Chevrolet Captiva unveiled in Malaysia

Chevrolet Captiva

Hicom-Chevrolet Sdn Bhd unveiled the Chevrolet Captiva‘s Malaysian line-up yesterday, and although exact prices have not been determined yet, we now at least know a price range as well as spec levels of the different variants. It’s a sexy SUV with an appealing design that reminds me somewhat of a smaller Audi Q7.

The Chevrolet Captiva (essentially a Daewoo Winstorm) will come in four flavours on our local soil – a 2WD petrol, a 2WD diesel, a 4WD petrol and a 4WD diesel. The petrol option will be a 2.4 litre 4-cylinder iron block E-TEC II engine putting out a relatively low (for it’s displacement) 136 horsepower at 5,000rpm, and a decent 220Nm of torque at a surprisingly low 2,200rpm. This engine was definitely tuned to make all of its grunt at low RPMs, good for an SUV. The diesel option is a 2.0 litre turbocharged unit with Bosch direct injection making 150hp at 4,000rpm and 320Nm of torque at 2,000rpm.

Both engines are mated to a 5-speed automatic transmission with Tiptronic. For the 2WD models the power goes to the wheels via the front wheels, while in 4WD versions the system runs mostly with the front wheels, but sends torque to the rear wheels as needed up to a 50:50 split. The 7-seater Chevrolet Captiva uses a monocoque chassis (long wheelbase GM Theta platform) and rides on a MacPherson strut setup on the front and a multilink suspension at the rear, so comfort and handling should exceed competing SUVs that use a ladder frame chassis and rear coil spring setup.

It will be priced from RM138,000 for the cheapest 2WD petrol variant to RM155,000 for the most expensive 4WD diesel variant, which will include premium safety features such as ESP stability control, and Descent Control.

Two launches in one year by the new Hicom-Chevrolet joint venture – what’s next? Perhaps the Asian-market Chevrolet Colorado (a rebadged Isuzu D-MAX)?

More photos and a video after the jump.

Video: Chevrolet Captiva

Chevrolet Captiva

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:37 am

I prefer this SUV’s styling. Doesn’t look too ‘American’.

• s60t (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:43 am

The design looks decent, with nice proportions.don’t know about resale and service back up though.good price for a 7 seater SUV.torque would be more useful than hp for an SUV which you wouldnt want to rev to the limit to get the power.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:45 am

Looks pretty good. What other variants do they have? 2WD Diesel?

I’m surprised the figures for 2.4L look pretty low. Looking forward to read Paul’s test drive report.

• Paul Tan on Nov 28, 2007 at 7:47 am

not sure if i can get a test drive. at first i didnt even know there was a launch, and did not get to attend.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:12 am

Is it just me or does the interior look really small from the pictures?

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:16 am

ROFL at the bags and family… nice SUV btw :)

• szw (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:20 am

i saw the chevy people training on dis car in my coll

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:34 am

is this car interior big enough for big guys like me paul in pic it look narrow look like size of kancil

• Xylan (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:26 am

this car is cool and it looks better than santa fe.

• gonggok (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:35 am

Those kids are pretty limber to have gotten into those red bags :)

The design is clean and nice and that 2WD turbodiesel looks tempting…

• EddyHyip (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:40 am

Captiva is a nice car… from its look.
    Exterior that resemble a mini Toureg with side profile of q7 (my personal view)
    Interior is not so fascinating but neat… for me it looks like Sorento’s dash but it’s actually a new 1. I notice that the seats especially at the back downgrade the overall quality…

Anyone agree?..

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:55 am

impressive…
    nice korean car…
    4WD diesel will b a good choice…
    just too bad engine is mounted transversely…
    most of the power distributed to the front for normal drive…
    looking forward for paul test drive report… ^^

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:03 am

uninspiring

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:12 am

im hoping those red bags are the optional accessories for captiva or comes with captiva. good for family or couple.

i like it except the rear part looks somehow disproportion especially rear light like ssangyong kyron with shield rear light. the rest are just amazingly good.

• joeysis (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 11:18 am

When only we can have real Chevrolet, this is just another Daewoo, forget about Korean car….. better get a Suzuki Grand Vitara

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 12:31 pm

the rear lights look freaky to me… seems to be like two huge eyes staring at you like tat…

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:13 pm

150ps and 320nm from a 2.0L, it’s a pretty decent output for a diesel of that capacity, better even than any of our 2.5L diesel pickups selling here…

• najibest (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:24 pm

nice looking SUV…. adds up another option besides the recently launched santa fe.. :)

and btw, some of us would say that this is not a true chevy car, it’s korean.. but bear in mind that this car was created as GM global SUV (from GM DAT) and marketed all over the world from Australia as the Holden Captiva to the US as the Saturn Vue.. and so far from the reviews i’ve read, most are saying it’s OK..

• nmh (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:29 pm

Interior looks tipical uninspiring korean. Exterior just ok larr. Perhaps I need to go to the showroom first b4 critics

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:43 pm

That narrow shot of the interior shows very cramped seats. But it’s due to the distorted picture (either through post-photo editing or camera lens). I’m sure it’s much more spacious than it appears in that particular photo.

The design looks good. Pricing is not bad and 2WD variant is reasonable.

• kingglim (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:55 pm

Wow, It is amazing that today’s diesel engine is already producing hp equivalent to petrol engine and far stronger torque than petrol engine. Look at the outputs of the 2.0 turbocharged diesel, hp is already close to Civic and Lancer level. This thing can carry SUV load and still sprint like Civic and Lancer. The diesel engine of the latest Hyundai Santa Fe also has the similar impressive hp output. The apocalypse of petrol engine is coming.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 2:04 pm

fron looks like the fortuner,side like the new crv….bt looks decent…..bt i stil tink the petrol wil outsell the diesel……..

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 2:14 pm

The exterior design is elegant, and the boot is “acommodative” but too pricey for SUV with Korean origin.

• mayor81 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 4:18 pm

“The exterior design is elegant, and the boot is “acommodative” but too pricey for SMALL CAR with Thailand origin.”

try and guess what car is that?

-Honda City

The R&D of GM for the rest of the world market is in Korea. The R&D for Honda for 3rd World Country cars is in Thailand. The engine for the TDi is a VM and GM joint development.

How much should it be priced then, A CR-V which is an SUV with no SUV functions, is selling for…….

What features can we compare between the two?

HDC,TRC,Self Levelling Sussies….. the list will go on and on…

• LCH (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 4:25 pm

to small for me….specelly the third-row seat..small

• mo_say (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 4:46 pm

a bit bigger than crv!…dim cap/crv…length: 4639/4520, width:1849/1820, height:1726/1680, wb: 2707/2620…

• DFS.com (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 4:59 pm

very nice SUV indeed, this SUV is displayed in the newly opened chevrolet showroom off federal highway which is nearby the Peugeot showroom. almost all of the showcars displayed are the Captiva.

• coolguru (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 5:27 pm

I’m so waiting for the Mazda CX-7. Any news that it’s coming or pricing

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 9:12 pm

140K is cheap for such a big car… But i will go for the Santa Fe..

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Shoudn’t more people mean more bags???…or that guy has plenty of condoms to carry….

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:14 am

will people go for this or the Sorento then…

• shamel (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:18 am

Performance
    Top speed 170-180 km/h
    Acceleration 0-100 km/h 12.2-13.5 s
    Consumption
    In the city 11.0 l/100 km
    Out of city 7.3 l/100 km
    Average consumption 8.7-9.2 l/100 km (ECE)

Aforementioned figures stand for AWD auto, whereas the 4×2 maybe closer to this manual AWD data, not bad right?

Top speed 175-186 km/h
    Acceleration 0-100 km/h 10.6-12.5 s
    Consumption
    In the city 9.0 l/100 km
    Out of city 6.5 l/100 km
    Average consumption 7.4-8.1 l/100 km (ECE)

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 2:49 am

It is a good looking suv, not the typical American suv…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:01 pm

decent design with that price, but the power for 2.4L seem too low for me

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:00 pm

cr-v nicer

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 7:56 pm

cr-v maybe nicer but this caters to a different market whereby the need for more seats and lower fuel costs is of priority. Hence Chevy’s push for the 2.0 Turbo D which has a particulate trap to filter the sulphur content in our diesel which would screw up the engine and reduce performance if left unattended

• proton GL (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 12:17 am

these day SUV are too sweet, feminist
    well woman might like it,

but the essense of suv or 4×4 styling is, box angular, land rover discovery for instance,
    http://au.carnewstoday.com/car-news/images/thumbs/lrg_article_9361-img_0.jpg

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:32 am

u want more seats go buy a van

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 11:31 pm

Not everyone thinks that way. Otherwise why would Mercedes build the M, G and R class? Go figure

• Alireza (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 11:28 am

I’ve booked for a Captiva 2.0L full spec. I’ll receive it during next month.

I’ve test drived it before booking and also I’ve surveyed all of it’s interior. So, I should say that it has a plenty of space (leg room, shoulder room, storage compartments…) to those guys who think it’s not enough spacious. In fact, the first and second rows are really roomier than CR-V and X-Trail, as I tested both of them before booking for Captiva. Please don’t forget that the 3rd row seats are designated for children in a long trip or adults in short paths, though it was not so bad for mid-size adults even for long journey.

I aslo tested the Santa Fe, which is nearest competitor from the view point of space, number of seats, engine type, exterior look and so on. I should say that after testing all of these cars and comparing their specs and also drive feeling, I decided to book for the Captiva. The high end model (4WD diesel) has amazing list of features, besides its really powerful and smooth engine.

It has any luxurious and safety feature you may think, except the sun roof. Electrical adjustable seat, 6-disc changer with MP3, auto air conditioning, separate air conditioning for rear most seats, electricaly adjustable and foldable wing mirrors with turn signal, ventilated disc brakes for all 4 wheels, cooled glove box, rear parking sensor, halogen head light, rain sensor, leather trim, Audio and Cruise control on the steering wheel, ABS/EBD/BA/ESP/TCS/…., separately opening tailage window, 17″ 9-spoke alloy rims with 235/65R17 tyres, multi-informational display, …..

I’ll post more comments about the driving, as soon as the care is deliverd to me.

• johan on Mar 26, 2010 at 2:53 am

im driving 2.4L petrol..consumption killing me..anyone agree with me.? lets share problem..