Hyundai Genesis Sedan Concept

Hyundai Genesis

This is the sedan version of Hyundai’s two new RWD cars, the Hyundai Genesis Sedan. Hyundai has taken care to give the car a decent 53:47 weight distribution, and claim the body structure is more rigid than a 5-Series. We’ll see how this translates to actual road dynamics when the final production version is out, but on paper it looks decent.

Under the hood is a 4.6 litre V8 engine from the new Tau family, putting out more than 300 horsepower. This engine was originally also destined for the Genesis Coupe but somehow in the end for some reason their product planning decided not to put a V8 in the concept coupe.

More photos and a video after the jump.

Video: Hyundai Genesis Sedan

Hyundai Genesis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 12:34 pm

Wow man! Looks better than their previous EQUUS. Can give Lexus a run for its money too.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 12:41 pm

good job

• civ96110 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 12:50 pm

4.6 liters? No chance for mere mortals then…

• freeze (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 12:54 pm

Great. Got to love the rear…nice looking butt. Never thought Hyundai could be so stylish and upmarket.

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 1:01 pm

rear lights reminds me of Mitsubishi lancer. with some chrome lining over it.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 1:15 pm

Wish our PROTON guys do do somewhat , or initiate(at least..) something more like this…I mean,just look at HYUNDAI,once there were ridiculed….look where they havw taken their design to….
    Even some of us now are comparing them to BIG names like LEXUS,for example….The Koreans (esp. HYUNDAI)have realized,i guess,make MANY good cars for the market….AND not trying to find new MARKETS to our FEW cars…!!!!..That’s the way i see it…

• cetakbaju (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 2:01 pm

nice n cool design

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 2:17 pm

Yeah but before we could ask whether Proton is capable to do something more like this, we should ask the 1 million worth question in the first place that is whether Malaysians can do work better or at least on par with the Koreans. Work ethic and mentality implicates all.

This Hyundai Genesis has broken the ice in my mind that now i might be willing to consider having Korean made car. Quite appealing, elegant and impressive. Henceforth their entrance to the ‘automotive premier league’ which comprises Europeans, Americans and Japanese has been confirmed. Kudos to Hyundai !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 2:47 pm

wow…good job…muscular….great…

• floyd (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Nice butt. If they change the tail lamp a bit, i think it could resemble the butt of the current Honda Accord.
    Curi a bit here and there and they come out with a decent styling.

• ENZO (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 4:53 pm

nice,but it looks very angry~~~~~~

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

If not mistaken, this will be launched sometime next month in Korea as Hyundai celebrates their 40th anniversary. There are some uncovered spyshots around the internet. The back design really looks like BMW 5 series boot design.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Proton would be able to do if they have gone through the VW deal but sadly… it was blatantly rejected to save some cronies!

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 6:44 pm

I have seen the real car on the Korea website… The production version is quite difference from this one…

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Why every post also “Sangkut” with Proton? Proton also not bad what, ppl compare Satria Neo with BMW 1 series and some Alfa Romeo concept car Paul recently. Lol.

• kazai (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 7:53 pm

because everybody love proton. :)

• transformer (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 8:01 pm

first impression, i thought its the JDM Camry 2007!
    Very-very Camry’ish!

http://toyota.jp/camry/index.html
    http://toyota.jp/camry/exterior/garally/index.html

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 9:20 pm

yea this is originality… at least this is much better than the BMW 5 Series imitation… Hyundai stop imitating, ur not China car maker… do ur own design and job… the sonata accord imitation is enough…

• szw (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 9:30 pm

the back reminds me of BMW 7

• Poxxue (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 9:31 pm

Well well…lemme see…mmm, glass line, body silhouette resembles d Skyline 350 Sedan, rear portion …a bit of 1 Series surface, Camry and Honda ..here and there ..Voila!..Genesis Concept!…typical Hyundai la…d rojak styling!..nothing impressive!..dunno wats d big deal..n still some people wanna go and drag and compare our Proton in tis…guys..Hyundai had been doin cars for almost 40 years ….so for them to be on par is an understatement, coz I think they should..As for whether we M’sians can do work better or equivalent to those of Koreans, I do think local designers, be it Proton, Perodua or Naza do have the capability and natural aptitude towards producing better ideas …I believe better!..only time will tell…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 10:23 pm

Silver colour very nice.

• nmh (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 10:57 pm

This shud teach some lesson to Japanese camry, accord, cefiro etc to be RWD too. Proton shud take this as example too. I know it might not in the same class but still the size is about the same bcoz all those japanese are growing (size) over years.

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 11:43 pm

nice effort of moving upmarket for hyundai, looks great with an air of camry in it but doesn’t gives the impression of copying from any other makes.

hyundai’s making some good ground on recent times, with many good models coming out and even more interesting models like this upmarket saloon and the other nice looking coupe coming soon, hyundai’s really turning into one of the big players… good job really!!!

well, proton although isn’t on the same league but they are certainly making some noticeable progress with the initial success of the persona, the upcoming BLM and the planned SUV, so i don’t think it’s fair to say “how come proton can’t do something like this?”… they’ll certainly moving in the right direction this point in time…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 1:09 am

aiya sini pun ada proton basher
    if proton put style on the first place again
    not many people want to buy la friend
    look what happen to gen2
    proton have to follow toyota asean path to survive right now
    building car for makcik pigi pasar first…..

• MicroKiller (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 1:27 am

I partially agree with MisterBenjo… Currently the focus for proton is to turn its market shares around. But even so, with the current models and design based plus the “wonderful quality” of proton cars coming out it still wont solve the problem of increasing public confidence. Hyundai has come a long way from their previous designs to what they have now. The designers and engineers there are really working. Design of a car is rather important be it from the interior to the exterior. What is the point of having a beautifully designed car if the car is crappy in terms of quality. For me.. improve on the quality first to get public confidence. Hyundai has worked hard over the years with much better quality cars coming out.. i hope to see proton being able to do the same.. WISH….!!

• king (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 2:04 am

another great job from hyundai….they deserve a pat on their back.

the japanese better watch out!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 5:44 am

Camry front,
    new 3 series rear.

Hopefully will be a car with toyota reliability and BMW thrill handling. Having a body tougher than a 5 series means nothing. Savvy also tough

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 11:22 am

http://tinyurl.com/26o2le

The real car is different from the concept model. Check it out.

• freeze (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 11:45 am

Since so many people comparing with proton. I think korean cars are way ahead of proton in terms of technology and everything else i think. Chinese cars are closer to proton maybe ahead also…

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 12:48 pm

I’d rather they not link this car with the Genesis Coupe. Let them be two separate models, separate cars, without a common ‘Genesis’ name. They’re killing the already almost-perfect Genesis Coupe.

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 12:53 pm

And uhm, I think we need to give Proton a break. I’ve had enough of Protons in my life, in the newspapers, in the workshops, in The Edge, forums, blogs, and here… We’re talking about Hyundai Genesis now. Geddit?

• e-by (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 2:54 pm

Kia/Hyundai employs a design chief from Audi. I believe his salary is more than Proton’s MD salary. But to come out with this kind of design, you must employ a great designer like Chris Bangle. If you notice the newer Kia/Hyundai cars are more European theme rather than Japanese.

Proton employs young and inexperience designer (in their 30’s). No doubt their brain is excellent (1st class degree maybe?) but they are just not good enough and they are not world class (not yet!).

In order Proton to come out a car with world-stunning design, they must employ a world class designer and engineers.

• arcana (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 3:41 pm

their concepts appear to be leaps and bounds from the current models…..but then when reality sets in……the copycat minds takeover and what we see is a combination of this and that…..why koreans why???
    its not like the concept looks light years ahead…..its almost as good to reach assembly lines…..
    kinda disappointed with the production one after much hope of this concept model

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 4:53 pm

no comment, haha!!

this car is very nice! :-)

• Beyond The Edge (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 3:00 pm

A part of this car looks like Camry,BMW 5…. , I also agree.
    But I think design is similer composition.
    It means no totally new design in the world.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 3:11 pm

nice

• One92 (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 2:44 am

i also agree.. it looks like camry, bmw and the body shape looks like the new merc s class.. ayyooo manyak campur2 design