Petrol price hike on 1st January 2008?

I just got back from a routine petrol fill-up, and found that the petrol stations were packed full with cars queueing up to fill their tanks.

Are we looking at a fuel price increase at midnight tonight? There is word of an increase of 40 cents, which would mean RM2.32 for a litre of RON97 petrol.

Not sure if its true or not as there has been so many false alarms before, and more than often it turns out to be untrue. It seems like it has become a habit for us Malaysians to fall for rumours.

UPDATE: Minister of Domestic Trade & Consumer Affairs Shafie Apdal has given a statement that the petrol price hike rumours are exactly that – rumours.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimmy (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Happy New Year ?!?!?!……

• familyman (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:09 pm

hehehe… by right increase should be after election… but u’ll never no. i’m NOT queing up though hahaha :P

• Liam Lim (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Hmm… Guess election coming???! Happy New Year!!!

• xenith (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Wah, really? Saw lots of people queueing up too…

“Should auld acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind?Should auld acquaintance be forgot and days of auld lang syne?For auld lang syne,my dear,for auld lang syne,we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,for auld lang syne…”
    Happy New Year 2008 Everyone..

• afkar (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:31 pm

i’ve just watched the news and besides the report about a porn video involving a senior politician, the minister-in-charge for consumer affairs denied rumours that the price of the petrol will be increased by tomorrow
    (1 jan 2008). so, sleep well tonight…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:46 pm

Najib said that if they still give subsidies on fuel again, the country will bangkrap?!? So where the Petronas profit goes?

Pak Lah only said that 2007 will not rise the fuel price, but never said until what time at 2008. U better get ready before it happens, anyway i just bought 2 box of AC Delco 10w-40 oil for my car in future. The spare part shop boss told me next month they will be a rise in about 20% for oil product, 30% for transportation fee & also maybe the 10% toll near my place…

Damn! Why so many Barang Naik!!! Why my gaji never naik at least 30%!!! We r doomed…

• Paul Tan on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:55 pm

afkar: cool, i was watching that too. tv3 right?

• transformer (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 8:59 pm

staying alive in Malaysia are getting tougher and tougher!

Banyak Barang Naik Harga Banyak Kali!
    Tapi tak cukup!
    Boleh Naik lagi!

• megadisc (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:05 pm

if the government can tahan until the next election at the end of the year

then si beh syok lah !

woo hoo

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:10 pm

i just got back from thailand, the petrol price is hovering about 29-31 baht (RM2.90 to RM3.10)

you could see lots of hilux around hatyai, thanks to our government, everything is made expensive. i dont mind paying RM3 for petrol, if a Toyota cost like about RM40k,however we are forced to choose only Proton and Perodua, thats why our government is going down the drain :( I could tell theres more of us Malaysians going over to Thailand, rather the other way around

• _xXx_ (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:51 pm

yeah, saw a guy filling up a few 25L containers in his pickup. He would have probably saved RM40 from doing this. I hope he is safe until all his “cheap” petrol is consumed.

• acbc (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Thailand’s previous G was thrown out by a coup d’état and yet they are doing surprising well! I guess the current G is just trying to scare the people into voting for them instead.

“The people shouldn’t fear the government.”
    “The government should fear the people instead.”

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:08 pm

i pump full thank today. :) happy new year malaysia.

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:08 pm

tank*

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:09 pm

The G must be very brave to increase the Petrol (and indirectly increase other products and services too) before election. So, we should be proud having a braved G, don’t you think so? Ha ha ha

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:17 pm

thy r jus confident thy wil win no matter wat thy increase…that explains the poor quality of the oposition…..increase by smal amount is inevitable ….its a world wide crisis not jus here,bt dont increase 30% straight away one shot….its a burden….and unless thy increase ppls salary , i dont tink its a fair deal to increase too much…inflation is killing us slowly already

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Maybe they will raise the price after election…
    But i hope that they will lower the car price after raising the petrol price…

• arcana (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:02 pm

haha HAPPY NEW YEAR dudes……looks like some stupid joker got drunk today and send out rumours like this…..sigh.
    but it will come….just not today.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:14 pm

Coming back from work today my tank was lighting so fill up in Subang Jaya. Saw lots of cars in line waiting to fill up and suddenly I remembered today is the last day of 2007……I got an sms later in the evening about 20 cents increase in petrol.

I don’t understand why people have to fill up petrol just becoz price increase…u are safe for 2-3 days but later on u still need to fill it again….I think the best is to just scrap the subsidies so that these occasion can be a thing of the past….but come to think of it….this is a special occasion of our Malaysian lives in Malaysia…..that’s the fun of it….. queuing up filling petrol just becoz price going up ! Typical us (incl me !!!)

HAPPY NEW YEAR FOLKS !

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:24 pm

oh yess about that porn i will post a link as soon as possible lah…..now please go to kerayanstore.ning.com..ps nice car though

• BW (Member) on Dec 31, 2007 at 11:56 pm

Yeah my uncle just called and told us that fuel gonna increase by 40 cents… Then everyone here in kch also queue up to get fuel

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:12 am

40 cents? I use to pump RM50 each time. Now to get the same amount of petrol I would have to pump around RM60.50. Bush really should have left Iraq alone…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:21 am

BN = Barang Naik
    BLM = Boleh Lebih Murah!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:44 am

just let it be…this year we just hv to work even harder…earn more..bcoz we need to spend more man…to buy the petrol laaaaa…

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 1:50 am

Happy new year… :-)

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:22 am

aiyaa…
    then forever naik moto je lah….

• wong (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:51 am

Price will surely increase if not in January….

• Wilfred (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:15 am

that’s the reliaty of being a Malaysian…also being fooled around by the politicians…what worst still…if our upcoming voting didn’t reflects common citizen voice…who else will taking care of us….

• AKoNGz (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:26 am

Queued in a long line at the petrol station yesterday, filled up the gas tank to the max, went home and discovered that new year petrol price increase was just a hoax.

But i felt happy to be in such occasion, because it’s part of our Malaysian culture.

Kiasu-ism.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:11 am

doesn’t matter when it goes up, bcos only can save once the most. too bad.

• szw (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:06 am

gila

• orangetribal (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:06 pm

gov will only increase after the election to jaga the rakyat heart now.sneaky ppl

• atuque1 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 12:26 pm

This will make Malaysian poorer…. Even with salary RM3000/= per month also not enough… Oil price increase… Toll hike… Raw material sure increase, food also sure increase…
    House price sure increase, rental will increase… SO MANY INCREASE!!!! (all daily expenses)

With free school & exam fees (yearly expense), lower road tax (yearly), and only little bit salary increase (maybe RM100 / year)??

How to get rich like this???

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Barang Naik oh Barang Naik!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:24 pm

ya, just rumour lah…. (luckily)

after the 2008 countdown party, i pumped RM50 diesel, noticed the price same, no change yet…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:34 pm

atuque1, that why Genting, 4d, toto & damacai boss always so rich… Coz ppl think can gamble until rich over there… LOL!

I have seen a lot of ppl turn rich not becoz of hardwork, but they know how to use or manipulate the weakness of our law to do business… Face it, in our country to get rich fast is to get into UMNO so they can give u AP to sell for money. That why Malaysian politics are always covered wif big money, big cars & big ‘istana’…

• altis_fan (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Yo LittleFire85, not just that… Some people getting rich fast by offering Kad Gores Dan Menang.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:17 pm

xpe la…nnt pegi isi minyak dkt Shell…bole menang 25ribu cash..
    mesti bole kaya..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Petronas boleh menang kereta, BSN pun boleh menang Mercs…..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:36 am

@atuque

You wont get rich working for someone else. If you do, and if anything, you will always be working to make your bosses richer.

The fuel price hike wont affect us much. we don’t drive enough for it to make a severe dent even with the corresponding related rises in living cost. However, I do sympathise with lower income households that is already finding it difficult to go by nowadays. The new fuel rise will make life a lot more difficult.

However, I don’t think there will be any fuel hikes until the election is over.

• farizal13 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:49 am

gerenti u all after election….if b4 election BN will lose…..be prepared on March 08….

• rexis (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:04 am

If 40sen increase then means every RM20 you pumped at new year eve you saved RM4, thats a considerable amount! Anyhow, its a rumour, it is an expected rumour as we still remember the nightmare of 30sen hike overnite, the impossible joke about an sms notice of 30sen hike which turned out to be truth, as well as PL’s promise of “No fuel hike in 2007” and some joker said about “Consumer okay with 40sen hike”, people make conclusion.

End up we all getting the new year feeling in Siham station! Happy new year!