Europestar RCR – rebadged GEN2 in China

Europestar RCR

It seems that the abomination of a jaundiced GEN2 is not the final Europestar product after all. This is the recently announced Europestar RCR based on the GEN2 and it looks pretty much like a usual prefacelift GEN2 with Europestar badges slapped on! Many Chinese automotive publications have been referring to this car as a rebadged Lotus Racer, so the RCR most likely stands for RaCeR.

The Campro 1.6 litre engine under the Europestar RCR’s hood makes 84 kilowatts (112.6 horsepower) at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm – this is a 2 kilowatt boost over our standard 82 kilowatt (110 horsepower) Campro engines in Malaysia

The Europestar RCR will be priced between 100,000 to 150,000 yuan, which is about RM45,000 to RM67,500. As previously mentioned, initial fully imported shipment into China by Jinhua Youngman will be 30,000 units, but once CKD operations are started the car will be offered at a lower price. It’s not known whether the version locally assembled in China will get the “unique styling“.

More photos and a video after the jump.

Europestar GEN2 gets “unique styling”
Youngman to sell Proton GEN2 badged as Europestar in China

Video: Europestar RCR – rebadged GEN2 in China
Please be patient as this video can take quite some time to start buffering

Europestar RCR

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• payjoel (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:29 am

go proton go hahah..smart stratergy. proton + lotus + youngman = europestar

• payjoel (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:31 am

go proton go hahah..smart stratergy. proton + lotus + youngman = europestar = $$$$$ -> bolehland

• shooter (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:11 am

as I recall, the Koreans did the same thing with Japanese cars, re-badging them that is.

• shooter (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:17 am

not too long ago, Jap’ Fords are mostly re-badged mazdas, so I guess if its good enough for the Koreans and Japs’ to this, why not the Chinese?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 5:07 am

the cheapest promo video i’hv ever seen and they labeled it as a sport car…?
    and still maintain its “lotus engineering”
    still maintain its forking ugly look
    still maintain its ugly rim
    still maintain its ugly steering
    and the ugly centre clock too!
    later i dun know how many ppl will fall into this trap?

• kerelbort (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 6:43 am

feel like watching cheap amatuer pron promo.. hahaha

• azrai (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 7:26 am

Good move by Proton. Just discard the Gen-2 in our market. Send all our stamping to there and make more money. Now we know where those bumpers, dashboard and sword handle handbrake are sent to (The new Gen-2 CPS has different bumper). Malaysia boleh.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 8:33 am

Can’t get a better car for rebadging? Why rebadging? Potong memalukan ke ape? Lotus summore, ptui…….

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 8:51 am

it’s juz normal Gen-2 with bigger engine,NO CPS,or VIM???????
    [or they save it for later,as the “new improved RCR…”.lol~~]
    112.6 horsepower oso consider as a race car,what the.

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 9:32 am

“Engineered By Lotus”, not by Proton Ah? To shame to put Proton ah? Oh its re-badging.

BTW, the video is suc*, which is suitable for ah beng wannabe. :)

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 9:49 am

PTAllTheBest said,

December 15, 2007 @ 5:07 am

Don’t understand Chinese words?
    This is a car magazine or tv show video, dude.

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:05 am

Haha, the Gen2, a RaCeR? How sad… They must have forgotten about the abundance of Ferraris and Lamborghinis in China. Well anyway, as flimsy as Protons are, I think the Gen2 is a safer vehicle compared to most Chinese makes, so it’s still good to see Protons rolling in China.

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:18 am

well well well… after a huge round a bout turn, they come back to the original design… luckily the front audi-wannabe grille is not there… i hope the chinamen wont complain bout the head room in the rear seats like us malaysians love to complain… if not proton will have to enter their persona le… lolzzz… btw, the logo give me a first impression of a porsche!

• gey2718 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:27 am

a respond to PTAllTheBest said,

Hi
    first of all that is not a promo video, it was taken during actual test drove by media,
    as a malaysian we have to support their move and can’t blindly criticise them.
    gen2 its not that ugly and lot of ppl are looking forward to buy it oversea, in thailand gen2 manage to secure lots of booking since initial launch even uk and singapore also there is a steady growing sales. and according to china media they love it so much and lots of ppl are ready to book once it’s launch.
    i personally feel proton really spent bit of effort on making cars ( remember this is not rebadged car it’s design from scratch) the perfomance and quality of gens is very competitive to other jap or korean entry lever cars, with lots of safety and accesories as well.
    u can’t compare gens with a BMW5 as they are totally diff in class,
    its like comparing a flat and a bungalow!
    give proton some time and believe they will grow!

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:32 am

Hmm…. no matter what Proton does try to do well (hopefully), still got people give negative opinions without giving time to see what really happen, success or failure.

Rebadge also complaint….malukeh? this and that. How about Daihatsu cars also rebadged by Perodua with different name? Old one terrible…. use the animal names. But nobody complaints and I didn’t complaint either. Just let it be as long as it can sell. Same thing as Proton, just hope they can sell in a wider market including the recent one Thailand and China. If make money then Proton no need to rely on government totally and can move on……

Well…..

• bmx (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:34 am

”Engineered by Lotus” hahaha, what a joke, Lotus is already long time dead since Proton bought over them, its empty shell now, see who is the sucker who buy into this bullshit.

$45k to $68k is big money for a car, only Malaysian that is brainwashed to feel cheap, hahaha, katak bawah tempurung, strategy is just a strategy, you can cheat people once, but fundamendally the car do not have enough quality.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:38 am

By the way, this name sure given by China’s Jinhua Youngman. Not Proton.

China’s Jinhua Youngman rebadge our Gen.2, not we rebadge theirs. Just like last time Proton rebadged Mitsubishi cars. So why always put crap on Proton? Blaming them?

Now, Proton design cars from ground up and at least got company rebadge Proton cars just like Proton did before. So…. people?

• infinity (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:41 am

PTAllTheBest said,

wat’s so ugly bout the centre clock?
    if as u said it’s a trap, then, a lot of malaysians have fallen into it…even some brits, australians, singaporean, indon, etc have fallen…sigh…

btw, anyone can understand mandarin?wat’s written there?

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:42 am

I’m not trying to support Proton. Just see how well and how far they can go. As car lovers we just want to see automotive industries growing gets better no matter from which manufacturers.

• zaen (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 11:01 am

PTAllTheBest said,

you are fuc**** people who seen it as promo video..

this is not a promo video even stupid people know it come from a tv show or something like that. Read line by line what Paul has said & he never mention it is a promo video

come on! everybodies know how good is Gen2 Ad on TV & they can repeat it easily on Europestar RCR.

• mytouch (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 11:37 am

wat’s wrong with lotus engineering?
    wat’s so ugly bout gen2?even most malaysians(not u)said it’s good looking car..
    rims??does tat matter?u can change it if u dun like…personally i like it..
    wat’s so ugly bout the centre clock?
    if as u said it’s a trap, then, a lot of malaysians have fallen into it…even some brits, australians, singaporean, indon, etc have fallen…sigh…

btw, anyone can understand mandarin?wat’s written there?

————————————————————–

It says “actual video capture/recording of Youngman Lotus Engineered sports car”…Actualy i also quite agree woth you,Gen2 is not totally ugly at all,if this car is not Proton but instead badge under big names like Honda,Toyota,Alfa,i bet alot of people will say it preety.All negative thinking came out because Proton really screw up big time on its quality previously.Lets just wait & see whats people comment on Persona after few more months,hopefuly we can hear some poditive feedback : )

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 12:15 pm

Sebenarnya kebanyakkan remaja hilang jatidiri. Itu pasal tak bersyukur. Mungkin proton tak sempurna but come on give them a chance in China. If they can do it in Thailand why not China?

Go proton!

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 12:39 pm

Of course lah use Lotus name…Msians kena conned by the “Lotus-tuned” rubbish, lets see if the Chinese kena by “Lotus” also or not. Simply put it, the “Lotus” name is the best asset Proton has. Lotus = European sports car; Proton = kampung junk.

• Max88 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:05 pm

“Sebenarnya kebanyakkan remaja hilang jatidiri. Itu pasal tak bersyukur. Mungkin proton tak sempurna but come on give them a chance in China. If they can do it in Thailand why not China? Go proton!”
    You sound like some bearded prick hiding in some Afgan caves. Friday preaching?

“China’s Jinhua Youngman rebadge our Gen.2, not we rebadge theirs. Just like last time Proton rebadged Mitsubishi cars. So why always put crap on Proton? Blaming them?”
    Next, Chery or Geely copycat rebadge this Youngman Gen2. Re-export back here as Chery GeliStar. “Ohh macam Gen2 lah…” “Takpelah, inikan reverse engineering.” “Let study this junk car, maybe it’s coming from outer space.”

Proton got some, 1 billion Chinese to fool with. Not bad what.

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:31 pm

Some how, that video music do feel horny…hahahaah

• payjoel (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:40 pm

come on la guys, mana yg x suka m’sian car jgn kondem membuta tuli, at least kalau terjual kat oversea, bertambah la production kat m’sia, ekonomi pon bergerak seiringan, orang ramai (termasuk keluarga u all) boleh kerja, dapat duit boleh beli kereta jepon…. seperti pepatah ada mengatakan….umpama susu lembu, tapi sapi dapat nama…karem sing walia melaporkan disini

• szw (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:09 pm

i think gen2 cps coming out really soon in m’sia

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:49 pm

oi..ppls..will you guys stop with the foul words?

CPS coming soon? . maybe early year. i guess.

• bmx (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:57 pm

dr_carz said,
    December 15, 2007 @ 12:15 pm

Sebenarnya kebanyakkan remaja hilang jatidiri. Itu pasal tak bersyukur. Mungkin proton tak sempurna but come on give them a chance in China. If they can do it in Thailand why not China?

Go proton!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ye ke??? Yang tua tua gemuk gemuk dekat kabinet makan kuat kuat tiap tiap hari ada bersyukur ke??? Proton boleh buat kereta transformer untuk mangsa banjir ke???

since when Proton can do it in Thailand? i have never heard of this joke

• nanashisan (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:00 pm

guys, the vid stucks at 1.24. does any of you had this problem too??

• shooter (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:28 pm

does anybody know the title of the background music track? i first heard it in the first Blade movie.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:33 pm

1 billion people country re badge a 27 million country…u all not proud?
    i dont think u all proud to be a malaysian….

• nmh (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:34 pm

i owned gen2 and plenty of korean car….and korean car suxx.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 6:42 pm

The cameraman sux wei. I c also dun wan to buy de. Feel like he hold some of the shelf cam with some crappy jitter control.

• 2ST (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 6:46 pm

yeah..bashing time..afterall,its raves and rants rite,paul?
    I almost vomit when someone (dr carz) said something about ‘remaja hilang jatidiri’ coz not support potong.tau jatidiri tu ape kah??aa??aa?
    potong and u same lah..fully problematic idiot.heheh..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 9:19 pm

2ST said,

December 15, 2007 @ 6:46 pm

yeah..bashing time..afterall,its raves and rants rite,paul?
    I almost vomit when someone (dr carz) said something about ‘remaja hilang jatidiri’ coz not support potong.tau jatidiri tu ape kah??aa??aa?
    potong and u same lah..fully problematic idiot.heheh..

—————————————————————
    wow this is insulting the person not the car
    u thing u r so good 2ST?

• myst (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 9:42 pm

Just bashing and bashing and bashing..Come on la wehh…Even though i realize current G is bullshit and full off corruption, why should u put all the blame on Proton? Singapore produce their own car? NOT..Thailand? NOT..Indonesia? NOT..Philippine?..NOT..Proton even EXPORT their own car..THINK AGAIN..Don’t be fooled by ur High Imigination

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Shooter

Its definitely has a bit of Overseer but I think its been remixed and redone a bit too much.

Basher’s ni semenjak AW tutup forum topik tertentu dah tak ada tempat nak pergi. Kalau pergi forum non-Malaysian based memang kena pandang slack aje. Orang luar sebenarnya tak suka orang yang tak berpandangan luas. Diaorang ni yang memberi nama buruk kat org Malaysia.

What to expect, sedangkan culture diaorang ni kita panggil “performance oriented culture’. Tak semestinya betul, bukanya berdasrakan fakta atau penyelidikan, janji cakap terover-over cukuplah.

Korang ni buta ke apa. Mungkin takde seni. Tak tengok ke, kalau Gen2 pandai make-up cantik ape. Skirting sikit, spoiler sikit. Tak payah lowered pun ok. Kalau corner tu, Vios dgn City memang makan asap. Belum cerita naik bukit.

But then its not fair to compare a manual tranny and a lethargic auto. But auto is all you got with those cars. The only sensible contender would be a Suzuki Swift Sport. But again, its a hatch with a shorter wheelbase and there its advantage lies.

• Dogster (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Rebadged Lotus Racer. WTF… Did that car ever existed?
    The Campro 1.6 liter engine makes 84 kilowatts (112.6 horsepower) = makes the car a RaCeR??? Walueh. If Proton dont compare its cars with the bigger manufacturers, how can it survive in the future.. Grow proton grow. Please dont give big words to small underperformed things… Totally speechless…

• abe (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 12:54 am

jgn suka cakap ‘mencarut’ daa.

jual kete brand sendiri kat overesea pun komplen.

• nanashisan (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:10 am

hahaha
    im enjoying u guys bashing n flaming each other.
    gonna get some popcorn….

• myst (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:33 am

Reading n Bashing..That’s all BolehLand guys capable off

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 4:44 am

who said gen2 is ugly….people buy gen2 only because of its look and handling okay nothing else

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 6:19 am

if china like jaundice gen2 they can have it. if it takes a badge change do it

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:44 am

Wow the BAdge is Weird, LION mixed with Ferrari or Porsche Background. Its look a bit CHEAP. WHy shouldn’t they use a Better mark on it.

Old time, Proton rebadged Mitsu car, NOw Young man Rebadged Proton car. Good! At least someone is interested on PROTON.

About this RCR, if From far its look like PROTON badge and No different from GEN2. Let’s hope that this RCR will get profit soon. PROTON tambah Minyak! (CHinese said)

• Apathy (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:52 am

lots of p1 owner (including myself) hate p1 coz interior quality SUCKS and original factory fitted parts easily rosak. i’m not expecting any K-Klasse quality from p1 price, just a better built quality for me to bear everyday. p1 always comes up with half baked cars. period.

• jazzer (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 3:23 pm

stop insult p1..be more patriotic la

• jazzer (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 3:25 pm

we should proud….hey bmx.go other cntry la…..

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 9:14 pm

myst said,
    December 15, 2007 @ 9:42 pm

Just bashing and bashing and bashing..Come on la wehh…Even though i realize current G is bullshit and full off corruption, why should u put all the blame on Proton? Singapore produce their own car? NOT..Thailand? NOT..Indonesia? NOT..Philippine?..NOT..Proton even EXPORT their own car..THINK AGAIN..Don’t be fooled by ur High Imigination

others country dun produce are JUST TO save money
    malaysia produce car JUST TO sucks money

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 9:16 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    December 16, 2007 @ 4:44 am

who said gen2 is ugly….people buy gen2 only because of its look and handling okay nothing else

i bought persona only because of the stupid NAP…!

• infinity (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 10:45 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 16, 2007 @ 9:16 pm

——————
    i can see tat u hate proton very much, which means u hate the persona u r driving too…i really pity u tat whenever u get into the car, u have the “stupid-proton-make-me-cant-drive-better-cars” feeling…thus spoiling ur day…sad to c such ppl around…

• infinity (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 10:49 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

——————
    i can see tat u hate proton very much, which means u hate the persona u r driving too…i really pity u tat whenever u get into the car, u have the “stupid-proton-make-me-cant-drive-better-cars” feeling…thus spoiling ur day…sad to c such ppl around…

anyway, it’s good tat proton could penetrate the china market…it’s a huge market in china…1.3billion ppl…and i am sure tat proton is way better than their local cars…

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:08 am

ROTFLMAO.

The techno music and wobbly camera is reminescent of a low budget prawn flick.

hahahahahaha. I cant stop laughing.

But to be fair, the gen2 is a reasonably well designed car. Ok, it’s not a sports car, but does have that sporty look.

Im sure if the same design had come out of some small car company in China local commenters wont be so harsh. Over here in Malaysia we see them on the road all the time,… so it’s nothing special.

But in other countries it’s a different story.

Aesthetically the gen2 is quite sporty looking compared to other contemporary 5door hatches.

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:23 am

Google Europestar RCR and THIS WEBPAGE ON PAULTAN’s BLOG comes out as the FIRST SEARCH RESULT.

My god ppl, I got a feeling prospective chinese buyers googling this car is gonna get a bad impression just by reading your comments.

It’s ok to give factual comments, but most of the comments by the critics consist of overvalued ideas. The standard of truth and reasoning is appalling.

Lotus sells a few thousand cars a year, yet some critics are declaring that it is dead.

I dont agree with the blind supporters either. It’s not about “hilang jati diri” or anything like that, but you gotta see Proton for what it is.

1) Dont base your opinions solely on overvalued ideas.
    2) Get a sense of perspective. The grey area between black and white. Dont just see black like the blind bashers..or white like the blind supporters.
    3) Dont make grand declarations like “lotus is dead” based on oversimplified logic and premature conclusions.

Of late Proton has actually been improving in quality. Build quality and QC is starting to pick up. It is now spreading it’s wings. But it seems nothing it does can satisfy the bashers – turning even a positive thread into a very negative one.

sheesh.

• marvel (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:15 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    —————————————————————–
    Good idea..buy the car then bash…then get angry..then bash…but it’s your car..You should do what JC did to the Kelisa he “bought’, then everyone will say..’You’re the Man.!!!”

• armandd (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:35 am

ezralimm said,

December 17, 2007 @ 1:23 am

Google Europestar RCR and THIS WEBPAGE ON PAULTAN’s BLOG comes out as the FIRST SEARCH RESULT.

My god ppl, I got a feeling prospective chinese buyers googling this car is gonna get a bad impression just by reading your comments.

It’s ok to give factual comments, but most of the comments by the critics consist of overvalued ideas. The standard of truth and reasoning is appalling.
    —————————————————————-

very true indeed. paul, you should do something about this…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 9:04 am

proton has already secured the sale of these cars to youngman of china, that seems to be the fact. meaning money in the bank to proton. well done!

the marketing, the sales..etc. etc. are done by the chinese company youngman. (although bigfish posted that this is not true, and the deal wont materialise) they are already an established and successful company in china who knows their business and market. as we all know, a chinaman businessman is not going to get involved with something thats gonna lose him money. he has probably done all the groundwork, and made all the effort to find the marketing formula that will help him sell these cars which is a lot more than i can say for people who sit on their behind all day typing stupid comments on a blog on the internet (me included). What the heck do we know?

• supernan9 (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 10:20 am

proud to see malaysian face on other country’s road..

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 11:47 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    —————————————————————–

I don’t even believe PTAllTheBest buy a persona. But ‘pretend bought a persona’ is Yes..
    Many bashers nowaday liars.. They said they own the car.. then bash this bash that..

Anyway.. Ptaii .. lucky you had a car.. many people in other country can’t afford even a small bike. And many people in malaysia too just can drive used car. They just dream can get a persona like you..

When you drive BMW.. there’s many kancils beside you on the road. And many others old car beside you.
    When you drive SLR , there’s many again people drive Swift, Myvi, etc and they wish had a car like you too..

And then again.. when you had a small car like kancil/kelisa etc.. many ‘Public Trasportian’ wish they had some car kancil like you..

Human just always not enough. ‘Kurang bersyukur’.

And now what about some other country that still using their :
    ‘Toyota’ COWrolla. Had a 100cc bikes already talk of the village.

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 12:44 pm

i think proton will develop as the nation develop. msia’s technolgy stature will reflects greatly on proton. that means ‘engineerd by lotus’ is a marketing ploy more than anything else. the quetion is how long will the protectionsm last? i do not think it will happen in my lifetime. i’m in my 20s and dont carry a bird flu H5N1. Paul please do something about the swearing.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:09 pm

Anyway..
    Lotus is Brits Legend.

*in the past years ago…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 3:24 pm

bmpower, lotus is still a legend.

every single-seater race car today, from A1 to Formula 1 still uses the original pioneering design by lotus.

a new lotus variant was just voted autocar uk’s best handling car i believe 2 months ago.

the upcoming nissan skyline GTR’s handling is tuned by lotus.. many more other cars on the road today are also tuned by lotus, but are kept secret between the manufacturer and lotus.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 7:49 pm

I think if the europestar uses proton’s campro engine, then the campro might have been underpowered before.

• ah liew (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 8:53 pm

hey! does china guys know how to modify Gen 2 like us? malaysia bole apa? bole modify lor….

• document (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:47 pm

i dun understand why Proton want to rebadge to Europestar?? If Proton really want to rise up to be one of the world’s leading car manufacturer, they should use ‘Proton’ brand name instead of ‘XXX star’… its a Malaysian car not XXX car… Is ‘Proton’ name is so embrassing to be introduced in China ??? If afraid chinese dun familiar with Proton, juz tell them is Lotus’s brother… that is… Malaysia Boleh!!!

• Paul Tan on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:06 pm

Proton is not selling the GEN2 in China. Jinhua Youngman is. They are buying GEN2s to rebadge as Europestar in China, much like Perodua buys Daihatsu kits to badge as Perodua here. It is Jinhua Youngman’s choice as to what to call it, not Proton’s. Proton just supplies the cars.

• From Borneo on Jul 03, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Wow, this is a perfect example of rebadging, they only changed the badges and suddenly it gains 2hp. the usual rebranding has a new grill, wheel, maybe headlight/tailight, bumper, spoiler and generally all the cost effective replacements. this one did not touch protons styling at all.

• From Borneo on Jul 03, 2009 at 10:27 pm

after reading the critics and anti-critic.

lots of modern countries rely on critics. its free information to improve rather than take out questianaires. let the silly critic stay at his corner but the anti-critic will always ruin development, hence transparency is designed as an advatage to be transparent to criticism in the first place.

i have been to 5 star hotel where guest were complaining about things we cannot understand what is there to complain about. to be anti-critic is to argue against them. my friend went to a proton service center and had his car repaired. after the repair he argued there was a new annoying sound and the responce was "mimang tu bunyi macam tu…". What the…..

how about the famous window problem? it was the critics who fixed it right? the irony, how come such a large car manufacturer had to rely on kaki lima critic yet took many many years to respond????? insane isnt it???? and if there were no critic? would the window problem be fixed???

it is the anti-critic mentality which shows the direction we are heading. we need to be in competition….not in the bedroom