Proton BLM: New Proton Saga Teaser Video

Teaser image for the Proton Saga

Happy New Year 2008! Proton has produced a teaser video for the new Proton Saga replacement model, codenamed the Proton BLM. The car is expected to be priced between RM30,000 to RM40,000 (updated) but these are indicative prices released by Proton as a teaser… the final price for the cheapest model could be slightly lower! As mentioned earlier, bookings are now open starting from today.

You can also book online, and the booking fee is RM500. Surf over to the online booking page and you will find out that the new Proton Saga will be available in 7 colours – Zircon Green, Metallic Black, Granite Grey, Genetic Silver, Chilli Red, Solid White, and Blue.

Proton BLM Front View- Click to enlarge Proton BLM Side View- Click to enlarge Proton BLM Rear View- Click to enlarge
Click the above thumbnails to enlarge

Proton BLM Colours

UPDATE: EON Glenmarie sales representative Mohd Arif Iqbal has indicated that tentative prices for the 1.3 litre BLM started at RM31,500 for the N-Line model up to RM39,500 for the fully specced M-Line version, which comes with airbags.

The video below shows the car’s key styling details, and one difference from the models we’ve seen in spyshots are that the rear lamp cluster now appears to have a slightly more orange signal indicator lense instead of a clear lense.

Watch the video below!

Related Proton BLM Posts:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:51 pm

Now give clear picture about the car, instead of Persona and Neo can see partly or “under dim light”.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:52 pm

Anyway, there is no “urgency” to book for whatever new car in our market since it is demand driven products.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:54 pm

With 10 days to go, it is better to have a look at the new car before make decision to book.

I am not Toyota or Honda salesman, but for these 2 Japs car, it have the “market confidence” to make booking before seeing the car.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 2:57 pm

This teaser is a good advert. Straight to the point and tell the consumer what BLM can offer (i.e. design outlook) within shortest time possible.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:00 pm

heheheheh…

nice advert lo…

a NEW SAGA begin

• jehutyz (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Nice one.
    Like the adv.
    Anywhere this model should be great.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:08 pm

One of the color on offer is “sky blue”:

http://www.proton.com/

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:12 pm

Can book online:

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/index.php?page=campaign&action=view&id=30

Any deposit required? If no, I can book 10 to make up the statistic.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:27 pm

simple yet nice ad….

hopefully proton’s sales will increase significantly with this new BLM…

PROTON FOREVER!

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Up until now I still haven’t seen the interior. Judging by the price tag, most likely it’s not much. But most potential buyers wont complain I suspect.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Nica car, it’s going to sell like hot cakes, now just have to wait for the test reports from Top Gear.

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Why do you want to see reports from Top Gear? They don’t exactly do any proper reviews at all, just gallivant with supercars and insult everything else. Wait for local magazines like Autocar Asean, etc.

Or this blog, if they ever get around to passing a review unit to me. I have had absolutely zero luck obtaining a Proton Persona to date.

(EDIT: I didn’t mean Top Gear Malaysia the magazine in my sentence above, what I meant was the TV show)

• wflo128 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:11 pm

A New Saga Begin, Then Next Died Perodua Begin…….

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Too true Paul. I only bought the first two issues of TopGear before I realize they’re just an auto glamour mag. Autocar or Cars.My have been my references for local market cars.
    You wanna wait for Jeremy Clarkson’s opinion on the BLM? He’ll just blow it up to smithereens…

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 4:48 pm

1st jan 2008..happy new year everyone:)

Guys..did you realise that since 1985, PROTON employ many malaysian to become their engineer, technician etc…
    Without PROTON, Perodua, Naza and others will not have the EXPERT automotive engineer… because many of them work with PROTON before they join Perodua and Naza…
    So, we need to support PROTON, because some of the workers in PROTON maybe our relatives and friends..and if something bad happen to PROTON… it will effect their workers too..
    in term of Quality, i can see PROTON have done a lot of improvement. Do not think that everything is 100% perfect, since we also not 100% perfect.
    I believe that 2008 will be the bench mark for PROTON to success in automotive industry…
    If the “SAGA Neo” dominant the market, i believe that Perodua and Naza also will create their “new clone model” with lower price,and at that time, everybody can buy new car… So..lets think about that:)

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Why BLM don’t offer “gold” colour, this is one of the most popular color.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:27 pm

LOL!. If this car get in the hand into Jeremy, i think the first word is.. Damn why the rear lights look like a merc, the front look bumper look like modified Clio 2 wif new lights from Proton & the brand will just make it worst for sell in UK…

But for a car like this in Malaysia, i will bet it will sell, coz we all just care about value but not safety, comfort, durability & quality compare to them who had a lot of choice…

If Proton can survive after this BLM, can u mind open the market n dont tell Proton need to be protected until 2020. Things are getting more n more expensive especially the world fuel price.

• altis_fan (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:31 pm

I realize that proton has improved a lot in term of quality. However, the delivery is quite bad. Just look at Persona, many people have to wait months to get the High Line. I guess the same will happen to this BLM too.

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2008 at 5:58 pm

hi guys – i will make an announcement post on this later, but for the moment if you would like to use an avatar (display picture) on this site, please sign up with Gravatar and upload a picture there. remember to use the same email you used to sign up with this site.

• leedehao (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:04 pm

enginerd_2008,
    While I agree that proton does create jobs, it does not hire many engineers, if that’s what they call them. Most of proton cars are based on other ancient car models. And the existance of proton cars has resulted the standard of living to go up dramatically.
    When the very first proton model (proton saga) was being market in malaysia way back in 1985, Dr Mahathir decided to increase the taxes of CBU models by 300% and CKD models by 200%. Overnight the price of cars has doubled or tripled. Malaysian consumers are indirectly forced buy sub-standard proton cars, which attributed to the high death rates in malaysia (till today airbags are still not compulsory on new car models while in the US airbags was compulsory way back in 1995). As proton is protected, they grew complacent and problems with the management resulted in losses, which were absorbed by tax payer’s money. In the end, while proton might had created more job opportunities, we malaysians have to fork out double or triple amounts to get at least a decent, safe and reliable car.

• fliedlice (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:19 pm

leedehao,

“While I agree that proton does create jobs, it does not hire many engineers, if that’s what they call them”

for your information, it is not just the car manufacturer (i.e. Proton or Perodua or Toyota or whateve) that needs engineers. the creation of national cars have also created the demand for many engineers in for the 150+ component suppliers. do not just shoot from the hip without checking your facts first. I personally take offence from this comment as I am an engineer in one of the automotive part suppliers. and before you say anything else, the organization that I am attached has more than 200 operations around the world. so I think they are better judges than you as to whether there are “real engineers” here or not.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:30 pm

forget about the engineers..lets talk about the new SAGA..
    yeah..i think the SAGA name should remain…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:48 pm

leedehao said,

January 1, 2008 @ 6:04 pm

Yes, old Saga WIra Perdana Satria
    No, new Waja Neo Gen2 Savvy BLM

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Damn nice….the preview better than previos pics

• BW (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 7:06 pm

haha i saw this at proton showroom this morning also

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 7:49 pm

fliedlice said,

January 1, 2008 @ 6:19 pm

leedehao,

“While I agree that proton does create jobs, it does not hire many engineers, if that’s what they call them”

for your information, it is not just the car manufacturer (i.e. Proton or Perodua or Toyota or whateve) that needs engineers. the creation of national cars have also created the demand for many engineers in for the 150+ component suppliers. do not just shoot from the hip without checking your facts first. I personally take offence from this comment as I am an engineer in one of the automotive part suppliers. and before you say anything else, the organization that I am attached has more than 200 operations around the world. so I think they are better judges than you as to whether there are “real engineers” here or not.
    ================

>>>Yes, agreed with you. Every single component in a car is designed with CAD softwares, then the raw materials, the stamping, clamping etc. All those are the works of an engineer, I suppose.

Somehow, I hv a fishy feeling the new saga will retain its name, just that the font will be changed, as seen in the teaser……nice. B)

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 7:56 pm

Happy New Year 2008 to everyone here, especially to Paul Tan.

Brand new year…. and a new SAGA begins….

Nothing much, just hope Proton can do better this year (so as other auto companies). It’s good idea to keep the SAGA.

Next, I want to see Waja CPS, Gen2 CPS, and next year’s MPV (new segment for Proton, I hope they are not going to mess up) and Perdana replacement model. Well, not planning to buy new car yet. Just like to see all those new cars in the market.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:01 pm

nice front profile…

• zane (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:29 pm

hey guys. I saw a Gen2 special edition at sunway carnival,penang today. Looks quite good compared to the normal Gen2. only that the front skirting might be a bit too much for some people. but otherwise, quite sporty. Got those angel/ halo headlights, new rear lamp design (no more of those crop circle styling), etc. didn’t get to see much of the interior because the car was locked and there weren’t any salesperson around. Is this new or wut? if it is indeed new, this is probably to clear some of the older Gen2 stocks so that they can release the one with Campro CPS later.looks like we’re probably gonna get those Campro CPS soon. hehe ;P

• knowledgecentre (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Guys,

Pricing starts from RM31,500.80 for the N-Line BLM 1.3 MT, RM34,548 for the B-Line BLM 1.3 MT (solid), RM37,548.00 for B-Line BLM 1.3 AT (solid) and RM37,048 for the M-Line BLM 1.3 MT (solid)

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:49 pm

This time the Proton really do the right thing to save our rakyat ~ oo 1.3 CC cars n good looking ~ only around 30k – 35k …. more more model coming soon , This will be hack the P2 little VIVA ….. but my 2nd wira still under ccm …. no hope

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:51 pm

Now teasers just spoil the whole full view haha

• ak03 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:58 pm

paul, this site featured on Buletin Utama on TV3 just now.. there should have said your name on it :P

• kucau (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 8:58 pm

hi paul , your website is on TV3 just now ( berita at 8:55 pm) . they refer BLM pictures from your site!! ahhaah

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:30 pm

I’m so surprised with TV3. I don’t expect they refer the pictures directly from this BLOG, they even scroll down the webpage specific on the BLM topic.

But then, this time they mention the price will be around RM30K to RM40K (different from their earlier news of the price around RM30K to RM35K range),

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Damn, wish I could see the clip!

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:35 pm

yeah.. TV3 aired paultan.org…
    i think the reporter malas..

the teaser video also show from this blog..
    they dont even try to get from proton…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:37 pm

tv3 people also view this blog..
    haha.. after this can condemn tv3 here? haha…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:38 pm

Yalah, Paul Tan boleh!!!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:43 pm

silver is the best color for proton i think

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 9:48 pm

No, just want to read Top Gear’s sarcastic comments. Anyway, kudos to Proton.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:06 pm

just find that thundercat logo fun……

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:15 pm

I bet one of us works at TV3… is it you transformer? Nah, just kidding. And yeah, that’s what I thought about the teaser logo. So thundercat.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:22 pm

like the granite gray color it nice.

• loquitor (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:25 pm

u can view it at www.tv3.com.my can stiming dey lorrr! hehe. ckp pelat besh!

• transformer (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:26 pm

that C pillar looks “purposely extended”, ugly like Honda City!
    the hood look quite long….

anyway, other perspective are quite ok…

hope its interior are simple yet ergonomics!

• oyl78 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Paul, i think the real lamp cluster still with clear lense, the orange colour appeared in the teaser is due to the shooting angle…

• altis_fan (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:37 pm

At proton WEB site, we can order this car. But they don’t put any specification. Very lazy webmaster I guess, hoping people to buy a car without knowing what they will get. If this kind of working style with non-completed job but yet brave enough to post on the web site, what to expect the end result of the car?

• payjoel (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:39 pm

hahah..paul tan blog in TV3 Buletin Utama..yeahh glamor wooo…paul tan blog boleehhhh..hahah

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:40 pm

loquitor, can’t find the TV3 clip.

• payjoel (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:45 pm

i surprised tv3 view paul tan blog heheh…after this karam sing walya will interview paul tan..huhu so glamor la paul after this

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Like that ah Paul Tan blog in TV3 buletin, better have a better comments lol! Sure they will read our positng. He, he, …….. likely they will post a comments as well.

• acmilan2005 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:52 pm

izit 30-35k or 30 to 40k? which one is true?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:52 pm

Why there is no picture on interior at all, at RM 30 to RM 40K, this budget car will come with “all-plasticky interior finish”?

• maserati (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 10:55 pm

yuck! priced within 30-40k?

i wouldnt buy it even for that pricing.the only nice thing about the car is the front which looks abit like the altezza.C pillar looks like honda city and the rest is just ugly.Looks like many proton fans here!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:07 pm

I wont’t buy this car as well, as I look for MPV or Hilux for my family requirement. Anyway, I rated this car is a good buy strictly on price range basis.

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:07 pm

people think la… for buying a small viva for 27K why dont u buy this Car which is Rm30-35 K which is Larger n comes with a boot?…think la.

u get something nice for the money…proton now doing great job..My dads persona Is doing good!…think b4 buying cars la…btw, honda city n vios not nice also….vios looks like dolphin whereas city looks like egg..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:12 pm

If this car have more spacious legroom and roof high in relation Gen-2. Then with RM 30K to RM 40K pricing, it will “efectively” kill off Gen-2 (price above RM50K) in our market. It may put a dent on MyVi and Viva sales as well, Savvy no exception.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:13 pm

Viva is a crap “expensive tissue box on the wheel”. Vios like dugong and City like cloth iron.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Maybe the Proton management takut later if cheaper then Savvy, savvy market will die then naik harga from RM35k-40k…

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:16 pm

so.. the only old stuff left is perdana…wonder when it will be replace. probably have to wait for campro v6

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:25 pm

haha… paul sudah famous… haha anyhow the saga is consider beautiful for economical car…

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 01, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Ha ha ha take that P2! :)
    BLM all the way………

But wait….cannot comment about interior yet, which i think is full of nasty hard plastic judging the price given. :(

• acbc (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:07 am

What? AT and MT only? No AMT? What a waste!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:09 am

1 week release date from now?

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:12 am

fliedlice said,

leedehao,

================

>>>Yes, agreed with you. Every single component in a car is designed with CAD softwares, then the raw materials, the stamping, clamping etc. All those are the works of an engineer, I suppose.

Somehow, I hv a fishy feeling the new saga will retain its name, just that the font will be changed, as seen in the teaser……nice. B)

——————
    —>> thanks for supporting my previous comment. i believe that many of us that view paultan.org have a very good education background and maybe some of us are professional. so, for those who want to critic, make sure you are in that field:)

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:38 am

aj3377 said,
    November 27, 2007 @ 11:53 am

Oleh kerna ada permintaan nk tahu interior blm ni, saya jelaskan. Steering, aircon blower, inter door handle mcm Savvy, meter dia pun sama mcm Savvy cuma roundnya warna crom. Dashboard sebelah penumpang depan ada tissue holder mcm Savvy.Ada glove box. Ada 5 cup holder. Gear manual and auto mcm persona. Single CD 1-Din Player.

N-Line – Manual Saja. Color Solid White only
    Bumper depan belakang, Side Mirror Black and meter panel color Hitam. Rim 13 cuma pakai center cap.Tak ada reverse sensor, tak ada airbag, tak pre tensior, speaker 2 dibelakang.Harga Tentative price RM33,+++

Base-Line, sama seperti N-Line cuma tambahan ada manual dan auto. ada 3 color metallic. Bumber depan belakang, side mirror body color. 4 speaker depan belakang. Meter warna crom. Rim14 dgn full cover. Tentative price RM34K – RM37K.

M-Line sama seperti Base Line ada manual n auto, 4 warna, 3 metallic, 1 warna solid white,ada alloy rim size 14.Single airbag, ada pre tensioner seatbelt, vanity mirror, elec door mirror, door handle body color, garnish warna hitam. Tentative price RM37K – RM39K.

Logo Proton atau emblem skrg sudah berubah dari segi warna.Tiada lagi warna orange pd kepala harimau. Sudah ditukar kepada warna crom.

Gambar interior sy minta maaf tak boleh pamir. Sy tak blh menjangkau jauh dari penerangan yg boleh sy jelaskan.Harap ini dapat membantu kawan2 yang ingin mengetahuinya. Qualiti, sy boleh kata, klu yang kata persona dh improved quality, blm ini lebih lagi. Thks.

aj3377 said,
    November 27, 2007 @ 11:53 am

Heres sumore infos…

Akan dilancarkan insyaallah pada hari jumaat 11 Januari 08. Comfortable, Affortable, Practical and Simply Design.Length 4257, width 1680, High 1502. High dan width kurang dari Myvi skit je….Saiz Luggage compartment 413Ltr. Full tank 40lts.Engine redesigned Campro IAFM, maksudnya ada sistem tambahan iaitu Intake Air Fuel Module.
    Ada 6 colour. 2 solid color iaitu putih dan merah. 5 colour metallic iaitu, Genetic Silver, Mountain Blue, Zircon Green, Tranquility Black, Grey. Ada 3 Variant model, N-Line ni lowest spec, Base-Line and Medium Line. N-Line cuma manual saja dan ada satu color solid white je.Base-Line dan medium-line ada manual n auto.N-Line 175/70 Rim13 dan center cap, Base line 185/60 rim14 full cover dan Medium Rim14 alloy. Saiz 2.6 kali besar dari Viva dan 83% dari Myvi.Maximun power 70/6000 94bhp, Max torque 120/4000. Fuel save giler…. 0.11 sen per km atau 100km 5.5sen per km utk manual dan 6.0sen utk auto per 100km. 3 years or 150km Factory Waranty yang mana datang dulu… Tengoklah dan lihatlah akan perkembangan proton kini…….. ok le… panjang2 nanti u all penat nak membaca lak kan. Saya khabou ini utk tujuan kita smua fikirkanlah, proton sudah berubah, maka inilah hasilnya.Percayalah….tiada niat yang tak baik. Kiranya anda nak keta lain yang sama segment dgn BLM fikirkanlah model ini. . Jika kawan2 ingin maklumat lanjut, khabou le ye….

=============================================

i think this guy maybe proton promoter:) or PROTON workers:) lets think positively and trust him:) so, we can say that the interior as same as SAVVY and Persona right? …so, lets imagine about it:)

• wong (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:48 am

Hope Proton will keep the Saga name, just like Satria,happy to hear Proton finally ended the old Saga/Iswara production…visit showrooms first and comment later…

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:49 am

lower plastic/rubber side moulding is audi style, not bad

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:59 am

wah everyone seem so excited about this model.
    I will wait till the launch date then can comment2.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:14 am

Why can’t Proton produce the latest diesel engine to cater more European buyers?

• 90125 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:21 am

If it’s a budget car ,so I expect a budget quality,not saying it’s bad,but if interior is spacious not fuel thirsty,good handling(like Neo) than it’s worth it…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:59 am

i already experienced driving my dad satria neo..
    handle very good indeed..my dad also ask..
    “bawakla laju sikit, slow sangat…”
    at the moment, already speeding at 120km/h… he wanted summore… haha..
    when i told him, already 120km/h, then he said no need speeding anymore…

haha… FYI, i am a new driver…
    just passed from driving school a couple months ago..
    just sometime only i manage to drive my dad’s car, since i didnt have any..

from my noob POV, satria neo is a good car, handles very well..
    just the brakes i think need more braking power (i drive neo with abs, without abs i dunno ah)…if proton put in neo the brakes that have been using in perdana, i think the car will be better…..
    Perdana if we press brake pedal a little only, can feel the car slows down… if neo, press a little, doesnt feel much like perdana… haha..

so, for this new baby SAGA, i think the car should be ok.. if braking power same as neo 1.6, then, ok lah…. maybe they should put higher braking power (higher than any 1.3litre car class) for this car, because i think many students (noob/new drivers) like me will grab one,so, more safe i think.. i heard (from lowyat.net forums and others) many satria neo owners crashed their cars because of “brek tak makan” or should i say, they drove too fast.. haha..

i think no need la airbag for this base line model, just improve braking power enough already… more safe.. and at least, we used the brakes more than the airbags… but if both powerful brakes and airbags implemented, then should be nicer…

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:59 am

why no internal shoot? = proton want you to go to showroom to see by yourself.

AMT? = add more 10K for that kind of gearbox. new speedo meter and comp box included ) = so the car not cheap anymore and will be bashed again and again..

why no diesel = because not many diesel model car in malaysia. I think, diesel car not well accepted again in malaysia. Only 4×4, twin cab n lorry glamour in malaysia with diesel. BUT not car.. (remember – wira diesel (yes, the old engine one)= taxi only, none would buy for daily usage, not in style.. petrol smell better than diesel.. not malaysian taste.. bla bla) Making engine is not easy as you type your bashing post here.

Simple and easy look.. and i really like the “A new Saga begin” tagline. :D
    ehem.. later new produa will use “Our new saga too” ROTFLMAO

• DeyChitPooodah (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:04 am

Booked already, hopefully this ‘SAGA’ will fulfill our expectation..

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:38 am

Looks like the rear light shows on video is better than the saga picturte taken on street…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:47 am

congrats paul, utusan malaysia use your image.
    http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2008&dt=0102&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:48 am

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2008&dt=0102&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm

“MODEL terbaru Proton yang bakal dilancarkan pada pertengahan Januari ini. – Gambar PAULTAN.ORG.”

• oyl78 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:40 am

Paul, Guang Ming Daily is also using the BLM picture from your blog in their news report dated 1 Jan 08…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:43 am

wah this model create more hype then the current persona…maybe the success of persona giving some boost to this model…and i think proton have gain back their pride slowly….for this BLM i think it will sell more hotter then current persona…with good exterior design (japan +european + malaysian style) i think malaysian will love this car…for international market i think it have very good potential at asia continent….hope to see more improvement to all proton car engine performance and safety…hope this model also have good handling quality like neo,persona etc…i am cocern about parts quality too…cheap car must not be set with cheap quality parts.plus hope the fc is not to high….i am eager to test drive this new malaysian baby…well done proton

• azrai (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:57 am

I don’t see any Proton basher nowhere…:-) 7 choices of colours? Wow. No wonder the gov didn’t proceed with VW. The Proton itself slowly emerged into VolksWagen a.k.a the people’s car at least for Malaysian. (VolksWagen in Germany mean People’s Car)

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:10 am

Hopefully we will get BLM 1.6 at later stage :)

• shaif (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:10 am

Hopefully Proton will update the Persona Campro with Intake Air Fuel Module , which will improve its fuel consumption. At the moment Persona body styling looks beautiful but with the same engine on Gen2, I’m not really impressed.
    Good style, comfortable and practical interior plus good fuel consumption, that is what I’m looking for. Viva Proton…:)

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:44 am

the BLM looks good this time man….
    :)

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:46 am

Woah Paul, your blog so glamour. TV3 photo sources also from your blog. Congratulation to you Paul. Proton–good luck with this new Saga. With the price and design offer i’m sure it will be like pisang goreng. To all PT readers,..Happy new year!!

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:54 am

paul,
    wah.. now you are become the souce of Malaysia automotif reference… congrate..
    -after this proton will say “kita kembali ke zaman kegemilangan saga”…

• asimo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:54 am

paul..

utusan also take your pic

hehhe

• GTI (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:21 am

congrate paul,
    u do the good job 4 the Malaysian cars lover..

nice car…n happy new year

• payjoel (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:55 am

utusan malaysia also used paul tan blog spy shot photo..i told u..paul sudah glamor..nanti proton mesti hadiahkan paul satu blm hahah!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:59 am

Where to see the Real SAGA?

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:14 am

Congrat!! Paultan..ur fantastic..keep up the good work..
    everyday..we r wanting to here something from u…
    u r celebrity now..everyone in m’sia know bout u..haha..

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:40 am

im expecting that the real car design curves is much more better compared to the spyshots seen above…the pics looks as if it has some distortion due to, possibly, reflection or biasing of the photographer car’s mirror..coz comparing to another pic from LYN, the design is very very attractive from my point of view..comparable to the previous vios design..

also, if possible, im suggesting that anyone who has bought persona or this upcoming saga later, to voluntarily lend their car to paultan for reviewing purposes..thats another way of contributing to the local automotive enthusiast community..;D

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:55 am

wanwnp said,

January 2, 2008 @ 1:59 am

You don’t get so sensitive brake response from the newer generation of Proton cars. I forgot how’s the brake responses of Perdana V6 but I think is not much different from Wira & Altis. I know you would prefer a very sensitive in a way that .. Step on the brake pedal a little bit and you can feel the car’s stopping. But I think that’s very uncomfortable for the passengers and also in handling wise. Braking power doesn’t equals to how much you step on the brake pedal. Try slam the brake pedal of your dad’s Neo and you’ll be surprised. And if I’m not mistaken, Perdana use the same Front Disc as Waja, which is smaller than Gen 2 & Neo.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:58 am

Looking forward to the new Saga… Hope it sells well, and finally our streets will not look too “80s” :)

• adam_rulezz (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:03 am

swift`s front grill+c class rear lamp=30000-400000?
    what a bargain!!

• mel (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:12 am

Impressive advert. I think Proton is finally getting things right by having the right models for the mass market.

The earlier models were for the niche market and it really put a dent into their sales.

Good job Proton!

• astigmatik (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:17 am

Before I continue, I’d like to clarify that I am not affiliated with Proton in any way. And yes, I do notice that there aren’t many Proton bashers here ;-)

I understand that many people are unhappy with Proton and over the years, more and more people have developed a dislike for Proton. Hence, the insults and whatnot. It is understandable because Proton is the national car. There are many imported cars with bad design (some are downright ugly) and bad quality, but we don’t really insult them that much and we’re not that vocal in criticising them because we don’t feel any personal attachment to those cars and/or their companies.

Having said that, I think changes are starting to take place. Proton designs are improving, the quality of the car is improving (yes, I have driven a Persona – not mine though), and, most importantly, the pricing is also improving. Perhaps they have finally “seen the light” in more ways than one.

In light of recent developments, we – residents and citizens of Malaysia – should be more supportive. There should be more constructive criticisms. Those criticisms and comments should be made known to the powers-that-be; and they, on the other hand, should listen to us more (just like what their advertisements say).

So let’s hope that Proton keeps on improving for good. Their success would ultimately be beneficial to everyone. At the end of the day, they will profit – helping the country’s economy, our technology will improve, more jobs will be available, and we, the consumers, would also get cheap but quality cars.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:25 am

SAGA 2008….in love!!

other site just to share not related for SAGA or PROTON..

thanks

• AMG (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:36 am

enginerd_2008,
    While I agree that proton does create jobs, it does not hire many engineers, if that’s what they call them. Most of proton cars are based on other ancient car models. And the existance of proton cars has resulted the standard of living to go up dramatically.
    When the very first proton model (proton saga) was being market in malaysia way back in 1985, Dr Mahathir decided to increase the taxes of CBU models by 300% and CKD models by 200%. Overnight the price of cars has doubled or tripled. Malaysian consumers are indirectly forced buy sub-standard proton cars, which attributed to the high death rates in malaysia (till today airbags are still not compulsory on new car models while in the US airbags was compulsory way back in 1995). As proton is protected, they grew complacent and problems with the management resulted in losses, which were absorbed by tax payer’s money. In the end, while proton might had created more job opportunities, we malaysians have to fork out double or triple amounts to get at least a decent, safe and reliable car.

==================

Agreed

Anyway, I still support our national car. We can see that they really pay lots of effort on all the new car start from the Waja.~~

=================

The new car looks great! I like it too!

• szw (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:40 am

looks really well propotioned small car…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:41 am

fliedlice said,

–too bad, i can’t be totally agreed with u. u might be right or wrong but i hv different point of view. not necessary having national cars to have created more jobs for engineers. globalisation, world population growth, economy growth, people purchasing powers, developments and demands also does affect the creation of car jobs for engineers. afterall not just automotives industries only that can create jobs for the engineers, mate. look at thailand, do they hv their own national car? don’t judge it as an engineers’ point of view, analyse it too as a business professional, economist, marketing professionals, surveyor, etc.

• tkp (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:46 am

this saga sure meletup punya.. i x sabar nak kumpul duit bagi cukup then pegi tempah satu.. haha..

and Paul sure be glamour after this.. hehe.. helped a lot in BLM promotion.. :D

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:55 am

enginerd_2008 said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 12:12 am

—>> thanks for supporting my previous comment. i believe that many of us that view paultan.org have a very good education background and maybe some of us are professional. so, for those who want to critic, make sure you are in that field:)

==neither i am in automotives parts supplier, manufacturer nor in car sales, can i make critic or comment? i m just a consulting engineer that also involved in automotive industries, transportation, manufacturing, etc….hahahaha. anyway i might be buying this as my weekend since i hv feel it and touch it already. the front look similar to my vios. i like it.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:21 pm

SAGA 2008 design improved!! hope we maintain used name of SAGA !! so we call this model SAGA 2008!!!

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Wow, i think this will shake the foundation of perodua myvi and viva sales. :) Thanks proton for producing a properly price car. This really makes me feel cheated by perodua…
    Design is ok. but must have a look at the interior. Hope someone can get some pics of the interior.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:45 pm

cant hardly wait

• labuan_world (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:56 pm

congrat proton for the new saga blm…….but the funny is…..how the people at proton received the booking fee and selling the item but the customer cant’t see the real …..come on la proton….next time please la put the real model first at the showrooms…people at proton not feel guilty ka if the customers feel been cheated if they not satisfied …i do understand this is one of the strategy for promotion…..but …….put the real things first….RM500 is not cheap for todays life…..

……waiting the model arrive……

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Dogster said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 12:24 pm

–don’t feel that u r cheated but perodua. all the car selling price are control and approved by the govn. the car price can be considered in our market but properly priced?……very subjective.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:03 pm

I frankly hope that the interior is a fresh new one. The savvy interior is too ugly for my liking. Furthermore, the dash & steering plastics are hard and cheap looking. They should seriously update & revise the color, material, texture and feel of the plastics.

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:14 pm

wah kao…si beh cute man !

i wan wan…

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:24 pm

Paul,
    I heard from proton staf this Saga will use new Proton logo.. actually it’s not new.. but recolour… when i see this saga teaser.. i believe that he is true..
    you have to look closely to this teaser to see the new logo color.. you will see it..! its only black and silver..!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Paul, in 5 to 10 years and u still running this blog, i think u should ready for your “dato'” title la…gud luck and congratz paul

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:45 pm

It’s a myth that MITI controls car prices – they used to, but not anymore. Car prices are now set by the distributors. That’s why you see some quick movement of prices in reaction to the market.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:46 pm

yeah..Dato’ Seri Paultan…

• wong (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:49 pm

The car looks slightly bulky maybe for spacious interior,13″inches rims if I’m not mistaken will have better fuel consumption….not the bestlooking but good enough,

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:07 pm

The advert is far more well made than the product itself. just like savvy, just like persona.

• lomotus (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:18 pm

I would like to congratulate Proton.
    Another model launch on time( According to schedule).

First of all, I would like to remind everyone out there that this car is not an Altis, it is not a Civic nor it is a Vios or City.

So, for that 30~35K you are paying, you will get a decent car.

The exterior as you can see is more towards praticality, there’s no crop circle tail lamps or low roof line, that was Mahaleel’s era.
    It is all about designing a car for the people.
    Not for some fast n furious Ah Beng or Ahmad.
    If they want to convert their Saga into a Subaru or Evo, they can do it on their own.
    This new Saga will be a People’s car.

I have seen the interior ( the Master model that is) and if Proton maintain the Design as per the Master model, you can expect the interior is pleasing.
    Dont expect alot of buttons and hi-tec switches la.
    The cup holder also will be as simple as it can be.
    Dont worry, there will be no beige color interior, hopefully.

Talking about interior space, .
    Driver sitting position is good,
    there’s ample space for for the rear passenger,
    Good headroom clearence.

Electronic wise, do expect Savvy like audio
    There;s no climate control for the aircond, only normal knob type switch.

Proton, under Syed Zainal, has put alot of effort in making sure that quality is their Top priority.
    As we all know, most of Proton’s vendor are lousy.
    So,congrats to R&D team for making sure all these vendors comply to the specs given.

Anyway, I’m sure that Paul will be invited to the MEDIA PREVIEW.
    Not sure whether they will have it at the Test Track of Sepang.
    Paul will tell you more on the new Saga
    Hopefully, this time they try not to use Lotus”s name to promote the car.
    Its a low cost passenger car man,not a sports car.

• DeyChitPooodah (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:24 pm

ecibo said,
    “The advert is far more well made than the product itself. just like savvy, just like persona.”

That why its called ADVERTISING

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:25 pm

wong said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 1:49 pm

The car looks slightly bulky maybe for spacious interior,13″inches rims if I’m not mistaken will have better fuel consumption….not the bestlooking but good enough,
    ===========

The wheel is 14 inch size. About the FC, we just have to wait since its a campro with VIM (no CPS). I’m more concerned about the FC for the auto, since the 1.3 Gen2 auto is a fuel guzzler & yet the pickup is slow. Maybe they should set the gear ratio right.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:30 pm

lomotus said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 2:18 pm

I have seen the interior ( the Master model that is) and if Proton maintain the Design as per the Master model, you can expect the interior is pleasing.
    Dont expect alot of buttons and hi-tec switches la.
    The cup holder also will be as simple as it can be.
    Dont worry, there will be no beige color interior, hopefully.

Talking about interior space, .
    Driver sitting position is good,
    there’s ample space for for the rear passenger,
    Good headroom clearence.

Electronic wise, do expect Savvy like audio
    There;s no climate control for the aircond, only normal knob type switch

==============

lomotus, u sound a like proton SA. So the M-Line is for Master Line. How bout the N-Line and B-Line? I don’t think N stands for Normal or B stands for Basic.

Care to elaborate more on the interior? Is it true that the Saga will be using Savvy’s door trim, dashboard and steering?

• DeyChitPooodah (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 2:40 pm

normaluser said,
    The wheel is 14 inch size. About the FC, we just have to wait since its a campro with VIM (no CPS). I’m more concerned about the FC for the auto, since the 1.3 Gen2 auto is a fuel guzzler & yet the pickup is slow. Maybe they should set the gear ratio right.

==============

About the ‘pickup’ thing, Proton salesperson told me that this BLM have new “Air Intake Bla Bla Bla” (aku tak paham) that should give more accelerate/pickup compare with previous Proton cars.. And he drove it already..

But its just words, wait until we test-drive it rite..

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:01 pm

It may share the same style and look as vios & city but, will it feel like it, will it had similarity in technology as vios & city like eg: 7 speed mode steermatic or a water-repellent seats ? unfortunately, it don’t, it’s just a basic car with new look but ancient 70’s driving quality…

It’s meaningless.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:14 pm

wonder wht the OTR price will be for the M-line manual tranny.

if rm39k or less, then i think its a steal, especially with the airbag. But, i’d gladly pay a little more if they would throw in ABS.

Btw i think the white looks good. Get white rims to go wif it, will look good.

And change the wheels to 195/50/R15. Nice.

• whodz (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Want to trade off my car to this saga. Manual ->auto, no airbag -> airbag, no abs->abs, more saved money for fuel,more hp. worth la I think.

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Cecibo said..

“It may share the same style and look as vios & city but, will it feel like it, will it had similarity in technology as vios & city like eg: 7 speed mode steermatic or a water-repellent seats ? unfortunately, it don’t, it’s just a basic car with new look but ancient 70’s driving quality…

It’s meaningless.”

Dude why are comparing it to Vios and City? Different class of car and more than twice the price – the BLM should be compared to the VIVA. Speaking of Honda City – In a Top Gear magazine comparo the Persona beats the City and the Spectra 5…

BTW how do you know the BLM drives like a car from the seventies? Have you driven it?

• kinwawa (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:09 pm

it’s just a normal basher….talk w/o basis……from wat i can c…ppl is satisfy with the price n look…..n i feel ok about tat….i din hear ppl bragging about BLM drives like a BMW…fuel consumption like IDSI…..

so…i think it’s fair that this time…Proton made a good move in term of pricing n looks…..

as for me…..i’m satisfied as well but i will look at the real car to judge it further….i really hope i will be happy when i c the real thing!

• boredofschmucks (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:58 pm

“cecibo said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 3:01 pm

It may share the same style and look as vios & city but, will it feel like it, will it had similarity in technology as vios & city like eg: 7 speed mode steermatic or a water-repellent seats ? unfortunately, it don’t, it’s just a basic car with new look but ancient 70’s driving quality…

It’s meaningless.”

– Dude, do you understand the word economical car? 7 speed mode steermatic and a water-repellent seats?For a 30K+ car? U have got to be kidding me?Choose a better examplelah
    -70’s driving quality?Have u driven a 70’s car?Have u driven this BLM? U even mentioned it’s a basic car so what do expect from a BASIC car?I don’t think Proton declared it as a luxury car,do they?

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:23 pm

cecibo,
    as far as i concerned idsi (if 1300) cchonda is 8 valve engine, just that two spark per clyinder,

8 valver, of course 1 intake velve batter swirl plus sequential spark good low end,

but the campro 1.3 iafm ,its 2 valve intake also provide respectively batter swirl with iafm intervention, so batter lower end as well,

but at the top end, 16 valve campro is the winner with higher power, higher red line,because its a 16 valver,

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:43 pm

normaluser said,
    lomotus, u sound a like proton SA. So the M-Line is for Master Line. How bout the N-Line and B-Line? I don’t think N stands for Normal or B stands for Basic.

I dont think he was referring to a “M-Line”. Lomotus was talking about the “Master model”, the car selected from a pool of prototypes to be THE car that is used as a template for all production cars.

Consider it a preproduction template.

correct me if im wrong.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:58 pm

haha I think utusan put paultan.org as reference because they scared of being sued!haha just kidding , anyway paultan cannot be sued because this site generate free hype,advertising, reference for proton SA itself and the most important thing is feedback without survey….congrat paultan and all paultanian bloggers.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Paul when are u planning to do tv show like top gear…if u do please interview me first for ur partner…i would love to bomb a MG car.

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:26 pm

MisterBenjo said,

January 2, 2008 @ 6:01 pm

Paul when are u planning to do tv show like top gear…if u do please interview me first for ur partner…i would love to bomb a MG car.

========
    MisterBenjo, your avatar very very funny….:) i keep smiling when i saw your avatar… use helmet while surfing internet..:)

Congratz to Paultan… I think your blog is THE BEST for malaysian who eagerly want to know about new model :)
    for this new SAGA model..i think it is the BEST in its class… economic car and absolutely “people’s car”…
    by now…anybody have any idea about the most suitable name for this “new born baby”?

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:35 pm

What i meant was how lack of technology proton are, how far they left behind.
    many car companies right now are steaming up, smashing their brains creating far more advanced driving features, others are busying themself using hybrid tp kita br nk develop normal engine. VW creating 7 speed DSG whilst proton still comfortably with ancient 4 speed auto. IT’S JUST OLD FASHION!!!

NO IMPROVEMENT!!!!

• 2ST (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:41 pm

waa..basher Vs supporter.
    supporter very proud of this BLM.
    Proton like so much.
    Proton new cars now = Nissan/Honda cars 15 years ago.

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:44 pm

IsaacVky said,

January 2, 2008 @ 10:55 am

thanks for the opinion..
    my father owns two protons, 1 old perdana V6, and a neo as a joy car.. because afraid using perdana whenever need to travel long distance… (gearbox changed 2 times already)…

i know everytime i switch between neo and perdana, the way i use the brake pedal is the 1st concern since no worry about gearshift since both are AT.. (haha..noob meh)

from my noob POV, perdana i think much more heavier than any wiras gen 2 savvy or this saga, and can travel faster than all of them, so that it require more stopping power… i dont care if the disc brake is smaller radius than any waja or neo, but definitely it has more stopping power..

when i switch perdana to neo, i usually a little bit worry if i slam the brakes at the traffic light… inside my head “slam this hard also dont wanna stop, if i slam harder, afraid the tyre locks”….. way different with perdana.. pres a little, u get little, press harder, u get stronger braking power… i dont know about the comfortability issue of the passenger, but if we put this way, it brings more confident to the driver itself… noob like me surely cannot “agak-agak” the braking distance accurately.. then, i think thats why more underpowered car involve in accident compared to laju and bigger car… (dont know the statistics, but i guess only lah.. no big deal)…

my point is, stopping power is important to small cars, (since more people buy cheaper cars)…

thats my noob POV.. btw thanks again IsaacVky

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:14 pm

cecibo said,

January 2, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

What i meant was how lack of technology proton are, how far they left behind.
    many car companies right now are steaming up, smashing their brains creating far more advanced driving features, others are busying themself using hybrid tp kita br nk develop normal engine. VW creating 7 speed DSG whilst proton still comfortably with ancient 4 speed auto. IT’S JUST OLD FASHION!!!

NO IMPROVEMENT!!!!

—————————————————————

hey get ur fact right before bashing…proton never built their own tranny
    the 4 speed tranny is from mitsubishi. u dont know new vios also still use 4 speed? tranny is more complicated than engine thats why many car manufacturer dont have their own tranny, much for economic scale reason (even BMW!!) if proton put 7 speed to this saga and sell 60K will u pay? or u bash again why it is so expensive.

anyway thanks enginerd for ur compliment….i snapped that picture during my previous job…handling streamyx customer hehe.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Yup, i have no denied Proton technology always a step behind. Even they claim the new VIM is special, but in reality this is an old technology. Even Paul old ford telstar also got it, right paul?

What i think Proton need is to establish a new unique kind of technology that others dont have. Such like Subaru = 4wd & turbocharge boxer engine, Nissan = GT-R high performance 4wd v6 turbo car. Mitsubishi = Evo, 4wd turbocharged 4b11t mivec engine. Even VW is actually famous for the 1.4L twin charge engine wif DSG gearbox.

If Proton want to be famous i think like supercharging their own CPS Campro engine wif 6-speed manual for satria neo GTi should be good to make a trademark. For now Proton always use lotus tuned to drag customer to buy, but i dont think ppl will always choose handling first to buy coz Proton cars are for budjet line & ppl who buy it in foreign countries are normally the students or normal folks who just drive for their daily jobs. Nowadays ppl are concern about environment, engine technology for better fuel efficient.

Anyway BLM mean = BASIC LINE MODEL, u dont except Merc class quality on it. If i can sell under 35k for H-line wif all those ABS, 2 Air-bags, then it will be great to own 1. What i really hope is the G promise to open the damn market as fast as possible before 2010, since Proton can survive wif this new BLM. I think others should be given a fair chance to compete.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:38 pm

our G will slow down Euro4 complaince for our boleh-car-maker!
    taxing diesel car exorbitantantly with roadtax!

Hybrid pun also kena! See Civic Hybrid, 160K+

Thanks to G & P1!!

Until P1 came out with a clean diesel/Hybrid then roadtax will be reduce to make it affordable for all… ShiT!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:08 pm

With minimal tax also price will not be as cheap as u think….
    otherwise asean countries will be full of civic hybrid already….

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:11 pm

handle by Lotus is the most strongest selling point for proton, but how many experienced in driving lotus car ?? And how many are care about it?? But, hey!!! i like the idea of putting high performance campro and 6 speed gearbox on neo or maybe sequential would be nice. only if that happen i will raise my thumb & hail PROTON

hope it could come true….

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:13 pm

azrai said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 7:57 am

I don’t see any Proton basher nowhere…:-)
    ————
    Because you are blind defender.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:16 pm

Petrol engine is conventional all over the world, Diesel engine is current Europe market and Asian future market. Hybrid or non fossil fuel is the engine of the future.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:22 pm

LittleFire85 said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 7:41 pm

Anyway BLM mean = BASIC LINE MODEL, u dont except Merc class quality on it. If i can sell under 35k for H-line wif all those ABS, 2 Air-bags, then it will be great to own 1. What i really hope is the G promise to open the damn market as fast as possible before 2010, since Proton can survive wif this new BLM. I think others should be given a fair chance to compete.
    ————-
    Well said, no more”crap-triotic” talk. Just concentrate on doing biz with BLM product that the market wanted.

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:34 pm

hehe…i m new here..actually this car looks not bad la.. i like the front view..quite nice …somemore its price also not that high, around rm 35k is still affordable for many ppl ma…u cannot expect a very high performance car with that amount of money…right..just wait till it come out la…by the way if i book now..normally when can i get the car..?? new car for new year ma.. quite curious with its interior la…hehe

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:13 am

@wanwnp,

You know, you remind me of myself when I just got my P license. Just replace Perdana wit Waja and Neo with Saga, that pretty much sums my early experience of driving. Although, the difference is, the newer car seems better in my case (Waja>Saga, rather than PV6>Neo for your case)

But I have to advise that you need to improve your driving skill. It’s not good enough to just “agak-agak”, you really need to know your car well, have confidence with it, and treat it with respect, only then it will come back to your hands. Or more literally, it’s like you have to tame a wild horse, before it can be gentle enough for you to ride on it, hehe. Therefore, drive more, but it’s not just about doing more, it’s what you LEARN from each trip that makes every trip valuable.

@Littlefire85,

VIM is something new to Proton at least. Come on, do you actually think Ford or anyone else is simply gonna give Proton their technology so that Proton can build an engine with it? That’s like McD giving you every bit of details on how to cook the best fries out there (they’re better than KFC’s, BK’s, A&W’s, etc fries IMHO). And you make money out of it. How’s that for a thought?

• arcana (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:22 am

to cecibo,

u are right, lotus handling is a key marketing point for proton BUT we do not need to experience lotus cars in order to get a feel of it…..is that even necessary? its fun we have the chance……but reality doesnt happen that way.
    what ppl want is, when i drive a proton that has lotus handling, i can take corners and NORMAL speeds and still feel safe…..i think thats more than enuf for a regular buyer.

things like CVT, DSG and what not…..out of the question completely, becoz it has no marketing sense…..buyers of proton cars are not super rich, if any of those components spoil, its high cost to replace, maintainence will also be a headache since cheap cars are meant to be cheap maintainence as well.
    i’m sure everyone likes good stuff added inside, but how many are willing to pay the price for it. but i definitely hope for AMT’s inside the BLM, which sadly did not make it although savvy had that, maybe due to some tech stuff which i dont know that makes it impossible to fit that gearbox in (my guess).

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:31 am

A remarkable number of posts in just a few days. Market enthusiasm.

cecibo said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 3:01 pm
    It’s meaningless.
    erm… doesnt the latest vios come with a 4 speed automatic transmission? I think it would be fair to compare the new Saga with the vios/city if it cost around RM60k. Keep in mind that the cheapest vios, tax free, in langkawi, costs RM55k (langkawi is tax free). The most expensive newSaga costs only RM39k inclusive of tax (yes, proton cars are taxed too, albeit less than that of imported cars). They are different cars for different market segments. The vios may be considered a budget car in first world markets.. but let’s not forget that on average first world citizens have three times the purchasing power of malaysians. We live in malaysia :)

#BigFish said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 9:16 pm
    Petrol engine is conventional all over the world, Diesel engine is current Europe market and Asian future market. Hybrid or non fossil fuel is the engine of the future.

yea, but hybrids are expensive even in countries with tax breaks specifically to promote the technolog. Also, hybrids run on energy produced from fossil fuels…and require alot more materials, rare earth elements for their batteries etc.

So while they are efficient, they arent _that_ much more efficient especially in town driving. And they are way too expensive for developing markets.

What could be a possibility is e85 (a blend of petrol with 85% bio ethanol from agricultural industries) They burn cleaner, is mostly renewable, and works with slightly modified petrol engines. A majority of cars in brazil run on it by default already.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:36 am

hey all, for anybody who miss the buletin utama clip featuring paultan website
    here is the link

http://www.tv3.com.my/Shows/EpHighlight.aspx?MasterID=190&ShowID=231&MenuID=2&TemplateID=1&SubMenuID=1&VideoID=6527&EpID=10484#anchorVid

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 4:31 am

ezralimm said
    yea, but hybrids are expensive even in countries with tax breaks specifically to promote the technolog. Also, hybrids run on energy produced from fossil fuels…and require alot more materials, rare earth elements for their batteries etc.
    ———–
    Mainly due to no economy of scales and partly due to market preference, technical performance, etc.

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:11 am

2ST said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 6:41 pm

Proton like so much.

——————————————————–
    – that because proton only 22 years old… honda is 50 years old…
    think before talk.. peace..
    e.g. when you at form 1, do learn what is form 6 learning..?

• shaif (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:49 am

Wow, so many people want to express their feeling towards proton either hate it or love it. So it kind of free advertising for proton. Proton could obtain info on what people want in their car just by reading all this comment. Looks like proton more open to criticsm and apart from the interesting product, the services must be tip top. Salesman need to be retrained so that they can handle people professionally. Its like when people ask about airbag, ABS, he should have knowledge about it. In my experience only senior salesman know about this stuff, and sadly the young one just one to get commission but lazy to get the knowledge about car. They don’t read cars mag, at least CBT or car blog like this one. Salesman is the co. frontliner, they fail to impress, the co. also fail.

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:15 am

shaif said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 8:49 am

Wow, so many people want to express their feeling towards proton either hate it or love it. So it kind of free advertising for proton. Proton could obtain info on what people want in their car just by reading all this comment. Looks like proton more open to criticsm and apart from the interesting product, the services must be tip top. Salesman need to be retrained so that they can handle people professionally. Its like when people ask about airbag, ABS, he should have knowledge about it. In my experience only senior salesman know about this stuff, and sadly the young one just one to get commission but lazy to get the knowledge about car. They don’t read cars mag, at least CBT or car blog like this one. Salesman is the co. frontliner, they fail to impress, the co. also fail.
    —————————————————————-
    -agree with you. i remember when i go to persona lanching at proton showroom.. their salesman only buat dunno je… diorang dok lepak2 kat tepi n berbual2 sesama.. proton need to train them how to deal with customer..
    but with this saga, proton’s showroom will crowded at 11 Jan… i will go for it..

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:42 am

ini yg aku rasa.

“customers always right”

“economy of scale” hanya dpt dicapai kalau ramai org beli.
    kalu xramai org bli, lebih baik introduce “mass customization”.
    contoh mass customization ni, kalu customer nak abs, letak abs; kalu nk esp, letak esp; kalu nak ebd, letak ebd; kalu nak dsg, letak dsg; kalu nak other-than-aforementioned-3-alphabates, letak other-than-aforementioned-3-alphabates.

tp kn, kalu ps wt cmni ada “bunyi” juga, xtau la…;)

• mofo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:53 am

LoL same thing to me. *Maybe they have an eye could scan through who’ll buy and who’ll not buy.

And one more things, it same goes to P2 when their sales figure hits good. Salesperson malas to layan also. Ask for test drive, they told that test drive only available for somone who have book the car aisk… It’s damn stupid, who will buy if i cant test drive it.

For anyone really beh tahan wanted to see BLM 1st, just drop by Chevrolet’s showroom. Not sure, but myself think 80% look similar.
    Link : http://paultan.org/archives/2007/08/28/chevrolet-aveo-14-notchback-launched-in-malaysia/

Cheers

• GTI (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:38 am

anybody….

any new pics Proton BLM…
    just can’t wait…

• ECOTEC FamilyII (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:49 am

wait and seee………when this car coming to showroom

• ECOTEC FamilyII (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:56 am

errr. one more:

nissan tiida gearbox = renault gearbox drive by wire system

toyota vios gearbos = selespeed gearbox developed by fiat

so…….that all i can say….

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:08 pm

C’mon guys get your head clear to this. Let me get you straight here, what i really want to see in proton is something spectacular, i don’t demand for costly ingredients but something to spice things up, a breakthrough innovation, futuristic, step forward, responsible, a thinker, inventor, more than just cars, something contribute to us, to human…

for example how nissan now in research on producing car that detect drivers alcohol level (anti drunk driving) how cool is that now thats innovative, thats future, thats step forward, thats responsible outside the box any body wouldn’t think of it yet.

i want proton to produce something new, its own formula so that we could show up our strong and stand tall… got what i mean???

i’m maybe harsh but please don’t get me wrong… maybe next time my words would change the perspective on what we think of cars & to our local automotive industries.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:55 pm

hmmm….i think we don’t ask for proton to produce something spectacular first… that will be suicidal…

wht they do now is correct… makes a new model…get all the basics right… means the pricing, the design and most important of all, the quality issues…

haven’t heard much on quality issues for new proton cars…

so once they are stable only…then only go for some innovative stuff…
    why jump to level 60 when you’re still at level 1 trying to mke the foundation strong?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:05 pm

feeze26 said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 8:11 am

2ST said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 6:41 pm

Proton like so much.

——————————————————–
    – that because proton only 22 years old… honda is 50 years old…
    think before talk.. peace..
    e.g. when you at form 1, do learn what is form 6 learning..?

==yes indeed, pls think before talk. is not about how many years old or age. is all about how fast u can move. i guess china and india automotive industries move very fast this ten years. form 1 or form 6 the time is fixed but time and technologies don’t wait. things changing fast and believe lots of professional didn’t go to form6 too and did degree within 3 years instead of 4 years. proton is catching up but still a long way to go.

• calwinsingh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:40 pm

Everybody still waiting for the launch….. haihz… time suddenly moves so slow….

• marvel (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:43 pm

Old Saga’s about time to retire, Proton finally realised than most people prefer sedans,Persona was the only sedan after Waja,so this new Saga is a good additional, but I hope Satria Neo will still remain as 2door…a Gti will be nice….

• boredofschmucks (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:23 pm

I think its unwise to ask Proton to come up with spectacular technology and gizmo in the car.Proton needs to focus on building and strengthening their basic model first and climbs up from there.

U really,really can’t compare Proton to other giant car manufacturer in terms of capability and technology.They have been in auto industries since a very long time and Proton has only recently capable of building their own car i.e. the start of Waja(although it is not 100% theirs :) ). You are asking Proton,a 10 year old kid to do a man’s job.It’s down right ridiculous.

Auto industries technology is somewhat owned by each company and they will NOT share it with others.The only way Proton can have those are either hiring the specialist,buy the company with the technology or home-breed technology.Either way,I don’t think economic of scale of Proton allows that.They need to resolve their basic fundamentals first before venturing into more advanced technology.But maybe Proton could do it concurrently by having a special gifted-engineers to explore advance technology?Just a thought…

Handling is not only about getting thrills out of your car.It is the active safety system for a car.It is about car control and dynamic behaviour of the vehicle.It is not always about sportiness etc..etc… It is not just about going in corners at 150km/h but also about getting yourself safe upon emergencies e.g. emergency avoidance,oversteering,understeering etc..etc…If you think handling is only about sportiness,you need to read more!In short,it is about stability.You don’t need to ride on a Lotus car to gauge handling. A simplest way to gauge handling is by driving an Iswara and Waja and see which one you feel more secure when driving and emergencies.Now that is part and parcel of handling!

I think Proton is catching up but still have many years ahead until they can be at par with the main players.But the most important thinh is for Proton to get their basics/fundamentals right before venturing into more high tech stuff

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 7:52 pm

well proton dont have dsg, valvetronic,

if we count the avg modern car today, tunable engine breathing, its engine of todays standard,
    well not as precision as valvetronic, (normally for up market car only)
    not the yet dsg (when still some enthusiast still opt to normal clutched gearbox) and yet dsg is not for the mass model, average american automatic car still using torque converter, average european car still using manual syncromesh gear box,

so by average or mass, proton is a car at todays standard technology, but for some addditional latest engine tech is undeniable needed by proton, and the tech is already in the bank of knowledge of lotus, where to the extend of the simplified camless engine or HCCI high efficiency engine,.
    ————-

but the BLM its sensible enough, its not a car to be raced, though campro quite potent at second half of its range,
    its budget economical, with good consumption (thanks to cheap simple tech trick with its plastic manifold),

and the availability of tunable intake and variable cam, if both playing their part togather, campro is definitly a performance engine,

well not to mention some direct injection actually made experimental on actual car and force inducted last time been actually tested,

so not bad i think,
    ———————————————-

if have any idea like a cooler turbo gassoline,
    maximisimixation ram air potential, just throw your idea,
    or any thing might solve some automotive inefficiencies within our perspective is good,
    might be silly at first but who knows, or other gadget maybe,

lot of brilliant people out there,

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:01 pm

marvel said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 3:43 pm

Old Saga’s about time to retire, Proton finally realised than most people prefer sedans,Persona was the only sedan after Waja,so this new Saga is a good additional, but I hope Satria Neo will still remain as 2door…a Gti will be nice….
    ————-
    First Gen-2 “kerja buntut” = Persona sedan

2nd Savvy “kerja buntut” = BLM sedan

3rd (likely) Satria Neo “kerja buntut” = XXX sedan.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:04 pm

kevyeoh said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

hmmm….i think we don’t ask for proton to produce something spectacular first… that will be suicidal…
    ———–
    Produce something spectacular? Peanut R & D investment! maybe another 20 years (2028) to produce something spectacular by today standard.

• shaiful (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:16 pm

Nissan Latio ,, any comment ?

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:42 pm

thx for the new product.Nice for humble people like me.

Do u think G want to open local automative market to other brand??
    Come on lah. Of course our G want something in return from other G to open it.
    That how greedy politicion/busisnessmen should do.If u want to give open competition in local, try to be business/politiction. I bet u will not do that once u are there.

Ops ,should my comment focus about saga? Sorry2…please delete this if you could. :P

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:58 pm

BigFish said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 9:01 pm

marvel said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 3:43 pm

————-

– BigFish, u nie tak habis2 dengan u punye “buntut”.. itu “buntut”.. ini “buntut”.. hahaha.. after this they are not produce satria neo sedan.. they are go ahead for MPV.. after that maybe they want to replace perdana or waja.. i guess..

– now i am pengawas.. hahaha..

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:00 am

Hmmm… introduce mpv and replace waja or perdana… i think they will replace perdana first la because they wan to cut the mitsubishi dna in the proton car… i guess

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:01 am

Does anyone here have any details about proton next mpv???

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:36 am

cole planet said,
    January 4, 2008 @ 2:01 am

Does anyone here have any details about proton next mpv???
    ——————————————
    -we have to wait… i think proton will do a test drive on street in this year because they planning to release on next year.. so.. ready for camera…!

• id76 (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:00 am

Anyone know the booking status as of now?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:11 am

Proton Should be MOVING faster then anyone else in ASEAN countries. Why? Coz they are supported by the G financial & NAP!

See those Japanese, Korean, Chinese cars. Do their Company are finance by their G?!? They are done by their own Private finance, the most is just G loan! They still have to pay back the Loan !@#!$

Sorry, this is what i tot. I am not a basher, but i am for the good of Proton. Is time to have a fair competition, or not u will always compete wif Perodua which is good for K-cars category.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 3:24 pm

nvm. proton already conquer malaysian and thailand market. as they say they did.

so i guess its time to let the competition in and help them improve even faster.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:15 pm

http://www.ydingo.com/sagaflavor.jpg

• neurra (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 7:32 pm

wow.. the teaser video makes the car look even more stunning.. especially from the front.. look garang.. btw, the rear light cluster looks a bit like merc’s no? maybe that’s why they change it to amber color signal cluster.. maybe i’ll trade in savvy for this

• boredofschmucks (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 8:34 pm

LittleFire85 said :

“Proton Should be MOVING faster then anyone else in ASEAN countries. Why? Coz they are supported by the G financial & NAP!

See those Japanese, Korean, Chinese cars. Do their Company are finance by their G?!? They are done by their own Private finance, the most is just G loan! They still have to pay back the Loan !@#!$

Sorry, this is what i tot. I am not a basher, but i am for the good of Proton. Is time to have a fair competition, or not u will always compete wif Perodua which is good for K-cars category.”

-LittleFire85 ,U seriously need to do your homework!I don’t think u know a lot of stuff in automotive but trying to be a person who knows all

The Japanese,korean and china are not finance by G BUT they are protected fiercely by their G in their early days!China are starting to be an open-market but do you know how hard,difficult and tedious if a foreign automotive company wants to enter China?It’s all about protecting their product.

Do u know Korean G used to be very kedekut in allowing foreign car to be sold in their country?Its all about protecting their product.

Do you know the Japanese used to do the same thing?

Do you know the common things Japanese and Korean company have?They’ve been in the industries far longer than Proton and they have been very patriotic of their product. AND they are the one being the Guinea pigs of their products i.e. their consumer bought the car first,complaint and they improved;then only they sold the car to overseas

China is a slightly different in terms of automotive industries and market

Proton also borrow money from G but they have already repaid their dues

Do u seriously think G gave money to Proton?It’s the other way round.

The prime reason of the creation of Proton is to trigger heavy industries in Malaysia e.g. steel, industries,manufacturing,electronics,supporting vendors etc..etc.. sand it did .Having its own design car is secondary objective by that time.Knew about it when I had the opportunity talking to Tun M himself!

Do your thorough research before trying to be smart bro!

• prereload (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:02 pm

The booking number is increasing to almost 2000 units. (after 3 days open for pre book).
    Bravo to our 1st national car maker for still Daring to change…

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 1:53 am

I just watched the high-resol teaser on TV3 just now, n I can confirm that the rear lamp cluster is clear lense, Paul. It’s just that the bulb inside is painted orange, just like waja.

Anyway, I do prefer it to be clear lense. Looks neater that way :D

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 2:18 am

boredofschmucks, i know u r very good in economics. But if u think that the Japs & Korea protect their market so well, why they sign the open market? And before that why they protect their market so hash? In Korea & Japan they can compete fairly against each other like Hyundai, Kia, ssanyung, daewood. Japs they have even more, subaru, toyota, nissan, honda etc. They manage to improve very fast even they have own rival to compete wif. Compare to us (Perodua & Proton)? If u think economically, P1 should be faster right since Proton almost monopolize nearly half the whole market for a lot of years and earn a lot from his own ppl?

China is a smart country, if u want to sell ur car u most come to china and combine wif another local factory to built and sell the cars which is still consider very cheap to sell. Compare to us, those CKD models like Merc, BMW, Nissan are still expensive to own even CBU models made in Malaysia.

U say that they tested their cars in their own country are Guinea pigs. Is that mean that the Gen.2, Satria neo, savvy & BLM are given to us as Guinea pigs? I seen a lot of new standard use by them, and they have safety, environment regulation set by their G to line to all Japs cars for their own ppl good. They have what we call real time R&D, if u mind see the Auto innovation in Astro 734 to know how they did it before selling a new car model? Wow… We Malaysian are really just guinea pigs for Proton all these time.

How u wonder those companies who get the contract wif Proton is from whom? And especially which gain the most benefits from it? Anyway forget to tell u, if u went to Tun Dr.M house and see his car park. I seen more foreign cars compare to local, even his own son is driving a Porsche cayenne turbo.. Where all those money come from to support all those luxury home & cars?

Before Proton, the industry is already a good moving. Steel need to be used in development, when development are good factories can be built, electronics & manufacturer are a lot from Intel, AMD, Sony, Toshiba etc… come to establish in Malaysia. When u have manufacturing companies, they will have local supporting vendors to help, this is a business cycle. These companies are far more advance then Proton to move the whole nation economic if u think wisely n some even come earlier then Proton. Even the computer CPU u use now, especially Intel is assemble in Malaysia, and how many CPU model it changed since ur first computer? Compare to local cars?

And if u mind, Tun Dr.M Project not all are success. Especially his own Perwaja steel project, tongkah project & a lot…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 2:30 am

Anyway i am not saying Proton is bad. I am saying that they need to speed things up. We r not in the 80’s 90’s. This is a new millennium and china & India is moving fast. If we still move in a slow pace, we will be eaten by china more faster. I already supported 2 Proton models in my family, but still i cant see the real improvement by Proton in term of competitiveness against other real competitors. I will be visiting this BLM model when launch, hope they did a real good job for since i waited almost 20 years to come out a new model to replace SAGA.

• marvel (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 3:22 am

BigFish said,

4th “kaki buntut”= Bigfish alias “Buttman”

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:58 am

BigFish said,

4th “kaki buntut”= Bigfish alias “Buttman”

5th “Buttman” = main buntut

• boredofschmucks (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:33 pm

LittleFire85

Now thats what I call a good comments from you!At least you start to talk facts rather than something ‘not-fact’

However…

During the emergence of Dr.M, industries were there but not enough catalyst to make it big because there is no triggering factor to it.That is where the idea of Proton comes in.I NEVER did say all the development planned by Dr.M was good infact the choice of sample you gave PERWAJA is a good one (a good example of a failure of course)

The koreans and japs sign the open market because they are ready and strong enough to compete.As simpe as that.But before that?That is for you to find out

Guinea pigs?Come on,that is just a loose terms. In automotive it doesn’t mean they give you a car without a brake and see how you’ll stop.It is about giving a proper car THEY thought is good enough but eventually customers will complain the needs that they wants and from there they’ll improve it.Sorry to say that Proton’s marketing research and planning is poor and needs to buck up.They need to have a thorough research in publics wanting in a car and different country have different requirements for the car they want to buy

Before the creation of proton,industries are moving BUT not enough.Steel?Of course its there la bro.Electronics?It’s there too but not enough.So when proton comes in, a lot of giant manufacturer saw the opportunities with the incentives gievn by G and grabbed it.Examples are Siemens,TRW,Hirotako Autoliv,ZF etc..etc… and also triggers a more dynamic local company.The fact that the industry is there alone is not enough to say we have enough.To move on, we need something more and that is where Proton’s idea was mooted.

I sincerely think Proton start to “bertaubat” and the current management is trying to clean up “tut!” left by the old management. The past management was not dynamic,sincere and responsible enough to take the helm of Proton. The new current one looks ok but one needs to see actual prove before applauds is given

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:31 am

barang murah quality rendah, design 80’s…..proton designer no idea ke??
    Balik2 suruh org. lain buat……ke mana pergi engineer proton yang hebat2 tu.
    Nanti letak le by lotus…. pasti gempak.

• boredofschmucks (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:29 pm

car_key99

I think staring from Persona the quality of parts have improved if compared to previous models.Of course still could do betterlah

Balik2 suruh org buat?What do you mean? Do you know big giant company also hire other company to do cars and parts for them?Even up to the design of the car oso they subcon

To do a total car by itself needs proper number of manpower and resources. Ideally,1 engineer needs to concentrate to 1 project but as far as I know,in Proton 1 engineer does several other projects oso so no proper focus maa.

Careful bro,when u say “ke mana pergi engineer proton yang hebat2 tu” u are actually insulting those people. Are you hebat ke?

• GTI (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 2:29 pm

hei dude…

actually i think P1 already do a big effort.. it’s not the easy job to design your own engine.. now there already have one.. of course Campro la… it’s a better start.. when it’s new.. it always have problems.. macam biasa la… since then they’ll develope n improve time after time.. now the do a lot better with Persona.n I hope this BML will launch with the better quality..

just my opinion…

• Crash Overide (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 9:11 am

however…this is nice car…i hope proton will introduce us 1.5litre coming soon….

• adamccl (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Well Proton, it’s nice to work in your company, but buck-up on your service you lazy lots! I become your stupid shield of humiliation because of your dumb jobs.
    Anyway, let’s hope the one in UK instead will work – The Lotus Gen-2 EVE (hybrid).