No timeframe for Proton turnaround?

Proton Holdings Bhd shares are now at a 7-year all time low, closing at RM4.02 yesterday, but not after dipping to an intra-day low of RM3.98. This is a 18.6% drop. You can see the effects of this share drop in the local automotive forums, where some reveal their losses of thousands of ringgit on paper value.

Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says there is no reason for investors to fret over the price decline as this is a normal market reaction. He also added that there is no specific timeframe for the management of Proton to turn around, but the government hopes the company will keep the momentum going with efforts to increase sales and quality.

I am sure there is a timeframe, otherwise it would not make any sense at all to throw away all that hard work in steering the Proton-Volkswagen negotiations towards a positive end result – something that has been going since 2004.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gonggok (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Nah…the management were NOT given an open ended thing and were actually given certain KPI to work towards -customer satisfaction level, market share, exports etc. These things are easily tracked and the management should be held responsible to meet these…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Like that ah, so Iswara no need to replace since sale so good. Can be sale until 2057?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Denial Syndrome heavily infected P1. This will flow down to all blind defenders with all kind of “patriotic congratulation” for end of P1-VW talk show.

• transformer (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:37 pm

BigFish said,
    Like that ah, so Iswara no need to replace since sale so good. Can be sale until 2057?

===========================================

Ya…. P1 will continue sell at Rm26,999 ?
    But how many Bolehland Pride’s supporter will support ?
    Does those supporter drive P1 ? Not really!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:38 pm

No time frame = time at large

Time at large = No dead line

No dead line = Inefficiency + incompetence = close shop.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:41 pm

RM 3.98 – with no timeframe for turnaround, the share sure further “turndown”. If another 18.6% = RM 3.24.

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:41 pm

If i know anything abt government and how they work.. trust me… probably THERE IS NO TIME FRAME

All they gave to government are probably empty promises back by the current marginal increase in sales. Tht one also they are ASSUMING they can keep the ball rolling. Which i very much doubt.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:42 pm

OK lah, another few months, all up sale for RM 1.00.

• ctawyong (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:43 pm

ok, tell us why!!! then why again?? then this and that!!! proton sure good in explaining, no doubt about that!! come on u waste your own time and our rakyat money!!!

• transformer (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:45 pm

“kalau ada masaalah, jumpa kami, tak perlu hebohkan ke media-media, kita akan selesaikan saje……”

so they will “settle-it” for….. EVER!

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:49 pm

NEP – No time frame. Wait till MAJORITY becomes millionaires?

NAP – No time frame. Wait till other countries complain?

PROTON turnaround – No time frame. what’s the excuse?

• seperlinky (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:58 pm

that is the brainless joke comment made public.

• mytouch (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:08 pm

The next few months we might see this scenario in d POTONG board room,courtersy of the current popular TV ad :”Hello kawan,mau CONTINUE bikin business ka?TIADA pengalaman?tak mengapa…KURSUS?kita ada,pinjaman?kita pun ada…1 linggit,mau jual tak??…heh heh heh…

• acbc (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:15 pm

Now we all know… Proton not doing well at all. VW obviously wanted full management control that G will never allow since it will kill off their cronies.

In business, it is silly to just call off a merger or JV just because of slight improvement in business.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:24 pm

no specific timeframe is a big no no word… means what? turn around 2020 ar?

since persona doing well…good for proton la.. but better get it right this time because from this kind of attitude, how to ask ppl to negotiate for partnership next time?

• ojlee1 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:38 pm

Boleh Land phenomenon.
    Ever heard of the Wira SE after 1-2 yrs time, the tachometer become faulty. Cost to repair is around RM140/meter (oil, rpm…). New meter around RM400.
    Ever heard of P1 after 3 mths old, lots of sound will came out of elsewhere.
    Ever heard or see the Gen2 metalic painting interior, after 3+ yr, the paint will look like someone sweating.
    Ever heard of Perdana after 3+ yr, gear box faulty, V6 engine ‘tick tick’ sound.
    BUT, my 1996 WIRA 1.5 (M) still going strong. Even though i am now thinking of changing to TOYOTA or other Japanese car, it’s still a very good car to drive.
    So over here our BOLEH LAND, things are working backward (not forward). What is the strong point for PESONA is their pricing and all the features onboard. But i don’t think i would waste my time and money to discover another of our TIGER ‘backward’ product.

• efikz_1011 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Since the Persona doing well, then the car will produce for the next 30 years, just replace the grill and make some special edition to make people tak bosan..gudlah..that’s the proton timeframe huhuhu..

Proton dont care wasting time and duit rakyat for JV discussion as long as crony dpat makan..ahaks

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:46 pm

hey, y y’all so mad?
    we got space technology goin 2 b implemented in next P1 models!!
    hurrrayyyy!!

warning: statement above may cause uncontrollable laugh >_

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 6:55 pm

haha. That’s funny.

• chanel (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:16 pm

the next Proton new car may be a Waja without butt….since from day 1 they like to produce cars with butt & no butt version……..

wonder if they already have new Waja at their disposal coupled with the longly awaited Campro CPS + VIM…

maybe still awaiting final clue in the lighting design……….haiz very sian liao with the Proton news……sure the next generation for Japanese cars price will hike,……….to protect P1 ma, cz no turnaround time-frame……wonder again have they ever done project in school time……there is a time frame, indeed very strict one….

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:26 pm

may proton die, long live volkswagen

• leongylun (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:37 pm

No timeframe? means cheap foreign cars won’t be reliazed as ong as proton can’t perform well…damn proton!!!

Proton usually only modify here and change a bit there then launch their cars into market with new name or address them as new model..30 years old model still can sell like hot cake not becasue your car is good, it is because no more cheap car and no more choice since the public transportation system in malaysia is bad! 30 years old adult still asking milk from G..wind it up la!!!

• electron (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Malaysia Business 101 leaked question:

Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says that there is no specific timeframe for the management of Proton to turn around right after it pulled out from a strategic alliance with Volkswagen. What is the possible reason(s) for this?

a. Proton bosses and the government have no idea what to do next

b. As a safeguard measure; if they set a deadline, proton management will be under pressure to deliver results – which is a myth

c. Need time to think of other excuses if the current excuse doesn’t work out

d. Figuring out a date to discuss about an appropriate date for implementing a timeframe

e. All of the above

• arcana (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:04 pm

i’ve told myself that if the deal goes thru….i might visit proton showrooms again in probably 3 years when everything is good going for affordable new models…..

waiting for proton to be successful in the future – timeless
    the joy of watching proton die – priceless
    the reaction to all this hoohaa and “boom” we’re out – speechless

• ckcheong (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Ha Ha… Very well done.

G involvement + business = Big Bullshit.

Malaysia Boleh…

• Vengeance (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:16 pm

arcana said,

November 22, 2007 @ 8:04 pm

i’ve told myself that if the deal goes thru….i might visit proton showrooms again in probably 3 years when everything is good going for affordable new models…..

waiting for proton to be successful in the future – timeless
    the joy of watching proton die – priceless
    the reaction to all this hoohaa and “boom” we’re out – speechless

Wow arcana! ur reply is the best i’d ever seen in paultan.org! LOLX! XD

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Protonians, please do well. Be ashame with what people comments, just like the one from brother BigFish :

—————————-

No time frame = time at large

Time at large = No dead line

No dead line = Inefficiency + incompetence = close shop.

——————————–
    Anyone has e-mail of Protons Directos or MD?
    We should themknow how dissatisfied Malaysians with their uncommitted work style. The MD is working hard to make Proton a success company
    and to build up quality products; but does his downline workers work following his direction? I believe not. Those who already deal with Proton
    Customer Service should know what I mean.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

i agree with u..

• noCar (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:04 pm

kick out the vendor cronies and P1 will be good.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:11 pm

I would urge Proton Management to look into all customers complains.
    Give all level of workers a tough KPI and push them harder to meet KPI
    deadline (not without ‘time frames’ kind of crap). Those who do not achieve
    KPI should be awarded “penyapu” or “BADman toy” and no yearly increament or bonus. I believe proton can make it for future success.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:15 pm

I can make and supply Penyapu Lidi, if proton management decides to accept my idea to award those losers.

• Jay (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:25 pm

morons !oppurtunity knocks the door only once but this oppurtunity has knocked the door a few times. what an idiot !

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:25 pm

They are so ridiculous!

• Vis893 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:42 pm

please spend our money wisely “Khazanah”…

• floyd (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:23 pm

no time frame EQUAL to “continue sucking poor pple money”. That kind of leader has no goal, no objective. Just enjoying themselves there and no motivation.

• ar (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:59 pm

arrogance is what made our pride proton suffer the most…
    learn from your mistake man, no check n balance?
    seriously, at the end of the day, just wasting everything

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 1:39 am

Wait another 3 years, then see if need partner or not. Rakyat will still have to suffer more.

• shamel (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:08 am

I guess next year, Proton share must be below RM3 mark.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:04 am

Nex few days another chap from G may come out with another “exciting” statement.

• neo2 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:57 am

At least our share market is reacting against the talk-off efficiently, though might not positively. To certain extend, even economist do not entirely agree that share price reflects the actual profit per earnings (P/E ratio) of a PLC, but in P1 case, I guess the investors confidence is not that. This might attibuted to a few reasons, and from what I could summarize from a few financial analysts, most of them do not view optimistically of P1 long term and strategic sustainability and financial viability. Many would condemn the arrogance and even stupidity of P1 to standalone, and the most hideous part is it plans to goes along with the invincible protective umbrella granted by G. And worst of all, no timeframe is set up in order to compete in open free market. A typical mindset that is pledging the administration of our country. Or some would prefer to call it “Juara Kampung” (aka Village Champion). Please leave Nicole David or Datuk Michelle Yeoh out of out this nonsense. Globalisation is at doorstep, we are losing valuable talents to neigbouring countries (after we have spent so much on grooming the talents), emerging markets with even lower labour costs, such as Vietnam, China and even the brotherhood Indonesia are sweeping the world with its unbeatable cheap labour costs, and of course my favourite part, we are still relying mainly on oil (40% of our nation income comes from ever depleting oil reserve) when Dubai is already investing heavily in swifting its economic fundamentals. In short, P1 is like an expensive “nation pride” (bcoz we are paying the bills, aka forcing to buy cheap car, that merely brings you from point A to point B, no more than that, for the past 20 years, and for the next, let me see, may be forever, sadly) that sum up the operative of our country. So, you get the picture, right? Stop whinning around besides mocking, giving sarcastic comments and teasing, it’s not helping. If you are really not agreeable about it, then you should do sth about it. For instance, make sure you are registered voter and do not come and tell me, sorry, guys, you cannot vote bcoz you are not registered yet. Btw, I’m not representative or receiving any “you-know-what” from any parties, I’m doing this country a favour, otherwise we are no more better than Thailand, Philliphines or even Taiwan. Trust me on this.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:58 am

What a dumb dumb scenario….we as consumer are the dummest !

• aj3377 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:01 am

Proton is a dead meat now…

• Gunners4Life (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 12:08 pm

i akin this scenario to that of england’s….the aftermath: we mourned, we cuss, we cursed, which is a natural reaction but above all we show that we care…..there is only one way to go…go up!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 12:56 pm

they can go on and improve all they want. fact is proton will only sell in malaysia. all these deals with iran or china are just paper stats. which usually result in vapourware like the hydroxene technology. that professor even disgraced malaysia and our leader by proving himself to be a fake for the whole world to see.

already lost the automotive hub of south east asia to thailand and indo and these people still beleive proton has a chance. fact is there is no chance in hell they can improve themselves but just rely on a protected and desperate market (those that are forced to replace thier aging cars i.e saga and wiras) to produce a spike in profit in a long continous freefall market loss.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:33 pm

too many politics in proton…they will survive bcoz of their car is so so cheap and many ppl cant afford to buy other but if this still happen and happen…trust me…eventho they survive but they will never ever succeed…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:50 pm

TO MITLANEVO AND NMH,

some of u jz see at the scope of fast and handling but not overall…i do agree dat renault clio v6 is fast and handy…dun under estimate me bcoz i already drove dis car when i was in london…it is my fren’s with blue in color…i know what im talking abt…yes…i agree it is fast and handy…but in term of practicallity…and compare to the other hot hatch available in dis current time…4 me it is not affordable and useless…it still gt a lot of car i can choose and buy rather than choose dis beauty.i can buy an affordable sport car and better than dis one with d same price….so guys…DUN TELL ME I DONT KNOW ABOUT THIS CAR AND HAVE TO REVIEW IT IN THE YOUTUBE…I ALREADY DROVE IT……it is jz my opinion….and the other are not same like me…

• in_put (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:19 pm

The screws have been turning on P1 for quite some time, but I guess they don’t really feel the squeeze because they chose to ignore it. Perhaps if P1 shares drop quickly…much like Satria’s faulty automatic windows, then maybe some noise will be heard…

• sQew (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:22 pm

Proton should become non GLC company if they want to market their car globally. I think this is mistake, Japan car also have collaboration with europe car comp to get their euro style design. Still dissapointment for me, wait until its collapse again then another CEO will be appointed the bla bla bla

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:47 pm

it will be the same, kahzanah very shite company that is, fully sponsored by our “goverment”(the tax money we pay by working so hard in order to buy overselves a better car like a bmw 530i where we can buy a lamborghni gallardo in italy for the same value of money there)

• 2ST (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:50 pm

Whre are all the protong cheerboys…?
    Silent only?protong+gov+media+supporter=no brain what so ever! their knees also no functional brain.
    Tq,

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:47 pm

Optimistics vs. Pessimistics

Optimistics

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/23/business/19553026&sec=business

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/23/business/19554133&sec=business

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/23/business/19557465&sec=business

Pessimistics

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/news2007.php?itemid=497

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/news2007.php?itemid=483

http://www.malaysia-today.net/nuc2006/news2007.php?itemid=481

Both have their points but the weightage if apply Pareto principle (20:80)are: –

In term of weightage, the optimistics comprise at most 20% CHANCES for success but pessimistics comprise at least 80% of PROBABLE failure.

Pathetic, there are still ill informed and misinform blind protonian defender out there give “patriotic congratulatory” statements!

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:57 pm

You are right! Where are they?

All ‘MALU’ to face the onslaught of MALAYSIANs getting together and bashing that pathetic company.

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:33 pm

told them already… quickly sell the P… get the money.. go build another factory, hire many many. See laa.. now share drop, already lost 18%… use your brain laa.

rejecting the vw .. sure means the P is not turnaround. Will you expect the share to remain or grow with that decision?

it will keep falling… soon later, share holder will piss off. Then G take out money buy those paper.. what a waste.

• szw (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:51 pm

we want VW…!!!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:23 pm

where is my golf r32?my phaeton?touareg?
    they were all supposed to be here for cheap

• vandenlye (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:29 pm

aiyo…what is so difficult, time frame la…this la…that la…
    no money to turn around, ask from ‘daddy’ again la, ‘daddy’ got money ma…no worry! already 20 years old, this is not the first time to ask money, dont be shy…even if ‘daddy’ known the ‘baby’ got no money to spend, ‘daddy’ will automatic give ‘some’ money, no problem, dont even bother to ask…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 3:17 am

i would like to think that 25 years have taught us that even if the deal with VW was successful….you wouldnt be seeing any golf r32,phaeton,touareg or gti on the cheap in malaysia. just think mitsu and lotus.

the proton supporters u see in forums is problably just a hired hand or an employee in the marketing dept dedicated to ‘spread the love’ in the forums. He’s problably on holiday in switzerland or something.

or it really is one in a million of malaysians who actually does support proton. whatever the real situation is nobody knows….all i need to know is that i am not a supporter of proton.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:21 am

“spread the love” – I love Milo but not Milo tin on the wheel! He, he, he, …………

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:41 am

or it really is one in a million of malaysians who actually does support proton.
    —————
    If this is true, then the chap must be “infected by severe-attention-deficit syndrome”.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:45 am

aiyo…what is so difficult, time frame la…this la…that la…
    no money to turn around, ask from ‘daddy’ again la, ‘daddy’ got money ma…no worry!
    ———
    Sugar daddy – don’t forget G’s $$$ is from tax payer monies.

Sugar mummy – NAP – Import duty, Excise duty and Sales tax also sux poor rakyats.

Never in the “history of mankind” it is double-parallel one way ticket to put rakyat in such a very disadvantage position for the sake of acquiring commercial products.

• limsk (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 9:55 am

“no time frame turn around…” let me thinks about this hidden message here??

OK..that mean further reduction of oil subsidies and increase of road tolls, channel it for penalty to be paid another delay for AFTA and bail-out of Proton financial problems…when that happens again.. which can be possible if China Youngman partnership turn sour or bad sales happens we have yet to here know about the sale performance there.. Youngman core business has been on commercial vehicle so back to “square-one” business then..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 10:52 am

china has roewe, “modern gentleman” MG, cheap audi’s(special AUDI A6L for china), cheap bmw’s(bmw 540 Li, special for china), volkswagen, GM, cadillac, geely, chery, the fake smart car etc etc, how can a stupid car from malaysia work there?

• MicroKiller (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 1:41 am

Even if there would be a time frame.. i dare to say that chances are .. proton cant meet the time frame then wht else… get rid of the ceo and bring in another one.. probably which would be someone thts rather familiar in their circle.. then another round of all this drama..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 12:10 pm

get rid of this company

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 8:44 pm

no way i will let them do it again. no support from G. no money from tax payers. no time to play around. NO!!!
    just go close shop…!!!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 4:49 pm

yea, boycott proton