Facelifted Proton GEN2 with Campro CPS engine launched in Thailand!

Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS

[ UPDATE: The facelifted Proton GEN2 with a new range of Campro IAFM and Campro CPS engines has been launched in Malaysia! Click for more details. ]

The new facelifted Proton GEN2 has been launched in Thailand together with the Proton brand’s introduction into the Thai market. We’ve been seeing the new facelifted Proton GEN2 going around town on road tests before, so the new larger grille is not something that new to those who have seen the spyshots.

It also marks the first production Proton with the long awaited Campro CPS engine installed in the engine bay. In the Thailand market, this is for the High Line model only and as far as I can find out, it produces 125 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm as compared to the normal Campro’s 110 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. It’s not known at the moment what the new engine’s torque curve looks like, or whether this new Campro CPS in the facelifted GEN2 has the Variable Intake Module or not, since it was previously mentioned by the VIM manufacturer EPMB just two weeks ago that the VIM module would most likely only go into production early next year.

In the interior, the High Line model gets leather seats. If you look at the photos after the jump you will see that the new facelifted GEN2 has received an interior update much similiar to the Proton Persona‘s. The dash now has a glove compartment, the clock in the middle of the dash is now gone, and the door panels have been replaced with a much better design which integrates power window switches. I wonder if current GEN2 owners can change their door panels to these new ones as it is a huge improvement in terms of usability and design.

It’s not known at the moment when the Proton GEN2 facelift with Campro CPS engine will be introduced into Malaysia, so we will have to wait patiently at the moment. I am very eager to find out the detailed statistics on the new Campro CPS engine. Prices start from B549,000 for the GEN2.

More photos of the new facelifted GEN2 with CPS after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tunomura (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 5:46 am

the interior is quite similar to Persona..included center box
    the steering wheel is ugly..
    and the girl is ugly, fat bla,bla…hehe. I don’t think it is a girl, maybe they are Miss Tranvestite…peace

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 6:37 am

yeah. the rear needs facelift also. that rear bumper totally out of proportion with the new front one. i think it needs some lobang2 also. pardon me mr paul tan, no topic about 4.9m profit for Q2?

• calwinsingh (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 6:42 am

Hey!! How come they got the CPS b4 us? They even got the new facelift b4 us… Lolx… i dunno y but i feel a lil excited about the CPS’s up in hp… Paul… pls do let us know how the CPS Campro performs… tc n godbless….

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 6:52 am

the looks still very stupid ugly even after facelifted and the selling price is very high. will someone gonna buy this car if comparing market segment of vios and city

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 7:07 am

CPS? Who cares. So long the thundercat is there, a BIG ‘NO’ from me.

• savvo5 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 7:35 am

I love it!

The sporty interior is a major improvement, and also the steering wheel is gonna be nicer to touch because of the leather

keep up the good work

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 7:48 am

CPS at tomyamland first. CPS+VIM postponed until early next year.
    so we only gotta see forced induction CAMtakPRO engine after 2020.
    and that time all of our road are already hybrid

• CivicEKTurbo2Bar (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:19 am

The front end is a real success but how stupid Proton could be. They didn’t change rear end butt. The steering is not beautiful though but it’s Proton trademark. Interior design is great. CPS engine is a one step forward for Proton making better engine. Hope they also made facelifted model for Savvy too. I can’t wait. I give 4 out of 5 star for this car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:23 am

eh?

Foreign markets get the CPS before us? Thats really logical and expected of Proton, shafting your local market buyers AGAIN.

So, B500,000 = RM$60,000. Not much more than we are paying for our own car…actually probably less as usual, Proton has a tendency to load up export cars with better options.

I like the old bumper though.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:35 am

Ops I did it again… See proton always give the foreign better spec then us in Malaysia…

I think they is no VIM at the manifold, look like the same old 1.. only the engine is thicker abit like the 4G92 Mivec head… So i think the Performance must be better and the torque curve will be improve also due to valve adjustment when intake.

Why Proton never learn like the JDM ppl does to their own market by giving better spec for their local market compare to others…

• joe203 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:35 am

Let’s see whether buyers in bolehland get the same spec.
    To me the car looks as perfect as a standard Gen2 can be, but for the red linings.
    The improvements are a bit too late though, they should’ve got this right the first time long ago.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:14 am

ya lor..kns… dowan to launch at malaysia first but go launch at other place…

what the heck….

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:24 am

Will the interior be like that? Or its just like those Satria Neo Symphany, Satria Neo Desire, Persona Envy, which is to just as a demo. If its rly like that, it’ll be nice as the steering wheel has leather this time.

Expect to arrive here this month. Hm….quite the opposite of what motortrader reported abt we’ll get CPS a month before Thai. THEY are the one who gets a month earlier than us.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:26 am

Hm….the grille n airtake looks Golf-ish to me. No more storytelling of “inspired by wau design” anymore, wakaka.

• AlanSpider (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:49 am

Well, think about it. Proton can’t introduce models so close to each other…they have to let the Persona flair die down first and let that settle before introducing this new Gen-2. Don’t want to potentially lose more money than they have to.

Plus it gives them a chance to test the CPS outside of Malaysia first and fine-tune it before bringing it to the local market. Considering the majority of their market is in Malaysia…they definitely don’t want to screw that up. Consider it a “soft launch”.

Looks sweet though especially when compared to the Europestar…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 9:51 am

I personally think.. at least look ok if not nice.
    In business.. it’s good move to give foreign the latest model (CPS).. because thai is near us.. what if we sell them outdated model?

They will told like what we told others.. “poor toyota, giving us old model, 1 years ago model”.. just like that.. So this move, is good, at least thai perception change a bit.
    The glovebox is there.
    The window and lock control panel is there (driver side).
    No more sword like handbrake. – (and the gear knob also change?)
    The middle Arm Rest? :o

Is that the Eagle / Tiger Eye headlight? Whooooaa… Sooner many gen-2 here will change all their related to be new gen2 lah..

Facelift with engine upgrade is fair enough. many toyota / p2 facelift not even had any other additional thing only bumper.. (avanza?-myvi)

read again.. FACELIFT (why the h3ll there’s engine upgrade too?)

There’s a Neo in orange color there..
    Paul? does that Neo equipped with CPS too?

I think.. instead of toyota, now thailand had other option.. proton can give them better cheap sparepart .. (and now.. china market had many proton clone sparepart too.. start to flood our local market oso)

in what ever reason.. for the country.. this is a good move.. proton still can make money for our country.. i dun care..

*later we will see ‘a toyota salesman and his gf’ will bengang a lot.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:38 am

Sawadeecrap, welcome to Tomyamland!

Yet another record show that oversea market get better specs than local market.

Banyak kesian pengguna tempatan yang amat patriotik tapi tak dapat Campro CPS!

• 707 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:43 am

wah even the gear stick and the handbrake cover gets come red lining macam the girls with gold lining…whats with that?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:45 am

that thai guy has to be really an idiot to buy this car when u can get toyota, honda for cheap there

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:50 am

JULIANLEE2 said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 10:45 am

that thai guy has to be really an idiot to buy this car when u can get toyota, honda for cheap there
    ———–

Yeah, that is right, but there is blind moronic protonian out there might accuse you as Toyota or Honda salesman, instead of admitting that P1 provide low tech but uncompetitively price car. Beware of this “half-baked-cake” chap!

• abtm (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:53 am

what’s those shit red bits inthe interior, lets hope they stay in thailand please, but lets hope the engine will come here soon

• szw (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:00 am

when did the CPS model for waja coming out ?
    i’m waiting to trade in my waja .

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:13 am

How the Thais look at Proton car? It is likely how Malaysian perceived Chery car from China in our market.

• mytouch (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:21 am

Thailand people sure can found other better alternative choices such as Vios (price from $B51.9K) & City compare to our “boleh-land” “proud of the nations car”…i wonder what the Malaysian who stay nearby to Thai border feels when saw a much better interior design & new engine Gen-2 come in to our country…maybe “waliao…y they have the glove box & no stupid center clock??”…hehe… :p

• jonjwlee (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:35 am

That was a world premiere. The car was launched at an international motor expo in Thailand. Read about it on the official website.

About the car, the front looks odd. That one piece grille and lower air intake looks misshapen, as though they did it in a bit of a hurry. There’s too much red on the inside for my liking, too (nice red stitching, though). However, credit where it’s due – at least they fixed the Milo can interior, and there’s a proper Campro in the engine bay.

Funnily enough, they haven’t seemed to get around releasing the press photos before the reveal…

• altimate (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:45 am

IMHO, good job on the front styling.. it looks very much balanced now compared to the original GEN-2.. although i agree a bit too much of “Golf-ishness”..

The sporty red liners on the interior is also appealing… good job Proton !

• chanel (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:14 pm

i guessing that our very first CPS engine will be planted in new Waja……

any leak photo of new waJa?

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:42 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 10:45 am

It’s his money. Let him buy what he wants, punk.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:45 pm

chanel said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 12:14 pm

I guess so, bro. Maybe the Waja with CPS+VIM and Tiptronic gearbox.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:46 pm

“It’s his money. Let him buy what he wants, punk.”

if i were most of the guys at tomyamland i will go for honda or toyota.
    only stupid idiot with stupid brain will buy this crap.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:49 pm

Cool stuff… =)

• BW (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Hmmm i stil prefer the malaysian version of gen 2 exterior… But the interior i prefer this one….

• Vengeance (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 1:17 pm

Front looks like golf to me…if high line only have cps, den med line n base use old CAMtakPRO ? Pity…

The show”girls”…r they really girls? Or they were…errr..guys…since thailand is most famous in this..lol

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 1:24 pm

the interior is hawt!!! still don have glovebox??? gosh!

• afroiq (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 1:28 pm

i dont see any problem if proton offer gen2 in the thai market..its a good move from proton..

hmm i second nizam80..its his money..punk..

• mmcwei (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 1:28 pm

like the new facelifted headlamp…as well as the new engine with its better performance and looks…but imagine if 5 speed auto? that will be much more better…the front skirt looks similar like subaru Sti….i think they need to widen the lubang at the front…ahaa…oh ya…they did a good work for the lock and the opener…haha…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 1:34 pm

the car definatly sits lower than the std gen2…im curious to know the gearbox as well or any updates done to it…….

• freeze (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 2:32 pm

I prefer the pre-facelifted front. This one reminds me of the Europstar china version.

• armandd (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 2:47 pm

125hp for a 1.6l is quite a lot, even civic’s 1.6 vtec has only 120hp. but still, we have to look at the torque curve though.

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 3:23 pm

a variable valve timing technology is good but name it as
    CPS (Cam Profile Switching) ppl will think CPS(Cheap Proton Stuff)

No offense , i juz kidding .

and 1 more thing, y always the export cars have better options.
    No fair!!!!

• chanel (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:04 pm

chanel said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 12:14 pm

I guess so, bro. Maybe the Waja with CPS+VIM and Tiptronic gearbox.

———————————————–

bro, tiptronic may not be a new tech already, but i think it just won’t go into any proton car yet…..can’t achieve economy of scale…….

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:27 pm

how could they have forgotten to redesign the taillights…
    the front is good, but those rear end just spoils it, for me.
    if i might add, the lower half of the front bumper reminds me of VW Golf (later model).

interior is the same as persona, which is okay.
    and checkout that CPS!
    whoa!

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:38 pm

would it be nice if some of the lotus EUROPA lower bumper lip look alike incorporate in the newer styled g 2.for instance,

– associated with lotus handling, wolud it be nice if some of lotus-ness enhancing the exterior since they can do it to its interior,

now that its golfness, which i ..,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

PROTON TAKE NOTE

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:40 pm

wheres the lower mesh grill?

• freeze (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:45 pm

Are those the old front seat designs?

• taikoz (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 4:54 pm

i loke (love+ like) this new facelift.

cps? DAMM!!! THEY GOT B4 US.
    Hope proton can get good feeedback from thailand owner.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 5:18 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 12:46 pm

I guess people in Thailand are already bored with seeing Toyotas and Hondas everyday. Same situation here… most of us are already bored with seeing Protons everyday.
    Wow, are u saying that people in Thailand with stupid brain will buy this car? Or people in Malaysia with stupid brain will buy this car? Watch it, man.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Well not that bad though….err i mean the companion ‘girls’.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 6:09 pm

in the sense that having the trait of a handling by lotus,
    where proton was designed DNA is from lotus,
    first gen 2 was taken the functionality and the simplicity of the lotus interior,

now that it has the face of a VW polo, it confuses me,

which is more inspiring, having the gene from VW or glorious Lotus especially ment a sport car, ?

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:22 pm

in the sense that having the trait of a handling by lotus,
    where proton was designed DNA is from lotus,
    first gen 2 was taken the functionality and the simplicity of the lotus interior,

now that it has the face of a VW polo, it confuses me,

which is more inspiring, having the gene from VW or glorious Lotus especially ment a sport car, ?
    ———————————–

understandably VW an umbrella for superbrand, like fiat owns ferrari,
    but VW itself is basically known as peoples car, well theres some top model in it but, to get inspired by VW, not the way they should do it.

personally the best image for proton, is PROTON as a lesser LOTUS,
    i hope proton know its DIRECTION, the way its building its image,

proton is not toyota, not honda, nor VW,
    ………….but LOTUS in heir hand,

• neurra (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:44 pm

lol.. aren’t malaysians supposed to get these first blardy PROTON?

• munaz743 (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Paul,
    Heard anything about the new CPS engine into a Satria Neo? If they do this, I would definitely go for it instead of the Swift Sport. Cheaper option for a sport hatch? But it would be better if Proton just produce a new Satria Neo GTi.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:06 pm

Why Proton introduced the Proton Gen.2 facelift with CPS engine is not because Proton unfair with our own people by giving others better specifications than own local market. Since Malaysian will also get it soon so better for them to launch it in Thailand first. Good move! Why give them old version now as later (which is very soon) launch a new version? Sure, they the Thailand people will “complaint” and frustrated with Proton. Not good for the image of Proton in Thailand later. Get it.

One more thing, Proton knows no matter how hard they work and even they launched new products sure got people like what Paul Tan mentioned will criticized blindly. Other people from other countries have fairer criticism about something (except Jeremy Clarkson from Top Gear), so Proton launched Gen.2 facelift to see how it will be accepted by others than own local people first. If facelifted Gen.2 accepted well, it will help to build Proton brandname and image.

However, Proton guys still must work hard and all the best to you all. Just my 2 cents. Happy motoring and drive and stay safe to all of you here.

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:26 pm

personally feel tat d front look doesnt blend tat well.. maybe its tat sporty light + more mature grille?

of course.. improvements r welcoming! we hav 2 compliment proton n not juz bash it when it does wrong.. hope to c dis in our market soon! will b a decent buy if power, economy and quality is improved.. adding to current proton’s +ve trait!
    hope tat they beautify waja too! 2008 big yr for proton maybe? BLM,gen2 CPS, waja CPS, satria neo CPS..

forza proton? all d best & goodluck!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:31 pm

eh…yeah… didn’t realize at thailand …the price is competetive since no protection over there…so i really wonder how proton will sell going head to head with honda city, toyota vios or even nissan latio… hmmm…

with the cps..it looks yummy… tempted me as well..but the proton brand name make it looses half the appeal already….

get cps can syok a while but gives ppl the perception that problem will come later…so i guess proton really needs a few good years to prove themselves right…

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 11:10 pm

going the right direction for proton!!!
    it’s a positive improvement and proton should be praised upon for this k…
    enough of the blind bashing and badge snobbing..

persona, this gen2 facelift with new CPS, and the up coming BLM and SUV/waja, looks like proton’s really trying to do something better.
    all i cna say is gud luck and see how it goes.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:12 am

can compete la because it is sporty model ma
    so dont compare it with family car like vios and city!…
    some people want to be different okay….if the world full of city and vios than the world is a place boring to live in…
    even thought its is frustrating to know the thai will get it first
    but i hope just because of market testing and tactics

and i dont know before this bigfish account was deleted
    hahahha kesian la that schoolboy some more receive warning for Paul!huuhuhu

• ali38hak (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:46 am

i cant see the pics the page is very very slowly

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:57 am

549,000.00 THB=60,425.51 MYR
    Thailand Baht Malaysia Ringgits
    1 THB = 0.110065 MYR 1 MYR = 9.08557 THB

xe.com

HL model cheaper there than here?…Nice exterior, nice chairs,

• aripson (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:03 am

There’s an old Malay proverb:

Kera di hutan disusui, anak di pangkuan mati kelaparan…

That is what this stoopid proton is doing. How come the Siamese can get CPS CAMPRO engine before we do. This is ridiculous! There’s no way that proton can become as good as any Japanese auto manufacturer if they keep on doing things like this. It’s like a signal saying that: “We Proton give more preference to the outside market, since they pay us in USD!” Is that IT?

And it will be a reverse situation, some of the mesian are looking for JDM cars due to their quality. Even though it’s actually a 2nd hand car. But here in Malaysia, we “Malaysians” are looking for PIM cars = Proton International Market cars, IF we want better proton cars — that is 2nd hand! First hand of gold-medal-good-quality Proton cars is always to the outsiders/international market. It’s like giving the first night rights to other men with our wife, before we can sleep with our own legally wedded wife! What nonsense is this?

I still do not understand what is this stoopid proton wanna do… haram jadah!

• king (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:19 am

MisterBenjo said,
    December 2, 2007 @ 12:12 am

can compete la because it is sporty model ma
    so dont compare it with family car like vios and city!…
    some people want to be different okay….if the world full of city and vios than the world is a place boring to live in…

exactly, imagine if everyone wore the same clothes, drove the same car, live in the same looking hse n marry the same looking wife.

where’s the excitement in that/life?

• KelvC (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:17 am

I think from a product strategy standpoint, it is indeed a good idea to launch the car in Thailand for the following reasoning:

1. To launch another car, which is pretty close market segment to Persona, would be detrimental to the existing bookings that are still awaiting for their car delivery.

2. By launching a car, which has the CPS, “immediately” after Persona will likely to cannibalize Persona current bookings. Imagine the long term impact. Like it or not, the CPS factor has a huge bearing to buyers boot or no boot.

3. The Gen2 CPS has upgraded the interior, so if I’m a serious buyer, shouldn’t I take that into account too?

4. Ultimately, to gauge market and product response in Thailand to adjust to Malaysian market accordingly in future launch.

Therefore to simplify reading:
    Persona vs. Gen2 CPS (main consideration items)

Persona:
    + upgraded interior
    + rear boot
    – engine no CPS

Gen2 CPS
    + engine with CPS*
    + upgraded interior
    – no rear boot

* Better performance and fuel saving? Debatable today until scientifically confirmed. Come ’08 another factor to consider: fuel price.

With that comparison, to launch the Gen2 CPS today in the Malaysian market would not fly in the long term for Persona until it reached its critical mass/development cost.

Malaysian launch? Maybe primed for CNY launch. I’ll wait and see before commenting on the actual car.

• KelvC (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:21 am

By the way, can’t help but being cheeky here:

To spot the difference, it’s in the voice not the looks!

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:03 am

aripson said,

December 2, 2007 @ 1:03 am

Because many ‘Kera’ always bising so much even you give them 1 lori tangki minyak punya susu.

CPS = for poweR?
    Vim = for fuel saving?

Upcoming BLM with CPM + VIM or not?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:04 am

misstyping :blush:
    should be read like this :
    Because many ‘ANAK’ always bising so much even you give them 1 lori tangki minyak punya susu.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:06 am

#
    albagmane said,

December 1, 2007 @ 1:24 pm

the interior is hawt!!! still don have glovebox??? gosh!

I dont know.. either you’re blind basher or REAL BLIND PERSON.
    Since there’s photo clearly show the glovebox!.

gosh!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 7:31 am

ye anak2 tunggu skit lagi
    saje mak lambat skit bagi susu
    supaya dapat cps ngan vim skali
    tunggu ye..alalalalallalaaa

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 8:46 am

aripson said,
    December 2, 2007 @ 1:03 am

———————
    anak di pangkuan mati kelaparan….. dude, no lah, what they doing is “give the freshest milk to kera and give expired sour milk to anak”.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:10 am

Looking at this “sporty” car with red interior lining, it won’t appeal to mass market,but nitch market like Satria GTI. Couple with new kid in Tomyamland, don’t expect it can sell in significant volumn. Thai is a pick up truck market.

• cetait (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 10:05 am

lol @ some of the excuses people are making for proton….

yea proton can’t make the thais upset…gee wonder how the malaysians who have already put down their hard-earned cash deposit will feel when they get their car and it’s already obsolete. Yesterday’s tech…actually CPS+VIM is already yesterday’s tech, their cars will be more like last week’s tech. Think Proton will be their top choice next time they buy a car?

typical malaysian attitude…always court new business but don’t look after your loyal customers, then wonder why you aren’t making any money. It’s because old customers are leaving faster than new ones coming in.

Anyways, its patently obvious that they simply want to clear all the old stock of unsold Gen2 before introducing it locally. Proton is no better than the dodgy corner shop selling expired milk while keeping the fresh stuff in storage.

• demio121 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 10:55 am

the ugly sporty-wannabe front seats are still there…!!! apart from the confusing radio and vertical-stacked air-con knobs, the rest look more sorted, just like Persona.

looking at the interior, Proton is trying to position this is a sporty car. let’s see how Proton fare in Thai then…

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:58 pm

I kinda like the front redisign. Should suit the Persona well as it makes the car look more sedan like and less effeminate.

It would be interesting to see how sales figures will be like in Thailand considering that Proton has no price advantage over there.

Will Thai buyers choose a RM60k Gen2 over a Honda City that costs roughly the same?

Well, the private thai company that partnered with proton (for thai distribution rights) surely isnt stupid. If it werent competitive, they wouldnt have done so.

Anyway, i have a gut feeling that this car will be cheaper in malaysia than in thailand. The H-line persona is RM55k, so it should be around that price as well.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:21 pm

ezralimm,

you said ‘kinda’,

but what if gen 2 use some of design que from lotus europa especially the lower part of the bumper,

http://upload.moldova.org/auto/News/13.jpg

you might say i ‘like’ it stright away,

• supra09 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Gen2 facelift = Persona + Golf..
    Nice move Proton.. even Japanese n Korean cars immitated European cars when they first started building cars; before they became who they are nowadays.. When to launch in Malaysia?! Aiyo, interest rate sure like shit..

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Why does everyone think Proton prefers markets outside Malaysia? The car was launched at an international motor show. Carmakers do that all the time. Are you gonna blame BMW for favouring Switzerland because they launch a car in Geneva?

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:36 pm

but……………………………
    damn!, hard for me to hate, ,,,,i like it

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:52 pm

but anyway i still prefer lotus design que, not vw,

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 4:04 pm

sorry to much of my posting,
    again ,look at this to capture the spirit of lotus,
    so next time ,if exterior is concerned for proton car, remember lotus,
    i m out of here,,,,,,,

http://www.pistonheads.com/pics/news/14747/lotus_europa_s-1-L.jpg

• ali38hak (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 5:16 pm

cps ok, but whats with diesel engine??
    no diesel no sell in turkey.. follow the trend or you can go

• muhdfadzlee (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 6:02 pm

Facelift doesnt intrigue much but just on the CPS engine . hmm interesting..just wondering guys.. Whether the CPS can be added to current campro engine? i mean bolt on. it would be nice to add +15 hp to my current R3 modded gen 2 mme.

• tricycle (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:12 am

money wise, since we are all in bolehland, it would be wise for us with low income/commitment ratio to buy proton, unless you earn a lot and can buy city or vios. but then again handling wise (by lotus maa) and power wise it is again better to get this camtakpro rather than the 1.5 in vios or 1.5 vtec in city. general rule of thumb higher cc means higher torque. higher torque better pickup. high hp means high top speed. however this is not always the case.

i’m not supporting proton, but you get value for money. why settle for vios and city, when your real goal is to get at least civic. at least with this photong you can reduce your monthly spending by maybe $100,$200 or maybe more. it depends on your loan term. living in bolehland makes me do wise decision not settling for city or vios at inflated price. never. in tomyamland i might go for these two.

but then again if you buy city/vios then get connected to big people. then get project or money. then its ok la. buy something must always get return maa. but if get connected and then get conned some more by big people, then it is unwise i guess.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:32 am

late night already , never mine,
    look at the power and torque curve

http://www.proton.com/user_data/media/images/innovation/rnd/campro04.jpg

purple line is a torque curve for cps (top at 3500 – 6000) roughly 150NM
    black line is a power curve for cps (max power (94kw) 130hp at 6400)

so might a little over but not far

blue non cps 110hp at 5500, 150NM (4000-5500)
    red 4g18 (first waja)

4g18 just very little torque advantage at 2700, through out the range its simply lesser

• Paul Tan on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:37 am

proton GL: something else i realised…

IF (and a big if) proton manages to make the new campro cps produce the torque curve shown at the campro webpage (the pink one is the cps, versus the light blue normal campro curve which shows the obvious horrible torque dip), it should be nice and torquey. so far the figures quoted by proton in thailand seems to match the peaks shown in the graph. it matches the old 4g18 peak torque at low revs then goes on to be higher at high revs.

also, if you notice, the campro cps torque and hp curve goes on higher up to 7200rpm – so this means a higher redline.

• Irish Proton Owner (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 6:31 am

I think the Gen 2 cps looks fantastic and cant wait for it to be released here in the UK, One thing that I have noticed is that when Proton release a new model over here the quality and spec of the cars are alot better than what the cars are that you get locally in Malaysia and always wondered why that is?

• zanggief (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:26 am

This facelift looks much more better than the chinese design…where totally outdated.
    Paul, do manage to get a test drive?
    Hope to read your test drive article soon.

• avanza (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:34 am

Now that people know there is going to be a CPS engine, they are going to wait for them to put the CPS engine in the Persona, and the Persona sales will drop. Why is Proton doing this? Why didn’t the put the CPS engine straight away into the Persona. And if the engine was not ready at that time, they should have waited until the engine is ready before they launched the Persona. Proton cars are so piece-meal!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:48 am

i dont think persona sales will drop.. gen2 maybe, but not persona. people buy persona for totally different reasons as to why someone buys a gen2.

• waimak (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:13 am

The have darkened the headlight, they should do something to the rear too, if that’s standard. Better interior I see and more practical too. Pity the previous generation of Gen2, struglling with all sorts of issues/ problems/ impracticality.

Its good to see Proton move. So BLM is next, right? Waja replace is due. Perdana too. Hope to see these too.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 12:37 pm

yes paul,
    1 agree red line 7200rpm,

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 12:59 pm

but paul 4g18 torque plunges after 2700 an setteled 120 or 130 until 5000,

probally this trim originally because this 4g18 destined for mini pajero, or pajero IO, might be retuned abit but hasnt lot it character

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Irish Proton Owner said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 6:31 am

One thing that I have noticed is that when Proton release a new model over here the quality and spec of the cars are alot better than what the cars are that you get locally in Malaysia and always wondered why that is?
    —————
    Why?????

Proton “biz model” are:

1. Export market – give good quality at competitive price (some “subsidy” as in the case of UAE) because it is operate under free market.

2. Domestic market – give inferior quality at highest price. This is because National Automotive Policy give Proton damn protection (protective market) and give imported cars “handicap match” in term of imposing prohibitive tax up to 280%, and also non-trade barrier like Approved Permit to set quota the imported car can bring in (resulted in our country have 2 king, one is our beloved constitutional monarchy Agong (King) and another one is AP King). These AP given out by government free but those who get it can sale at street value RM 20K – RM 50K per piece.

But still asking local consumers should be “patriotic” and “pride” about this national car.

As the Malay proverb said: Let milking monkey at jungle but left son starve to death at home”. Means do something very good to outsider at the expanse of his own welfare.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:39 pm

ali38hak said,
    December 2, 2007 @ 5:16 pm

cps ok, but whats with diesel engine??
    no diesel no sell in turkey.. follow the trend or you can go
    ————
    Good to ask for diesel, but Proton have petrol engine only yet still not the latest tech. TO waite for Proton to produce diesel engine, unlikely to happen in the very near future, unless taken over by global player.

• yippi33 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:59 pm

If there is an award for Proton Basher of the year, i think i know who will it go to..hahaha..i can feel the hatred deep inside like some kind of psychological wound when he/she was a little kiddo..

Back to the topic, kudos to proton for the newly launched Gen2 CPS..cant wait for the review from u paul…

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 2:03 pm

paul,
    based on the image above, the engine is already equipped with IAFM.. I’ve seen one while they did the test a while back then..pretty sure about it..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 2:26 pm

The issue hurts local Proton buyers (ie. Persona) much more than you think.

By the split introduction of the new engine separately (instead with the Persona), the 2nd hand market value for early Persona (non CPS) will be hit significantly. I mean if you are in the 2nd hand car market, why bother with the old engine?

Now, unless CPS turns out to be crap and unreliable, then perhaps the early adopters will come up on top. Other wise, as always, Proton cons its most loyal customers.

So if you have ordered a persona, I offer you my sympaties if you were to sell it later when the CPS engine on sale.

Proton is forced to offer the better engine for export markets because they have to be competitive, or they wont even register as a blip on thier export markets.

Malaysians get the old tech because Proton has the “competitive advantage” of being cheaper in a PROTECTED market. They have no reason to give us the better – more expensive engine when they can still milk you dry with what they have now.

(look at the Saga, Wira SE….. if they can sell the SAGA at 27k now with a profit, why were they selling it at 37K previously?, remember the ugly side stickers you have to pay $200 for?)

As per Proton supporters,

You have got to be really BLIND to not see this. And that goes to all Proton supporters, your support is not appreciated by Proton. In fact, I have a feeling they are laughing AT you.

Seriously, take a step back and ask yourself, What exactly has proton done for you as a consumer of motor vehicles? Unless you work for proton, or affiliated to them, I can really not see much reason for the support you give them.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:02 pm

Thx paul.

“it produces 125 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm as compared to the normal Campro’s 110 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm.”

So wif added CPS they manage to add +15hp and +2Nm, but still i see the RPM needed to get the full hp and nm are higher 500rpm. Does this CPS have VIM on it? look like just a normal CPS engine. If got VIM must have better torque and higher hp at both lower n higher RPM. Just my guess… From the price above, we have to pay about +5k for interior change and CPS engine. Would it be value for money?

• kerelbort (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:20 pm

Malaysia launching date for CPS is expected next year… Thai Gen2 CPS delivery date? got make any different ornot..

somemore its the auto show, what’s the point of promoting old model when u already have new model in the stable waiitng to be launch… no harm done to Malaysian market anyhow.. even if they launch it earlier here in Malaysia, will u buy one? if u wont.. juz shut up and compromise with their new marketing direction…

don compare with JDM… no point we have MDM.. small player like proton should concentrate on selling.. not on model buidling..

• azrai (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:55 pm

The new bumper look decent though. I like to see this new CPS Gen-2 rename to Persona Aeroback instead. Aeroback is so synonym with Proton.

• blunt (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:56 pm

I dont think Persona will be equipped with CPS..except may be the premium edition one. This CPS engine will be put in Gen 2 and Waja as to distinct Gen2 and Waja with Persona. easy said, if you want sporty and latest engine(by proton std) go for Gen2 CPS and if you need space and latest engine(again by proton std) go for Waja CPS. IBut, i you looking for space and averagely price car…Persona is the answer. Some kind of market segmentation.

ta

• blunt (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 3:58 pm

errata.
    ..But, if you looking….

• Max88 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Ask any Thai driver on the street and they all proudly say:
    “We all love Toyota very much”

Thai govt will not let Proton come at a cheap, they’ll retaliate as hard as Proton here being protected. It’s Proton that made AFTA such a pain in the ass for ASEAN members to comply with(level on Msian govt delays etc). It’s NAP my ass.

Why should Thai people buy Proton when they can buy Honda, Toyota at very competitive price and better quality? Common sense and prudent mind (settle for quality only) will prevail.

CPS: Chapalang-Pathetic-Sucks

“but what if gen 2 use some of design que from lotus europa especially the lower part of the bumper”
    Proton just fix the power window lah. Don’t be so ambitious.
    Lotus Europa for Proton Ulitmate, Proton 1st sports car? Such a joke.

And that puny Proton BLM? Seems like poor man’s Vios.

Let see if petrol price increase and liberalise car market here, Proton will back in red big time again.

• blunt (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 4:20 pm

Do you think that Proton distributor in Thailand did not done their homework..Do you think there are dumb enough…Dont underestimate them..

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 4:48 pm

As previously mentioned, the critics tend to harp on overvalued ideas and concepts. Whilst one may question many of these critics’ age and level of maturity, one must also consider the possibility that they are right.

The bottom line is we’ll have to wait a few years to see if proton takes off in thailand. I agree, those scrupulous thai dealers arent stupid with money – though they probably arent as emotional (they see proton for what it is) as the malaysian anti-proton critics.

If it is successful in thailand, these critics will just look stupid and have to swallow their words.
    If not, then there is truth to their comments.

• eugeneat (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 5:30 pm

http://www.proton.com/innovation/rnd/campro.php

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 5:59 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 2:26 pm

Seriously, take a step back and ask yourself, What exactly has proton done for you as a consumer of motor vehicles? Unless you work for proton, or affiliated to them, I can really not see much reason for the support you give them.
    ——-
    Even I was told those Proton worker purchased Proton car with staff price (certain discount) but still “back to square” as there are certin accessories “missing”.

Forget about Proton give the best to consumers, they just know how to ask consumers to be patriotic to buy their crappy car.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 6:06 pm

blunt said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 4:20 pm

Do you think that Proton distributor in Thailand did not done their homework..Do you think there are dumb enough…Dont underestimate them..
    ———–
    Phranakorn Auto Sales Co Ltd is the sole distributor, we don’t have their P & C term of distributorship. However, time will tell whether the sales at Thai will be a success. Looking at City and Vios price similar to Gen-2, what is there for this car to compete with “H” and “T” batch. If Proton dead serious about long term planning, they should penetrate Thai market long ago jut like Sing?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 6:12 pm

blunt said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 4:20 pm

—————
    “I also can acting to sale Airbus A 380 to kampong folks if Airbus agreed to pay me RM 500K commision, and if this is newsworthy and can convince the stakeholder that Airbus management team is doing their job – thus save their high pay salary”!

• ferox (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 6:20 pm

ezralimm said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 4:48 pm

If it is successful in thailand, these critics will just look stupid and have to swallow their words.
    If not, then there is truth to their comments.

So cast your votes now, which side do you support, so that in a few years time you can point people back to your comment, beaming with pride saying… “I told you so”. =)

My take on Proton as a whole? They are trying hard that’s for sure. But I believe people are just tired playing games with them for so long. Inferior products and support… I say they had their chance a long time ago and they blew it. It will take a lot to patch things back.

Proton, you broke my heart. =(

• ckalex (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 8:00 pm

It’s good strategy to lauch the CPS in Thailand. At least Proton show’s it has a technological capability.

Anyway this CPS has a Variable Intake Manifold in it. All CPS engines have it! Plus the CPS’s VIM is not from EP, it’s from another supplier.

• kaka811 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 8:36 pm

yippi33 said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 1:59 pm

If there is an award for Proton Basher of the year, i think i know who will it go to..hahaha..i can feel the hatred deep inside like some kind of psychological wound when he/she was a little kiddo..

—————————————————————

i guess i know who he is!
    hahaha ” Proton Basher of the year goes to …… “

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:06 pm

look at the range 2500 to 4000, campro cps (not to mention the spirited high end yet)

this is the most usable torque provided by campro cps in real life day to day driving mode,

i bet this engine makes your feet feel light on the throttle, economy as well,

-good-

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:09 pm

According to Proton’s R&D website:

the Campro CPS is supposed to have big torque improvement over CamTakPro for the 2,500-4,000rpm range…let wait n see if it really deliver.

The outside look is nothing much, drill some bigger holes, take away some fins, nothing fresh, typical of Proton’s so-called Facelift. The interior is a disappointment, straight copy from Persona. Outside looks Ah Beng, inside looks Ah Pek, feel inconsistent. The interior will be much better if they use Satria Neo’s interior…complete sporty feel inside and out.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:19 pm

no need to see proton will be a guaranteed failure in thailand. but u can bet they will spin the news to make themselves look like a success in the malaysian press.

ugly looking engine fits the ugly looking car perfectly.

Ezra….trade in your honda jazz and buy a proton in australia. show how patriotic u are,

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:23 pm

kaka811 said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 8:36 pm

yippi33 said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 1:59 pm

—————————————————————

i guess i know who he is!
    hahaha ” Proton Basher of the year goes to …… “

————————
    Both of you have no balls to name it!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:29 pm

topgunthang said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 11:19 pm

Ezra….trade in your honda jazz and buy a proton in australia. show how patriotic u are,
    ———
    This chap maybe to “little napolean” of AP King or cronies that can study in Australia and buy Honda jazz.

If he is the son of kampong folk stuying in 3rd local u, he won’t come out with this statement.

Thai, Iran, Turkey, etc, export market????? This is just a show, some buddy from Turkey already mentioned that if want to sale car in Turkey, it shall come with diesel engine. Why Proton car despite selling below cost (Savvy around RM 23K, Gen-2 RM 32K) yet not marketable??? What Proton can offer in the open market. For Thai, truck is the king of the road, so Prootn offer cannibalized Arena?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:30 pm

Why Proton car despite selling below cost (Savvy around RM 23K, Gen-2 RM 32K) yet not marketable???
    ——–
    I means in middle east market.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:23 am

kingglim said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 11:09 pm

According to Proton’s R&D website:

the Campro CPS is supposed to have big torque improvement over CamTakPro for the 2,500-4,000rpm range…let wait n see if it really deliver.
    ————————————————————-

all the engine has been dyno-ed,
    numbers and curved due to valid data,
    campro, 4g18, are proven relevent in their comparison betwen real life driving experience translated from given graph, the sansation might differ a bit with different models as power to weight ratio differs, but the pattern of ‘feel’ matches with the graph,
    for campro cps, this is the dynoed result, no way to fake it,

it deliver differently, as punchier as 4g18 at earlier stage, while 4g18 retires at under 3000, campro cps continues the pull sensation,

of course 4g18 stops lesser at lower 3000, because it for a slower vehical with pull power for 4×4 pajero IO, thats why 4g18 is harsh at high speed,

campro cps on satria neo? fast isnt it,
    -the engine starts to look beautiful now-

dont worry other variants are coming,———-wait.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:30 am

http://www.worldcarfans.com/9071203.011/proton-persona-ready-for-australia

• ali38hak (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 2:50 am

here is the sales figure from the turkish market from january to october 2007
    http://www.odd.org.tr/folders/productialdbldocs/497/Satislar%20(Ocak-Ekim%202007).pdf

look to last paragraf called TOPLAM, Passenger and Commercial together counted (binek=passenger/ticari=commercial)
    proton saled 438 passenger cars!! why?? because diesel ! ! !
    kia who has 1.5 CRDi (same by Hyundai) engine saled 7.716 passenger cars ! ! !
    and volkswagen who is the pioneer of TDi saled 19.248 passenger cars! ! !

Proton said in a report: Right car for the right market! ! where is it please??

Until 4 years ago Toyota did not have any diesel in the sale, however, then they gave up swimming against the waves.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 8:44 am

If Campro CPS is giving a real figure of 125hp and 150nm torque, this will be quite an impressive figure. As our Toyota Altis, 1.8L and Nissan Sentra 1.8L is giving a similar figure but with a higher CC engine. Btw, I came across the Proton website saying that the CPS is using VTEC similar technology which have 2 camlobes instead of advance or retarting the timing like VVT. So are we getting a 2 in 1 engine similar to B16A or 4G92 Mivec Tech?

• i hate VIOS (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:28 am

Yes!! There’s an improvement in this..better much much better than vios!! I CALL VIOS the UGLY MermAID!!! interior looks like the old GEN2 Why on earth those Idoit put 2 tone. Well at least Proton improve better than Perdua.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:49 am

Vtec is old tech.. back to year 2000 at least.
    Yesss.. the dyno graph is beatiful.
    if i not mistake.. the other main problem is the Gearbox itself.. doesn’t suit the campro engine.

Making gearbox is more complicated.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:53 am

VTEC DOHC already in Honda since 1989… “The VTEC system was originally introduced as a DOHC system in the 1989 Honda Integra and Civic CRX SiR models sold in Japan and Europe, which used a 160 bhp (119 kW) variant of the B16A engine.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:48 pm

i see nothing wrong with using old tech.. as long as it’s enhance current engine.. “better late than never”

me no proton fan neither basher.. just giving credit when deserved..
    cheers~

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 4:47 pm

so honda is using ‘old tech’
    since alfa use it in the 80s

• esong82 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:09 am

Proton should change the model name. Instead of Gen-2, why don’t they call it Persona Hatchback (Like what the Nissan Latio do) since the design is almost the same?

The sport rim should change many years ago like the Waja. How many time Waja already change the rim design but until now only the first time Gen-2 change the design. Did this model cost Proton so much until need to save cost to develop new design?

Interior is much better looking that existing one, congratulation and hope that future design or model shall fit the buyers’ requirement because we are paying money for it. End user never want to feel shame on what they paying for.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:14 am

Nop, u r wrong. Is Fiat that use it since 1960.

“Fiat was the first auto manufacturer to patent a functional variable valve timing system which included variable lift. Developed by Giovanni Torazza in the late 1960s, the system used hydraulic pressure to vary the fulcrum of the cam followers (US Patent 3,641,988). The hydraulic pressure changed according to engine speed and intake pressure. The typical opening variation was 37%.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VVT

Anyway i don’t felt proud of what Proton gain for now. The problem Proton have to face is the quality problem and provide more better design car which can be sell all over the world n not only can success in boleh land… So, Proton have u got the guts to open the market without protection next year? Err… I dont think so..

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:30 am

vvt is on the road in 1980,(use)

design in 60s
    even the so called valvetronoc, A v-tech, valvematic, simillarly
    actualluy being tought by GM as part af their project at that time,

the point is nothing is to be considered obselete as it is in use,

even 4 stroke internal combustion engine is around for more than 100 years,
    and there are now on your car engine, now

• autorama (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 1:04 am

you guys who constantly talk rubbish about proton here obviously have nothing to do, if you hate Proton so much, why bother wasting time and post comments here, in fact, why even bother to look under Proton articles?, huh?, you are not being yourself, on the outside say you hate proton, this and that but in deep down you guys still bothering bout the silly car company, so what it’s lousy, what you unsatisfied with?, misused of taxpayers money, high-prices, low quality, not good as city & vios as always, yada..yada…yada, same crap as always, you guys are just pretending to be someone else, grow up, by other cars, throw the proton issue in the garbage can, close the lid. voice out opinions, not barking like mad dog.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:57 pm

well never mind the front is vw-ish, but g2 cps does look pretty anyway,

just remeber satria gti or satria neo r3 is still with some clue of lotus car design with its lower bumper air intake, put side to side with elise exige or europa , there,,unmistakenably its look as its among kinship of lotus.

well engine up grade cps, its not to match with any of the type r as the honda might having a more aggresive second cam lobe, id rather say campro cps is at todays standard engine, higher 7000 red line is a bit of a bonus for being spirited ocassinally, anyway not to wrong to be put as ‘sport’ trim minimally, while other makes do the same way,

campro cps, the head looks slim as as normal dohc campro, could possibly
    using variocam plus ,a very simple and space saving lift actuator is tappet itself,

its used by some porsche cars, and i ve heard porsche uses variocam plus under licence of Lotus,

well there will a higher performace model, campro cps is not the most lusty type r normally aspirated for being high performace, but theres always a trick, which we always heard,…and its a supercharger,

i bet, it will,

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 1:46 pm

i agree with u autorama!! totally agree with u!! i wonder why some ppl loves to make noise bashing our national cars.. at least, we have our national cars.. n our national cars r not bad though.. this new gen 2 looks nice at da front.. rear looks almost da same.. but its ok.. i like da interior.. look like persona.. i wanted to share my opinions on gen2 n persona’s rear signal indicator.. its not bright.. anyone agree? i hope proton will step higher to produce better cars.. good luck~!! =)

• ash3r (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 11:37 pm

i love this gen2 cps very much… look very dashing… btw i do hav pics of BLM and i think this is quite interesting… how do i send that pics to paul?

• ah liew (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 11:57 am

why launch it in Thailand ? not in M’sia ? hmmm… something is fishy…..

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 7:07 pm

Again, Proton is using Msian market as its dump site…dumping its old CamTakPro stocks, even Thais get better treatment than what we get. S#@$

One puzzling thing, although this Gen2 CPS has more powerful engine, it has woosier tyres than our CamTakPro Gen2. Actually the whole interior looks very woosy because it is of Persona.

• hush (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 7:43 pm

wow… it looks so much better as compared to the pre-facelift version… the front bumper and larger grille looks good… the interior also… although i dont really like the coloured steering wheel… the dashboard bring more practical sense than the previous one… the engine output looks good on papers… hopefully proton start selling locally asap… cant wait to test drive it…

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:55 pm

#topgunthang said,
    December 3, 2007 @ 11:19 pm
    no need to see proton will be a guaranteed failure in thailand. but u can bet they will spin the news to make themselves look like a success in the malaysian press.
    ugly looking engine fits the ugly looking car perfectly.

===================================

ooh.. ‘=.= almost missed this one.

Honestly, i was looking to get a savvy that was on AUD13999 OTR promotion (RM42k OTR for a basic manual version) to challenge the similarly priced getz….

but i couldnt find the #$%^&* dealer in the two weeks that i spent shopping. There are 30+ dealers in SYDNEY… but only something like 5 in melbourne for some reason… and none were really nearby to where I am staying.

ended up getting a jazz after doing a TCO estimate. Still had to spend about RM73k to get it after all OTR costs had been factored in.

• Bigfoot (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Check out the air intake system. It is different then the one used in S4P engine. You cannot see it but actually there is an acoustic cloth used in Mercedes E class inside the bellow. The bellow is located beside the red valley cover. It is designed as an improvement to NVH of the engine. Also see the helmholtz resonator box located on top of the zip tube beside the airbox. Also, the pressure drop has been reduced due to the design of the new zip tube.

Yes, this Gen 2 got CPS for valvetrain improvement and VIM (Variable inlet Manifold) design in Essex UK and manufactrured by Visteon in Port Elizabeth South Africa. You can feel the different of the performance in comparison with S4P. This engine is called S4CH. C for CPS and also VIM. If only this engine is introduced in the BLM which is less than a tonne in weight…fuhh..but then the mounting is the same, so yes you can put this engine is BLM Auto gearbox.

Fact from Bigfoot

• Bigfoot (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:15 pm

Check out the air intake system. It is different then the one used in S4P engine. You cannot see it but actually there is an acoustic cloth used in Mercedes E class inside the bellow. The bellow is located beside the red valley cover. It is designed as an improvement to NVH of the engine. Also see the helmholtz resonator box located on top of the zip tube beside the airbox. Also, the pressure drop has been reduced due to the design of the new zip tube.

Yes, this Gen 2 got CPS for valvetrain improvement and VIM (Variable inlet Manifold) designed in Essex UK and manufactured by Visteon in Port Elizabeth South Africa. You can feel the different of the performance in comparison with S4P. This engine is called S4CH. C for CPS and also VIM. If only this engine is introduced in the BLM which is less than a tonne in weight…fuhh..but then the mounting is the same, so yes you can put this engine in BLM

Fact from Bigfoot

• shaymalan (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:34 am

Bigfoot,

If the engine is to be introduced in BLM that weight under one tone(gen2 is 1.2tonne/1200kg, compare to e.g Toyota Vios- 0.9tonne/900kg then it will be a rocket!) For comparison Toyota Altis 1.8cc have only 126hp.

The CPS and VIM have been long planned to be included in Campro.I would say if the torq really deliver what it is being stated then this GEN2 CPS is the record breaking in motoring world. All other cars as much as I know being naturally aspired that is without turbo, supercharged or FSI/TSI/fsti(VW engine system) have between 110hp-112hp with 145-148nM.(compare

But this Gen2 with 1,598cc is able to produce 125hp with 150nM. That is a record breaking! And that will be a reason for other world car makers to take asecond glimpse at Gen2 for what they have in their RnD.

I.M.H.O, big likely the join development between Proton Powertrain Department and Lotus Engineering Division have resulted in groundbreaking technology of CPS. It might derived from Variocam Plus technology too.

And one thing , that’s why Proton took a larger time to introduce CPS to the market because what they have achieve to this point in term of engine power and torque for 1600displacement is way beyond what other car makers could achieve.

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:55 am

i love proton but got discount or not ah ?

seens quite expensive for local product leh

• shaif (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Hopefully Proton could introduce Gen 2 CPS fast in Malaysia market. I’m looking for a new car now. Apart from new engine, the leather seat looks enticing.

• atkop (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 4:45 pm

jshaymalan said,

December 16, 2007 @ 11:34 am

Bigfoot,

The CPS and VIM have been long planned to be included in Campro.I would say if the torq really deliver what it is being stated then this GEN2 CPS is the record breaking in motoring world. All other cars as much as I know being naturally aspired that is without turbo, supercharged or FSI/TSI/fsti(VW engine system) have between 110hp-112hp with 145-148nM.(compare

But this Gen2 with 1,598cc is able to produce 125hp with 150nM. That is a record breaking! And that will be a reason for other world car makers to take asecond glimpse at Gen2 for what they have in their RnD.

____

just want to get the facts right ab the record breaking thing. although not a valid comparison but i’ll said it anyway..

cheers!!

honda b16a (intro in 1992) NA engine SIR 11 type with lower dis at 1595 cm3, gained more hp= 170hp, and more torque 157Nm

or perhaps it sibling, introduced in later 1997, the B16b NA engine with dis at 1595 cm3, gained a slight increase in hp at 185hp and abit more max torque at 160Nm

atkop… not a JDM honda ek9 type R owner.

• document (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:46 pm

i dun like the meter panel design. Why dun they see the design of the Honda City or Toyota Vios meter panel ??? Although not that sporty but the important thing is clear and easy view on the meter panel information… it would be better use white light for scaling and red for indicator for high contrast. I hate those horror BLUE light like what inside the present Proton Iswara… LOUSY light… eyesore to me…. Overall, i like the new Gen-2 though it has the shadow of Golf… smoother looking than the existing one… Hopefully, the EXCELLENT quality and the CPS with VIM will be introduced into the coming Malaysia version.
    I wish Proton won’t disappointing Malaysian again… Add oil…

• wheregotcar (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:44 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 1, 2007 @ 12:46 pm

I dunt know bout the majority of Thai ppl, but some that I know complained that they see too much of toyotas and hondas. i guess some ppl want a lil bit of fresh new things (which they can afford)

plus, im a bit discouraged too see so many toyotas converted to taxis there, including the new vios.

• linkinkirk (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 5:43 pm

i like the way proton try to overcome slowly how the car design flow..At least not bad as Honda when they come out with design at the same age proton establish now..Do you guys know Proton just 23th year in automotive market but already have own engine.
    Lets support our Proton, stop buying other country car. When the money goes to our car, so Proton can do much more R&D and will come out with new design with lots of budget from their fan.

• linkinkirk (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Wheregotcar is right

• Sixfeet26 on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:35 am

I am Thai and quite frankly I want to buy Gen2. I went to Motor show here 2 days in a row and of course I did test drive. Despite cool sporty look, I was also impressive with the engine.

I have to admit that I have little knowledge with Malaysian car but i'm willing to take risk as I love Gen2 CPS hi-line a lot.

I did considered Honda Jazz before but now I'm kinda sick of all Vivos and Jazz or City in town.

I want something different ! And Proton Gen2 CPS seem to be the answer.

Already booked a car. Looking forward to own it soon!

Thank you for penetrate into Thai market and give us more variety of choices.

• nazmi on Jun 08, 2009 at 1:33 am

i buy gen 2 iafm and that performance better than toyota vios… if you dont trust just

• stupid malaysian on Nov 29, 2009 at 4:57 pm

People who prefer honda and toyota when u get access to the new model of new toyota and honda u will know the different between proton and these 2 brand.in thailand these 2 brand r unrare,its cheap,and the design is boring.(comment)people in malay before calling we siamese that we do not deserve the new proton engine, please look at your country before saying that. we deserve to have the new cps because we are not cheap like u guys.your country seem urban and deserted.you guys r the one who do not deserve it.

also for those stupid people.these comment are for proton's car not for arguing about the manager or about other country.u should suggest about the design and stuff etc.

• 1MaLaysIsa on Nov 30, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Toyota and Honda, cannot compare to PROTON. they are in two diffrent sector. Toyota and Honda both are strong brand world wide, but diffrent country have diffrent point of vuew in the motor trade world. For example China, they say Honda and Toyota is the worest car, unreliable. How bouth us in Malaysia? We say Toyota and Honda are the best out of the best. so be sure how to compare not to crictis other brand. Each car manufactur has their own strong point of view. For my point of view, Proton is a good car, they are moving to the future with better desgin and engine. We should be glad that we are one of the Top ten country that make our own engine. So look before you loop.

• David on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Bought a Protron Gen2 in Nov 2008–High end model.

Very very happy with my purchase.

Workmanship is EXCELLENT.