponsor) of our badminton team. The former PM’s wife and Proton…. you see the connection?

CIMB (you very own words, a bumi owned bank) is Nicol David’s sponsor. Anybody who has an IQ slightly bigger than his shoe size will agree that Nicol is a natural talent who also works extremely hard. After all, she has made it to being world number one and stayed there thus far. But my guess that many don’t know that she was once asked by some CIMB directors to remove her cross which she wears as a locket on her neck chain. Reason being, “we can’t promote Christianity in a muslim country”. Now some how Nicol still wears her cross as I would guess that CIMB bank couldn’t find a decent malay girls wearing a tudung who plays squash! So they all shut up and continued to sponsor her. They wven realise that the second, third and fourth best squash players in Malaysia are all non-malays.

Now this message may be deleted due to it being so sensetive but at least I have said my piece which are all factual. We do like in a country that is bias but that has only made some of us stronger. Thank you for the biasness.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 7:18 am

CIMB bank is under bp? not CINA INDIA MELAYU BANK ka???

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 8:50 am

Ralliace :
    maybe u are true n i can feel ur anger..
    buat as i said before..
    no matter who runs the country,biasness will still happen..

no need to go way beyond the globe..
    juz look at our ur neighbour..(south side if u still dun get it..)
    bias..no matter u admit it or not rite?

so,wats the complaints are all about?
    everywhere its the same ok?

if u got the power..
    then all u do if save ur own kind rite?

n here in malaysia..
    do u really suffer..?
    had not enough food?
    no place to live..?
    wat..?

again,be thankful…:)

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 9:25 am

You are absolutely right, Rufus-X. That is why I actually thankful for the bias situation (my last sentence of my previous posting says it). It has only made me stronger and to work harder.

Peace.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 11:38 am

:) peace bro..

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 11:51 pm

the time when that malaysian went to space was a national disgrace though. no doubt about that. unless this guy was fully trained aeronautical engineer and working with nasa on important projects or any other space program of other countries for a long time then maybe it will be national pride.

paying for a ticket to hitch a ride doesnt count.

anyway, was that his own private money or was it tax payer money used to buy the ticket?

wat cars are the others driving?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 11:42 am

firstly, many of you have your facts wrong.

Tracks: “But what about Petronas??? WTF can’t afford to sponsor him alone meh”

PERT stands for Petronas Eon Racing Team. The team is also sponsored by PROTON. I believe Proton sponsored several million in that period to Karam together with eon and petronas to help him achieve his world championship win.

on A1 Team Malaysia, the govt didnt sponsor Alex 1 cent. Proton were the main sponsors for the 1st 2 seasons. for the 3rd season, Proton are again the main sponsor, but this time, jointly with TDC.

and to the people who posted their dissatisfaction with alex, please la.. grow up. the team produced fantastic results for the 1st and 2nd season with relatively few sponsors. They out-raced many bigger “racing nations” (japan comes to mind) and finished 5th and 6th overall in the championships. This year, they have so far had 2 bad races, and already some idiots are saying the team is useless..

GROWUP. its only 2 races out of the whole season. and the season just started.

• bpkid (Member) on Nov 06, 2007 at 7:17 am

#
    windchaser said,

October 31, 2007 @ 9:15 am

hehehe…

—————————————————————————

Excuse me windchaser, think first before you comment, OK?

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:26 pm

windchaser said,

October 31, 2007 @ 9:15 am

hehehe…

hee…..! so funny, it’s getting a little bit racist here lol…. Karamjit will become a Mamak selling Roti John at the kaki lima, no more rally driver. hee! hee! i stomachace already….:P