New Alfa hatch to be called the Alfa Romeo Furiosa

Alfa Romeo Furiosa

UPDATE: The new Alfa Romeo baby hatch will be called the Alfa Romeo Mi.To – click for more info!

The latest car manufacturer to enter the fray of creating small cars to compete against the BMW MINI Cooper is Alfa Romeo. Internally, this new car is known as the 955. The new car will share a platform with the Fiat Grande Punto, and will offer technologies like SDC active suspension where various settings can be set via a Ferrari-like steering wheel switch, and an engine with an electronically controlled hydraulic valve actuation (similiar to VVTi-E) combined with a throttle-less intake called the Multiair engine.

Multiair engine options will include a 105 hp 1.4 litre normally aspirated unit, two 1.4 litre JTB turbos making 135hp and 180hp, a 1.8 litre JTB making 230 horsepower, and two diesels – a 120hp 1.6 litre JTDm and a 150 horsepower 1.6 litre JTTDm. These engines will be mated to either a 6-speed manual or a Selespeed automated manual.

Following the footsteps of Volkswagen which used a public voting system to name its new Tiguan SUV, Alfa Romeo had a public vote to let the public choose the name of the new car. Choices included Agea, Enos, Everson, Fira, Furiosa, Milo, Mod, Nevo, Solea, Sparvo, Velvetta and Ventura, and the winner turned out to the name Furiosa.

So there you have it. The Alfa Romeo Furiosa. There are currently two camps on where this will fit in the Alfa Romeo model line up – some say it is a smaller model than the 147 replacement (previously to be called the 149, should be a proper word-based name now), and everyone else says this is the new 147 replacement. But looking at segments, the 147 replacement should be based on a platform similiar to the Bravo (C-segment) instead of the Grande Punto (B-segment), so I tend to agree with the smaller-than-147/149 camp.

One more sketch after the jump.

2008 Alfa Romeo 149 Artist’s Impression
More previews of the Alfa Romeo 149

Alfa Romeo Furiosa

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 3:26 am

Me likes vely mucho. Me want.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:51 am

I read it another site a few days back that Alfa might not be calling the car Furiosa after all, I’m hoping they’ll stick with the name though; Furiosa is a very good name for a mean looking car like this :)

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:49 am

alfa called it furiosa but proton already called it satria wakakakkaka

• moha774 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:10 am

If only they choose Milo, it will give a new dimension to milo tin cars in this country….hehehe

• szw (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:33 am

have to see the real car only can judge the looks .

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:44 am

sketches looks good. another hot hatch in the making.

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 12:01 pm

sketchwise, it looks pretty good.
    of course, being alfa, they’re sure to come up with a concept/actual model that is on par with this.
    i loike!

• redragon (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 12:14 pm

I like the direction Alfa Romeo is heading. Pity our local distributor is just not dynamic enough. Alfa Romeo always has a special place in my heart.

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 2:16 pm

walawe… good stuff!

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 2:27 pm

I think this car will be quite expensive…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 2:35 pm

dis is not a 147 replacement…dis is the smallest car in alfa family…yup…it is based on grande punto platform and will compete with the mini,punto and upcoming audi a1…147 replacement will be call 149…it will be launch soon…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 3:30 pm

beautiful

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 4:09 pm

That’s really sweet… and being the smallest Alfa, I’m sure it wud be priced competitively to go against rivals.

PS: How I wish I can trade my Alfa for this model :P

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:40 pm

i have some experience with old alfasud 1.5 and 155 2.0, these car is really in its element when its fast, sweeter the engine when its fast,
    also have some short drive with 156 selespeed, this rather moden feel,

really love to look at alfa in red, and the sound of it,
    lets see how interesting the look of this fiurosa,

• arcana (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:01 pm

impressive engines from alfa….looks good from sketches too….thumbs up.

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:41 pm

nice! very very nice! very alfa.. it will be interesting to see this competing in malaysia.. hopefully it wont be too expensive! d italians are really coming back.. will b interesting to c a fiat panda/500 based alfa too!

care to elaborate a lil on ur 155 protonGL?

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:05 pm

In reality, the rim design is definately out.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:08 pm

its not mine just happened to jocky my friends car several time its a 2.0, he just dont care i smack his car even he sits on the passanger side, theres another model 155 1.8 t spark (t spark is usually with vvt), have no chance,

anyway that 155 2 litre doesnt like to be driven slowly, really feel like to escape pass 100 and more and more it breathes well, like the steering wheel spoke at number 10 and 2 (clock position) really feels italian long hand, gear throw a bit long but never mind, its sweetly fast and makes you addicted to speed, never mind somethime holding to fourth as you love the techo needle passing other cars, the exhaust note, since the 5th high speed cruise, realy stable at high,

like the quirk front light, rear high boot, ……….cant write long lah

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:24 pm

thanks protonGL.. u’re a lucky guy!
    alfa is like a girl to me.. haha!
    thanks again..

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:27 pm

I got vote for this name too!! I am so happy that my vote was chosen…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:26 pm

i still luv the 155 eventho it is oldies…hehe…still sexy..:)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 7:50 pm

this car is good