10-year ban for doing a wheelie in Miami

Rempit

Our government should take a leaf out of this book – a new bill has been filed in Miami for new laws to be applied to motorcyclists – crazy antics will result in a 10 year license revocation and a mandatory stay in prison.

“This guy did a wheelie. It’s unbelievable. These motorcycles passed us like we were standing still. They’re just blatantly riding in excessive speeds, putting themselves and other motorists in danger. It’s just too much,” said Miami state representative Carlos Lopez-Cantera when he witnessed the Miami rempits for himself.

Once the bill is passed, it should be in effect next year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 6:43 am

outside our country they are professional using superbike. our fellow rempit use only kapchai and 5 chai

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 6:48 am

AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 6:48 am

i suggest that this dun implement here. if they wan to die then let them go ahead and dun disturb me on the road. POTONG and REMPIT to the hell…!!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:25 am

Wow.. i didn’t know that Miami has ‘Mat Rempits’ as well…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:38 am

In Malaysia, doing a wheelie is considered a hero status (Mat Cemerlang) and you even stand a chance to be sent to the north pole for a dive.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:40 am

all around the world has rempit but just we here add a “mat”.
    i have seen many videos doing wheelie using superbike and they have many tricks and styles. only malaysian rempit so cheap. only know how to drag motor. 1 kilo!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:42 am

i only can see that it is a death status that will guide you to hell

• rexis (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:01 am

According to wikipedia, “Mat Rempit” is mainly referring to motor racing gang in Malaysia made up by a particular race. :/

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:13 am

gov really should put harder punishment. example confiscated the kapchai for like… forever. plus 10 strokes of rotan.wikipedia hehe. good job on that rexis.there are also mat rempit issues in indonesia. it’s called ‘geng motor’. but PTAllTheBest sure good some issues with mat rempit.

‘i only can see that it is a death status that will guide you to hell’

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:16 am

nonsense. like current mat rempit have license and road tax.
    even their motor is a stolen motorcycle.

mandatory stay in prison? 1 day?
    rempits will laugh if this rules implemented here.

• szw (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:17 am

i can’t agree more…

• raverus (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:22 am

Hey! ‘they’ still need rempits vote………dream on, pathetic but true…. :S

• EddyHyip (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:46 am

This law will never be realized in Malaysia. Here, Mat Rempits are national treasure. Someone stupidly proposed to have their own circuit to enchance their “profesionalism”, make the mats cop buddies (how irony when a criminal help justice while they against it themselves) and bla bla bla….

• junky_man (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:59 am

IMO, to curb ‘rempit-ism’ or ‘rempit-litis’ in KL initially is to ban motorcycles on the road from 10pm onwards daily except for delivery boys (e.g mc donalds).

if i were to be more cruel, ban 10pm onwards during weekdays and all the time during the weekends except for delivery boys. again, that’s being cruel.

what i want to say is that curfew is the key.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:02 am

they should implement this here

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:19 am

rempits in miami is not as much in malaysia. if there is jail mandatory for rempit in malaysia, i believe all the jails in malaysia will be full of rempit.

• Dinozilla (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:22 am

you can’t do so man….
    if you arrest them and put into jail…
    not just the jail full….
    U-KNOW-WHO will lost a lot of youth members

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:32 am

10 year license revocation would be far too light a punishment. I vote death penalty by any means, so long as they die.

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 12:38 pm

cbljkkj said,
    November 28, 2007 @ 11:32 am

10 year license revocation would be far too light a punishment. I vote death penalty by any means, so long as they die.

———————————————

im with you man… DIE! DIE! DIE!

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 12:44 pm

how can they ban mat rempit? they are very patriotic…

quote: However, they are also very patriotic too by waving Malaysian flags all around during Independence Day shouting “Merdeka!”, and then ending up under a van……. source: http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/Mat_Rempit

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:06 pm

Mat Rempits are the scourge of the road that should be wiped clean off the face of malaysian roads.

I have countless times nearly run into them because of thier antics. And then have to audacity to flip the finger to someone that has the reaction and skill not to make you a roadkill and a “statistic”.

And the police are doing what exactly?

Law would be useless if the police are not doing anything. They have enough in thier powers to stop them already. As far as I’m concerned and seen from recent events, the police is just another bloated, bureaucratic, corrupted and puppeted arm of the the present government. As long as if they can show otherwise, this will be the prevailing notion of the so called “keepers of the peace”.

I really pity the honest officers in the force for having to deal with these sort of stereotypes.

Quite telling when they have all the time in the world to catch people speeding 20 over the limit on the highway, but never bat an eye to the rempits banzai’ing the city over 50 over the city limit. Perhaps rempits are not a ready cash cow…….

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:44 pm

As long as the current govt is in power, this law won’t come into effect. Because they want their votes WTF. They’re an ‘asset’, remember?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 2:07 pm

thrs no point in revocating license…thrs such poor implemention n poor police present that even if revocation of license wdnt deter bikers to drive around…i mean curently how many of thm drive around without paying road tax…..whos thr to check la….

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 2:10 pm

10 year license revocation and a mandatory stay in prison.
    ———–
    The punishment is excessive! Perhaps that fella who proposed this law is more on punishment for “petty wrongdoing” rather than preventive and rehabilitative.

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 2:20 pm

a nuisance,…their bikes are noisy,endangering others…and they are proud of it,I’ve experienced even being provoked by them…Gov should just ban this small cc bikes because it’s simply dangerous on the road

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 3:29 pm

just lets them free when they involve in an accident dont treat them lets they die lor then police just laught wkakakakakaka ask them if they need more wheelll

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 6:32 pm

sorry paul out of topic, satria neo and gen2 lucnched in thailand moto expo today with campro CPS !

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 8:19 pm

What?!? In thailand they sell CPS but in Malaysia we get the basic Campro! WTF, see! If this is true, proton done it again give foreign more better spec then us…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 8:41 pm

I found the news in Bernama, http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=299061

And the new CPS Gen.2/ Neo is selling very cheap! the Neo and the Gen.2 are priced from 499,000 baht and 549,000 baht respectively,Is around RM49,900 for satria neo and RM54,900 Gen.2 for the CPS engine!

I gonna compare to price when Proton sell the CPS engine model in Malaysia.

• armandd (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:12 pm

i’ve got something to tell. two rempits (rider and pillion) crashed in front of me after they ran a traffic light this morning. everybody just drove past them, haha. that really made my day =).

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:31 pm

how to say cheap??? same price only mah!!!
    do u expect that they will increase the price just only because they add another technology in their stupid junk.
    FYI that this technology is very outdated already. if they dare to increase the price next time we wont see anyone want to buy their stupid junk.
    perhaps you should realize that they also treat us like donkey. CPS for other country first…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:12 am

Well, it should be done. I agree. No more stupid “mat gemilang”. The moment u get a horrible peron, change into national hero shows something wrong in the head somewhere there. No need to parachute at pole to get votes. In fact, I am not endorsing someone who goes to polar caps by terrorizing other people

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:58 am

cps vvt v tech, well the simillarly concept /design born in the 60s
    ……..outdated? well its the most used today,
    even 4 stroke internal combustion has been around more than 100 years,

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:37 am

I think gov have to use stricter punishment toward these mat-rempits, at least it helps in some levels and at the same time, it shows people gov is concerning this problem…

• acbc (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:36 am

I don’t think it will work here…

Why?

1. Mat Rempits are the sole-property of UMNO Youth.
    2. Mat Rempits are the eyes and ears of the police.
    3. Mat Rempits are instant ‘cheap’ voters for BN.
    4. Mat Rempits are people who are prepared to die (for cheap thrills).
    5. Mat Rempits are nothing but sore-losers in life!

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:25 am

LittleFire85,

10bath is NOT RM1 anymore. From motortrader:
    ==========
    Prices for the new Gen2 and Satria Neo in Thailand are set at between 499,000 – 549,000 baht (RM54,562 – RM60,029). The Savvy was also on display and priced at 399,000 baht (RM43,627).
    ==========
    If u wan our currency to continue slippin, u can decide to vote our “democratic”, “pantang dicabar” gahmen or not.

Election is nearby……

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:26 am

I mean, the currency’s value, that is…..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 2:59 pm

screw the mat rempits, sissy ppl in thier modenas

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:02 pm

10-year ban for all Mat Rempits on the road…lol~

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:30 am

ban them all

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 12:33 pm

yea…agree wit acbc…hard to ban mat rempit…i hate them…

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:48 pm

no need to jail. just send them off to indonesia. let them take thier bikes with them. or maybe substitute them with a BMX. they can do thier bit for the environment. zero emmision somemore.

malaysia will be ruined by crime if the police force and government as a whole dont step up to it and curb the crime now.