A local firm wants to buy Lotus?

small_lotus_logo.jpgThe Malaysian Reserve reports that a local firm has approached Proton with a proposal to take over Proton’s stake in Lotus. The business daily did not mention which local firm this is – but whispers through the grapevines say this might be Naza.

Naza wants to build its own cars. It’s first attempt at it’s own car was the Naza Sutera, now known as the Naza Forza. For future models, Lotus could provide Naza with the necessary platform to build its car on – the Versatile Vehicle Architecture. Also, as successful distributors of most of the supercar brands here in Malaysia, it could also take over the marketing of Lotus sports cars in this country.

Of course, we don’t actually know for sure if it is Naza, or if there is such a thing at all, so let’s wait and see if The Malaysian Reserves is right about this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 3:14 am

Is this a good news?

• freeze (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 3:15 am

No matter what they offer, Proton should not sell Lotus especially to Naza. Proton needs to boast about lotus these days to survive. If you take that away what do you have in a Proton?

Imagine the news in a few years “Naza takes over Proton market share with their Lotus tuned MPV”

But if Perodua takes over Lotus then that will be good news for us, but not for Proton. If Naza takes over Lotus, I dont think they can make use of it any more than what Proton has done with it.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 3:17 am

Maybe Dr Mahathir wants to buy Lotus?

• shamel (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 3:22 am

Naza….emm I wish I don’t want to see NAZA if I can turn the history around. Same to Proton. They just make we can’t afford decent cars as pre-1985. Naza easily can earn much much higher profit than car retailer/manufacturers itself.

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 4:09 am

Unless this is part of a plan for the G to let go of Proton, I can’t imagine why Proton would sell Lotus.

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 6:15 am

Well PROTON doesn’t really know how to use LOTUS coz they are stupid!!! so let go laa…, let see how other people handle it.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 7:23 am

wah…now internal fighting grabbing for market share? naza slowly creeping up proton’s ass huh….

if proton sell lotus..then proton is as good as gone…
    :)

• azrai (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 7:25 am

Don’t sell. Remember when a Malaysian consortium bought Lamborghini a couple of years ago? Nothing. Kaput. Although Lotus is own by Proton, it is a different entity. Hope to see more input from Lotus in Proton output.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 7:57 am

Perhaps any news to goreng share again.

• farizal13 (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:54 am

if proton sell Lotus they are so stupid…again i agree with cecibo…even now new skyline been tuned by lotus…lots of major player car company go to lotus for their expertise….so PROTON…think about it wisely….who knows next proton car is low cost malaysian sportscar…proton+lotus+petronas….

• moha774 (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:01 am

I think that they should approach the Gov. to take over Proton instead of Lotus alone… get two bird with one stone… so that after there will be only 2 major local player with Perodua and its Toyota-Daihatsu family and Proton with its Naza-Kia, Naza-Peugeot, Lotus family.. no need direct foreign partner.

• aksMs (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:10 am

Hope this is just mere rumors. Even if it is true, hope Proton is wise enough to keep their saving grace. Lotus is the only true capital that they have right now. And I DO HOPE! there’s no bloody idiot with donkey brain in Proton who might think this is a good idea.

As for Naza, they can’t even build crap. Naza Sutera is worst than crap. I just hate Sutera or Forza, period!…whatever they call it…!

• bestofamat (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:18 am

Sell it to Naza? emm… most stupid move. They already did stupid move b4 this, they sold MV Agusta to Gevi Spa for Euro1.
    If Naza buy Lotus, no much changes to them for the next 5 years. If Proton mave problem/difficulty to sell Lotus cars, just give Naza distribution rights, coz that is their expertise. I have seen Naza quality build, emmm.. what I can say that not really good & their parts also expensive (Kia products)

• Fox (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:29 am

The local firm want tobuy but if Proton don’t want to sell nothing will happen la. It’s just like bertepuk sebelah tangan only.

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:38 am

Ugh, what did Lotus do to deserve this? Going from one lousy owner to an even lousier one. Still, it’s just rumours now, hope Lotus falls back somewhere it can shine.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 9:55 am

Remember Everyone… Naza = AP King.
    I hope this is another rumor from The Edge again.
    Boost up share? no.. i dont think so..

I doubt proton can do well and better if they sell lotus.
    Since lotus itself that made proton car sold bit well in other country.
    Without lotus.. proton is… nothing. – no tech, no good design.. no more good handling…

Tengku Mahalel and Tun M already said want to buy lotus if proton wanna sell it. (and i think Syed Mokhtar Albukhary too : DRB-MMC ).

• sxe10r (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:18 am

Lotus no much model …. y don’t share with some other japanese company … so that we can get a cheeper & nice car like mitsubishi … the KIA already taken by Naza …. so everyone can drive LAN EVO ….

• naikmotoje (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:20 am

if NAZA buy lotus then the next model NAZA tuned
    by lotus?

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:33 am

No way man…. especially Naza. Proton keeps Lotus. Lotus not for sell…. haha….

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:36 am

Lotus is a sad story. But the english are too hard headed. Proton needs to learn their culture and how the English think if they ever want to make them earn their own bread. But Lotus doesn’t think globally. They are a dying breed of specialist that won’t make volumes. Everybody tried to turn Lotus around, Americans, Italians, even selling Elan name to KIA.

So IMHO I would not loose any sleep over it if ever Lotus is sold. Selling a liability is not bad.

• Niv (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:45 am

I’m first time posting here.
    Please take care of me…
    I will like to ask sxe10r, what do lotus sharing with japanese company got to do with pricing reducing? A Lancer Evo should be price around RM200+-, (don really survey), even it’s price is reduce, can it be 50k? i don think so…
    mayb they make it 300k since its have special suspension tuned by lotus?
    just some comment, not ment to start fire.just curious on why people just say like that…
    hehe

• szw (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:50 am

let proton keep lotus

• Niv (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:51 am

1st time posting here
    Please take care of me.
    I will like to ask sxe10r, what do lotus sharing with japanese company have anything to do with everyone can buy Lancer Evo? will it be cheaper? Ask I know Lancer Evo cost around RM 200+ (not really survey), and you think when lotus join mistubishi, Lancer evo pricing will drop?
    Just curious on why people say these.
    Hehe

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:01 pm

Sell Lotus, then Protn lost th eelling point: “Lotus handling”!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Sell Lotus, then Protn lost the selling point: “Lotus handling”!

• Niv (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:09 pm

Hi all
    Im new here,
    As i know if proton sold off lotus to others, proton will fall atleast in 75% chance, even 80%, cos 20% mayb the proton supporters. When proton fall, malaysia economic will also fall because proton is also 1 of the main economic resources. Another few years, Our petrol will also dried , then malaysia economics will drop to it’s bottom. I don have any prove on what future will happen. but as i know if proton ever fall, malaysia would too.
    Peace -_-V

• Niv (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:13 pm

Sry for the double posting up there.
    Really New comer, not familiar with this.
    hehe

• redragon (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 12:22 pm

NO!!!! Please NOT NAZA!!!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:07 pm

Niv said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 12:09 pm

Hi all
    Im new here,
    As i know if proton sold off lotus to others, proton will fall atleast in 75% chance, even 80%, cos 20% mayb the proton supporters. When proton fall, malaysia economic will also fall because proton is also 1 of the main economic resources. Another few years, Our petrol will also dried , then malaysia economics will drop to it’s bottom. I don have any prove on what future will happen. but as i know if proton ever fall, malaysia would too.
    Peace -_-V
    ————
    This must be a crap statement, our 2 way trade already exceed 1 trillion and Proton turnover is few Billions or less than 1% of Malaysian economics pie!

You shall rephrase “but as i know if proton ever fall, malaysia would too”.

to

“but as i know if proton ever fall, Cronies and AP Kings would too”.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:08 pm

Naza is just assembler, why sell Lotus to them?

• nmh (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Why dont just share the platform…or built a new platform together….then produce a cheaper car. By doung this ‘national collaboration’ maybe they can ask gov for another tax discount.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:26 pm

Hahahaha proton wanna sell lotus
    On ur dream only…..

• Niv (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 1:34 pm

BigFish
    Comment on people’s statement as crap is rude as saying rubbish inside your brain. I doesnt meant anyone on what i say above.
    It’s just my point of view. You can say it’s unaccurate or its wrong to say.
    You also cannot prove that if Proton fall AP king and Cronies will also fall.. so that make us both unaccurate so…stop this thing.
    I just wonder if proton fall…will it make our economics even bad if our petrol dried of in few years later.
    I’m off, not comment again since no results.
    seeya.
    Peace-_-V

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:28 pm

Niv, noted your comment, sorry for the “rudeness”.

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:32 pm

I think PROTON doesnt know how to use lotus tech that why their only use lotus handling bcuz if they use others lotus tech we will bash proton for high price proton buy lotus just to addapt handling tech so stupid why dont they built proton supercar hey p1 wake up advance tech is with u and use it wisely before its gone or “basi”

• bestofamat (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:56 pm

I don’t think so Proton will sell Lotus coz of these reasons:
    1) Since DSZ, Lotus has turnaround plan for next five years – even appoinment of New CEO
    2) Lotus Eagle expected to come out next year 2008 before Lotus Esprit using VVA (have 3 – 5 models)
    3) Prorotn developing new Waja repalcement & MPV
    4)……

• hehehaha (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Proton is already a goner. Just sell it. Since they’re doing no significant good even with Lotus under their wing. Sell it to VW.

• carlover (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Proton SHOULD sell Lotus.

Theyre not utilizing FULL Lotus capabilities nor expanding the Lotus brand.

Read the history of Lotus, theyre NOT only known for Handling.

Lotus needs to be independent from Proton. When i say independent, im talking from Management, Owners, Hanky Panky etc. Its just too political if its under Proton.

IF lotus goes independent, Lotus will not just be a supporting cast to Proton, instead evolve the BRAND once again. I just believe they have so much more capabilities and potential.

Chill guys, might just be a rumour

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Please give Lotus back to the British. I love the Lotus Esprit, Elise And Exige far too much to see them going down the drain with any future Lotus cars.

• bavarian (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 5:09 pm

how much? i am interested

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 8:52 pm

Don’t sell LOTUS. It is very useful to Proton to develop good car. Maybe it is OK to loan LOTUS to others, and get some money or professional fees. Because Malaysians deserve to buy excellent Malaysian Made Car.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:07 pm

since when has lotus made a good sportscar in the last 10 years. other makers just use lotus expertise so they can save costs. instead of paying your own engineers of doing the hard work.

by the way, where is that bullcrap car called Esna venere. another hoax like the hydroxene saga.

• sxe10r (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 10:14 pm

Niv said,
    December 28, 2007 @ 11:45 am

I’m first time posting here.
    Please take care of me…
    I will like to ask sxe10r, what do lotus sharing with japanese company got to do with pricing reducing? A Lancer Evo should be price around RM200+-, (don really survey), even it’s price is reduce, can it be 50k? i don think so…
    mayb they make it 300k since its have special suspension tuned by lotus?
    just some comment, not ment to start fire.just curious on why people just say like that…
    hehe

Something wrong with u eye ?? u didn’t c is local firm want to buy Lotus ?? what rubbish u r respond ??

• BW (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 11:39 pm

NAZA FINALLY WANNA BUILD THEIR OWN CARS?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:10 am

For a newbie, NIV is right.

It doesn’t take a degree in economics to understand the balance of trade (import versus export). I wouldn’t be a doomsayer to say that we will fall into a recession but it would be in despair. The money that people spend in local industries therefore keeping money in Malaysia will turn around and be given to someone else who doesn’t contribute to growth of local economy.

You do the simple maths of calculating number of Proton cars sold currently times the average price and times 12 months and you get the amount of money going out of the country per year. Well maybe minus the commission.

Malaysia would then need to replace that number of ringgit flowing out wth something else like making more competitively priced Very Large Crude Carriers or LNG Ships but employing locals. Otherwise, we might face with an increase in trade deficit. This means inflation is inevitable. To the normal man on the street, we will have less buying power as our reserves of money is less than before. Therefore, the Ringgit is valued lower.

Like I said, you don’t need a degree in economics.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:16 am

Hey what the heck right? You get to buy a cool car.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:07 am

Don’t think proton’s that stupid to sell Lotus like they did with MV Agusta…

• cetait (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:20 am

Come on now, your so-called maths is ridiculously misleading. Plenty of money spent on Protons goes out of the country, unless you think they source every piece of the car out of the jungle somewhere? So many Proton components come from overseas suppliers, technical royalties are paid, money is spent on overseas operations…its just the nature of the automotive industry, but it’s ludicrous to think that you can add up all the purchase prices of Protons in a year and say that’s all money staying in Malaysia. Simply. Not. True.

At the same time, if you buy say a Toyota, not every sen of it goes to Japan as you seem to imply. All the dealership/service center infrastructure, advertising, thousands of Malaysian employees, CKD infrastructure and operations again employing Malaysians, use of local vendors, corporate taxes, etc etc ad nauseum pumps plenty of money into the local economy. This money comes from the sale of Toyotas locally, meaning a substantial portion of the money’s actually staying in the country also! Again, its just the nature of the automotive industry. The difference in economic contribution between Proton and say a Japanese make simply isn’t as much as fear-mongers want everyone to believe.

Time and time again this simplistic disingenuous argument is trotted out, and it simply doesn’t hold water. Plenty of countries without significant local car marques have a standard of living above Malaysia’s. The country is not going to collapse or whatever if Proton can’t make it on a level playing field like any normal company could reasonably be expected to do.

• cole planet (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 4:33 am

Oh no… Proton Please Don’t Sell Lotus… U WILL LOSE EVERYTHING…

• carlover (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 10:01 am

Well its a good thing if Naza gets Lotus. Its about time they build their own cars. Naza and Proton can both be supported by Lotus Engineering. Good cars for Malaysians and other potential countries.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 12:30 pm

bobdbilder said,
    December 29, 2007 @ 12:10 am

For a newbie, NIV is right.

It doesn’t take a degree in economics to understand the balance of trade (import versus export). I

——–

eh, I still think you will still need a degree after what you have just stated.

Economics is NOT SO SIMPLE as you say it is.

Yes, I am an Economics Major.

Malaysians spends more on thier childrens education abroad than Proton exports cars. I don’t see the Government doing something about our education system (and to rub salt already into a sore wound, it aint getting better, it got worst).

Cetait’s post make a lot fo sense if you take the time to read it carefully. Quite the breath of fresh air in here, actually.

Sell Lotus and Proton has lost its party piece. Lotus is the only thing that is giving Protons abroad any little bit of credibility. Loost lotus, and foreign markets will just view Proton as any asian (read “Chinese”) marque. Now since Proton can’t beat the chinese in price (and they are not far off in quality either), what have they got to compete with?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 1:15 pm

bobdbilder said,
    December 29, 2007 @ 12:10 am

You do the simple maths of calculating number of Proton cars sold currently times the average price and times 12 months and you get the amount of money going out of the country per year. Well maybe minus the commission.
    ———
    – Minus steel import to make the body and engine (maybe 30%of the cost)
    – Minus the royalty in design or cost to import engine (non Campro)
    – Minus the logistic cost to import raw material for other part of the body.
    – Minus the design fee for certain model.
    – Minus the imported component or local components but raw material from outside.
    – Minus bla, bla, bla, ……….

There are a lot of monies already flow out the country even before Proton car is being made until become end product (i.e. car).

How much left in our country?

• DrA (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

I think Proton should invest more in Lotus. Lotus can make a lot of money. Yes it is a small car company but it has a heritage. Proton should also be focusing on making bigger Lotus, to compete against Porsche, Lambo, Ferrari. On its own Proton branding is not strong enough. If P1 produce such cars, no matter how good it is, it will not be taken too seriously.
    So, don’t sell Lotus.

• joe203 (Member) on Dec 29, 2007 at 11:04 pm

Good start. Finding these markets and opportunities to rebadge have put Proton in a league higher than naza (serial re-badger) and perodua (bodykit-changer).
    From now on they must be more agressive globally.
    A lot of our companies have expanded overseas since long ago.
    If they can make it big one day, at least we will have another strong Forex earner after all the oil had dried up.

• feeze26 (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 12:22 am

lotus is not for sale… this only a speculation.. naza is dreaming.. :-)

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 30, 2007 at 4:08 pm

naza people are a waste of blood and good human organs.i dont think we will see naza forza to use ‘handling by lotus’ line in the future.lotus is the best thing that ever happened to proton.not a chance proton will ever sell it to anyone.. at least in a fairly distant future.

• lomotus (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:45 am

Paul,

People are saying Proton is not utilizing Lotus.
    The thing is Lotus also function as a separate entity, although Lotus belongs to Proton, doesnt mean that Lotus will do the Design works for free.

Here is the situation.

Proton MPV project: Proton requested proposals from a few consultants, there’s EDAG, LG and then there’s LOTUS.

When EDAG and LG comes up with a good solid proposal for the project, LOTUS only submitted a piece of paper to Proton with a British pound price tag.

Of course, now Proton have learnt their mistake, why would they pay a high price (i’m talking millions more then what the other 2 companies are proposing) when they can get it cheaper & better commitment and service.

So, NO MORE PROJECTS FROM PROTON FOR LOTUS.

its time for LOTUS to find a new victim, YOUNGMAN of china.

if you want to know more…wait for next entry of the Lotus story.

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 2:57 am

Hi lomotus.
    It is interesting story from you. If it is true that was Lotus altitude, i strongly agree if proton sell them to somebody else. Let learn somethign from people that willing to share(hardly to get lah) and to get at economic price+oppurtunity to learn, not something cost lot of money+then extra charge for every changes(no tolak ansur) . Our money, then we decide , not them . A piece of paper with price tag???? F word la to them.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:12 am

100% talk
    0.01% action

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:51 am

Whoa! Nice posting Paul!
    marvellous feedback!
    paultan going global!
    See what I mean as below:
    http://www.autoblog.com/2007/12/27/rumormill-proton-may-sell-lotus-to-local-malaysian-firm/

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 12:22 pm

WAH LOMOTUS IF WHAT U SAID TRUE I THINK PROTOON SHOULD SELL IT TO YOUNG MAN (EUROSTAR) LET THEM DOWN AND NO MORE LOTUS (TERATAI) LET THEM BE CHIKEN SHIT FLOWER (BUNGA TAIK AYAM)HEHEHEHEHE I THINK NAZA ONLY WANT BUY LOTUS CAR LAH NOT THE COMPANY EHEHHEHEHEHE …JUST FOR LAUGHT

• feeze26 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Hi lomotus.
    its look like u get information from internal sources… hmm..
    maybe u can explain more to us…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 4:39 pm

lomotus are you sure? They didn’t even propose anything? Was this Lotus Engineering Malaysia (LEM) or Lotus Engineering UK?

• wong (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:04 am

but whispers through the grapevines say this might be Naza.=====================================

Whispers means rumours?Malaysians love this….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:03 pm

If we can get a Naza Elise below RM100K, then I support the idea lah!!!

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 2:16 am

Poor old Lotus… everyone wants a piece of it but don’t gain much from it just like our Protong. Being so proud just because it carries the Tag “engineered by lotus”

Maybe next time when Lotus comes out with a new model with the Tag “air-con engineered by Protong” ha! ha!