Honda Accord now comes with portable GPS

Honda Accord GPS

Buyers of the 7th generation facelifted Honda Accord between 1st December 2007 to 31st December 2007 will receive a GPS navigation system called the Gathers Honda Infotainment Navigation System. The “Infotainment” part of the name means the unit includes several non-navigation features like a Bluetooth handsfree, MP3 player, calculator, and a multiple time zone clock. The GPS unit is valued at RM2,300.

The touch screen GPS system is portable, which means you can move it to another car if you require. It comes with a leather case for this purpose. You can view road maps in either 2D or 3D, and the comprehensive map includes useful information like the location of petrol stations, restaurants, and hotels. There is a one time free map update.

From the user interface presented I think we can probably guess that it’s a Garmin-based device just like the Volvo Personal Navigator, which means that if it supports loading maps from SD cards, you could probably use the excellent free maps from Malsingmaps.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 8:33 am

Any monthly cost or subscription fee to use it?

• Paul Tan on Dec 02, 2007 at 8:42 am

nope

• sabre23t (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 11:49 am

Yes, there’s no subscription fee for using the GPS (just like any other GPS receivers). However, reading between the lines from the announcement “1 free map update”, implies other future map updates from Honda would be chargeable. If it’s similar to Garmin new maps updates policies, that’ll be RM300+. If this device proves to be compatible to Malsingmaps open (free) or locked (tracks/POIs contributions required) maps, that’ll be another choice for map updates.

Malsingmaps thread on Honda Infotainment 310 here, http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4052 .

• thanatosx (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:57 pm

oh my, looks like gonna be a target for car thieves.

• ab (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:03 pm

something that will be stolen sooner or later

• tishaban (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:56 pm

How often are they updating the maps? At least with Garmin based devices you can use malsingmaps.com stuff.

• szw (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 7:08 pm

is there tom tom in m’sia ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 12:34 am

hopefully 2008 model will come with built in GPS screen in it. Something that can popup out of the dashbaord. Maybe Honda is doing this to sell remaining Accords to make way for the 2008 Accord?

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:36 am

I think the new 2008 Accord will come with the build-in GPS system, but I am not sure how Honda malaysia sell it in Malaysia…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 8:16 am

1 time free map update. riiight….

With the roads changing all the time in a place like KL, its going to be useful for what? 1 year?

I used to stick a USB GPS receiver on my notebook running Microsoft Streets and trips.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:43 am

yala…dis will b hot stuff…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:50 am

Paul, CAN we trust the MAP, where is it from?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 2:53 pm

Honda giving freebie… means clearing stock cos the new Accord coming soon already *wink*