Both Proton Persona and Perodua Myvi doing well

After reading two pieces of news in the papers recently about our two national car manufacturers, I found something slightly odd about how the Perodua Myvi and the Proton Persona are doing in terms of sales.

Despite Malaysian preferences for 3 box sedans, the sales of the Perodua Myvi has not dropped at all and it is still selling between 8,000 to 9,000 units a month despite being in the market for over two years and approaching the time for the usual mid life facelift soon, assuming a 5 year product cycle. There is still a three month backlog. And Perodua themselves admit they do not know why.

In the meanwhile, the Proton Persona is doing great as well, with 19,840 units so far in the first three months at last count. Bookings for the Saga has reached 31,455 units, thanks to the current low price. Half of the Persona orders have already been delivered, while 72% of the RM26,999 Proton Saga bookings are on the road now.

Waiting list for the Persona currently ranges from 1.5 months to 2.5 months for the base line model, 2-3 months for the medium line and 3-4 months for the high line.

You would think that the fact that the Proton Persona is doing so well is partly because it has been stealing some Perodua Myvi sales, but it turns out that the Perodua Myvi sales figures have not suffered at all – not even a small 1,000 unit per month drop can be seen, and this is in a market where both cars are in similiar price ranges AND the Persona is of the preferred 3-box sedan format.

Response to the recently launched Toyota Vios has also been encouraging, so where are all these new buyers coming from? Have they all been holding back for a proper 3 box sedan so long?

Proton Persona: Proton’s New Sedan Details
Perodua Viva and Perodua Myvi loan comparison
Perodua Viva and Perodua Myvi specs comparison

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 3:33 pm

I think we need to wait another quarter. Probably by then we should see the effect of Persona to Myvi sales.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 3:38 pm

hmmm… proton really improve their quality liao meh? I never sit in persona b4.. i hope when i sit in it, it wont disappoints me…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 3:40 pm

maybe coz of the G people pay rise?? got extra money?? :)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 3:47 pm

wait n see how new toyota vios and honda city will effect myvi and persona sales..anyway,paultan, do you have latest news about waja cps and gen2 facelift?

• timber8115 (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 3:47 pm

hi fellow friends,

Just to keep you all updated. My colleague just booked a VIVA. and guess what the P2 salesman said to my colleague? For those who plan to buy MYVI, please hold on your wallets as they are going to reduce the MYVI price.
    This is bocause P1 is coming out with a BLm at the 1st half of the year.
    So in order for P2 to remain conpetitive in pricing, the have to cut the price as they have the same range of specs and price. Is just that P1 BLM got a butt….
    My two cents….. sharing……..

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:11 pm

I have the “salotapeless” Proton BLM a.k.a the new proton saga photos…

• infinity (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:26 pm

BW said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 4:11 pm

I have the “salotapeless” Proton BLM a.k.a the new proton saga photos…

————————————————————
    care to share them with us??

• azrai (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:35 pm

I think I know the answer. These two cars caters for different people. MYVI buyers mostly will be women, a young man and woman and concious about fuel usage. Maybe the 1st time buyer due to high price of ViVA. For the persona, it’s a family car with a proper boot. Different people, different needs.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:38 pm

I did send the photos to paul but then he din post it… Maybe because he scared kena problems or etc… By the way, the rear of the new saga looks a bit like Audi style…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:44 pm

I think the figures is merely the actual units delivered to buyer.

Maybe, for MYVI, the figure is delivery for backlog orders, vis a vis the Persona is first month delivery. The actual figure which will reflect true demand / direct competition for this 2 cars can only be measurable in 3 mths to come. By then only we can see which model survives.

Viva BLM, sure can tapau P2…….

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Hmmm… Actually myvi is quite problematic… My brother’s myvi always gives him headache, last week baru jak major gear oil leaking till my whole car porch is oil on the floor… just like u take the whole bottle of oil and pour it all out on the floor… Flooded..

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Well done. P2. Thanks for providing us Malaysians with years of reliable and affordable ride i.e. Myvi, kancils, kelissas, etc.

As for P1, i can only pity it’s owners and hope for P1s LIQUIDATION.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Yeah.. Kelisa rocks… And myvi also… except for ugly looking viva

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:09 pm

#
    BW said,

November 7, 2007 @ 4:57 pm

Yeah.. Kelisa rocks… And myvi also… except for ugly looking viva

plus overprice car..

• windchaser (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:21 pm

hmm… That’s really odd.
    Recently on the road I can see more new Personas than new MyVis.
    I thought MyVi cars had been defeated already…
    Viva is even worse, I hardly see one new Viva on the road recently.

MyVi’s quality is OK so far.
    I got so many colleagues buying MyVis, most of them are quite satisfied with their cars except MyVi auto’s fuel consumption.
    I personally think that Viva’s price really should be reduced.

Anyway, GOOD LUCK to both Proton and Perodua!! Add oil !!

• eantautjk (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:22 pm

Heard from some colleague who is doing HP financing, buying Proton is also a way to earn cash. Salesmen are declaring through their invoices that the cars sold are High Line even though they only sell a B-line model.

These mean banks will be financing more than the value of the car. Since this is 100% or more loan, the buyer either don’t need to pay any down payment or they share the excess amount in cash with the salesman.

Banks are unable to detect since they never inspect the physical car and depends largely on those sales invoices.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:26 pm

windchaser said,
    Anyway, GOOD LUCK to both Proton and Perodua!! Add oil !!
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Haha add oil… Next time just say all the best la… How can u take mandarin and convert into ang mo language? lol funny la…

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:45 pm

a lot of people still can afford a brand new car,…..happy driving and BEWARE OF CON SALESMAN…

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:50 pm

timber8115 said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 3:47 pm

hi fellow friends,

Just to keep you all updated. My colleague just booked a VIVA. and guess what the P2 salesman said to my colleague? For those who plan to buy MYVI, please hold on your wallets as they are going to reduce the MYVI price.
    ————————————-
    icic, myvi price next year will drop. i heard there will be 1.5l version for myvi next year.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Persona really mempersonakan. I wish to get one soon. Guys, please don’t
    compare Persona and MyVi. Totally different class. You should compare Persona with Vios or City.

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 5:59 pm

The topic was Persona vs Myvi. Anyway, i guess both car were brought into the picture due the similiarity in prices.(People compare items to items of similiar value within their limited budget..apple to apple comparison. I for one won’t want to compare the Persona to the vios or city; since Vios & City are RM80K cars.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 6:57 pm

akshen_kamen said,

November 7, 2007 @ 5:09 pm

plus overprice car..
    Yeah… What to do?

• ys (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:18 pm

maybe malaysian now have more cash in hand (From stock market maybe) or already can’t wait anymore longer to own a car.
    Either persona or myvi is actually the best of most malaysian can affort unless those “oversea” manufacturer drop their car price.
    really looking forward if Myvi launched with a 1.5l engine.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:20 pm

i think that was a long time a go when i saw new car with the plastic bumper without paint..but p2 bring the nostalgia back with viva..haha just jocking..i wonder how daihatsu feel when watch their car just using plastic bumper..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:25 pm

sory typo..i mean joking..hehe

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:32 pm

#
    akshen_kamen said,

November 7, 2007 @ 7:25 pm

sory typo..i mean joking..hehe
    U watch too many porno is it? haha

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:42 pm

haha..BW..i’m not..back to the topic

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:49 pm

what really surprised me is that a lot of people still buying saga.. hmmm

• whodz (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 7:54 pm

Myvi vs persona, these two vehicle is two different classes. As earlier posts, I would say different class of peoples will need different types of cars. The buying power is still quite strong here in Malaysia despite high inflation and increasing fuel price. I think it’s Malaysian style to still buying cars though they actually can’t afford it without 9 years loan. No offense, I’m one of them. But, it’s a phenomena that has been built 50 years ago. It’s a style, it’s Malaysian. huh.

oot: BW can you give me the blm pic to whoodz[at]googlemail.com

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 8:56 pm

#
    whodz said,

November 7, 2007 @ 7:54 pm

Myvi vs persona, these two vehicle is two different classes. As earlier posts, I would say different class of peoples will need different types of cars. The buying power is still quite strong here in Malaysia despite high inflation and increasing fuel price. I think it’s Malaysian style to still buying cars though they actually can’t afford it without 9 years loan. No offense, I’m one of them. But, it’s a phenomena that has been built 50 years ago. It’s a style, it’s Malaysian. huh.

oot: BW can you give me the blm pic to whoodz[at]googlemail.com
    ____________________________________________________________________________
    Ok i oledi send to ur mail…

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:07 pm

osh_kosh said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 7:49 pm

============================================

because its darn cheap and the offer someone couldn’t resist. (lower income ppls)

• 350D (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:17 pm

Hi BW,

could you please send it my email too. hjwanngah [at] g-mail dot com

is it the clay model at lg cns studio?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:28 pm

Ha, ha, MyVi vs Persona in term of similar pricing and sales.

Where is Savvy? How the sales, perhaps Savvy vs Viva?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:34 pm

kei9 said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 9:07 pm

osh_kosh said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 7:49 pm

============================================

because its darn cheap and the offer someone couldn’t resist. (lower income ppls)
    —————–
    Don’t think all buyers for stonage milo tin on the wheel is all lower income group! They may consist buyers who want to buy as 2nd car. But this no pride car shouldn’t sale anymore! It is a shame for produce same thing for more than 2 decade.

There are many big time tauke in small town still take bicycle only. So are they lower income group?

• infinity (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:36 pm

BW, y not u post those photo in

http://paultan.org/forum

share with us…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 9:37 pm

altis_fan said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 5:50 pm

Persona really mempersonakan. I wish to get one soon. Guys, please don’t
    compare Persona and MyVi. Totally different class. You should compare Persona with Vios or City.
    ———–
    MyVi vs Persona in this case is sales comparison based on similar price range.

For specs and class, definitely Persona shall compare with Vios or City!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 10:06 pm

I guess Persona will affect Gen-2 sales badly.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 10:09 pm

If BLM launch by earlier next year. It is expected furhter affect Savvy sales in which it is already low! Viva shall revise their price downward to boost sales.

All these entry level basic car nothing to boast in term of luxury/high specs but purely on price war only to lock in sales.

• ah liew (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:04 pm

I see more Persona on the road compared to Viva when they are being launched.

• BW (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Y kuching here not really much Persona le? Maybe my city ppl don trust Proton anymore haha… But Viva very kurang also… Most of the newly bought cars here is Myvi or the new vios and etc…

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 07, 2007 at 11:17 pm

Viva has to drop price, btw, if MyVi come out with 1.5L engine, how much they going to sell…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 12:46 am

People give up on cheaper car tariffs for next year onwards, so they might as well buy a car now

• spidermutu (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:00 am

Persona,Saga,Myvi, Vios and City are all bestsellers at the moment, so they should be in one category which is …best selling lousy cars…cheers!!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:08 am

spidermutu,what u drive?

• king (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:10 am

mits27 said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 11:17 pm

Viva has to drop price, btw, if MyVi come out with 1.5L engine, how much they going to sell…

even if they sell at 65k still will have suckers buying em…

• shamel (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:12 am

#
    azrai said,

November 7, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

I think I know the answer. These two cars caters for different people. MYVI buyers mostly will be women, a young man and woman and concious about fuel usage. Maybe the 1st time buyer due to high price of ViVA. For the persona, it’s a family car with a proper boot. Different people, different needs.

ARE YOU VERY SURE Myvi is for FC-conscious buyers? Maybe you can supply me Myvi’s FC.

• king (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:14 am

akshen_kamen said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 7:20 pm

i think that was a long time a go when i saw new car with the plastic bumper without paint..but p2 bring the nostalgia back with viva..haha just jocking..i wonder how daihatsu feel when watch their car just using plastic bumper..

viva better bungkus lar…tiny car with golden bumper. How else do you explain why a puny car like that can cost 45k ?

• king (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:28 am

azrai said,

November 7, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

I think I know the answer. These two cars caters for different people. MYVI buyers mostly will be women, a young man and woman and concious about fuel usage. Maybe the 1st time buyer due to high price of ViVA. For the persona, it’s a family car with a proper boot. Different people, different needs

_________

better check you facts properly b4 crapping around. You listen to salesman talk only issit? No wonder malaysians are so gullible.The Myvi auto is a FUEL GUZZLER! but maybe your salesman is not wrong, coz myvi saves petrol……………………………………..compared to saga 1.5 auto, perdana V6, Rx7, evo9, dodge viper etc…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 1:29 am

i think it two years time,p2 will stop production of viva if the current sale its continue unless they drop price at least the top range viva 1.0 with the same price as savyy and viva 660 at least around 20k.

• joe203 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 6:49 am

I agree with Azrai there.
    My friend is looking for a car, and he is considering Persona/Waja/Neo. I told him you can’t possibly compare and contrast the 3 because all of them are for different needs. He never mentioned Myvi or Viva.

Then it struck me, since Persona’s launch, it was never Myvi vs Persona. It always has been Persona vs Gen2 or vs Waja. People that can afford those price range actually decide whether they want a “Perodua” or a “Proton”.

If Perodua, then obviously Myvi. If Proton, it might be Persona/Waja/Gen2 or possibly Neo. So Persona does not hurt Myvi’s sales, it hurts Gen2/Waja sales.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 8:12 am

Dear shamel and king,
    I don’t even mention the MYVi FC is that good. What I mean is, the perception of the new buyer who think a small cc cars have a good FC. That’s what people who concern about fuel usage think if they get MYVi it is better. Apala..

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 9:16 am

i drive myvi and fc is ok but my electric window panel always malfuntion darn already change 3 month ago so bad its make problem again BW kuching people very rich mah always buy big imported car even in sibu also less persona but lots of myvi why??? i think parking place at our bumi kenyalang only suitable for no butt car hoh..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 10:35 am

wildthingz said,

Myvito oredi 2 years in market, whereas pesona just aboy 2 months.. of course u see myvi more..
    neway.. we can’t conclude that persona doesn’t affect myvi sales (as for now)
    wait till beg of next year..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 10:37 am

only beroktua fanboys spreading rumours perodua will come out 1.5l myvi.. some say 1.6l Myvi sedan..
    prrfthh
    they make me laugh indeed

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 10:41 am

TheDuck said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 4:54 pm

Well done. P2. Thanks for providing us Malaysians with years of reliable and affordable ride i.e. Myvi, kancils, kelissas, etc.

As for P1, i can only pity it’s owners and hope for P1s LIQUIDATION.
    =================
    another schoolboy P2fanboy.. or japs wanabe

prrrfthhh

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 12:14 pm

@Peyno-1

Grow up.

@Joe203.

You hit the nail right on the head. While there may be some that will cross shop between the Myvi and Persona, but I suspected and said much earlier that Proton will canabilize its own sales. You basically have a 3 way tie between the Persona, Gen2 and Waja. All about the same size and price range, give and take some. Most people tho bought a Myvi, will probably not cross shop with anything in the Proton stables.

Its time for Proton to axe the Waja, then bring in a Perdana replacement, while having the new BLM/savvy do the small car segment. That way it has good market coverage without wasting resources on a 3rd redundent model. Besides, Proton has managed to stink up the Waja’s name so bad that its better to just let it go.

Lest we forget, the Wira and Saga is still the best selling Proton models. Where does it put the Personal/Gen2/Waja? If Proton dont retire the old models, the new ones will never take the limelight.

• drebar (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 4:03 pm

tell you all something…

suzuki swift rulezz…

:PP

• shooter (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 5:15 pm

i have a gutt feeling the Pesona will do pretty fine, Msian just love sedans and as printed in Autocar asean..’a comfy car at a comfy price’. as for the aging saga frame, its due time for retirement, but it did its job as a no frills transport, call it a workhorse.

• 1NZFE (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 6:43 pm

hay guy!!! fuel price will increase next year… better think b4 u buy a car…….

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 8:54 pm

BigFish said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 10:06 pm

I guess Persona will affect Gen-2 sales badly.
    ========================
    that’s the reason proton didnt put CPS on persona..
    and new gen2 and waja will be equipped w CPS to boost up the sales

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 10:51 pm

long live persona.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 12:22 am

2008 (exciting proton release)

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 12:43 am

proton.GL..i still waiting for gen2 cps and waja facelift..said to be lunch in october but now november already..if u have new info..why not share with us..

• 350D (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 1:12 am

Hi BW & All,

could any of you guys please send the full picture of BLM (no tapes) to my email too. hjwanngah [at] g-mail dot com

About CPS,

I’ve few pictures of Waja and Gen2 with CPS emblem on it while i was out stationed at tanjung malim. Maybe they just readying the stock.

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 3:08 am

the spike is problably due to those people holding out as long as they can waiting for taxes on import cars to be reduced. its just too bad proton can afford to out wait most malaysians.

• drebar (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 9:54 am

peYno-1 said,
    November 8, 2007 @ 8:54 pm
    ========================
    that’s the reason proton didnt put CPS on persona..
    and new gen2 and waja will be equipped w CPS to boost up the sales
    —————————

this is the dumbest of the dumb things proton can do. why would they want to create more competitions for their own products? besides, waja is at the end of its lifecycle. time to be phased out. why would they want to put CPS in waja, and make the buyers more confused as in which to buy? they’ll need to focus on the persona and gen2 to increase the sales, rather than spread it evenly between persona, gen2 and waja… that’s what i think la… might not necessary be right.. :P

• kohbk (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 1:04 pm

maybe the persona sales is coming from declining sales of waja and gen2 even savy.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 3:59 pm

ah liew said,
    November 7, 2007 @ 11:04 pm

I see more Persona on the road compared to Viva when they are being launched.

BW said,

dats crap comparing those to cars…

BW..plaz snd dat pic to me…my email…[email protected]

• DrA (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 4:13 pm

Maybe they are stealing sales from NAZA.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 4:37 pm

350D,u should take picture of that car and share here..

• timber8115 (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Hi bro BW,

I would appreciate that you can email me at [email protected] about the selotapeless of BLM. Thank you in advance and sorry to trouble you.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 10, 2007 at 12:37 am

Hey BW, would rly appreciate it if u send me the selotapeless BLM. My emel: tokmoh(underscore)2000az(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Thanks in advance.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 11, 2007 at 5:00 am

I would really appreciate if forumers in here could share whatever pictures they have by uploading it to Paul Tan’s blog (except your porn collections, those should be emailed personally instead). Thank you.

• ungku shaen on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:13 am

i just got myself the new persona elegance! and im a man big on interior, so i have to say, the current Proton quality is top notch! not the best, but bloody decent!