Renault Sandero: 5-door Logan

Renault Sandero

The Renault Sandero is essentially a 5-door hatchback version of the Renault Logan with relatively better styling. The car will make its debut in the Brazilian market, with Argentina set to get the car next in February 2007. Later in 2008, it will reach the European market and Maghreb, and South Africa is set to get the car in 2009.

The Brazilian world debut is natural as the car is a co-development project by Brazilian RTA (Renault Technologies Americas) that began in 2005. Naturally, being a Brazilian market car it has a 1.6 litre 8V flex-fuel engine option, which complements the normal 1.0 16V and 1.6 16V engines.

More photos after the jump.

Renault Sandero

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 11:47 am

Overall this car looks very cheap… Will it come to us?

• abe (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm

a nice cheap car.
    interior instrument-as simple as kancil/viva

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 12:33 pm

this car will very likely not come to malaysia. you would have problems selling anything french made.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 12:46 pm

better buy Persona ni….

• normaluser (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 1:16 pm

If only the French carmaker has parts manufacturing facility in South East Asia and collaboration with TCM to assemble it here. Then we may have this car in CKD form, and the first cheap new Continental car. The cheapest we have right now is the outdated Kangoo & Naza Bestari.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 1:46 pm

yea design an ugly and lousy car and sell to 2nd and 3rd world countries. works like a charm all the time.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 2:30 pm

nice car.
    If it comes to Malaysia for about 40k, it would be a great competitor to a viva/myvi.
    and + it’s a renault which has a much better build quality then them peroduas and protons.
    i’d buy this.
    but i’m not saying the viva/myvi isn’t good.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 3:09 pm

I know the audio system is supplied by one of the Malaysian Supplier the brand is called Blauplank. I believed It is the same as WIRA one. BELIEVED IT or NOT!

• abe (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 4:18 pm

tak kisah la radio cap apa..dah namanya kete murah
    the most bad story about french cars is GEARBOX

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 4:39 pm

cheaply built and plasticy, for interior

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 5:22 pm

not too bad design though

• hush (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 7:39 pm

this car looks like the people who design it, took parts from everywhere and try to put it together. design looks so wrong… the wheel rim doesnt match… the side mirrors look like it will drop anytime… the bumpers look so cheap… i think for exterior wise, this car is a total failure… interior wise, it is being spared… although it still look cheap, very cheap…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 2:17 am

Well it sell, when it comes to Europe? Kia Ceed’ is better looking than this

• motberg (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 10:09 am

#
    auctioncenter2u said,

December 10, 2007 @ 3:09 pm

I know the audio system is supplied by one of the Malaysian Supplier the brand is called Blauplank. I believed It is the same as WIRA one. BELIEVED IT or NOT!

hullo, please google “blaupunkt” and you will know that this is not a Malaysian Supplier! Just because you’ve seen it in a Wira doesn’t mean it’s a Malaysian product ok? Or maybe you think “Bosch” is also a Malaysian Supplier?? : )

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 2:39 pm

Fair design.
    Want to buy it? Why not..
    Sure! it will arrived at our shore IF Tan Chong interested.
    Can it sell?
    Sure! just rebadge as Nissan!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 4:32 pm

That Blauplank audio system is MADE IN MALAYSIA, believed or not!

• abe (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:19 am

#
    auctioncenter2u said,

December 11, 2007 @ 4:32 pm

That Blauplank audio system is MADE IN MALAYSIA, believed or not!

ya la..ya la i believe. good for us what. got business ..

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:30 pm

cheap and simple…

• lolly on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:29 pm

va va vum, the car is FINE….