Hyundai H1 Starex 11-seater van

Hyundai H1 Starex

Hyundai has just launched the new Hyundai H1 11-seater van at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo. The Hyundai H1 – also known as the Hyundai Starex in certain markets – is a van that can be configured with either 8 or 11 seats aimed at customers who wish to have a people mover but do not want to spend so much on luxury MPVs. The Hyundai Starex goes head to head against vehicles such as the Ford Transit, the Volkswagen Transporter and the Mercedes Benz Vito. The Thai model is configured with 11 seats.

There are two engine options available – a 2.5 litre turbocharged intercooled oil burner with 100 PS and 226Nm of torque, a 2.5 litre CRDi turbocharged intercooled oil burner with a variable geometry turbocharger making 170 hp and 392Nm of torque, as well as a 2.4 litre Theta family gasoline engine delivering 170 horsepower and 223Nm of torque.

Hyundai H1 Starex

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• flizzardo (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:13 pm

first post…

is this competing with alphard and elgrand?

• noCar (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:24 pm

mahal lah, why bother when u can buy 7 seater kancil here in malaysia.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:33 pm

ermm Paul, the seating configuration pic looks like it’ll seat 10 people, or 11.

the second and third row has got its seats folded to present the cupholders… no?

• ndmervin (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 2:56 pm

Its nothing compared to the Alphard and Elgrand! Its a direct competition with the Nissan Urvan.

I like vans like this, to modify it like the ones in Japan – airbrushing and huge bodykits here and there. Yummy!!

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:07 pm

koreans design are improving as we speek. proton, openup ur eyes.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Well, if they want to sell it here as an Inokom, then I would like them to name it the ‘I1’

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 3:29 pm

Hahaha the front is Alphardish. This is Hyundai’s workhorse van. They already have the old Starex in Philippines which is like a sibling to Kia Pregio. The design looks good which gives that Luxury MPV feeling but actually its a 12 seater type of Van like Urvan and Hiace.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Will make a nice ambulance.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 4:27 pm

I think this is the 11 seater. The 8 seater may be without the last row. But why would people want to face each other like in a train?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 5:08 pm

The seats can turn around la…. i think the BangBus crew will love this van…. cos can hv alot of ermm, “positions”

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 5:53 pm

tHe CuLpRit so dirty minded… LOL!

Anyway this car engine spec is great especially the CRDI 2.5L diesel engine. Better then the louzy Nissan urvan selling in Malaysia. They only have 3.0L diesel engine without a Turbo!!! Even u put in the 2.5L frontier engine also better.. stupid NTCM.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 6:41 pm

http://www.chinacartimes.com/wp-content/dongfeng_xiao_kong.gif

bmw?

• zafedz (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 7:00 pm

The last row of the seat doesn’t have a seat belt…don’t want to buy lah…dangerous wooo!!!

• nazrin (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 7:45 pm

not bad…
    compare with hiace & urvan..,

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 7:59 pm

No more called as Van, should called it as BUS! Micro BUS.

2.5L with 11 ppl, WHERE got enough POwer to go up GENTING Hill?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 11:11 pm

Nice van and look confortable seat.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 11:17 pm

is the market really crying out for a HUGE van that can carry one entire football team? i doubt it…

• shamel (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 12:10 am

I’ll pick this people mover (or minibus) rather than Hiace or Urvan. Just look at the engine performance, very close to Nissan Navara 171hp 403Nm.

Just imagine if Hyundai can sell around Hiace/Urvan/Pregio pricing.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 12:13 am

very nice van, useful for the extended family

• abe (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 1:41 am

what is BangBus?

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 10:06 am

Wow… This van is so nice especially the interior is lot better than the Hiace and Urvan… Nice job Hyundai!

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 10:14 am

Wow, looks nice! And the power output for the CRDi version is good too!

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 12:00 pm

#
    abe said,

December 8, 2007 @ 1:41 am

what is BangBus?
    ____________________________________________________________________________

Hahaha. If you’re U18 abe, go see the Haitian and have your memory erased.
    Look what you’ve done tHe CuLpRit! You silly van loving hippie :)

• shamel (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 1:00 pm

#
    auctioncenter2u said,

December 7, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

No more called as Van, should called it as BUS! Micro BUS.

2.5L with 11 ppl, WHERE got enough POwer to go up GENTING Hill?

You’re you know what are you talking about? CRDi with 300 over Nm (torque) more capable than our Urvan and Hiace (all below 260Nm). Please do some research dude.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 1:59 pm

i think auctioncenter2u don’t even know what a Turbo diesel engine works…

• szw (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 2:45 pm

luckily not make by ssanyong

• BW (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 3:53 am

wow i like the design of this van…. not bad.. but then the middle seats (the one facing back) and the 3rd back seat roll looks very near.. I wonder how passengers can put their legs… unless they are legless

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 10:07 am

Well, u can buy a Thule and put it on the roof.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 4:25 pm

competing with Alphard and Elgrande?

I don’t think so, this Starex isn’t from the luxury MPV category…….

bangbus? lol~

• uma (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:53 pm

i think it will be agood car

• Tempatan on Feb 20, 2009 at 12:27 am

Kereta cap Malaysia sebelas seater harga RM50,000 ke bawah tak de ke?

• CITOT on Apr 16, 2009 at 8:54 am

my dream car…. that will come true… in near future…

• RMSAV on May 27, 2009 at 6:51 am

Hi,

Looking at getting the Starex for the family and trading in the 97 Estima. But before I go ahead and make an order, what do you guys think about the Ssangyong Stavic? Is there a comparison being made between the Starex and Stavic? Perhaps some of you guys know more about the two models that you could comment. Really appreciate it.

• nifty on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:38 am

Hey all,

It's a no brainer. Starex rules over the Stavic. The looks, the power, the space and everything else. In the end, I'm just saying. I'm getting one by year end. Can't wait to have the perfect ride for me.

• ajimsan on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

i got one this huge starex mpv.. so far so goooooooood … much much more powerful than alphad & estima.. i can potong both 'T' badge like kacang on the highway…

• andrew on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:58 pm

my classmate likes that so his rate is 10000000 stars as same as my rating

• jeffrey menoza on Sep 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

nice car….so cheap….

• x men on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:13 am

tHe CuLpRit said,

December 7, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

The seats can turn around la…. i think the BangBus crew will love this van…. cos can hv alot of ermm, “positions”

————————————————————

BETUL la bro.i agree

• Hi, can u calculate for me of this hyundai car ? Because i very interest for this type MPV car !!! Thank's ….

• nice wn’t to known price

• Hua Hin on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:15 pm

We call it H-1 in Thailand

• amaran on Mar 21, 2011 at 7:14 am

Wow so nice i intend to have one for my family car

• Mercedes Benz S600L on May 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Honestly..
    Our Company rented that car for us to use it for 300 Km per day..
    And this car is horrible..
    not mentioning the Speed.. cant speed more than 140 KMH while AC is on,
    Stability is horrible !
    The seats are uncomfortable !

• Mercedes Benz S600L on May 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

And no way this car is Compared to the Mercedes Vito !!!!

• Shoroq Shams on Jan 25, 2012 at 8:36 am

Hi I would like to know more about this van (price). I would like to know if it is in Sydney because I am interested in buying it. We would like you to reply as soon as possible.

• Shoroq Shams on Jan 26, 2012 at 10:59 am

Hi I am still waiting for the answer. I really want to know how many Km, price, location etc. If these are old pictures please send me the newer pictures because I am interested in buying it