MIER: Brace for petrol hike of 30 to 40 sen!

Fuel Price Joke

The Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) forecasts a petrol price increase of between 30 to 40 sen after the general elections, based on rising costs of fuel subsidies which have amounted to about RM35 billion so far this year.

This will bring petrol prices up from RM1.92 to RM2.22 or RM2.32, depending on a 30 or 40 sen increase. According to MIER executive director Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem, consumers would be okay with a fuel price hike of up to 40 sen, but not any higher.

A Perodua Myvi’s 40 litre fuel tank would cost RM92.80 to fill up with a RM2.32 per litre petrol price, compared to the current RM76.80. Assuming 5 fill-ups per month, that would be an extra RM80 every month to pay for petrol. The cost of motoring will also be hurt by the expected rise in toll prices.

Read more at the original source.

Expected toll hike on January 1st 2008

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 6:29 am

This is disssssgusting, dessssssspicable I tells ya (In Daffy Duck’s voice)

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 6:34 am

“Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem, consumers would be okay with a fuel price hike of up to 40 sen, but not any higher”

Where did he get his facts from I wonder? Oh well, back to the coal mines to work even harder to afford fuel I guess.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 7:01 am

I wonder how much Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem get for a month, or maybe he used a Honda Cub instead. Vote for BN=Barang Naik. it will caused a chain reaction after petrol hike, price of everything will follow suit. The oil price hike is due to weak dollar right. Hmm. Something fishy here. Pak Lah’s listen to his only son in law.

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 7:36 am

Really need to think & elect wisely during the next general election!!!
    Is the ppl we elect able to voice out our concern?

semua barang harga naik.. hanya gaji tak naik…

• mofo (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 7:52 am

Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem, please justify to us how the consumer able to absorb the 40 cents hike.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:07 am

A Perodua Myvi’s 40 liter fuel tank would cost RM92.80 to fill up with a RM2.32 per liter petrol price, compared to the current RM76.80. Assuming 5 fill-ups per month, that would be an extra RM80 every month to pay for petrol.
    —————–
    What kind of “research” by this Professor, sure his piece of writing not even to undergraduate standard, let alone published in well establish journal or other publictions. If this bunch of professor is allow in local U, the ranking in THES would be a “free-fall-slide”.

On average, car mileage is 2,000 KM to 3,000 KM per month. Say to average per km is current 20 sen. An increase of 40 sen means per litre means 20.83 %. That means the additional cost in one year if the average mileage is 30,000 KM x 20 sen x 1.2083 = RM 1,250. It is RM 100 per month. How about increase in toll, foodstuff and other as a chain effect of petrol hike? Surely the overall cost at least 3 to 5 time of this amount that can affect low income group dearly.

Do a proper math first rather than “selective”! Somemore in many Shell or Petronas station show the actual cost for petrol is around RM 2.50 per litre when the oil is around USD 70 per barrel. Now nearly USD 100.

To talk about eliminate subsidy in oil, the price shall adjust to RM 3.00 to RM 4.00 per litre.

Damn bullshit talking.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:11 am

If the price adjust to RM 3.00 to 4.00 per litre, rakyat die

If the NAP tax not abolish (which is a form of “subsidy” to P1, AP king/queen, cronies, etc), rakyat also die.

Die, die, die, die, …………………………

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:14 am

Hmm, I wonder what the unsubsidised price is now exactly.

• neurra (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:18 am

why la the toll price increase. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
    everything going up sure got a lot of suicide cases coming soon

• awie (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:30 am

itulah korang semua bila pembangkang buat perhimpunan tanak datang..bila petrol naik dah nak beralih arah kepada pembangkang then kutuk2 ur gomen..wat the hack…di mana komitmen kita kalu kerajaan tak mampu nak tanggung subsidi lagi… new government should take over…

After election…40-50 sen..
    2 month after election….another 40-50sen
    2 month after…………….another 40-50sen
    6 month after…………….another 40-50sen
    1.5 year after…………….another 40-50sen
    Next coming election again…Hike rm2.00 (becaused at that time the PM is Khairy)

….Dont compared with Myvi lorr..compared with Persona loor..hehe

• mrm (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:31 am

This MIER guy is straddling the middle ground of oil price forecast. He may partly be on the Govt payroll also.

So he says rakyat can absorb 40 sen but not more. But there’s rumour saying it could rise to as high as between 60-70 sen which knowing our G, anything is possible.

But I agree with BigFish, how come a Professor can miss out to consider the chain effect of an underlying commodity like oil/petrol/diesel price? The chain effect is massive. All our beloved nasi lemak, teh tarik, roti telur, air mineral will go up by 20-30% also… In fact, last year’s raise already used up long time ago to cover 2007 inflation. Let alone 2008 inflation.

How to survive?

• rexis (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:32 am

CONSUMERS WOULD BE OKAY WITH A FUEL PRICE HIKE OF UP TO 40 SEN!!!?????

Fuel hike is expected, but just that I really cannot stand the CRAPS these people bullshitting about. Everytime fuel hike we sure got crap-of-the-year comming out.

“Change life style” – rite, trade in your camry, buy perodua
    “Consumers wod b ok wif hike of 40 sen…” – rite rite, trade in perodua, buy honda Boon Siew + rain coat

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:32 am

Well Paul, I was wondering the same on the unsubsidies price?…I still remember this one bloody minister who suggested bicycle to commute, honestly…I wanna see him start 1st…no action talk only….if theyre words from ministers abroad sure dah buat..well over here…they all cakap je pandai…oh..also pandai pakai duit rakyat too..

Back to the fuel issue…Paul, why wont the goverment promote Natural Gas (NG) for the public? I mean, campaign on installation, its advantages on the environment (many dah tau kot..) n all…I think its rather cheap…d installation part is slightly pricey but only once right?..I mean ..let more petrol kiosk have these NG islands ? But are most NG vehicles underpowered?

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:44 am

Gas price increase inevitable since this is the global issue too, but I don’t understand how come gov has no control with the toll increase, necessity, until now we haven’t seem the agreement between gov and toll companies…
    I am sure who I going to vote in coming election, this is our way express our dissatisfy toward current gov adminstration…

• Ricc (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:50 am

” Quoted : According to MIER executive director Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem, consumers would be okay with a fuel price hike of up to 40 sen, but not any higher. ”

Wut a dumb @$$ comment. He “makan duit rakyat” of coz can afford la.. Hike till RM5.00 per litre also no prob for him.. Coz we’re the 1 who filled up his god damned Mercs.. and we need to cycle to work..

• FactsForLife (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:51 am

thhats what BN strategy lor..
    after pick them again they increase the price for petrol and toll again and again.
    PakLah mabok n his son in law khairy kaki bodek should be blame on their low and slow performance!!!

• ndmervin (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:51 am

This is an ongoing fear that we have to live with. Seems like petrol is a very lucrative business for any government thats why they hike the price. Why dont they hike the price of, say, cukai pintu, alcohol, ciggies, or any other non-benefit products, which we humans would love to consume?

THey should ‘tweak’ the price hike somewhere else so that it brings a certain benefit to the rakyat. Something out there that is worth hiking the price, an ‘evil’ product/service that would be dentrimental to one’s physical/mental/emotional being.

Yes, we can accept the fact that petrol prices would increase but at least give us options la, like instead of fossilised fuel, why not encourage the rakyat to use hybrids (of course, control the price of such vehicles la). And I can see that the incorporation of Synergy Drive (a merger of Sime Darby, Golden Hope and Guthrie) is the next best thing after Petronas – the major bio-diesel fuel supplier for the country. But then again, I’m sure any gov would wait till the last drop of fossil fuel is finished only will start using ‘organic’ or hybrid solutions for that future’s vehicles.

• najibest (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:53 am

not sure about how much the unsubsidize price now is.. but if i’m not mistaken.. in the US now it’s about usd 2.90 – 3.10/ gallon depending on location.. since 1 gallon is about 4 liters, i guess we can estimate the unsibsidized price to be around RM2.45-2.65/liter… but then again..over there everything except for services are cheap.. and there’re rarely any toll over there..not to mention excellent, cheap and integrated public transportation..so i guess they dont’ have much to complain even with the high gas price..n don’t get me started on the cheap fuel efficient cars they have there :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:10 am

What can I say. Vote properly coming General Election. I wont be voting for any BN candidates for sure.

That said, don’t hold your breath for the current opposition to have an answer to the rising fuel costs as this is a global issue.

Fuel cost will still continue to rise, irespective of who governs the country. However, perhaps changes in policy will reduce the rot elsewhere. Perhaps the billions that go “missing” could have be used to finance public transportation infrastructure.

• jeriey (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:16 am

BIASA LA BN=BARANG NAIK….HAHHAHA…UNDI LA LG BN, CONFIRM NAIK ….YG SEDAP DENGAR TU, NAIK LEPAS PILIHANRAYA…..BIJAK PAK LAH

• droll (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:18 am

my god…….if this comes true, the final impact will be much higher due to cascading effect of rising prices on other goods and services! :(

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:20 am

here goes another talk cock again. they never know how we suffer through this kind of situation. somemore have to pay tax. and they just continue to talk cock. POLITICIANS!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:34 am

Haha, we all know that’s coming, they did keep their promise though; no price hikes this year. And Paul, you HAVE TO STOP using that comic for every fuel price related post :p

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:37 am

wa…everything goes up…my budget on fuel also increase…i think they want more ppl migrate to another country la…..shame u pak lah…

yuyp…i agree wit najibest…eventho their fuel price is increase…but they dun have a toll…public transport is cheap and efficient…but we…in bolehland…fuel increase…toll increase…public transport is nt cheap and not efficient…

i cant imagine if khairy become pm…all of us are dead i think…

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:50 am

The Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) forecasts a petrol price increase of between 30 to 40 sen after the general elections, based on rising costs of fuel subsidies which have amounted to about RM35 billion so far this year.
    ——————
    So Mr. Pro-fart-sore, you also don’t mentioned G gain from oil increase through Petronas. The increase is around USD 30 per barrel x 700,000 barrels output per day x 365 days = USD 7.665 billion x 3.45 = RM 26.44 billion on top of existing income! So net G subsidy is RM 35 billion – RM 26.44 billion = RM 8.56

Toll collection, say = RM 3 billion

Say average car NAP tax is RM 25K x 400K car per year = RM 10 billion.

So net subsidy by G = RM 35 billion – RM 26.44 billion – RM 3 billion – RM 10 billion = -4.44 billion.

CONCLUSION = These 3 variable already shown rakyat is paying more than what they get.

How about chain effect for increase on other goods and services taken into consideration?

Let work backward about how realistic this RM 35 billion?

Car population is around 7 million.

Subsidy 35 billion

Average subsidy per car is = 35 billion/7 million = RM 5,000.

Or approximately RM 400.00 per month (another RM 16.67 apportion to motorbike).

Look at how he lie through his teeth: –

“A Perodua Myvi’s 40 liter fuel tank would cost RM92.80 to fill up with a RM2.32 per liter petrol price, compared to the current RM76.80. Assuming 5 fill-ups per month, that would be an extra RM80 every month to pay for petrol.”

His calculation for MyVi is on average petrol consumption is RM 92.80 x 5 = RM 464.00

So the G average subsidy for MyVi is = RM 464.00/(RM 464.00 + RM 400.00) = 54%

Are we get petrol subsidy at average 54% ?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:50 am

Well, i predict the Turbo diesel engine still sell better n NGV conversion will make a fortune..

Proton, i gonna see how u survive if the petrol hike went up. 40 sen seem a bit little; some of them even say rise until RM2.50/L n Diesel will between RM2.00/L. Thailand now is over RM3.10 for petrol…

I will support Diesel all the way if the G set the Diesel quality to Euro4 as fast as possible…

• szw (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:04 am

wth ?

• rexis (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:28 am

Last time 30 cen hike is already a disaster, and now this joker say “40 cen is okay”. They are effectively making our money smaller and smaller.

• frossonice (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:36 am

http://www.gtz.de/de/dokumente/en-international-fuelprices-final2007.pdf

Maybe this link will help you guys understand more about fuel price world wide.

• dzat46 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:42 am

Damn!….if fuel price increase, will have to ride my scooter not just to wk but during weekend too….

• najibest (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:05 am

frossonice thanx for the link…quite revealing indeed albeit it’s back in 2006 where the oil price is around usd60/bbls.. but good info anyway :) …

come to think about it..following the example of the US, where for every gallon they pump, part of the money goes to the state and federal road fund..that explains why most of the road there are free of charge..even the interestate highways are free.. what i’m really wondering is why can’t we do the same? if we’re spending billions to subsidize for fuel, why not lift the subsidy and just buy over all those toll concessionaires with that money instead, compensate people with low income and living in states with no hway with some sort of tax rebate etc.. (subsidy @ fuel pump would never work here)..that way we can cope better with the fuel price increase as we no longer have to pay for toll.. and the money can also be use for better public transport..

fuel price increase can never be avoided..it’s a global phenomenon.. but at least the government need to find ways to help the rakyat through other measures.. increasing the toll price at the same time the fuel price is about to increase is definitely not the right measure to help the people.. and giving stupid excuses like we have to increase the toll price because those highways have low traffic volumes is just plain dumb..why ON EARTH was the highway approved in the 1st place if u already know people don’t wanna use them? ..

• electron (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:17 am

“According to MIER executive director Professor Datuk Dr Mohamed Ariff Abdul Kareem, consumers would be okay with a fuel price hike of up to 40 sen, but not any higher”

Why I oughta… (huff, huff, calming down)

Hello, Prof, sit down with the orang biasa at the kedai kopi and talk to them and not sit in your office and discuss it among your high salary colleagues/golfing buddies and then come up with a funny statement/conclusion

• waimak (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:19 am

RM0.40 is too much. Where is that multi tier pricing that everybody is talking about, meant for the poor? There was a suggestion in the newspaper, i read, to implement a 2-tier pricing system in which the first x litre will be charged RMX.00 while the additional x litre will be charged higher.

• ys (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:35 am

aiyoo electron, in bolehland, everything can happen.
    these big shot donno what happening outside office.
    what they care is when is their next oversea trip for “lawatan sambil belajar” but so far i dont see any benefit from the “lawatan”.
    what they care about 40sen ka, 60sen ka…because their car petrol is pay by g.

malaysian ppl is suffering but our g now pulak wanna buy “2nd roket” for reverse engineering… damn funny

• ys (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:38 am

sorry, is 2nd hand roket….
    unable to control my emosional

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 12:00 pm

yah he will say rm 0.40 is not alot but for everyone else its alot,maybe he will get fuel allowance,7% discount on buying a house and saving rm 30k to 40k on interest alone,interest free car loan even if he own a MYVI it will save him about rm 14 k on interest but not everyone will enjoy the same benefit…consider about the rest..40 cents is alot per litre!!

i wonder why the G cant afford to subsidies the fuel..then abolish the NAP and road tax!!we pay everything that the G can throw at us…when the middle east can subsidies petrol why cant our G do the same!!or just admit they cant create enough revenue and generate enough income to run the country!!JUST ADMIT THAT and people will be willing to help the G…

they always deny every single thing that come at them and pretend as if they are perfect!!!last year hike was to improve public transport but by just buying 1000 buses in 4.4 billion they said they can save enough to improve public transport??where is the new LRT stations??i dont even see any construction going on anywhere along the new proposed route!!then how they expect people to travel to work??this country is going to face a very bad time in the near future and be prepared..or try change the G..thats the best thing to do!!or there will be more riots in the near future!!!i think i am going to join the next one!!i hate to listen to all the politicians who deny every single thing they do wrong!!why cant they just admit they are not perfect????and accept the public’s suggestions?people..please come together this election and vote for the opposing parties..and make the ruling party know whats the true meaning of democracy!!!!if we dont do it now…the next five years we will all walk to work,eat half roti canai by spliting with our colleague,bring our kids shopping via internet,and go for holiday in travel channel!!

• glowtron.com (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 12:46 pm

I still don’t understand why the government doesn’t encourage the usage of hybrid cars (like the Honda civic hybrid) by subsiding it, instead of taxing it to the max. Doesn’t make sense. :p

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 1:32 pm

Ouch…. a projected 30 to 40 cents increase? Hurmmmm even when if they increase it to a mere 1 cent pun, ALL traders, suppliers will increase their price to 200% or more. atas alasan populer — “kos bahan mentah naik”. damn them. regarding my vote, i’ll just intentionally make mine as undi rosak. c’mon ler Big Bro, don’t spend Rakyat $$$ on trivial stuff like buy that Soyuz capsule ler. Just reduce ur military budget, reduce ur hospital budget, reduce ur school budget, no more so called lawatan-sambil-belajar-to-developed-countries by govt staffs. no more year-end spending konon2 mau habiskan this year budget. atas alasan kalu tak habis, next year budget dapat sikit. big Bro……u wont get my vote.

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 2:16 pm

BN= BARANG NAIK, Gaji naik,PM Batang pun Naik…

• wildthingz (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:05 pm

minyak naik lagiiiiiii yahooooooo – that what taukey minyak shout hahahaha darn g bila minyak naik maybe some of us can afford but kalu minyak naik benda lain tentu naik alasan minyak naik how we can survive dam u g raise our salry 25% but ur barang naik more then that better u guys dont increase our salary lah we can be ur slave till we die now we entering zaman komunis lor i think undi BN- barang naik undi DAP- takut price fly higher with the soyuz (roket) undi KEADILAN- takut harga pon tetap naik bcuz they very adil so they need to adil with tokey minyak also undi PAS- takut tak pergi maner maner wahhhhh so hard to choose hey any new party that can give benefit to rakyat meh all political party in our country want to be kaya not helping people what to say its democracy cakap pun takde guna so we be slave in our own country aduiiiiiiii kompen next year my name masuk list bankcruptcy hutang mau bayar barang manyak naik if i can be sheikh muzaffar better stay at space no need fuel just fly every where wakakakaka

• shamel (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:35 pm

Govt can’t allow toll rate stall as the companies belong to government (GLCs) though it will curb inflation across the board.

Never compare countries with low tax for car just because their fuel dearer than us. We maybe can accept pricing like Thailand if the car price also cheap like Thailand (if the reason we can’t do this because we got biawak hidup Proton, then kill the biawak), only few benefit from Proton. Also follow Thailand most of their hiways sans toll booths.

OK?

• arcana (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:36 pm

tau pun…..so undi whoever also tetap naik….
    its bush fault….thx for the war and thx for the $100 petrol……
    %&*%(#%#^%

• awie (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 4:16 pm

how u can say..undi sape2 pon sama..mana ada Pihak pembangkang memerintah negara ni..i think we need give them a chance… semasa PAS menang di terengganu BN laburkan banyak duit disana..macam2 dana di berikan kepada org ramai, tua muda, bekerja, pengganggur, doktor, jurutera, cikgu, profesional etc etc..mana datang duit ni semua..??..negeri lain ada dapat ka??..Kalu tak pecaya tanye lah sama mana2 rakyat terengganu..so wat the hack with this government??..they easly cheat us…

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 4:37 pm

in 1998, fuel prices are 10dolar satu tong. plus that time recession. now its almost 100dolar. so if you want cheap fuel, pray for recession especially for booming economy like china and india.
    ps: that sms in cbt about 1milion for all msians really klakar. 1milion x 24milion people= 24 trilion.

• freeze (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 4:50 pm

One thing I don’t understand. Papers recently reported that petronas is gaining a lot from increased petrol prices. I would assume that the government is getting richer and will reduce the price of petrol for us, but they want to increase price.

Where is the money going?

I want to buy a big land, dig a big hole and store fuel supply for me for the next 50 years.

• forestcat (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 5:02 pm

SPending $$$ to keep fuel prices low so that silly Malaysians could drive to a runcit shop 500 metres away just to buy a loaf of bread is also extremely wasteful.

• waimak (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 5:12 pm

I hope the policy makers drive on their own, pump the gas at the station themselves and pay for their meals out of their own money, not the company’s money.

• cyclops07 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 6:52 pm

FYI the current fuel price in UK is £1.00 per litter which is approximately RM7 per litter

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 8:08 pm

cyclops07:

Yes thats true but in the UK they pay for it with their UK earned salary. Don’t calculate in terms of British pound to ringgit, calculate one to one with the ringgit.

• avanza (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:20 pm

BIG QUESTION! WHY RISE AFTER ELECTION???

Don’t bother answering, it’s rethoric.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 9:21 pm

Savvy selling at around GBP 7K, can we buy here in Bolehland with RM 7K?

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:00 pm

When toll and NAP will be abolished? This is a form of “subsidy” from poor rakyat to enrich cronies, AP king/queen, ular-ular besar dll.

• eagle707 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:18 pm

cyclops07 = blind supporter of Barang Naik and has a ‘Cartoon brain’ . That’s why he use nickname cyclops.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 10:20 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    here goes another talk cock again. they never know how we suffer through this kind of situation. somemore have to pay tax. and they just continue to talk cock. POLITICIANS!!!
    ————————————————————–

Bro,

That’s not all (taxes and fuel hikes). Let’s not forget the hike in some tolls! Have to find a part time job!

• bmx (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

Malaysia is a net exporter oil petroleum, subsidy is small compared to revenue.

Every US$1 increase per barrel, we earn $250million/year, US$30 increase, we earn $7.5billion/year.

Question is = Where is all the money gone???

• monomania (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:25 pm

DEAR G,

YOU CAN GO HIKE THE PRICE TO ANY AMOUNT YOU WANT IF YOU ARE PROVIDING A GOOD PUBLIC TRANSPORT!!!!

sad man looking at our public transport… pls think and figure out laaaa.. rakyat all are soaring, yet your public transport still … *sigh*

malaysia is so farking boleh,.. damn frustrated!!!!

• monomania (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Question is = Where is all the money gone???
    ————————————-
    1) sending A malaysian to tumpang into outer space – Xbillion
    2) building A leaking state-of-the-art high court – XXbillion
    3) renting A eye-on-malaysia for a year – Xmillion
    4) providing x amount of auto-door-opening public toilet and hiring people to man it – Xmillion

c’mon ppl, let’s continue the list and show to all how G spends the $$$.

thanks!

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 11:57 pm

I hope the fuel price will become 2.50 or 2.80… So less people will drive frequent… But not to rise the Diesel so the public transport fee will not increase and more people will go for a diesel car…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 12:35 am

Very soon, I can use my RealRewards card when I fill my motorbike.

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 5:56 am

*petrol price falling not means car will be less. when petrol price increase, we will see more smaller cars.. And its lots of them.. And car are moving so slow that they want to safe petrol.. And thats a bad traffic as well. Some not know who, will switch of their car while waiting traffic light. Cant help these people.

*monomania .. G will said that money is small compared to petrol sub.
    Hey, petronas petrol is consider local wat, why selling follow international price. NOT FAIR!! chicken!

*if they compare to thailand or filiphine petrol price.
    They not paying toll fee la…. Not freaking scarely like ours. And their honda civic is selling RM60k. Why we have to pay 130k. Where this money go?? not back to petrol subsidise? dont tell me u sent it to space.. No brainer!

* why rise after election? sure laa… before election, sure heboh maaa. Who want to vote Barang Naik neh.?? After tick baran naik, barang pun naik laaa. Adui.

* when price increase, should see G take effort to bring in efficient hybrid car right? and how come civic hybrid still selling at sky high price. Where is the logic? ooo.. they want us to burn more petrol for sure.

* AP issue dont want solve, pandai2 come hick petrol price. So pandai. Eh.. AP issue also multi billions per year.

• mdjqs (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 9:35 am

hola to all!! …….i come in peace!!! :D

well……regarding this….i just dun know what to say….i just miss TDM’s time!! when the fuel price was increased previously by pak lah …my father decided to use the komuter!! and guess what….it saves a lot roughly rm600 a month!! BUT….ever since this pak lahs gov……the komuter is far from reliable……..breakdown at least 2 or 3 times a week……instead of arriving at workplace 8am….he end up arriving at least 2 hours l8er!!! thus decided to drive again…..client run away lei if like this!!! well rumours r going around that he wants public to hate the komuter services thus allowing our neighbour down there to take over the services……. well i can tell u that this talk about our gov is not only in malaysia….it has spreaded out around the globe!!! good luck to us all!!!

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:28 am

bmx said,
    November 29, 2007 @ 11:03 pm
    Malaysia is a net exporter oil petroleum, subsidy is small compared to revenue. Every US$1 increase per barrel, we earn $250million/year, US$30 increase, we earn $7.5billion/year. Question is = Where is all the money gone???
    ————————————————-

Very simple my friend, the $$$ is being kept by PETRONAS to pay for their OVER-SIZE salary.

Like i said earlier . PETORNAS make TONS of $$ at USD$35 a barrel. Now at USD$100 a barrel; PETRONAS is super RICH!

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:32 am

“consumers would be okay with a fuel price hike of up to 40 sen, but not any higher.”

Talk cock again!!!!!! He thinks 40 cents is little huh???!!!!!!!!

• electron (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:46 am

G = (proton/vw failure) + (fuel hike) + (toll hike) + (khairy)

G = nothing positive coming out of it (no matter how you do the math)

• waimak (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 2:59 pm

electron, cool man, cool.. :D

• rexis (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 3:02 pm

mystvearn, nice one. :D

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 7:33 pm

and now everybody said wan to ride motor.
    later we will see when during peak hours every major cities in malaysia fully crowded with motorcycles and scooters. especially KL…!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 10:18 pm

charles 27, please check your facts.

“*if they compare to thailand or filiphine petrol price.
    They not paying toll fee la…. Not freaking scarely like ours. And their honda civic is selling RM60k. Why we have to pay 130k.”

about thailand, if you live in bangkok, you pay toll everywhere just to use highways that jam like mad. if you dont use the highways, you jam even more. and no, the honda civic does not sell for RM60k (where the heck did you get that from??), yes, its cheaper, but spec for spec, the 1.8 there costs around RM90k, and the 2.0 about RM110k, about RM20k cheaper, which is still not a cheap car in my books. you are still not going to see everyone driving one. and dont forget, you pay RM3+ per litre for RON95.

its strange that no one excepts the true facts that we cannot live with petrol subsidies forever. regardless of who you vote, or who wins.. no govt in malaysia today will want to continue paying subsidies. the thing we should be looking out for, is how the govt manages this, reducing the subsidies, yet balancing out taxation, etc.. everywhere else to manage the inevitable inflation that follows.

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 30, 2007 at 11:34 pm

the thing we should be looking out for, is how the govt manages this, reducing the subsidies, yet balancing out taxation, etc.. everywhere else to manage the inevitable inflation that follows.
    ————–
    If they fail, we better vote this deadwood out of office, just like in Australia. Change of G doesn’t make Australia backward or chaos.

• orangetribal (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:31 pm

simple,on the coming elections.dont vote for the gov.they suck and you all know it.talk cock is all they know to bodek us.after they win,they’ll frgt about us again and we cant see them for the next 5 years or so.dammit our economy is heading nowhere with all this prices keep increasing.i am just speaking of the truth

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 6:45 am

Harga minyak sepanjang zaman.. (dalam masa 16 tahun –
    sejak 1990 )

sebelum 90 – RM 0.89
    tahun 1990 – RM 1.10 (kenaikan RM 0.21 )
    01/10/2000 – RM 1.20 (kenaikan RM 0.10)
    20/10/2001 – RM 1.30 (kenaikan RM 0.10)
    01/05/2002 – RM 1.32 (kenaikan RM 0.02)
    31/10/2002 – RM 1.33 (kenaikan RM 0.01)
    01/03/2003 – RM 1.35 (kenaikan RM 0.02 )
    01/05/2004 – RM 1.37 (kenaikan RM 0.02)
    01/10/2004 – RM 1.42 (kenaikan RM 0.05)
    05/05/2005 – RM 1.52 (kenaikan RM 0.10)
    31/07/2005 – RM 1.62 (kenaikan RM 0.10)
    28/02/2006 – RM 1.92 (kenaikan RM 0.30)

Nota : (ayat – ayat standard)

1. Kenaikan minyak masih rendah berbanding mana2 pun
    negara ASEAN.

2. Kerajaan akan pastikan kenaikan tidak membebankan .

3. Kerajaan tidak mampu lagi menampung subsidi.

4. Kerajaan memberi jaminan harga runcit petroleum
    tidak akan dinaikkan lagi pada TAHUN INI .

Saudara / Saudari,

Pertama sekali abang Perdana Menteri kita ia itu
    Ibrahim bin Badawi menerusi syarikatnya SkyChef
    menjadi supplier makanan kepada syarikat penerbangan
    MAS yang sekarang mengalami kerugian RM900 juta untuk
    sembilan bulan pertama 2005. Abang PM kita jual
    sebotol air mineral kepada MAS dengan harga RM30
    setiap botol. Kenapa kita hairan MAS rugi ?

Menteri Besar terengganu Idris Jusoh telah mengadakan
    lumba kapal layar Monsoon Cup yang menelan duit rakyat
    sebanyak RM300.0 Juta.

Duit ini di bayar kepada seorang taukeh bernama
    Patrick Lim dan kekawannya termasuk Khairy Jamaludin
    menantu Perdana Menteri. Perlumbaan kapal layar tak
    sampai lima hari makan duit rakyat RM300.0 Juta. Sudah
    tentu duit RM300.0 Juta itu ditelan oleh orang yang
    sungguh bertuah dapat kontrak RM300.0 Juta itu.

Untuk menutup kehilangan duit sebesar ini sekarang
    sabsidi minyak di potong dan harga minyak nail 30 sen
    satu liter.

Telekom Malaysia pula rugi lebih RM700 Juta duit
    rakyat sebab terpaksa bayar ganti rugi kepada syarikat
    telekom German ia itu Deutsche Telekom.. Terpaksa
    bayar ganti rugi RM700 Juta sebab Telekom Malaysia tak
    tahu buat kontrak.

Nak tutup rugi ini pula kerajaan potong sabsidi
    minyak.

Sekarang lebih murah naik kapalterbang Air Asia pergi
    balik dari Kuala Lumpur ke Kuala Terengganu. Tambang
    pergi balik Air Asia dari Kuala Lumpur ke Kuala
    Terengganu tak sampai RM300 bagi tiga orang
    sekeluarga.

Air Asia diurus oleh orang yang tidak rasuah dan yang
    tahu buat bisnes tanpa menyusahkan rakyat.

Sekarang dengan harga minyak yang sudah naik, belanja
    minyak sahaja nak pergi balik dari Kuala Lumpur ke
    Alor Setar sudah naik hingga RM220 (kereta Proton
    Waja). Bayar tol pula lebih RM120. Belanja makan dan
    minum (nasi campur dan teh kosong) bagi sekeluarga
    enam orang tambah lagi RM40. Ini bermaksud jumlah
    belanja minyak, tol dan makan minum pergi balik dari
    Kuala Lumpur ke Alor Setar hampir RM400.

Negeri lain bukan macam negara kita. Walaupun harga
    minyak di Thailand lebih mahal daripada harga minyak
    di Malaysia tapi di Thailand tak ada bayar tol.

Dari Bukit Kayu Hitam ke Bangkok jauhnya lebih 1,100
    batu (bukan kilometer) naik lebuhraya enam lorong
    tanpa bayar TOL (bukan empat lorong macam Lebuhraya
    Utara Selatan kita).

Di Thailand tak ada rasuah AP. Harga kereta Honda
    Civic 1.5 di Thailand tak sampai RM40,000. Lebih murah
    daripada harga kereta Perodua Kelisa 1.0 di Malaysia.
    Inilah kelebihannya di Thailand – tak ada AP di sana .

Di Malaysia pula ada AP. Sebenarnya harga AP yang
    perlu di bayar kepada Kerajaan (MITI) tak sampai RM250
    sahaja. Tapi AP boleh di jual sehingga RM40,000
    sekeping kepada Dato Dato yang kaya yang di kenal
    sebagai “AP King”. Rasuah AP ini telah berlanjutan
    selama lebih 30 tahun. Akhir kata rakyat Malaysia yang
    terpaksa tanggung rasuah AP ini.

Oleh yang demikian kereta Honda Civic 1.5 yang dijual
    dengan harga RM40,000 di Thailand naik harga sehingga
    RM110,000 di Malaysia. Rakyat Malaysia rugi. Kerajaan
    pun hilang wang. Bila kerajaan tak cukup wang – maka
    potonglah subsidi minyak. Maka naik lah harga minyak
    30 sen satu liter.

Malaysia Boleh!!!!

Sekian. Salam.
    * Tolong hantarkan informasi ini kepada kawan kawan
    yang anda kenali. Tolong print dan sebarkan kerana
    hanya 1% penduduk Malaysia yg celik IT…. 99%
    memerlukan informasi ini sebagai langkah pertama untuk
    transformasi negara…. Sedarlah sudah 50 tahun
    kemerdekaan negara kita, tapi kita masih di takuk
    lama…. HAPUSKAN PENTADBIRAN ASAS RASUAH!!!

Adakah kita harus menjadi mangsa dalam kejadian
    sedemikian?
    Orang lain hutang duit,kita sebagai rakyat Malaysia
    pula kena membayar ?
    Yang penting sekali, bukan setakat bayar sahaja,
    manakala nak bayar sampai bila ? Adakah ini akan
    berhenti ?…………

• mengking (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:01 am

it is alright even the G is not subsidsing even a single cent (many developed coutries practising that). BUT the G has to practising the following :

1. does not impose super high import tax on import cars
    2. does not iterfer with petrol price competition among petrol suppliers
    3. have super efficient public transportation