Rear seatbelt usage to be made compulsory

The Road Safety Department is requesting the government to implement compulsory rear passenger seat belt usage in passenger vehicles, in efforts to to reduce the risk of them being injured in accidents. The rule is expected to go into effect early next year.

RSD director-general Datuk Suret Singh says such an enforcement could prevent 350 deaths per year, which is the police statistic number for the number of unbelted backseat passenger accident deaths.

The idea is that old cars without rear seatbelts would be given a grace period to fit them, while newer cars that come with rear seatbelts from the factory would have the rule put into effect immediately.

Proton balik kampung rear seatbelt community service message

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:33 am

i support full heartedly this rule.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:39 am

i support too…its good for us…

• acbc (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:46 am

Biggest joke ever… they can’t even get motorcyclists to put on helmets and yet want to sway into another direction… Malaysia Boleh!

This rules is good if the car allows. Many cars only allow 5 passengers (those new models with rear seat belts). However, the poor or the lower income group would stuff 5-6 kids at the back of a Kancil or Saga easily. How to prevent those? Fine them? If so, go ahead… less votes for the G next year.

• BW (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:46 am

i supported this rule too… it’s really for our safety… Anyway i had an 80s Pajero at home which doesn’t have a rear seat belts

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:15 am

Road Safety Department said their recent research showed that rear seatbelt usage reduces injuries and the likelihood of death in a serious accident. I really hope they didnt spend too much money on their research, as its a well known fact for many many years already that it saves lives, and you dont need research to tell you that.

good idea, but like some of the earlier comments, will they be able to enforce it? they cant even get people to belt up in the front seats today, what chances rear seats? larger families with only one car will suffer for sure.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:25 am

I know drivers and passenger wont change overnight simply because government implement the law. However this should now stop it from being implement anyway. You have to get the ball rolling or else no one will start. And where better to make it as a rule if method such as education has been exhausted. Even to this day i still have friends that doesnt wear front seat belt. But 99% of my other frens do. So in a way it still do work. Of course there will always be a few bad apple. And to those who started their comment with things like, “they cant even get motor and car driver to wear helmet or belt comment and end up saying its a good thing anyway”. Do you know how hypocrite you sound?

• orgkampong (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:28 am

I’m curious whether this has something to do with Proton plans to venture into MPV segment next year. Pity for rakyat…like org kampong whose makan gaji ciput je and own small car and live with big familiy. Next year if we were to balik kampong then we need to do two trip lo.

Gov should provide foundation to rakyat before making such regulation changed. I would say we need to have cheap MPV or average price (read: w/out AP cost to rakyat) then only Gov should impose this rule.

• Cire (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:32 am

G must do more roadshows to educate the rakyat of the importance to don safety belt for front and rear passengers.
    Proper usage is very important as well. You can see quite often that drivers do not use their safety belt correctly. You can see belt that are ill-strapped across the neck like a hanging noose rather that having it strapped across the chest for protection.
    Its a good move to have it gazzetted as a law for rear passengers to wear safety belt, but obviously there will be some “allowance” given? Especially when there’s more than 5 passengers in the car? Again, more often than not, most of us carries more than 5 passengers in our car, well, at least once a month..?
    Anyways, its a good move.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:35 am

In my life, I’ve never seen a police in police car wearing front seat belt. Never. Period. And so do I, intermittently.

• KY (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:45 am

Good idea, now those politicians on road shows better be with their seatbelts on

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:58 am

Dang, haven’t read the papers much lately, my dad said it was enforced, so we’ve been wearing seatbelts at the rear since Friday!

I think this is a good move, just hope they will seriously implement it.

• joeysis (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:00 am

another way to ask for MINUM TEH……

• ... (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:17 am

The goverment must give a cutoff dateline ie for example only cars after 1998 would be compulsory for the rear passengers to use seatbelts. To retrofit seatbelts into old cars is not as simple as just bolting on those belts. the body structure that the belts are bolted to must be reinforced. the belt height must also be right to prevent the belts from choking the passenger in event of an accident.

And what about if there is 4 passengers at the back? cars like wira are insured for 5 passengers. Usually there is only seatbelts for 3 at the rear. so now we cant carry our full load of passengers just because there is only 3 belts in the rear? I think the regulation is vague at best.

This new regulation looks good on paper, but a nightmare to implement…

• Paul Tan on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:46 am

I think 5 passengers for Wira includes the driver.

• escortburuk (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:52 am

I totally agree with said. My 1987 Corolla never had a factory fitted rear seat belt fixed to it.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:03 pm

The RSD says things that are much easier said than done. I once tried helping my friend source new seat-belts fasteners to replace his older ones and they are hell to locate and source.

Most classic cars don’t even have safety belts and installing them is no easy task, thats if the car supports modifications to fit the belts in the first place. The RSD should re-think its statement 10 fold before issuing it.

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:24 pm

errrrr how about people with 5 kids where to ikat they child lor want to by mpv so expensive then by myvi not enough sit belt errrrr G have u made research on this problem too ur u better ask all ekspress bus must have passenger sit belt taht will be fun anyhow this idea is good but need more research

• gtmaniac (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:34 pm

It’s about time to put it to a good use. Even proton already made them std equiptment on the megavalve sagas in early 90s.

To retro-fit them to the vehicles that don’t have them, it won’t be really hard, since most cars in 80s & 90s already have the factory stamping on chassis to mount the seatbelts/anchors. Even the classic minis have them. But I think this move will only applied to certain year of car (starting from 1990 cars may be), since it is dangerous to mod a bracket to cars that don’t have them.

Those who take this negatively just remember – RSD is trying to save lives here. In accident’s impact, rear passangers normally are the one who will hurt most – flying out of cars, flying to the dashboard, etc. Since most of cars on road don’t have front-facing aribags for rear passangers, seat-belt is the only device that can reduce injury or even save lives.

• Allan (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:42 pm

This is a good move. But i wonder how much money they spent in their research to simply say that all rear seat passesnger must use seatbelts. I hope they dont mean 5 year olds have to buckle up just like that? Many reseach have shown that seatbelts designed for adults can cause severe injuries to a child in an accident. I’ve also seen a recent study which shows that most children up to 10yrs old still require booster seats to reduce seatbelt related injuries in an accident. Therefore if they want to implement this ruling they must also think of making child seats and booster seats compulsory. You cannot just pass a new rule and hope for the best that everyone will buckle up and your death toll will reduce.

• Allan (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 12:53 pm

“errrrr how about people with 5 kids where to ikat they child lor want to by mpv so expensive then by myvi not enough sit belt”

That is not a valid argument or excuse. Yes of course those with large families and cannot afford a van or mpv will be inconvenienced, but if you pass a law, you have to follow through with consistency. For example, same ruling have been in place in Australia for many years. Australia also has low income large families you know.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:04 pm

wat to do if someone need to sleep at behind ? wear all three seatbelts.?

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:13 pm

then they have to get an MPV le… haha!

• KelvC (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:14 pm

It is about time they implement the back seat ruling.

Bottomline: It saves yours and my live for both the passenger and driver.

Why is there a need to debate this? Based on the current statistic (whatever the research cost is although this is a no brainer really), some family members and friends will be mourning another lost of a love one tomorrow.

Second Bottomline: Accidents happens everyday, if not me, not you, not the one beside you, it will be someone beyond doubt.

• redwings (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:15 pm

Good move…Can I suggest another thing… a must airbag for driver and front passenger!… Although is gonna charge you extra…but if the airbags can save a life…I think you willing to pay even for RM5000 or RM10000….

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:19 pm

Prelinimary finding from MIROS research shows that in rural area, 36% of the vehicles do not have rear seatbelt and 64% do fitted with rear seatbelt.

Source: Research report #4 at http://www.miros.gov.my/publications.php#mrr/

• windchaser (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:57 pm

I think it’s indeed a good move.
    It’s not forced to buckle up or not, it’s for rear passengers’ safety.
    If they enforce to it, we just do it. Nothing gonna be lost what…
    I think it also means that you only can carry 5 passengers in your car including the driver.
    For MPV, I have no comment. See how RSD plans it…

For those motorcyclists who don’t wear helmet often or especially during every Friday’s “big day”, they don’t wear helmet is their problem…
    I don’t think our beloved police will care about it also…
    It’s another topic anyway…

• haroldz (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 2:02 pm

HAHHAHAAHHAHA!

im soree, im soree…
    wot was d topic?

hahahhahahah…cant stop laughing now…
    post my option later….

• I my (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 2:22 pm

but don’t tell me to sale my kelisa (don’t hv rear seatbelt), & get a new kelisa… boh $$ leh. also can I still take ppl in the rear seat as for that reason?

• chanel (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:03 pm

whodz said,
    December 4, 2007 @ 10:35 am

In my life, I’ve never seen a police in police car wearing front seat belt. Never. Period. And so do I, intermittently.
    ===============================

yes that true, even the new officers didn’t buckle up as well….so the G should ask the police force to lead by example before issue summon to rakyat for the same reason…..
    i’ve trying to snapshot their photo a few times but the quality not clear…..

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:08 pm

This law has been enforced in US for quite a while, I am one support to enforce this law in Malaysia too…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:16 pm

Good move.

Make it mandatory. In fact make is so like singapore and make child seats mandatory as well.

I am sick and tired of Parents crying with grief when thier kids get killed in an accident when they don’t properly belt them down. Worst still, say this is “takdir Allah”. God doesn’t force fate on the ignorant. I won’t think God will take it lightly for those to “blame” Him for your own stupidity.

There is no need to even debate this further. Seat belts saves lives, both rear and front uses should belt down. PERIOD.

Now, this will come as insensitive to kampung folk, so I will apologize ahead. If you can’t afford to properly ferry your children in your car properly belted down (or afford a car with more seats/belts), DONT HAVE SO MANY KIDS.

Most cars from the early 1990s will have rear seat belts. BTW, FULL load on a normal sedan is 5.

• najibest (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:30 pm

i fully agree with the move to make it mandatory.. i know that some are saying we can’t enforce it.. but then again, at least by making it a law some people would take precaution and wear them… in my opinion, it boils down to safety.. i know lots of people don’t even wear front seat belt…why i don’t know but should an accident happen we all know what would happen to people who don’t wear seat belts..

i for 1 is a person that would never carry a child in the front seat unless they’re tall enough to wear the front seat belt.. i also would never allow my family to carry a child on the lap while seating in the front seat…we all know that rear child seat is the best place for a child..

we can all say things about low income people can’t afford etc..so the question is.. is our life/safety cheaper than buying safety equipments?

• freeze (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:31 pm

I practice this all the time. You are advised to put them on, but if you choose not to, then that is your choice. I don’t worry about people who don’t put on their belts. Because if you don’t put on the belts only the people in your car are the ones in trouble not other motorists.

So I can understand if not much action or enforcement is taken. Even if there is no enforcement I and all my passengers will be buckled up all the time.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:43 pm

After reading other people arguments on this, I find it so ridiculous what they say.

If you have many kids, drive and MPV or a Van. I thought all this was planned before deciding on having children…

Somebody commented that they want to sleep in the rear…
    First of all a car is not a bed on wheels. If you really must the sleep in a seated position not lying down.

Seatbelts are not safety device for just when accidents happens. Even if you brake hard the passengers at the back can hit the front, especially the one in the middle, can smash against the dashboard or through the windscreen.

WITH SEATBELTS IT IS LIKE BUNGEE JUMPING, NO SEATBELTS IT IS LIKE FREE FALLING.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:48 pm

I my said,

December 4, 2007 @ 2:22 pm

but don’t tell me to sale my kelisa (don’t hv rear seatbelt), & get a new kelisa… boh $$ leh. also can I still take ppl in the rear seat as for that reason?
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Install seat belt lah… no need autobelt, old fashion belt with adjustable strap also can what.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 3:59 pm

my opinion is, they should find practical solutions to improve driver and rider education first.

also, enforcement, especially towards motorcyclists must be beefed up as they are the one contributing the most to the death toll on our roads and research data shows that year after year after year.

To ask people to belt up in the rear is a good start, but to threaten fines is not the right thing to do. They should concentrate more on education before embarking on enforcement through fines.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 4:27 pm

enact the law = Yes..
    but the execution = almost 99% FAIL.

• acbc (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Enact the law: No problem, talk is cheap
    Execute the law: Almost impossible and will never work
    Milking money from the people breaking the law: Priceless!

• dangermouse (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:04 pm

I seriously can’t believe that people still drive without their front seatbelts on – it’s an absolute no-brainer that you should wear it!!! If you don’t… well, darwin’s survival of the fittest… weeding out the stupid people from a population!

The UK only introduced the same rear seat-belt law as recently as 1991. There were some very graphic safety campaigns on TV at the same time – if you really want to know why you should wear one in the back seats, see the vids at:
    http://www.thinkroadsafety.gov.uk/campaigns/seatbelts/seatbelts.htm

Back seat passengers without belts can kill the driver as well as themselves.

What I find even more scary is the number of families who let their children stand up in the front seats, looking out the window. Say goodbye family if you crash.

• shooter (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:09 pm

sure enacting and enforcing the law are two different things, but dont tell me you guys have to wait for the G to say so to do it…this is just one example of good foreign practices that the rakyat just dont bother to emulate for their own good-have to wait for someone to tell us to do it, just like ‘tukul dengan pahat’…..and yet the same rakyat are making noise, demanding the G to emulate so-called best-foreign-practices…..what a predicament…

as far as the request from the RSD, it should have been done ages ago…but still better late than never.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:43 pm

support? 100%

probability? 0%

• mofo (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Strongly support the ideas.

Nvr than less, drive with extra care.

• szw (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:34 pm

i hands up and agree…
    woohoo !!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 9:54 pm

suport = 100%
    implementation= 0%

horrible wen it comes to implementing…..u can draft wateva law u want , bt wen nobody care to enforce it…..wats the point…..

• kennytan70 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:12 pm

To implement it, should arrange to fine the passenger who is not wearing the seatbelt instead of the driver of the car.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:54 pm

New regulation – new opportunity for G to ifne people and collect more monies.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 10:57 pm

G always good in idea how to create “unnecessary” regulation to increase their “revenue”! The issue of rear seat belt shall be through safety education rather than enforcement.

For rear passenger in Mercs without belt, their chances of survival is higher compare to rear passenger in Kancil with belt given a same impact in accident?

• tunomura (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:05 pm

i support 100% this new regulation…but it more safer if rear passenger and the driver wearing helmet because most of death in car accident is because of head injury..anyone?? heheh

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:17 pm

i’m practicing this all the times.
    whenever my siblings get into my car, they already know what to do.
    i experienced this once; i’m picked-up my sister with her frens and she did told them earlier. when they get into my car, automaically, her friends buckle it up!
    hahaha!!

the formula is so simple!
    –> the engineer already put it there! then use it! optimized everything inside this car! don’t waste my money pay the hire-purchase every month!
    hahahaha!!!!

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:40 pm

I fully support the idea and therefore will help with the implementation (wanna hop on my ride, you better buckle up. Or I will whack you senseless.)
    And why are you guys whining about implementation? The cops don’t buckle up so you won’t? Sheeesh….

• paraquat (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:44 pm

Err… but my pre-facelift 2004 H.City only have 2 rear seat belts..

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:50 pm

Excellent Rule.Thumbs up. New Rule, Implementation,Enforcement,no problem. At least it is the first step towards the right direction. To all car users… buckle up for your life, don’t just buckle for the police to see.

To those negative minded people to this rule, please la…. offer some solutions, office boy also can indentify problems..

1 up for the G….

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:03 am

In Australia, if the car passengers (be it the front or back) does not wear the safety belt. The police will hold the passengers responsible (the fine goes to the individual person not wearing the belt). If the passenger are minors (under 18 years of age), the responsibility is with the driver. Clear and simple.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:32 am

In UK its the law, Malaysians coming here know follow it. If 6 people, 1 car, then the 1 person does not go. No squeezing into car like Kancil.Police catch you, you are dead.Also babies -5 yr old children need to be placed in their own booster seat. Its about time the gov implement this.

I think gov low on money, petrol so high now. So if we can find other ways to fine people then might as well use it. Though I am not too sure about army cars and judge.magistrate cars. You cannot see the passengers in it.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:54 am

hanel said,
    December 4, 2007 @ 3:03 pm

yes that true, even the new officers didn’t buckle up as well….so the G should ask the police force to lead by example before issue summon to rakyat for the same reason…..
    i’ve trying to snapshot their photo a few times but the quality not clear…..

——————————

Yeah, I’ve tried too, but with the phone(cheap one) quality hardly can see the proofla. I live near police barrack and police station too. Everyday, I’ll encounter with them. :-|, never seen though any of them wearing seat belt. Embarrassing.

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 1:08 am

I saw an experiment Fifth gear did years ago, about rear passenger/luggage or anything at ur back, if not tuck in well, will be like bullet! perhaps transport department should air these kind of research on tv, so picture will speak for themselve rather than spend on another failure education that most of the time ppl dont listen as they tot they r smart enough, guys agree?

Ppl just took them for granted, this is a very sad case in Malaysia, lack of knowledge in many things, mostly are just “oh, i heard from my friend” or “my uncle said tis n tat”…sigh not just malaysian company dont learn from mistakes, even our own citizens dont learn to survive! so if Darwin’s theory comes in, Malaysian should be the 1st to go is it?

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 3:13 am

There can be no enforcement without legislation.

Hopefully, this shall set the precedent for a reduction in traffic related deaths.

Even if it is poorly enforced, public awareness will be improved. Just mentioning it in the papers today probably would make some families buckle up…

Even if it saves 5 lives a year, it’s worth it. Better safe than sorry.

• oscarsmh (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:30 am

I tink it’s stupid lo,imagine 2 big fat guy share with another 1 at rear seat,can’t u guys imagine?I dun tink it’s a great idea,if accident comes,nothing can help much with t rear seat belt(90% of accident cause by speeding,so do u tink seat belt really helps u?& those wearin seat belt mostly get trapped in their car when accident occur).Y m’sia gov doin things liked s’pore.Wat Org Putih say good then u follow,can use a bit of their brain or not?our country is a country of freedom not copy-cat liked s’pore(no offence to s’porean,tat’s wat i heard frm most s’porean grumble abt t new rules).& we’re not robot too!T only thing i can say dun speed & drive carefully will be safety 1st.

• oscarsmh (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:31 am

lastly 4got to mention,built more light on t road in M’sia!!

• RM (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 6:33 am

Its about time that we do someting about protecting the lives of scores of children who more often then not end up being the unfortunate victims in car crashes. For those with rear seat belts buckle up now, those without go and have it installed. I cringe everytime I come across toddlers and kids standing and jumping unrestrained. On the road,ignorance is not bliss.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 7:25 am

i agree on this move……and its our responsibility to wear seatbelts when travelling in a car. i’ve seen lots of ppl including some of my frens that do not buckle up when driving.
    its our responsibility to buckle up…..for those who dont..dont cry over spilled milk when accident happens….its too late and government dont lose anything apart from ur wee bit of tax contribution…..its the life of your loved ones thats at stake.

to oscarsmh,
    u drive safely…but do others think that way?….u can practice good driving habits to avoid accidents but will others follow?, if they bang u then how?
    this kinda things are avoidable, so buckle up its a safe way….and it doesnt matter who we follow as long as it is proven to be a good thing, no harm following good examples.
    tell those fat guys to slim down lol….

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:04 am

The problem is sometime G implmentation of rule is lobby by the supplier or cronies. Last time they imposed speed limit device to bus and lorry for a safe safety reason, later scrap it. But this speed limit device supplier is connected to VIP in G. Who know there is seatbelt supplier behind all this sudden announcement?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:17 am

@Banyak

“To ask people to belt up in the rear is a good start, but to threaten fines is not the right thing to do. They should concentrate more on education before embarking on enforcement through fines.”

Correct, but people learn faster when it cost them money. They learn even faster when they see thier kids fly out through the windshield. I know, I sound cold, but fact is, it doens’t pay to be ignorant.

This should be a self regulating rule. Wait and see, once this “law” in in place, very soon insurance companies may void your benefits if it is found that you didn’t belt down.

• Allan (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:21 am

Oscarsmh, I cant believe how stupid and ignorant you are! Your comments expose your narrow-mindedness. So you leave it to fate, and dont use seatbelt when you drive because you fear getting trapped inside you car after a crash? And you believe your passengers will be 100% safe as long as you drive carefully? Please dont tell me the only reason you use a front seatbelt is because its the law. Why do you think major car manufacturers continue spending millions of dollors on safety research and development if they dont believe in seatbelts in the first place? All the airbags in the world will not save you if you’re not strapped in properly in the first place! And do you think the “orang putih” implemented mandatory use of seatbelts because it was forced onto them? They have brains to realise the importance of such device, so let me ask you one final question….where is YOUR brain?

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 8:47 am

I’m surprised that there are actually negative comments on this… anyways I fully support it, and as usual if you want Malaysians to do something, you have to implement a law… lol (remember the tongsampah rule back then?)

My ’70 Bug doesn’t have front OR rear seatbelts tho… *pening*

• mo_say (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 9:18 am

Dont understand why RSD need research for this. Is accidents in M’sia different with other contries ? Why not do research which regulation is the best suit M’sia. Then present it to G for implementation. We are way behine on this. It is looks like RDS want to show that they are working ! Perggg. Further more why not study WHY ACCIDENT HAPPEND. Anyway we should implement it.

• raverus (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 9:27 am

Solve the bloody mat rempits first lah, none sense!

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 10:01 am

buses also need seatbelt.

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 10:04 am

buses also need seatbelt. very dangerous, when bus stop on a sudden, the passengers will also fly like mat rempits. esp the double decker.

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 11:29 am

BigFish said,
    December 5, 2007 @ 8:04 am
    The problem is sometime G implmentation of rule is lobby by the supplier or cronies. Last time they imposed speed limit device to bus and lorry for a safe safety reason, later scrap it. But this speed limit device supplier is connected to VIP in G. Who know there is seatbelt supplier behind all this sudden announcement?

========================================

It’s not like the gov is saying all old cars must get seatbelts from so and so.

Besides, all new cars post 1990 seem to come with them – why not make use of it? The typical life of a car (in a developing country) is about 20 years. So that means most cars should have them built in by now (late 2007)

My bet is that there is gonna be an influx of chinese made seatbelt kits for old cars (new cars come with them so they arent necessary).

• cetait (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:33 pm

Nah seatbelt kits obviously going to be local because of limited demand, the cronies probably already been getting production ready for some time now.

Anyways, despite that the usual people are going to profit (cronies, police) the law is a good idea. Too bad it will probably be enforced about as strictly as the front seat belt law. As in never, except for when cops get hungry…

Bet you’ll still see kids everyday jumping around all over kancils and kelisas and pressing their faces to windscreen/windows after this goes into effect…

• najibest (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 12:37 pm

just some comments of some of the posts here.. some are saying that the idea of making it compulsory to wear rear seatbelt is for G to make money, some says that it’s useless because we need to know how to drive safely 1st etc2…some say it would be cumbersome for big families or big guys etc.. but then again.. the main purpose of this rule is to ensure safety….

i got to know that my niece once crashed to the window when the car she was travelling in has to make an emergency stop, not due to driving fast or anything but due to the fact that the lorry in front decided that heck i wanna make a u-turn suddenly without siganlling.. luckily she’s not hurt or anything but what if the car had been travelling at a faster speed? would this incident be avoided had she wore the rear seatbelt? 100% YES..

and also i guess most of us had seen the ad on TV about that 4 friends travelling in a car then suddenly the car from the opposite way suddenly went into their lane and hit their car died because the rear passenger flew forward and impacted the front passenger as well.. the ad is showing us that we might be driving properly but what about when other people hit us? can we control that? the least we can do is protect ourselves/family and wearing rear seatbelt is 1 way to do it..

• hazrinmd (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 1:38 pm

#
    ob8 said,

December 5, 2007 @ 10:01 am

————————————————————-

cheers!!!

• hazrinmd (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 1:39 pm

#
    ob8 said,

December 5, 2007 @ 10:01 am

—————————————————-

cheers!!!

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 2:45 pm

OrgKampung: Stop associating everything with proton, I really hate Proton and the NAP, but at the same time please don’t do blind blashing.

• paxter (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 3:22 pm

my parents always made us wear our rear seatbelts since we were kids. Now all my siblings already working it is pretty much 2nd nature di go sit at the back buckle up 1st.

Even when this is ever made into law i bet most malaysians wont do it. Only when roadblock je, or the cops car right beside urs baru nak pakai… it has to be a habit.

And btw Oscarsmh,
    you sir, is a village idiot.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 7:24 pm

rationally, for safety reason is good,

the other side of it, bigger family starts to shop for mpv, (affordability count anyway),

but must be not too thirsty, not too unsafe either,
    so solid piece of automobil,

-diesel option might be highly prefered-

• amad_a (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 8:31 am

mo_say said,

Dont understand why RSD need research for this. Is accidents in M’sia different with other contries ? Why not do research which regulation is the best suit M’sia. Then present it to G for implementation. We are way behine on this. It is looks like RDS want to show that they are working ! Perggg. Further more why not study WHY ACCIDENT HAPPEND. Anyway we should implement it.

———————————————————————————————–

I do agree with you that this should be implemented.

Regarding to your statement, I believe that you have read all the above comments. Some are asking, what happened to those with many kinds? some said, what happened to old car that has no rear
    seatbelt? If (big IF) you ever read my previous post regarding the research paper conducted by MIROS, then you’ll understand that the research (more on survey I think..) is conducted to answer those questions… It’s about rear seatbelt availability and accessbility to Malaysian. It gives figures about how many cars that are fitted with rear seatbelt and how many are not…

For your information, accidents happened due to three factors (scientifically speaking) namely are: vehicle condition, environment condition and human behavior.. again, research shows that human behavior contributes most to the number of accident.

Go read the published researches about road safety, then you’ll understand the real situation. http://www.miros.gov.my/publications.php

• oscarsmh (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 1:34 pm

Yeah,wearin safety belt while there’s roadblock,train by your parent is a habit but how many ppl will do tat,dun compare your parent with others.My parent did t same thing but wat happen in t end.
    Let’s say I drive safe,those reckless driver also will come over & bang your car.so wat do u say?I got a friend wearin a seatbelt in front & his friends sitting at t back with seatbelt too,in t end,during an accident,his friend can’t manage to get out of t car cause t damn seatbelt not workin/jammed after crash,end up t car explode.T driver was safe but t rest who trapped behind mati.
    U tink gov will paid u for t rear seat belt.T 1st thing they must do is change all t taxi!cause 75% taxi in M’sia got no rear seat belt plus they charge u double price for nothing(does tat includes wat u call safety?)cause they’re not following t meter!!have u ever seen how airbag works,some driver even get burn on their face by those airbags?is tat wat ucall safety.
    So 1st change all Taxi rear seatbelt ,2nd lorry must have double seatbelt for each seat,3rd family car must have 3 seatbelt for their kids,4th buses must have 2 seatbelt for each seatbelt even for those are standin must wear a bungie rope on their waist,sounds liked joker?
    Human behavior is t 1st thing to prevent accident not t law,ok? thx to paxter & Allan for your comments,i tink u more kampung than u do.I serve a traffic research team b4 in US,Europe & UK.so i no wat will happen t most durin car accident & few friend of me works as TP.
    Givin u a fine for not wearin seatbelt,yes it really helps t front driver(as I did too) & passenger,t other side is to make profit frm u ppl as introduce t new law cost how much to each country gov?wonder y tax goin up day by day?to introduce a new law is 1 of t factor too,bear in mind.

• zafedz (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:33 pm

The G should make safety related item such as ‘Airbag for passenger’ and ABS
    brake system as a standard compulsory accessories effectively to all new model
    launched for malaysia market.The seat belt issues why don’t try it first to all
    express buses in Malaysia as they contribute many accident in our road..

• Allan (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 9:16 am

Oscarsmh, your friend died because he was stuck and unable to get out in time….so your conclusion is that rear seatbelts are a deathtrap? Tell me why you should use seatbelts in front but not at the back? Are the front and rear seatbelts somehow different? And what is your point about the taxi meters?

You want all taxis, lorries and busses to be equipped with seatbelts first THEN only you’ll decide to use seatbelts yourself? You want the G to implement the above first BEFORE passing the law about using rear seatbelt? If you car is already equipped with it why dont you use it? Oh i forgot, its because you think it will trap you in an accident.

Now u’re saying airbags are not good? If your car was equipped with an airbag do you remove it coz you’re afraid it might burn your face? Seems like the safest car for you is one without any airbags or seatbelts at all.

I wonder what kind of traffic research you have done. Did your research show that all seatbelts and airbags are useless? I would like to see you tell that to your European friends…i have no doubt what they will be thinking of you. Its apparent that your reseach was not linked to vehicle crash safety at all…coz you sure dont know anything about it.

Yes I dont deny that human error is one of the major causes of traffic accidents, but what you’re saying is that everyone should just drives safely then there will be no need for seatbelts and other safety devices. Mate, i dont know what else to say to you…except good luck to you and your family who happily travel without using seatbelts.

• oscarsmh (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:45 pm

na~,na~..ignorin ,go & tok to yourself on t mirror.good luck to your family too,wish they kena trap inside in t future then u no,bye.

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:36 pm

seatbelts, airbags n etc.. r safety features of a vehicle. seatbelts are compulsory safety features of a vehicle. u can find it in every car.. n its is used in all countries.. there must be reason why did they enforce us to use seatbelts.. law has been made, so, obey.. they know better.. so, we juz obey.. if dun wanna wear, up to da individual mentality.. usually, low-minded ppl dun follow law n regulations because they have so many reasons to deny it.. dont wear seatbelt, place ur child or anyone beside you also without seatbelts, then make a sudden emergency brake.. we’ll see whether da passenger’s head hit da dashboard onot.. no matter wat car u r using, if ur head hit da dashboard or mirror, it hurts.. cheers~ =)

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:47 pm

its all about preventing.. by wearing seatbelts at da rear seats, at least, it wont create sudden shock during an emergency brake.. it means, da rear passenger r all prepared.. got trap inside is another story.. if da car got badly wrecked, whether u got wear seatbelts onot, u still cant go out.. seatbelts have been tested.. they all have their quality n safety controls.. they work properly n easily even when da car is wrecked.. at least, u r still on ur seat ; better than been thrown out via da windcreen during collision~ look, major accidents dont happen every minute but emergency n sudden brakes do happen every seconds.. if we cant avoid the major accidents, at least we avoid da minor one.. think carefully mr/ms oscarmh~ u need to alter ur low perception.. cheers~ =)

• KEVng (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 4:21 pm

waa.. hi every1! i agree wif juanbeibei~ i wanna share one of my experience back in 2006.. (mainly regarding someone here saying airbag will burn ur face) i sit at da back row of my friend’s s60.. tat was night n he drives quite fast.. then i dont know what happen suddenly my friend (the driver) make a sudden brake to avoid a car which suddenly brake in front.. my 2 friends n i sitting at da rear seats with none of us using seatbelts while the two front wearing seatbelts.. the car hit the back of a car with normal speed. my head n body hit the driver seat (im sitting at the back of driver seat). my friend sitting in the middle got thrown up to centre box near the gear n handbrake. hurt his chin n face. the 2 front airbags n side airbags works very well.. my 2 friends sitting in front escape unhurt because they are wearing seatbelts. so, their faces dont really crush deep in the airbag. (chin n face injuries plus head n body pain can be avoided by wearing seattbelts at rear seat.. emm.. i dont know well about all thins things but my common opinion is this law enforcement is a good work.. thumbs up!

• zafedz (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 7:12 pm

Haiya!!When can finish laa…better buy ‘kereta kebal’..then no need to wear the seat belt…and it is more more safer than your own car…

• oscarsmh (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 2:40 am

Ok la,wear seatbelt lo,hey cek out this pic,this show u how safety even u wear seatbelt in M’sia.(Note:this pic contains gore so view it at your own risk)

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/4612/69648832kj4.png

Honestly,if any serious accident happen here,nothing can be done even u have a bubble car unless G really do their part lo,not saman here & there.Built up their safety jalan with good lightning 1st then learn to implement new law in M’sia.

• Paul Tan on Dec 08, 2007 at 8:52 am

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/09/28/proton-balik-kampung-community-service-message/

check this out… related to rear seat belts

• shooter (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 6:12 pm

oscarsmh said:
    ‘have u ever seen how airbag works,some driver even get burn on their face by those airbags?is tat wat ucall safety.’
    —–
    between getting my face burned and my head squashed, I’ll go for the burn TQ. and besides airbags dont use gunpowder anymore (like they used to when they were fist introduced in the 80’s),

as for the pic, remember this, no matter what vehicle we’re in if a hi-speed collision occurs, it doesnt matter weather the vehicle is M’sian or German, crashing into something solid like a truck or a wall at highway speeds will kill U, Princess Diana was travelling in a Merc S500 with more than 6 airbags and she still died, and earlier this year we saw if i’m not mistaken 2 crashes involving a porcshe and a Merc CLS 350, almost all occupant perished.

• shooter (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 6:21 pm

sorry, the early bags’ didnt use gunpowder, but another type of propellent that does produce some heat. and that was back in the 70’s.

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 8:31 pm

well, tat is absolutely correct.. even if u ride in a bentley, if it crash at a very high speed, it will experience a bad wreckage as well as the passengers.. nothing is 100% perfect.. dat is why we need to drive carefully n consider all safety measurements.. i like da proton ghost ad as well as the youngsters travelling in red wira n crash.. da wira one is true.. rear person’s body impact can cause serious injury to da front one.. (maybe it depends on da type of front seat.. i guess so..) road condition is another factor, but look, they cant take action on all.. everything must be done step by step n gradually.. if they improve da road, perhaps u will complain about seatbelts n so on n vice versa~ cheers~!! =)

• juanbeibei (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 8:42 pm

im not sure about how airbags works since i never get my car’s airbags out also never experience one.. but honestly, i feel safe when a car is fitted with airbags.. maybe my mind already set, if got airbags = safe.. haha.. (im just sharing my opinion..) cheers~!! =)