Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

UMW Toyota Motor gets new managing director

Advertisement

Kuah Kock HengUMW Toyota Motor has a new Managing Director – Mr Kuah Kock Heng, who was previously the Executive Director of the Groups Industrial Equipment Division, the division which handles the Toyota forklift franchise in Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam and also in China – Shanghai and Zhejiang Province.

“Mr Kuah has had an excellent track record in managing the Industrial Equipment Division prior to his appointment to UMW Toyota Motor. I am confident in Mr Kuahs capabilities in carrying out his new duties as the Managing Director and to lead UMW Toyota Motor to face future challenges in the competitive automotive industry,” said Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, Group Chairman of UMW Holdings Berhad and Chairman of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn. Bhd.

Mr Kuah has been with UMW for 25 years. He replaces Dato’ David Chen, who has retired from the managing director position, a position he has held since June 2004. Dato’ Chen has been credited with increasing Toyota’s market share as well as establishing the Lexus brand.

23 Comments »

1. BW said,

January 9, 2008 @ 6:08 pm

Oh i see

2. jhuan said,

January 9, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

Hope this new guy can improve the services render by their sales advisors. Imcompetent and rude SAs are all over toyota showrooms. Very suck-up SAs :(

3. MaverickNeo said,

January 9, 2008 @ 7:13 pm

I wonder what car he drives….maybe a Honda??? LOL!!

4. jolly_idiot said,

January 9, 2008 @ 7:59 pm

No! He drives a PROTON!

5. outspoken said,

January 9, 2008 @ 8:24 pm

every topic will be somehow forced related/connected to Proton..I am thinking of setting up a website protonbashers.com… i am sure it will be a hit.. So Paul, it’s my idea ok.. :-)

6. Smallfish said,

January 9, 2008 @ 10:21 pm

So, when will new Altis be released? Why wait so long ma… ppl already bought new cars especially Persona. I was waiting to this new Baby Camry, but since Persona came out first (with so good features), I could say no to P1 salesman; so now driving Persona already.

7. Smallfish said,

January 9, 2008 @ 10:24 pm

So, you already miss 1 customer already….
    Don’t wait-wait ma, nanti many other people buy Persona.

8. Smallfish said,

January 9, 2008 @ 10:24 pm

Or new Proton BLM

9. ragnahse said,

January 9, 2008 @ 11:06 pm

seems like toyota is bringing in the new corolla sooner than expected….coz altis is missing from their product lineup in their website …..no more altis…..wonder what they gonna sell of that category until new corolla arrives…

10. tyt_988 said,

January 9, 2008 @ 11:30 pm

hear that the altis will be CBU…hmmmm

11. topgunthang said,

January 9, 2008 @ 11:39 pm

looks honest

12. BMW fan said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:03 am

Looks Singaporean

Go UMW?
    No, Go BMW! lol

13. VPowerRacing said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:06 am

he looks to hv a bit of ‘fear factor’ – good for the toyota guys – they must work hard to impressed him or else might just work for proton lor..

14. BigFish said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:16 am

A little bit serious, no “senyum kambing”!

15. mystvearn said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:25 am

sure he drives a proton?

16. BigFish said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:38 am

Drive a Proton, its ajoke!

17. King Samurai said,

January 10, 2008 @ 8:21 am

New Altis is coming in 1Q 2008. It will be CBU from Thailand…again. Then Camry will become CKD..price may go down loh..so will be the quality. If cannot jalan then give discount like the All New Vios..just 3 month already can get discount. Good la for us.. toyota is a blood sucker anyway..taking the advantage of this bolehland high excise tax regime. New CEO please do something abt your car line-up la..i’m a Toyota lover but now broken hearted already..UMWT is moving backward. New Altis is yet another uncle car big brother to the fugly untie car Vios. Come on Toyota…bring you JDM line up here!!

18. MaverickNeo said,

January 10, 2008 @ 8:31 am

Cheers to King Samurai!!

19. wildthingz said,

January 10, 2008 @ 12:09 pm

he drive merc lol noway he going to drive camry i think after few month appointed as MD he will buy ferrari or maybe maybach wakakakakka

20. torishimeyakuin said,

January 10, 2008 @ 7:04 pm

His official car will be Lexus LS similarly goes to Perodua MD’s. They are under the same group though.

No doubt UMW Toyota can bring in the creams of their brands line up but at the end of the day, it’s not them who decide what car can be sold in Malaysia..it’s all determined by those in the big G. They can come up with tonnes of proposals and good models but the last say (approval) is reserved for the officials in the G. This applied to all car manufacturers/assemblers in Malaysia including Perodua…except the only one which has been enjoying a total freedom–> Proton. It’s sort of protectionism.

21. topgunthang said,

January 10, 2008 @ 11:29 pm

isnt the approval process and tax excise process based on the fact that any competitor of proton like car engine or class etc that is same as any car in the proton line up will be taxed higher.

22. torishimeyakuin said,

January 11, 2008 @ 6:44 pm

Yup you get it right topgunthang…

23. seizai said,

April 19, 2008 @ 7:44 pm

anybody know his contact number and office address?

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Mercedes-Benz releases CLC-Class Coupe teaser
next post: Updated Proton BLM Stage-by-Stage Teaser