BorgWarner R2S sequential VGT turbocharger

BorgWarner R2S Turbocharger Image

BorgWarner has developed a new integrated 2-stage turbocharger called the R2S system, which uses two differently sized turbochargers in a sequential arrangement.

The smaller of the two turbochargers is a smaller conventional unit that provides quick boost response at low engine speeds, while the larger turbocharger is of the Variable Turbine Geometry type, which uses variable vanes to suit a wider range of engine operating states.

The first mass production petrol car that used VTG turbocharging was the 997 Porsche 911 Turbo, which also used BorgWarner turbochargers.

The first application of this new R2S turbocharger is the Ford PowerStroke 6.4 litre V8 diesel engine, which will go into the F-series of heavy duty pickups – the F250, F350, F450 and F550. The same engine will also be used by Navistar International, which will use the engine under the MaxForce7 brand in its light trucks.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 4:41 pm

can plug in into campro or not? :D
    *since there’s no turbo for campro.. but ok with turbocharge..

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:25 pm

x pen ceev

• darren82my (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:57 pm

cool man~~~!!!!

• ariff (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:17 pm

huh..if campro can fit, syok wooooo..hahaha..
    can tapau evo dy

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:25 pm

This turbo is for big diesel engine, even u put into a Campro engine u have to modified a lot. Piston change to low compression, metal casket change, ekzos extractor has to be altered and also a valve to control the pressure from both turbo. The basic of Campro is not so good already, u think can ta pau evo 4B11T? Even u can win by drag after a few spin engine blow then we will see which 1 painful in the pocket… :P

Anyway this is great for a new kind of turbo which uses a small turbo + VGT, this will be great at torque which i can see it will gain the max torque at very early rpm and higher bhp. Go Diesel, but until now Proton dont even have diesel engine also… Haiz…

• szw (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:19 pm

isn’t borg warner a transmission supplier ?

• mahdi on Feb 07, 2011 at 6:32 pm

hello . i need the prices for this tourbo that show to me . i want to ues the dual torbo for FORD super duty f350
    thank tou