Is this the upcoming Mazda RX-9?

These are supposed to be leaked product images of the upcoming successor to the Mazda RX series of rotary coupes – the Mazda RX-9. Under the hood will be the new RENESIS 16X, a 1.6 liter twin rotor engine.
It looks like a much more toned down version of the Mazda Taiki, with the only similiarity remaining being the coupe shape and the rather extraterrestrial-looking front grille.
One more rear shot after the jump.
Mazda RENESIS 16X Rotary Engine
Mazda Taiki Concept

January 4, 2008 @ 3:15 am
I haven’t got enough the white RX-8, not they going to have black RX-9?
Wow, this is killing me!!!
January 4, 2008 @ 5:11 am
hmmm weird la… very werd looking… hmmm look like bat mobile la… hmm
January 4, 2008 @ 5:33 am
wat also weird except the lotus DNA in potong cars… and ur thinking also weird!
January 4, 2008 @ 5:56 am
nice!!! love it!
January 4, 2008 @ 7:33 am
Muscular… look like Aston Martin
January 4, 2008 @ 8:17 am
cole planet said,
January 4, 2008 @ 5:11 am
hmmm weird la… very werd looking… hmmm look like bat mobile la… hmm
—————————————-
-agree with u.. like batman’s car… or maybe cicakman… hahaha
January 4, 2008 @ 9:30 am
Whats wrong with the Rx-7 name? Why Rx-9? Will there be another Rx-7?
It looks weird.
I thought it was a new Mercedes coupe with a badly designed nose job before I noticed the badge.
The FD3S is still one of the sexiest cars ever made. Low, wide, curvacious, purposefull. I would still get myself one if there was a local speedshop nearby that can rebuild 13Bs….
January 4, 2008 @ 10:08 am
Idea from Bat Mobile for sure….the back look so much like aston martin DB9 just the colours are diff… overall…not bad…
January 4, 2008 @ 10:46 am
Very garang one
January 4, 2008 @ 10:47 am
Looks like a roadster with clothes on ..
January 4, 2008 @ 10:54 am
looks like an aston martin from the back
January 4, 2008 @ 11:01 am
sweet… any idea when Mazda will put it into production?
January 4, 2008 @ 11:04 am
OMFreakingG, drooling. RX8 already killing me, this one nuke me.
January 4, 2008 @ 11:04 am
Most probably a photochop. It’s nice, but I think the real deal from Mazda should look sweeter
January 4, 2008 @ 11:10 am
this gar is going to be on cicakman 2..hehe
January 4, 2008 @ 11:10 am
this gar is going to be on cicakman 2..hehe…but i really like mazda style…drool…
January 4, 2008 @ 11:54 am
the headlights look like CLS, the taillights look like the old nissan fairlady
January 4, 2008 @ 12:33 pm
Other than the fussy nose, this car looks awesome! Mazda was supposed to create an RX-7 replacement. Maybe this is it?
January 4, 2008 @ 1:07 pm
hmmm…. looks like artist impression.
not quite happy with the rear end, and the whole car dont feel as cohesive as say, the RX-8.
Maybe it’ll look better in flesh tho….
January 4, 2008 @ 1:13 pm
weird…
January 4, 2008 @ 1:20 pm
The next generation Mazda RX-7 is not like that…
Zoom Zoom…
January 4, 2008 @ 1:35 pm
So much to come…
January 4, 2008 @ 1:58 pm
Cool…Muscular looking,
January 4, 2008 @ 2:45 pm
Don’t you think it looks alot smaller than the existing RX-8? But it looks good tho…I like it…RENESIS FTW!
January 4, 2008 @ 2:48 pm
yea the fd3s is still the looker.
there is nothing really wrong with the current rx8. all they need to do is fix the engine.
January 4, 2008 @ 3:57 pm
the rear looks like it has been chop or sumthin…demn flat. and the whole body proportion is kinda wierd
January 4, 2008 @ 6:08 pm
I like..maybe a three rotor 1.6?? I like even more..
January 4, 2008 @ 6:28 pm
haha..twin rotor…btw..anyone can briefly describe some about rotary engine leh…
January 4, 2008 @ 7:51 pm
I guess that’s 19″ rim ?
January 4, 2008 @ 8:00 pm
its an artist’s impression reworked on mazda’s kabura concept shown on rotarynews website last week. personally i think it really should be an rx-5 as kabura was a smaller car based on the mx-5 platform. i also think the original kabura is prettier esp the rear and the innovative (wierd) 3+1 seating.
there’s a newer artist’s impression of the rx-9 on rotarynews this week.
January 4, 2008 @ 8:25 pm
looks like the manufacturer madza purposely leaked the pics to see people’s reaction over the proposed design. PR skills indeed.
January 4, 2008 @ 8:51 pm
this is a photoshopped aston DB8 lah..
January 4, 2008 @ 9:22 pm
are those audi tt headlamps??
January 4, 2008 @ 9:58 pm
wow.. a very handsome car indeed..
January 4, 2008 @ 10:46 pm
Very muscular car, can put in 3 girlfriends in one go!
January 4, 2008 @ 10:47 pm
These are REAL functional double exhaust, not like our puny lawn mover sawi with one fake exhaust for their “limited edition”.
January 4, 2008 @ 10:49 pm
Lotus handling DNA is not up to mark to be fit into this macho car, as it is not good enough to habdle “fast & furious” engine. It is suitable for lawn mover only..
January 5, 2008 @ 12:40 am
i will still choose the current RX-8, looks better……
to sunsilk: find out more at wikipedia……
January 5, 2008 @ 12:50 am
combination of DB9 + Merc + Audi novulari front grill
January 6, 2008 @ 9:39 pm
yup… i agree with all of u that say rx-7 fd3s is the best rx ever produce… but drink petrol like coke
January 6, 2008 @ 9:43 pm
maybe this 1.6cc rotor engine suck petrol like water… lagi die la…