2009 Nissan Murano photos leaked

Nissan Murano Spyshot

Apparently these are leaked photos of the 2009 Nissan Murano, which is the second generation since the first generation Murano was released back in 2003. Some called it the spaceship SUV because of its futuristic looks.

Fast forwards a few years and its time for a full model change, and the new Murano still has the old Murano’s general shape, but the front grille is alot more aggressive, and overly edgy with large chrome bars. The interior is quite different, looking less like a SUV-ized 350Z interior now. UPDATE: Added a shot of the rear after the jump.

Check out a photo of the interior after the jump with larger resolution available.

Nissan Murano Spyshot

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimmy (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:47 pm

the present one is miles better…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:49 pm

ya, no doubt they maintained the original shape, but anyway, still very nice!!

and the original engine also good enough, no need replacement, unless they want to make a hybrid version….

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:50 pm

aiksss… wat happen to the headlights and grille design???

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Product of the future!

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 6:22 pm

Not bad looking
    The current model still look good

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 6:24 pm

Best product is “selotape-less”, “not so good” product like BLM only need to “selotape” here and there! What a shame!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Paul, I don’t think this perfect photos is “leaked” since it has interior photos as well!

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 6:51 pm

no surprise for exterior but interior smells like “infiniti”.

• shianghorng (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 7:15 pm

Ewww!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 7:21 pm

Meh, i prefer the current version, unless they introduce something new in this model.

• kaka811 (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 8:02 pm

nissan always came out with brillant design. da best yo

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 8:30 pm

yo..mighty fine car.

• DrA (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 8:41 pm

What happen to the nose??? Unnecessarily ugly!!!!

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:09 pm

I agree with DrA.
    Maybe they thought the new Euro Civic’s front was cool and futuristic and all, and decided to make one up themselves.
    I wonder how the rear looks like…

Interior is top-notch, as always.
    Like it.

• szw (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:34 pm

the design is getting more and more odd.

• transformer (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 10:18 pm

its one of the best from Nissan’s stable!

hope this grill would attract or otherwise a failure!

• farmcow (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 10:50 pm

nice…i’m starting to like nissan’s products lately hahaha

• TopGear (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 10:51 pm

current murano vs current Harrier…most people will choose
    harrier…better resale value, more reliable!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 11:16 pm

Naa… I heard a lot of rich ah pek are regretting of getting Harrier, coz when they compare luxury + comfort + power, Nissan Murano still win in either 2.5L & 3.5L V6 engine, i think the best is still the 4X4 auto changing button to play wif while some harrier is just permanent 4WD. (harrier have 2.4L & 3.0L, lexus 3.5L but more expensive) Both low spec model have 2WD, which is the most model sell in Malaysia by importers coz cheaper…

And i even heard 1 ah pek told me that the secondhand value of harrier are also worst, coz it is under big car category which normal ppl wont have the money to pay even it’s road tax+insurance yearly. The FC will sure worst then normal cars, and the spare part of 2.5L engine murano is almost the same wif X-trail, while the 3.5L engine is the same wif 350Z. The only difference is the use of X-CVT transmission. So for a rich person to buy a special 4X4, murano is still the best car to stand out from the crowd… and i don’t think he will even so stingy about the spare parts + second-hand value also to own that kind of car..

• shamel (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:10 am

paul check ya email l already send the full photos.

• DrA (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:30 am

Murano and Harrier/RX are obviously in the same category. However, in terms of performance, I think the Murano is always better. It handles brillianty and the engine.. wooo the engine.. the 3.5 V6 is so smooth. If only it had more power (at least the same amount in the 350Z) it would have been better car. The downside of the Murano is, although it has loads of gadgets, the built quality (especially the dash) is not that inspiring. Similar to the Harrier/RX the road noise is not well filtered but it still betters the rival.

This new version seems to have improved the weaknesses, but I still think they need to do something about the nose.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:45 am

uglier than the current version

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:24 am

The Murano isn’t exactly the Harrier/RX330 competitor, except perhaps the lower end of the Harrier range

Nissan also has the Infiniti FX35/45 for the higher end Harriers/RX330s.

Nissan has of late since the French takeover revamping its modle lineup on a shortened schedule. Perhaps this is one of the advantages of the platform sharing. In the last 2 years, they have released about 5-7 new models.

First thought when looking at this several days ago was….” ’tis a new subaru?”. The old one was cool when it came out because it looks like nothing else on the road. After 7 years (!!), the novelty has worn off somewhat.

• BigCar (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:30 am

back light almost similar with Murano Junior (Latio Sport)

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:49 am

The previous model’s design was timeless… this one might age faster due to it’s fussy styling. But it’s nice nevertheless… the rear looks a lot like the Qashqai…

• jehutyz (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 10:44 am

Current one already great.
    This one is really more futuristic and i like the head and rear lamp.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:56 am

LOL @ 4G63T. I thought the grill looked like the “old” Subary flying V too, with vertical slits instead of horizontal.

I think the current version is a tough act to follow. It looks cleaner than this futuristic fussy front. And finally, they ramped up the interior to match the exterior. The current one is a real anti-climax… I mean after looking at the beautiful sheet-metal, I climb in and face an uprated x-trail inside?

LittleFire85, I don’t know which rich ah peks you listen to but the few imported car dealers I know told me that most of the Murano owners who upgraded from the previous Harrier regretted doing so coz the ride comfort and quality was not as good as Toyota. And with a road presence of probably 8-10 Harrier to 1 Murano, I think that’s enough evidence to say that Harrier is still the better buy. I agree that the 3.5 V6 is a gem of an engine but users buy the whole package.

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:57 pm

ummm is dis d same model with Nissan Rogue in d USA? coz i saw d Nissan Rogue in cerita Heroes Season 2 lar…….huhuhuhuhu is Nissan Latio sport/hatchback same model with d Nissan Versa? huhuhuhuhuhuhuhu…….

• coolguru (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:12 pm

Yeah, weirdo in today’s state… fast-forward to years ahead, it’s still current, just like the current model although I won’t buy one purely because it’s Nissan. Sorry, not a fan :)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:25 pm

ure wrong top gear…

after murano came to our shore…the sales of harrier is slow…more ppl looking fwd to buy murano…including me…b4 dis…i dcide to buy murano or harrier..but my heart are more to murano…bt im nt confident with dis car…so ive do alot of survey…to many gray import dealer..naza also…many of them said that this car is good and has gugat harrier sales…then…i read a comment of jeremy clarkson…he give a high verdict 4 dis car…so..i dcide to own it..now…still has dis car a its great…no prob at all…clock nearly 45k…

ive been thinking of d 2nd gen of murano…and started to sv money..after see this photo leaked…quite ok…still nice…but my current one looks better than dis…ive plan to replace my murano with the 2nd gen..after see dis pic…it makes me to think again…i hope they will make dis car look nice than my current one…the rear one is like nissan rogue…but i prefer d curent murano’s rear..look sleek…so plz nissan…develop the design and convince me to replace my current murano with dis one…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:37 pm

oppss…many typo mistake…wutever..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:37 pm

oppss…many typo mistake…wutever..sorry

• kington (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 11:30 am

I’m quite suprised to read that the Murano is selling better than the Harrier.

Personally, given the amount i travel on a daily basis, i see heaps of Harriers on the road, especially the 2nd gen model. The 2.4 base model sold by many grey importers are actually stealing a lot of sales from potential Camry buyers.

As for the resale value of the Harriers, those who bought the 1st gen model are indeed suffering due mainly to it being a target of syndicates – robbers and thieves. there was even a time when insurance companies refused to take up policies for Harriers back in 2001 and 2002.

I’ve driven BOTH models before, the old and the new. Comfort wise, it is very good and even on long distance drives, it’s never tiring at all. Fuel consumption is decent and in short, i seriously don;t mind having one at all.

The Murano came as a big surprise for me. I test drove one from the Naza showroom with my dad. First impression, the plasticky interior somewhat disappoints me. I mean other cars are using plastics too, but what Nissan offered in the Murano was visibly more inferior.

The engine, a lightly de-tuned unit from the 350Z was smooth and powerful. One can only imagine what if Nismo came out with a turbocharged model… or by fitting the new Skyline GTR’s unit into it.

The 1st gen Murano will be, for a very long long time remain one of the best looking Urban Jungle SUVs money can buy but for the money, i’d go for something less futuristic but more elegant, the Lex RX 330.

• nmh (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Murano suffer the ‘ugly’ disease just like Rexton

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 6:56 am

this design is very very nice if paint it dark or even orange. cause got solid body look, most color will fit. nice :)

• Ho OC. on Apr 16, 2009 at 12:46 am

After have read the so many comments of Harrier vs Murano,. I have own the former model and the current Harriers, I find both are great machines.I have no knowledge of the Murano. The only problem with the current Harrier is the dash has started to crack, may be too much sun on it, or could be the material used was not tropically suitable. Have heard other Harriers too have this dash problems. Like to seek your comment of this problem, repair or replace the whole dash??

• Hooi KL on Sep 05, 2009 at 5:13 am

Is Murano 2.5 engine same as Xtrail's 2.5 ? What about their platform, are they of the same too ?

• kenny on May 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

yesterday i went to naza world look the nissan murano 2.5L new model yr 2008 and the price is too high selling Rm283,000.00 and new car 3.5L only selling RM315,000.00 if the price is below RM250,000.00 is better. because is not V6 engine.

• kenny on May 09, 2010 at 7:50 pm

if any car inport car dealer can bring in from japan and the model is 250xv four wd and year 2008 or 2009 can email to me and the price is below RM230,000.00. because icheck the japan market and the arrange price eq; the Rm is RM100k and plus inport tax and other expenses it seliing price can sale below RM230,000.00.

• Tony Wong on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:11 am

I am shocked. My brother’s 2008 Murano feels better to drive than my own 2005 Harrier!