New Mazda BT-50 pick-up truck launched in Malaysia

Mazda BT-50

We first saw signs of the Mazda BT-50 earlier this year when a taped up unit with trade plates was spotted in Sri Hartamas. Earlier this week, the BT-50 pick-up truck was finally launched and is now an option for those who want a softer, sportier and more Japanese-looking truck than the Ford Ranger TDCi.

Mazda has picked the BT-50 name over the Fighter name carried by the previous generation. Mechanically it is pretty much the same as the Ford Ranger TDCi – a 2.5 litre turbodiesel with direct injection and a variable geometry turbocharger under the hood, double wishbone suspension at the front and a leaf spring setup at the rear. The leaf springs at the rear are 1,320mm long, making them the longest in the class, which enhances ride comfort.

The 2.5 litre engine is mechanically the same as the Ranger’s, which is nothing bad as it is truly a fantastic engine for a truck. The variable geometry turbo eliminates any turbo lag so power delivery is at maximum once you floor the pedal. It produces 143 PS at 3,500rpm and 330Nm of torque at 1,800rpm. The truck also gets a 5-speed manual or a 5-speed auto.

Early birds get a special introductory package – 50 months warranty (or 150,000km) and 50 months (or 80,000km) of free service. 50 months is equal to 4 years and 2 months, compared to the Ranger TDCi’s 3 years warranty. If you don’t want this, you can trade it for a RM3,000 rebate. Of course, this is for the first 100 early birds only. The normal warranty period is 3 years.

The following is the price list for Peninsular Malaysia, individual OTR with insurance. The prices are generally slightly cheaper than the Ranger TDCi. For the full price list click here.

• Mazda BT-50 2.5 Manual Solid – RM86,272.81
  • Mazda BT-50 2.5 Manual Metallic – RM86,402.81
  • Mazda BT-50 2.5 Auto Solid – RM90,961.79
  • Mazda BT-50 2.5 Auto Metallic – RM91,091.79

More photos after the jump.

Mazda BT-50

Mazda BT-50

Mazda BT-50

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 5:18 pm

noting terribly exciting,apart form the badge and warenty..its jus a ford ranger….wd have been beter if thy hav atleast tried to distinguish it from the ranger…the old fighter had a sporty bodykit which was nice…bt this one very boring…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 5:20 pm

boring look….triton and hilux still best looking pick up

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 5:33 pm

i like the Ranger more…. (diehard Ford’s fan, lol)

the best looking (and toughest) pickup truck in Malaysia?

MUST BE A FORD RANGER!!!!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Actually the ford ranger sold here is exactly the same vehicles as the mazda. I think the latter has been brought here to spice up the truck competition

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Good pricing, but look at Ford version, the back seat is still relatively “vertical”. Not as confortable as Hilux. If I want to buy pick-up, I go for Hilux.

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:34 pm

I really don’t understand why people still go for a Hilux since there are Triton, Ranger and this new Mazda…

• szw (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 8:49 pm

ranger’s cousin

• floyd (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 10:03 pm

You can keep on wondering bcoz more than 50% of the truck buyers go for Hilux. Heheheh..sorry to disappoint you!
    (2007 jan-Aug registration):-
    ………..Jan…Feb…Mar…Apr…May…Jun…Jul…..Aug……TOTAL
    Hilux…..650…627…747…648…677…951..1075..1421___6,796
    D-max…177…215…215…214…235…242…219….313___1,830
    Triton….131…262…321…240…249…232…222….134___1,791

Source: MAA by cars.my

• arcana (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 10:56 pm

why hilux? …. reliability? toyota?
    i’m convinced since jeremy drove 1 to north pole….
    just joking…..

• Tanpanama (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:04 pm

The reason people go for hilux is because of the reliability factor. Hilux is known for its reliability.The body is more rigid and the resale value is much more higher compare to the others.But the problems with hilux is the engine performance..It’s less powerful compares to others, especially the new nissan navara/frontier with 171hp..it’s the most powerful pick-up truck in country..Engine performance is one of the criteria people look for in buying pick-up truck.The other criteria is the toughness/reliability factors.In Sarawak, 70% of the pick-up truck on the road are hilux, use mainly in logging camp.(majority is the older model).New hilux is for urban driving..I myself drive the hilux sr turbo..(older model)..

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:07 pm

people go for hilux bcoz of its T badge infront, the same reason why vios is selling like hotcakes in spite of it being an utterly plain and boring car.

hilux is oversized and underpowered, if i were going for a pickup i would definitely choose among the powerhouse group of triton or ranger/bt40, or even the plush actyon…

• nmh (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:49 am

i choose POWER…..of course i choose ranger. Hilux is beautiful btw but pity underpower

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 2:05 am

if u know what is a tough and real P-I-C-K-U-P T-R-U-C-K, u will just get a Ford Ranger……

Ranger is only for those who really appreciate pickup trucks……

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:03 am

nmh said,
    November 24, 2007 @ 1:49 am

i choose POWER…..of course i choose ranger. Hilux is beautiful btw but pity underpower
    ———-

Yup, agreed Hilux is relatively underpower in relation to its size. But the latest version is for “urban instinct” rather than “raunchy-jungle-basic-instinct”.

Our country with Common Rail 2.5 L, for other market Hilux also available in 2.7L and 3.0L in Thai market. Only NAP tax structure is likely is a deterent to import higher cc.

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=toyota+Thailand&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

Or they have top of the range pick-up truck in US market, Tundra with 4.0L, 4.7L & 5.7L.

http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/spec_engines.aspx?year=2007&make=Toyota&model=Tundra&trimid=-1

• sarawakguy (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 6:08 am

As a former RANGER owner,i’d say ” GO RANGER”….it gets me to places where no double cabs of its class from other makes cant…(sorry Hiluxes,Dmaxes,Fighters,Frontieres…)
    As for this new bloke,well…cheaper is one thing…but can it perform as well as the RANGER….??? But then, its up us to choose,where you want to fit into,whether it’s performance,styling,maintenance or the POWER…..anyway, I’m not into the ” Urban Instinct” image kind of thing for trucks/double cabs….If that is the case,then…I should say….buy a Sedan…!!! (why not try a FORD FOCUS..?) No hard feelingsss…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 8:20 am

@mitlanevo.

lol

Ranger? In the country where the pickup is king, a Ford Ranger doesn’t even show up on radar. The smallest “Real” pickup you can buy is the F150.

Park a F150 standard cab, next to to a Ranger, and the Ranger is dwarfed. Yer regular redneck would have thought the Ranger was a toy.

There the Ranger is sold as what it is, a Mazda B series pickup for people who dont need the stump pulling torque and off road abilities.

I dont know why Ford group wants to sell 2 basically identical vehicles and canibalize each others’ sales.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 8:29 am

Mazda is towards “sporty” market while Ford trucks is targetted for the work horses. I guess it is how they position their products. Ford-Mazda isn’t the only one that releases similar models in the same market. Same goes to Toyota-Daihatsu & Hyundai-Kia.

Toyota Hilux seems to be a more popular choice. Although its underpowered compared to other pickups, people prefer it for its more “family car” looks and some actually use it for a real family car for some strange reasons. The power of the T-badge!

• rexis (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 9:31 am

Hey, somebody mentioned about new frontier of 171 hp, please elaborate more O.o

Yeah, why not triton? But hilux!

• williaml (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 9:33 am

As some of you know, Ranger is a clone from BT-50 and Ranger launched much earlier in Malaysia I would say both model still remain a typical pick up truck design and functionality, at least you will feel that BT-50 is more stylish.

Zoom Zoom…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 11:27 am

to 4G63T DSM:

ya, i get your point, but this is our Bolehland, not USA or Australia……

average people like me simply cant afford the road tax if driving any F150 (or perhaps a Hummer) in our country……

but anyway, cant really compare “mini” pickup trucks here with those “giant” pickup trucks in “countries where the pickup is king”…….

just like the Audi Q7, when park beside those american SUVs, the Q7 is like the size of a Kembara…….

• Mayonaise (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 12:11 pm

I think it looks good. The photos shown here doesn’t have all the add-ons, so it looks kinda bland… But I believe it will look cool if it’s all dressed up…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Hilux is the lousiest.
    Power? Don’t have. (Ranger & Frontier Own)
    Comfortability? Don’t have. (Triton Own)
    Fuel saving? Don’t have. (D-Max Own)

Anyhow, Hilux won the title for easiest-to-steal Pick Up Truck in Malaysia.

By the way, I owned a Hilux 2006. It was stolen while in June. So happy.
    Bloody regret to had bought this Hilux.

• shooter (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:28 pm

i read somewhere that one can can mitigate the lack of power in the Hilux by instaling an intercooler (plus a bonet scoop), is this true? and if yes how much gain is possible? Can anyone pls elaborate?

• shooter (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:33 pm

one more thing, is it possible to plonk in the VGT from the ranger/bt50 into the hilux?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Hilux & Camry is under “hot-list” by burglar!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 7:33 am

wah…u not sad ka ur car been stole???btw…pity u…yala…hilux is a hot stuff nowaday…

• floyd (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:31 pm

This year’s sale of hilux is already more than 10,000. Triton and D-max r both hovering around only 2,500 each.
    of course if you look statistically more hilux shud be stolen, breakdown, accident (god forbid), etc etc.

Despite what IsaacVky said of it as “Hilux is the lousiest”, it still appeal to the masses.
    I guess more pple choose to be “in the wrong” rather than going for other truck.

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 9:17 am

The dashboard almost the Ranger style…and still a very traditional design.
    Personally I still like the more aggresive design Hilux and Triton…

• danoneism (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:46 pm

y not storm???hahahahahahaha…….ill go for ranger then hilux….=P

• adamccl (Member) on Feb 07, 2008 at 3:38 pm

I still like the F-150 (US model). If you drive the manual transmission, you’ll really feel the power there. Another thing, well-spaced footwell and wide pad pedals, so you can hardly “slip” (unless, of course, you are wearing clogs or platforms) upon choosing the right “pedal action”. Finally, F-150 is one bloody model you can bloody pull a mobile home (aka Caravan) which requires the torque of 2 pick-ups. To get one, the easiest way is by buying from the Philippines.

• been using this bt50 for 5 years now… very powerfull..(I DONT REALIZE IT USES THE VGT UNTIL I REREAD THIS ARTICLE)