Renault plans US$3,000 (Rs 1.19 Lakh) Car

Renault LogoRenault is looking into making a budget car even cheaper than the Renault Logan, and its production base and initial market will be India, home of the Rs 1-Lakh car project. Renault wants its new budget car to cost US$3,000 – about Rs 1.19 Lakh.

“The big question is what will have to be done to bring this car up to export quality. It will have to be modified, sure — and what will be the cost of these modifications so it’s viable? Logically, Brazil would be a natural market. Brazil is one of the strategic markets (for Renault) for the future, along with Russia, China and India,” said Renault chief Carlos Ghosn.

Tata “Abarth” 1-Lakh Car
More details on the Tata 1-Lakh Car

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 5:34 am

dats too low to be true ….probably its gona be made out of banana leaves or sting !

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 5:53 am

I don’t think all the modification in the world might change it. Same like the Naza Sutera. They can try placing better trimmings, noise insulation, but I don’t think it will be that popular

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 7:28 am

USD 3K, This in economy perspective are economy of scale and “deflation” of the products.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 2:29 pm

price and quality are two different things…..

• bavarian (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 7:11 pm

quality???

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 8:44 pm

Quality and safety should be out the window with that kind of price. It’d be wise if we don’t import them. The OPs Sikap’s casualty list is already long enough…

• freeze (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 11:18 pm

Maybe it will be something like the basic Kancil. Just a small car with very basic functions.

I think it will be like this: Starting from US3000.

Lets say if imported here. Can be around RM25000?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 8:59 am

CHEAP cheap cheAP, that’s the way to do business?

• nmh (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 8:57 pm

Maybe built on ladder frame (body on frame), front and rear leaf spring and drum brake, 70% third party parts from current or past model of other manufacturer…or maybe mr. bean’s mini security system using padlock.

• szw (Member) on Dec 23, 2007 at 7:20 pm

let’s do the limbo !
    how low can u go ?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 10:44 am

Can can go pretty low i’d say.

If you use parts from your parts bin where the cost of development have been recovered, the unit costs will be low.

Take for instance the Saga. They can sell it now at 27k, when they used to sell it at 37k. You think they are making losses per sale? Don’t think so. Take into consideration thier cost per unit isn’t the most rosy either, wihout large economies of scale. Now, take off the few grand worth of taxes that our lovely government slaps on it.

Think about the Saga, without air conditioning, power steering, and in a body sized as a kancil made out of Plastic. Of course the price is without taxes, road tax and insurance.

Many of the larger manufacturers can make cars at that price. The more appropriate question is, if they want to sell it at that price.

Even proton should be able to sell a barebones Saga for about 18k. IF they wanted to.

@mzfnd

Safety? Most of the casualties of your OP sikap list is due to motorcylists. Now wont it be safer for them to be in a cheap car instead? Besides, if you drive a Kancil or Saga, its not that much “safer” either.

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 1:30 pm

usd3k car its mean they will importing second hand kancil and rebaged it and sell it to india or maybe that car only 2 seated and without roof and the engine is 500cc maybe the car just like car that made from rusia or german i forget the brand or maybe the engine will be the cows just like kereta lembu just wait n see