BMW X6 full details, specifications and photos

BMW X6

The final production version of the new BMW X6 will be unveiled at the 2008 Detroit Auto Show in January, but for the benefit of all of us who obviously can’t take off and head to Detroit, they’ve released full details on the car.

Two variants of the new E71 BMW X6 Sport Activity Vehicle will be made available – both petrol but these product photos show that there will be a diesel one available too. The top of the line 4.4 litre twin turbocharged V8 petrol engine used in the X6 is new engine unveiled to the world for the first time.

The BMW X6 xDrive50i uses a new 4.4 litre V8 direct injection twin turbocharged all-aluminium engine putting out 408 horsepower between 5,500rpm and 6,400rpm, and 600Nm of torque over a wide range of between 1,800rpm and 4,500rpm. It is the first turbocharged V engine in the world to feature its turbocharger between the V section in the middle of the two banks of cylinders.

The engine uses water-to-air intercoolers which provide a shorter air path, and omits the use of Valvetronic throttle-less intake, a choice BMW made with the N54B30 twin turbocharged inline-6, and the BMW Prince engine used in the MINI Cooper S.

The other petrol model is the BMW X6 xDrive35i, using the award winning 3.0 litre twin turbo inline-6, also powering the 135i and 335i, making 300 horsepower between 5,800rpm and 6250rpm, and a peak torque of 400Nm between 1,400rpm and 5.000rpm. The oil burner model is the BMW X6 xDrive35d, powered by the potent 3.0 litre sequential twin turbodiesel of course.

BMW’s xDrive permanent all-wheel drive which comes standard on the X6 now has Dynamic Performance Control, which is essentially a torque vectoring system. Dynamic Performance Control ensures variable distribution of forces between the two rear wheels via an innovative torque vectoring rear differential and an advanced computer control system. This creates a DSC-like effect but without the momentum loss because of DSC’s use of braking. This control can be employed independent of engine load of drive power, so it also works when the driver’s foot is off the throttle pedal – a first in the world.

Ride and handling is controlled by Integrated Chassis Management technology, which varies drivetrain and suspension functions within fractions of a second, responding to sudden changes in driving conditions such as spontaneous steering maneuvers on changing surfaces, whether accelerating or braking. Vehicle control in situations that requires it is primarily employed by Dynamic Performance Control – DSC which uses brakes only kicks in at far limits of vehicle stability.

Of course, every performance X BMW needs to have Adaptive Drive, which is a fantastic system I’ve tried out in first person. It uses variable anti-roll bars and dampers to control body roll – this makes a huge difference!

Now the boring utility stuff – storage space in the rear of the BMW X6 is rather large at 724 litres, and this can be increased by folding down the rear seat backrests to 1690 litres. The BMW X6 seats 4.

More photos and a video available after the jump.

Video: BMW X6 Video

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

BMW X6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Front bumper looks abit overdone…maybe abit better than ahbeng’s

• DtG (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 6:58 pm

like it… kinda in a type of its own…

• nmh (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 7:13 pm

yea…i think bwm want to be the first introducing a new type of vehicle ….just like merc introducing the first 4 door coupe cls

• zai (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 7:13 pm

IMHO, this is the ugliest BMW to date..

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 7:48 pm

looks like gen 2 body stlye…

buy a gen2 then jack it i mean make it go rally type then walla u get ur own Proton X6 :P

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:08 pm

I really like BMW styling, but this one, urggh! :(

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:15 pm

its looks like a toad!

fugly!!!!!!!

• tanasi (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:30 pm

what’s the point of this behemoth? Sure BMW is doing a good job trying to make its SUVs and undoubtledyl this one too behave like a car, but then why don’t one just get a car instead???

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 8:47 pm

this is wat i called design and stylish. leading in innovations.
    BTW can u all afford 1 besides teasing it?

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 9:12 pm

I wish the video showed the X6 on a city street with other cars around it. Only then we’ll be able to see what a bloated coupe this beemer is. Not sure if I like it.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 9:29 pm

I think Porsche should be worried.

tanasi, coz SUV sells. So long as there are buyers, they will continue to make em.

• cetakbaju (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 9:40 pm

nice suv!

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:08 pm

Such a big car can only seats four people??? Quite ridiculous

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:53 pm

y bmw dsgner came out wit an awful dsg nowadays???ugly…

• narrowband (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 7:22 am

I like it. Don’t mind it.

• normaluser (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 8:46 am

Congrats BMW! You have just replaced the Cayenne as the #1 ugliest premium SUV ever invented.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 8:57 am

hehehe…
    walaupn ramai org kata kete ni buruk, aku rs kete ni lawa.
    well, different taste ;)

frankly, aku lg ske kalu gen2 ble jadi suv. + enjin power, awd, safety features..voila! :)

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 10:49 am

The more I look at it, the more drool collects on my keyboard :p

• prangin (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:05 pm

those well-heeled and discerning buyers will hav their say in coming months. expect emotions running high on dis one with opinions on both ends of the spectrum. as for me, it’s got my vote for sure. d look is just awesome..

• glorifiedmechanic (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 1:38 pm

Would you pick a Cayenne S 272hp or this one 300hp???

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 5:47 pm

Why nobody said its look like GEN2?

But this stylish is not much with BMW, I would say GEN 2 looks much better.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 5:48 pm

I mean not MATCH …..TYPO

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 5:59 pm

giant Gen2, hehez…..

this vs. Cayenne? lmao, Cayenne is much better looking than this new X6, XC90, X3, X5 and Merc ML…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 3:18 am

….RM800k car

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 18, 2007 at 11:15 am

hahha…this sucker n cayenne…???no for me…both are ugly…i prefer merc ml than this…if u want more stylish…q7 or toureg

• bot_tech (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 1:02 pm

WHOOOAAAA….PHHEEEWWWW!!

• szw (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 4:43 pm

beautiful…

• ah liew (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 9:04 pm

huh! looks like beast!

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 5:10 pm

this BMW look cool !! but gen-2 is better ..i think….more economy loh..

• db8 (Member) on Aug 23, 2008 at 4:30 pm

like then engine..the design kinda weird looking

• rashid on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

i love bmwx6 u no y bmwis mbwx6 it ………………………………………..to much for me

• dolphin on Feb 26, 2009 at 7:09 pm

now i think i am proud to be a gen2 owner…hehehe…

• eh..how bout we convert the gen2 into these car alike??hakhak…!!! might be same wat!!??..HAkahak.

• Fantastic… is like a Military Machine. Try the xDrive35i in NSHW yesterday … Hate to Break…

• rences on Apr 20, 2009 at 8:07 pm

wah cantiknya keta ni… jangan2 harga dia lagi cantik? hehe.. klu aku kaya blah juga beli.. tp… apa pun keta ni cantik…

• kaneh,pasang bodykit d this car damn nice

• baron on Jul 12, 2009 at 1:54 am

my god,i think u all is too low to say this masterpiece is the same as gen 2.dont u have eyes????look at it.it is far beyond gen 2,same goes to the price.. an x6 is equal to15 gen 2 i presume

• Kevin on Jul 22, 2009 at 12:42 pm

At RM 698k on the road, a few lucky people will actually get to own one.

All cars look alike in way or another but the material used and technology can be very, very different.

You need to drive one, to appreciate how fast it can go with safety in mind.

• I saw one on the road yesterday..Fuuhh!! Its damn really looks fantastic when you see it speeding !! When I check the specifications today, oh its worth with the price.

• look so cool but abit odd with the backside look alike a tanker,but it stillattractive…how much it is?

• Mayor on Feb 28, 2010 at 8:50 am

What a Nice and Unique SUV. Please, examine this vehicle well before critising it. BMW, I'm proud of you and as a young engineer, I'ld like to work with you.

• Mayor on Feb 28, 2010 at 8:55 am

What a Nice and Unique SUV. Please, examine this vehicle well before critising it. BMW, I'm proud of you and as a young engineer, I'ld like to work with you in future.

• Neoarcher on Sep 06, 2010 at 2:35 pm

It’s a very different outlook of an SUV in BMW altogether. No reason to compare with Gen 2 in many way whether in term of externally or internally. It’s a brave move from BMW itself. All I can say “Bravo”…..

• michael on Jan 23, 2012 at 7:06 am

I have really fall in love with this car. But does this car go with same engine as the X5? I really like to know thanks!