New Knight Rider Movie 30 second spot

Knight Rider Ford Mustang Shelby GT500KR

In a world of product placements where Bumblebee ends up as a concept Chevrolet Camaro instead of a Volkswagen Beetle, it’s no surprise that the new Knight Rider movie will star a Ford Mustang Shelby GT500KR as K.I.T.T. NBC has released a teaser trailer on the new Knight Rider movie, which you will find after the jump.

Video: New Knight Rider Movie 30 second spot

PRESS RELEASE: NBC Also Forms Partnership with Ford Motor Company That Provides for Unique Content Opportunity

BURBANK – December 12, 2007 – As “Knight Rider” — NBC’s iconic 1980s television classic that became a runaway success, comes roaring back to life on the network with an updated sequel that will air as a two-hour movie event on Sunday, February 17 (9-11 p.m. ET) — NBC unveiled the new customized KITT Ford Mustang to be featured in the series in a press event held at NBC’s Burbank Studios today.

The movie stars Justin Bruening (“Cold Case,” “All My Children”), Deanna Russo (“NCIS,” “The Young and the Restless”), Sydney Tamiia Poitier (“Veronica Mars,” “Grindhouse”) and Bruce Davison (“Breach,” “Close to Home”). In addition, David Hasselhoff (NBC’s “America’s Got Talent”) — who starred in the popular lead role as Michael Knight for four seasons during the original series — returns as the same character in a special guest-star appearance. Will Arnett (NBC’s “30 Rock,” “Blades of Glory”) will provide the voice of KITT.

Dave Bartis (“Heist,” “The O.C.”) and Doug Liman (“Mr. and Mrs. Smith,” “The Bourne Identity”) serve as executive producers. NBC also has an arrangement with Ford Motor Company that provides for a unique content opportunity that makes the Ford Mustang one of the stars of the movie.

The three cars to be employed in the series include the KITT Hero — a Ford Mustang Shelby GT500KR that is playing the part of the everyday Hero car with 540 horsepower; the KITT Attack — a super high-speed version of the Ford Mustang Shelby GT500KR Hero car that transforms into Attack mode with the help of air-ride technology and specialized body parts — and a KITT Remote, which is a driverless Ford Mustang Shelby GT500KR version of the Hero vehicle.

As the original story resumes, the new KITT (Knight Industries Three Thousand) is absolutely the coolest car ever created: its supercomputer capable of hacking almost any system; its weapons systems efficient; and its body — thanks to its creator’s work and nanotechnology — is capable of actually shifting shape and color. Plus, its artificial intelligence makes it the ideal crime-fighting partner: logical, precise and possessing infinite knowledge. It is the ultimate car — and someone will be willing to do anything to obtain it.

Sarah Graiman is a 24-year old Ph.D candidate at Stanford University, following in her genius father Charles’ (Davison) footsteps. But when men attempt to abduct her, Sarah receives a mysterious call from KITT warning her that he’s a creation of Charles, who also invented the first KITT 25 years ago — and that her father is in serious danger.

Sarah and KITT track down her best friend from childhood, Mike Tracer (Bruening), a 23-year-old ex-Army Ranger, whom Sarah hasn’t seen since he left home at 18. Having served in Iraq, Mike is now jaded and lost and initially resistant. Eventually he agrees to help Sarah and the two set out to discover who’s behind the attempt to procure KITT and find Charles. Along the way, Carrie Rivai (Poitier) plays the agile yet tough FBI agent who has a long-standing friendship with Charles and Sarah. Due to those ties, she is brought into the mix to help in the search.

David Andron is supervising producer and writer. Steve Shill (“Dexter,” “The Tudors”), also a co-executive producer, directs the two-hour movie from Universal Media Studios and Dutch Oven Productions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 3:34 am

whoa.. nice. i love mustang!

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:46 am

haha… now more people gonna buy ford mustang… i LOVE american muscle… specially old american muscle… but rarely seen in here… :(

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 6:55 am

These Americans never think of the rest of the world. I bet you a right-hand-drive version with a smaller but very powerful turbo engine would do very well in Asia. Concept – the Skyline powered Mustang in Tokyo Drift. http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Features/articleId=115639#6

• azrai (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:03 am

Reminds me to the LED light. After this movie, we can find many Ah Bengs will use it.

• droll (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:39 am

coooooooooooool! KITT is back! Knight Industries Two Thousand – is that name still maintained? Or will KITT stand for something else?

• droll (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:42 am

eh how come got two spoilers at the back wan? so gay???

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:35 am

NBC? So i take it this is going to be a straight to TV movie?

I bet if it’s well-received, they’d probably continue with a series. Wonder if the soundtrack will still be the same.

Azrai, you’re right, many might take after the LED lights again, as they did some 20+ years ago. Hmmm…. a black Satria Neo, with dark rims and red LED running lights….

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:54 am

:) chasing LED light is always cool~

erm~ i prefer the old sleek car, the new car seems so brutal…;)

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:13 am

oh yes K.I.T.T my enemy u r back my friend….

• Ralliace (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:32 am

droll said,

eh how come got two spoilers at the back wan? so gay???

Now get ready to see every Saga, Wira, Waja and Kancil having two spoilers with the LED lights! LOL!

• drM (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:16 am

something should never be invented in the first place, for so many reasons. for example this Mustang KITT. it is an insult to the people who watch the old Hasselhof and his KITT in those days.

because KITT is should be very similar as it was, if they bother to reproduce Night Rider in films or new TV series or whatever.

putting some 50 leds on a bonnet of ‘some’ muscle cars like KITT is not working. and will not work at all. it just the same if I put the same number of LEDs on my kancil. i’ll paint it black also. would it be something of a KITT resemblance? i’ll bet on my scorotoum – it would not.

yes, u can see those tyre smokes and great manouvers in that film, using that botox-ed KITT car. but you can do the same, lets say, in a black Chevrolet Lacetti with 50 LEDs on the front bonnet. lol

• szw (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:34 am

who’s the actor ?

• waimak (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:53 am

I love this new car. Believe it or not, with the technology today, soon the so called knight rider concept will turn into reality.

• goingberserk (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:58 pm

awesome man !

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:14 pm

still remember that the old KITT could be used to defuse a bomb. Just throw a ticking bomb in at the back and close the tail gate, wait for the bomb to safely explode in a controlled environment and voila everyone goes (and drives) home happy.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:15 pm

We also had P1 Knight by using stone age Iswara!

• GTI (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:38 pm

like the old one…
    not see like kitt anymore… wonder who would be the hero?..

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Paul, is it my laptop or what.
    The clip stops at 9 seconds?

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 6:16 pm

whoa… this is one bad ass KITT…

• acbc (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:08 pm

A must WATCH! Going to buy another 320Gb hard drive to store everything on Knight Rider…

• twom (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:13 pm

I thinked its ugly or hideous

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Nuuu! mustang again? =/ oh well..Its aint the rumoured koenigsegg CCX..which is cooler. *sigh

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:37 am

the car have to be american?

• gtmaniac (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:51 pm

Prefer the sleeper-look of the old Trans Am.. this one looks too much. Pity GM don’t make any more Pontiac Trans Am..

From the clip the wheels is silver, but from the pic the wheels is black. Which is the correct one?

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:05 pm

proton will produce new proton knight maybe this time it will be blm or persona lol paint in black then put some LED then its become kitt-en wkakakaka……

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:45 pm

Ford Mustang is a very nice looking car even if without any bodykits or additional modification……

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Wonder proton will come out with Persona Knight..

• Apathy (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 8:48 am

Hehehehehe Eleanor now becomes KITT…….that is sooo gay. :p :p :p

• lantoi (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Yummy, First, Fast & Furious, then, Transformers now, Knight Rider. Yeah, bring on these car movie. Or how about a real-life Cars movie?

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 1:13 pm

I wonder if this mustang is good with handling? cause it is a heavy car… hmmm…

• Andy214 (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 11:43 pm

cole planet,

Didn’t you know an american FAT guy got champion (I think) in the Drift Event with the Mustang?

It’s heavy but very powerful. The IDLE engine sound is enough to satisfy… You can hear in in various movies as well, especially in the latest movie, “I am Legend”. I’ve seen an older version Mustang in Ampang last time, it was a Thai no plate car. From very far, the sound can be heard and it’s nothing like our car engine you hear everyday, it’s totally different, unique, fierce and nice…

• kalabumalami (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 1:45 am

Andy214,

Mustang is obviously an oversteering monster which I think preferable the exact opposite of handling. Drifting is about defying RR grip and handling is about road holding and grip all round.

Cole Planet,

Typical American muscles as such Corvette, Pontiac, Chevy, Ford etc are good on straightlines which because they have good static alignment properties and heavy kerb which helps keep their tyre patch grasping the road. But these cars limit on high G cornering are surprisingly low due to bad dynamic alignment and bad selection of suspension kinematics for this kind of powerhorse. For example when cornering, weight transfer for Mustang would be massive thus results in high vertical force transfer to the FR and RR outer tyres. These force transfer plus directional input will generate lateral force to the tyres and all the suspension parts. Make do the Mustangs are using typical FR Macpherson Strut and RR 4 I-link, the parts would give way easily due to constant high force which in the end relies to much on the tyres. It would be just impossible for the lateral force limitation on all tyres could cater cornering at limit aka the essence of handling. Fact is, Mustangs handling can easily kene makan by the likes of Lotus Exige or might also Integras double wishbones.