Suzuki SX4 1.6 Auto launched in Malaysia!

UPDATE: Suzuki SX4 Sedan also available in Malaysia, fully imported from Japan.

Suzuki SX4

The new Suzuki SX4 is now available in Malaysia in 5-door hatchback form, fully imported from Japan. The hatchback version is available with both normal low to the ground hatchback styling as well as a crossover-like design incorporating a SUV-like design language and raised ground clearance.

The one we are getting is the crossover design, and under the hood lies a more sedatedly tuned version of the 1.6 litre in the Suzuki Swift Sport. In this incarnation it makes 100 bhp (75kW) at 5,600rpm and 140Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. This is mated to a 4-speed automatic gearbox, and while there are 4X4 versions of the Suzuki SX4 available overseas, we get the 4X2 version which will save some fuel and is more than capable enough for the type of roads this little hatch will tackle anyway. The power steering uses an Electric Power Steering System.

The SX4 ride on MacPherson struts for the front suspension and a torsion beam setup for the rear, and is built on a stretched and modified version of the Suzuki Swift chassis. The large 16 inch wheels with thick profile 205/60R16 tyres complete the crossover look.

Luggage capacity is 270 litres which is not too bad, but fold the seats down and you get 625 litres of capacity. The steering wheel is similiar to the one in the Swift and feature steering wheel audio controls for the MP3/WMA/CD player with 8 speakers. Safety features include dual front SRS airbags, ABS anti lock brakes, EBD, Brake Assist and side impact door beams.

The Suzuki SX4 has acceptable rear legroom – it’s not cramped and you can see a photo of someone sitting in the rear after the jump. For a fully imported unit, it has a very competitive price – RM89,987.50 OTR with insurance for the regular version and RM94,377.50 OTR with insurance if you wish to add leather seats and V-Kool tinting.

With the perceived quality of a Japan import, a decent equipment list, attractive “active” looks, a small and relatively frugal engine and a competitive price, I think the SX4 will definitely fly off the shelves! More photos after the jump.

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4

Suzuki SX4
This is the non-crossover more conventional hatchback styling

Suzuki SX4 WRC Concept
2007 Suzuki SX4 unveiled!
2006 Fiat Sedici – rebadged Suzuki SX4
Suzuki SX4-based sedan to be unveiled at Geneva
Suzuki SX4 Sedan photos unveiled ahead of Geneva

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• One92 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:17 am

paul, when is the sedan version of this car going to be in malaysia?

• redwings (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 6:21 am

Wow…I am looking excited for all other brands…Pls bring us more choices…Well done Suzuki Malaysia…
    How about Renault and Mazda? Looking forward for Megane, Clio and Mazda2
    Really bored with Vios and City…

• azrai (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:09 am

Somewhere I realise it somehow look like Inokom matrix.The price is really competitive. Suzuki has done it again. RM109k for Vitara, RM71k for Swift.When will the CKD SX4 will be release.Maybe only RM76k.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:18 am

if u read….its says 90k for basic up to 94k for some add-ons.
    very attractive price and style.
    but a main turnover is the engine….why the heck 1.6L still producing 100hp….the torque figures are not impressive either….
    if this the detuned version of the swift sport….its too much of a detune i’d say…since this thing its quite a size to move around.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:19 am

sorry…..i misread myself….CKD at 76k? maybe….most likely at 80k.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:23 am

Look like we move toward free market with more value for monies in purchasing car. Looking to 2008 and beyond to see more new models come with more competitve price.

• xstan (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:05 am

I was looking for the SX4 sedan version (was it) launched in Singapore & is actually priced lower than Vios & City. Tak ada ka..??

• haroldz (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:07 am

we dun hv many suzuki dealer in sarawak
    only 1 in kuching i think..
    huhuhuuh

• xetronic (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:26 am

even though it’s bit underpower (100hp for its size) but nonetheless it’s still good to see malaysia car buyers are getting more choices.

RM90k is not a steal but still consider a deal.

bravo to suzuki…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:45 am

I guess its understandable to detune the Sport’s engine to give the SX4 better fuel economy.

But i dont understand why such a drastic reduction. I mean, even the 1.5 Swift develops 101hp (correct me if im wrong).

For a 1.6, it should’ve at least been 110hp, especially with that large diameter wheels. Oh well, still expect it to do well :-P

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:53 am

read the review…. http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Suzuki-SX4-1.6-VVT-GLX-2WD/219083/

got good feedback, but their SX4 makes 106hp?

• drM (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:56 am

this SX4 may be competing with Hyundai Matrix and ….. ? because of their resemblence in shape and quite tall of the head room..

but yeah..good car. a car? dont quite sure. good vehicle. lol

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:02 am

I never had any experience with Suzuki engine, is that durable and also even it is 100hp, is the engine is still feeling strong, maybe some Suzuki Swift owner can give some comments and advises…

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:06 am

Btw, I just to US Suzuki site, their SX4 interior looks more luxury…

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:08 am

Btw, I just went to US Suzuki site, their SX4 interior looks more luxury…

• ndmervin (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:21 am

Looks Matrix-y thanks tot he crossover concept… overall design is cool but needs some rugged colours to make it better

Once again, the dashboard is quite boring.. ditto to the Swift

Too bad the torque comes in at 4,000rpm.. better get the Persona with 148 @ 4,000rpm…

Dont think its that fuel efficient with such engine, and with such big wheels…

Good luck SX4

• joeysis (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:19 am

at least Suzuki can deliver car FAST…no need wait until next year August rite…hehe

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:19 am

Will it be the same as Lancer GT ? After heavy booking, they increase the price… haha

• olowokandi (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:41 pm

Looks good, got style and fun factor here. a bit worry about the power/weight ratio…oversea market get 2.0 version with 148hp, far powerful than what we get here. anywhere, happy that another possible option added to my list.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 4:11 pm

Yes…a made in Japan Japanese car, I like it..better than buying ‘under license’ not made in Japan Japaneses car!!!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 4:51 pm

I wonder how long the Japanese can maintain a cheap price to manufacture these in Japan considering their labour and material cost is high, not to mention the high cost of living. Even the Germans are relocating to East Europe.

I mean, if it was a Lexus or Infinity, it would be ok because the high margin they get could cover the costs. But then again, it could be pre-assembled in Japan and exported out and maintain the ‘Made in Japan’ sticker.

• JiN (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:12 pm

Great car, looks good both interior and exterior. 1.6 and 100 hp, is the horse power measure at the brakes or at the flywheels?

• avanza (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:23 pm
  • drgn86 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:30 pm

The Suzuki SX4 1.6 Auto Hatchback pictured here has an automatic gearbox which possesses a left-hand drive gateway configuration instead of a right-hand drive one, wondering if it’s a cost-saving alternative?

• drgn86 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Oh, I’ve found out already, I think Paul has displayed the close-up picture of the auto gateway box of a left-hand drive version of the vehicle because he couldn’t find one for the right-hand drive version. In another zoomed out picture featuring the dashboard, steering and front seats, I see a different auto gearbox, meant for the right-hand drive vehicle.

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Nice…definitely give vios and city a fight for $$. Very appealing to the young outdoor athletic gym-goer consumers. The CBU frm Japan label definitely very attractive.

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:03 pm

its worth it !!!

• gey2718 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm

azrai said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 7:09 am

Somewhere I realise it somehow look like Inokom matrix.

hey azrai i don’t agree with u
    the cheapo matrix with a bowling-like tail light is far fa—-r lousier than suzuki, that one matrix is alien concept and sx4 is hothatch-crossover concept, don’t confuse urself!

• Paul Tan on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:19 pm

hi guys, i’ve double checked with suzuki malaysia and confirmed this 1.6 liter is indeed producing 75 kilowatt or 100 horsepower only – it seems to be detuned compared to the overseas 1.6 engine

• nmh (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:20 pm

it looks good actually….but i still prefer swift

• BW (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:28 am

wah… quite nice le…

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:37 am

hi paul,

it doesnt make sense to detune it…
    from what i understand 110hp/140NM is the overseas standard for this engine… but now we having 100hp/140NM doesnt make sense…

many manufacturers tune their engine to have lower bhp but higher torque at a lower rpm, especially for a bulkier chassis like this to move it up to speed quicker… but detuning it to have lower horsepower and having same torque is not good… since this is CBU, i dont think SMA detuned it, but maybe they had to take some ‘leftovers’ produced in Japan that no other market wants to import it?

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:44 am

btw, the coloured brochure for the SX4 is having keyless entry feature… which I think should be a print mistake…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 1:03 am

I think Swift is better, and cheaper too

• whodz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 3:30 am

I’ve already seen a Suzuki SX4 at Mines with no. plate WQT xxxx just few days back. I knew it was a new model from Suzuki and Paul quickly blog this. Paul is very informative guy. :)

• BrakeFader (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 7:11 am

The Matrix 1.6L is about 103hp with 141Nm of torque. And it struggles uphill with maximum load. I can’t imagine how will this SX4 compares to it. I don’t understand why they have to detune it in Malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:51 am

Depends on what your definition of Maximum load. Malaysian definition it to pack it with 8 people…plus luggage. ;p

Even with 5 adults and luggage you are looking at least an additional 300kg extra. A 1.6L engine isn’t exactly a big engine you know. To Americans, they should have thought the engine is used to power a lawnmower.

Granted it does seem a little more “detuned” than i expected.

For extra grunt, Suzuki has a peugeot 1.9L Turbo diesel. Not a bad engine. Co-worker in france has the same engine in his 307. Doubt that engine will be coming here though.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 9:01 am

the matrix has kerb weight of 1285kg and the SX4 is 1240kg… quite similar… torque is the most important when going uphill…

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:19 am

Suzuki is yummy….. and now come this…
    Very good suzuki!
    I hope to own a swift, tapi duit tak cukup lah…
    ada sesiapa naki derma wang tak kui kui…

• Paul Tan on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:19 pm

the diesel for the sx4 is from fiat, not peugeot

• azrai (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 7:01 am

Dear gey2718,It’s just my opinion and observation that the SX4 really have some styling cues from Inokom Matrix especially the side profile. Yes, there are different headlamp and tailgate (for sure). I think you are just like the chinese manufacturer who gonna say that Daewoo/Chevrolet Spark is not even same with the Cherry QQ (although the door panel can be swapped easily vice versa). It’s common for cars from the same era share some styling cues.

• azrai (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 7:01 am

Dear gey2718,It’s just my opinion and observation that the SX4 really have some styling cues from Inokom Matrix especially the side profile. Yes, there are different headlamp and tailgate (for sure). I think you are just like the chinese manufacturer who gonna say that Daewoo/Chevrolet Spark is not even same with the Cherry QQ (although the door panel can be swapped easily vice versa). It’s common for cars from the same era share some styling cues. Furthermore, Matrix was design by Pinnafarina.

• chanlman (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 9:07 pm

This SX4 is now having a Roadshow at KOTA KINABALU…. WOoo Hooo… Can’t believe this new CBU made available at KK so soon. Test Drive should be available this week :)

Well, first impression of SX4 crossover. It’s TALL and BIG. It’s like a 4×4 vehicle. Big Side Mirrors, Big Doors, amble of Head room, Back seats are so soft… Quite comfy sitting at the back and leg room is al right.

Interior & Exterior nothing to shout about. Just if you are Crossover fanatic, this car has the LOOK.

Now the engine part, personally, I thought this car is a bit overweight and underpowered. Only after test drive can tell. I looked at the Speedometer, Max is only 200kph. The salesman quickly say, you can never drive so fast one… Which in a way, not so true!

Just some comparison of Hatchback 1600cc vehicles avail in Msia now:
    Suzuki SX4
    Max. Power (kW/rpm) 75/5,600
    Max. Torque (Nm/rpm) 140/4,000
    Gross Weight (kg) 1650
    Kerb Weight (kg) 1220

Nissan Latio Sport
    Max. Power (kW(ps)/rpm) 80(109)/6,000
    Max. Torque (Nm(kg-m)/rpm) 153(15.6)/4,400
    Gross vehicle weight 16xx
    Kerb Weight (kg) 1177

VW CrossPOLO
    Max. output, kW (PS) at rpm 77 (105)/5600
    Max. torque, Nm at rpm 153/3800
    Gross vehicle weight 1620
    Unladen weight (kerb weight) 1138

Paul, what’s ur opinion on Power to Weight ratio for cross over vehicles like above?

• divacute (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 3:23 pm

ahahkss..i’ve paid my deposit n grab the orangee sx4 last week..hope it will be a good choice..thought of to have vios but 1st look at sx4, i felt on it!! dear paul, hope wat written n ur comments abt sx4 r rite!!

• Hi divacute, are you having the SX4 crossover? Would be glad to know your feedback on the engine performance.

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Beautiful piece of machine this is. The style is just so good, sweet like candy, simple, cute, eye catching, affordable, the most good car came out at the end of this year.

• wileecoyote (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Hi divacute

Am considering the sx4 too. how’s your vehicle doing? assume you bought one as you said you were :-)

Anyone else here with an sx4? I drove it, seemed lovely to drive, but then test drives are like courship, always lovely :-)

Cheers & thanks

• Mart Thou86 on Apr 16, 2009 at 11:28 pm

why now dude?

in dis economi situation with dat price?

sure tought for me..

• Hi guys,

Can anyone tell me how's is the maintenance cost?

• cottoncandy on Aug 03, 2009 at 12:31 am

certainly gonna buy this car..ouch my heart breaking

• I'm considering to buy sx4 hatchback. Any advice/comment from existing sx4 driver?

• Me too, think of buying. It looks cute. Any recommendation forn existing driver.

• Tequila on Nov 06, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Test drive yesterday on the new version SX 4 yesterday, everything seems good for me so far. ( rear disc break do atrack me compare to the drum break last model.)

Needs recommendation & advise from existing owner before booking.

• Oh.. the new version out already? Any facelift? Price?

I must check it out.

Ya, we need advice from existing owner….

Things to consider 1)resale value 2)fuel comsumption 3)maintenance & it's service centre

• jajaj on Jun 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

haw about the resale value???

• I have 2008 model SX4, is a good car. Good handling and quite fuel economy. Never really count it but i think is quite save. The 100 hp thying i think is ok when i drive it so far. Much more better performance then Matrix and more fuel consumption if compare this 2 model. With is weight is actually very stable when speeding.. Quiet engine. Maintenance wise i think is about the same as Vios or City.. Everything must be genuine parts.. So far not able to find Taiwan make parts. Anyone?

• For the SX4, to change a battery, for instance, how much it would cost? I heard that Vois’ maintenance cost is much cheaper than City, especially when come to replacing the parts though.

• SX4 ever on Sep 05, 2010 at 3:23 pm

I got my SX4 Xover since June 2010, Now 3 months already, so far so good, quiet fuel economy, fun to drive, recently see more the road, I love it!

• errie on May 29, 2011 at 2:46 pm

I hv one. Just 6 m old but its appeared 10.1ltr/km which I believed it very high consumption .

• sudutgamat on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:01 pm

is it underpower? parts easy to find? expensive?

• s.k tan on Nov 04, 2011 at 2:36 am

I had just booked a Suzuki sx4 crossover , leather seats and so on at 94k there about. It’s meant to be a car for my wife, and occasional use by me.

It was a beautiful car; not too bulky unnecessarily. It just look odd when you see a huge suv with only a person in it !

I just am not too sure if the present, 2011 make sx4 is a ckd or a cbu? I was kind of given the two terms in between the talk with the sale gentleman.

Hope more young guys get to try the sx4 than going for expensive and dull looking formal sedan.